HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Relax, play, balance - centrally located, mountain views and comfort

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Space 4,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights


About the property

4000 sq ft, 4 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths, hot tub and billiards room, garage

Welcome to the West Wing Cabin! This log home and its surroundings can provide the space for relaxation, adventure and overall balance. Located in Silverthorne, Colorado, off of Hwy 9, makes it only minutes away from shopping, restaurants and entertainment. For those who love the mountains and the outdoors the West Wing has year round adventure. Access to the ski areas of Keystone, Copper and Breckenridge is just a short distance away or if you don't feel like driving you can hike the home's 5 acres and fish in the Blue River that passes through the property. The cabin's many windows - with sunlight and mountain views - connect you to the outdoors no matter where you are within the house, so for those days you want to relax, the cabin's fireplaces are a great spot to lay by and read a book while enjoying the mountains in the distance from dusk till dawn. No matter what your heart desires you will find it in this cabin and the surrounding areas.

The main floor of the house features a large kitchen equipped with all the amenities that will make a nice meal with family and friends possible. It is equipped with a large double oven, gas cook top, dishwasher, and a large fridge as well as a grill on the deck. The kitchen flows into a large dining area highlighted by a natural cut wood table with benches that easily seat 10 people. More seating is available at the kitchen island. As you pass through the large log arches that connect each room you are welcomed into the living area. Here you'll find an amazing stone fireplace and a mountain view that will take your breath away. The living room has a wireless entertainment center to stream music from your phone, laptop or tablet, or you can sit in the comfy sofas and enjoy a movie with the family. Past the living room you will find a billiard room where you can relax and have a friendly competition shooting pool while planning the next day of adventure. There is also a laundry room and a half bath accessible from this side of the cabin. As you travel the large winding log staircase you are welcomed onto a large landing that has access to the sleeping quarters of the cabin. The landing gives you a large sitting area with a writing desk and two futons that can be used to sit and relax or if needed be made into extra sleeping space. This space is very cozy and serene, a good spot to gaze at the mountains or watch the sun rise. At the far side of the landing you will be welcomed into two matching bedrooms featuring 2 full beds in each allowing up to 4 people to sleep per room. The bedrooms feature balconies and large closets with shelf and hangars. The bedrooms are separated by a full bath which is entered from the hall.

The master suite of the cabin is opposite the landing. It has a full bath with tub and shower. The room features a beautiful fireplace and flat screen TV, two queen beds and a balcony that looks out towards the mountains and the bright stars that fill the sky every night.

The lowest level of the cabin has a bedroom with matching bunk beds (twin mattresses on top, full mattresses on bottom). Below the porch is a wonderful hot tub. The tub can be accessed from stairs coming from the deck above or the walk way that comes out of the garage.

We now have an onsite caretaker who helps maintain the cabin and property. Caretaker quarters are closed off from the house and feature a private entrance as to keep the house private for guests. The caretaker is very private and will rarely be seen other than when needed. We have this accommodation now as a way to help better maintain the property and cabin for guests.

We hope you enjoy this space and land, and feel as relaxed and rejuvenated as we do when you depart this mountain getaway.

More Details

Property Manager
Corey Witt
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Silverthorne in Summit County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 22
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Private master bathoom
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • There are 2 full and one 1/2 bath in the house.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 22
  • Bedroom 4 - 2 Bunk Bed , Can sleep 6 people - top beds are single, bottoms are full.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Double Bed , Cozy bedroom, has balcony and closet.
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Double Bed , Cozy bedroom, has balcony and closet.
    Bedroom 1 - 2 Large Double Bed , Master bedroom with flatscreen TV, fireplace and master bath
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Cozy landing has 2 futons for extra sleeping room.
  • 4 Bedrooms and a landing area, could accommodate 22 adults/children mix.
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
We have an onsite Caretaker to help if any issue may present itself during your stay. The caretaker has a private apartment closed off from the house with private entrance. Our caretaker is very private and will hardly be noticed as being there other than when needed.


