HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Spacious home in Cleveland Tennessee, just minutes to Lee University.

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,000 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8 /10

Walk into this family friendly, two level house and you'll feel like you're home. Settle in and enjoy the upstairs master and den that looks into the oaks and you'll feel like you're in your