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
11% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
Relax, play, balance - centrally located, mountain views and comfort
average rating of 4.111111 based on 18 reviews

Clean, Convenient, Breathtaking

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time staying at this property! Corey made the process very smooth and easy and was quick to reply to any issues that occurred. My family had a great time and were left in aw from the stunning views, will definitely book again 👍

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful home

  • 4 of 5

True log home. Great place to stay. Owner was easy to work with. Loved every minute of our stay. Only reason I did not give five star was a few of the mattresses were pretty worn out. Other than that awesome view and great home.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful house, terrible customer service

  • 1 of 5

I must start by saying that the house is beautiful and in general, I enjoyed my stay. However, just hours before check-in I was notified that the ovens were not working. This greatly complicated the fact that I hired a private chef to prepare my meals. The chef had to rearrange his meals, and Corey promised me a partial refund due to the inconvenience. He never issued the refund. The caretaker that lives on site was never there and unresponsive to all of our requests. Literally, he was impossible to contact. The most worrying part of this is that Corey has illegally withheld my security deposit. It is evident from previous reviews that Corey is a negligent homeowner and chooses to ignore the law. VRBO/Homeaway have also been extremely difficult and have provided no help to me during this entire process. Please do not stay here - you will regret it.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to this review, there was an issue with the oven that was found before the guest had arrived. This guest was informed prior to check-in. We had a repairman assess the oven and inform us that the parts would not be available until after the guest had checked out. Upon finding this out the guest was notified and informed that we were more than willing to give a discount due to the inconvenience. The response was that the grill and cooktop would work for their plans. However, what is not told in the review is that the reason for the damage deposit being withheld was due to the damage that was found at the cabin after their checkout. Many items were damaged/broke and other items are still missing. This all added up to great cost for our rental property, and the response I was given was that is was all normal wear and tear and should be covered as part of the cleaning fee. The costs went well beyond the damage deposit and that is why we had to withhold it. We completely understand that accidents happen, but when damages are not accidental that is a different story. Most of the communication goes through myself, the property manager, and some may go through our caretaker, however with this group there was no contact made for any issues to either of us. We like to address the issues as soon as we can if any may arise. We do not or have not ignored any law, we follow the rental agreement which each guest signs prior to rental, for damage deposits which can be withheld. Many rental properties have these. We generally have not had any issues and have been able to return damage deposits to our guests as is our hopes to return that to all who may stay at the cabin. We understand that not everyone may have a great experience, but we try to do our best to have the place enjoyable for all, as can be shown by some of our other reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Poor Quality Hot Tub

  • 1 of 5

We had a large group stay in the cabin and within our group, 9 out of 11 kids received a rash from the hot tub and had to seek doctor's care. They were diagnosed with "Foliculitis" which is caused by bacterium after sitting in a hot tub that was not properly cleaned before use. We contacted Cory and provided pictures of their symptoms which some of the children had severe rashes that caused them to miss school and be on antibiotics. We were told by Cory, they cannot control how the tub is used during the stay of guests and there was nothing they would do. During the stay, the Care Taker never checked the hot tub and Cory is going by what the Care Taker is saying, that it was maintained. You should not go on vacation, spend a lot of money to stay at a place and have the owners not stand behind you and offer anything for the inconvenience. Not only did we have to pay for the doctor bills out of our pockets, we spent an entire day driving around Silverthorne trying to get them medical attention. I would not recommend this cabin to anyone if your looking for great "Customer Service" and a Owner who stands behind their customers. We paid a cleaning fee for a hot tub that wasn't clean!!!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: In response to this review the hot tub is now and has always been cared for regularly, with each group the tub is drained, cleaned, filled, and balanced. This process occurs after each group checks-out and before the next group checks-in. We have never had an issue with a rash on any of the other guests who have stayed at the cabin, each time the hot tub going through the same process for cleaning.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0


  • 4 of 5

Had a great time in the house perfect location for the mountains and the town. Definitely, wouldn't recommend more than 15 people living in the house at once.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect for Cabin Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Corey was very helpful and responsive to messages. Cabin was very spacious and cozy. Scenery was magnificent and only a short drive from Silverthorne. Would definitely recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


27612 Hwy 9

Silverthorne CO 80498


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Silverthorne, Colorado

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
20 Nov 2017 - 27 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Christmas and New Year
18 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Ski Season
6 Jan 2018 - 15 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
presidents day
16 Feb 2018 - 20 Feb 2018
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
mid ski season
21 Feb 2018 - 31 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
last minute ski
1 Apr 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £271.46
Damage Insurance £76.78
Damage Deposit £387.8

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now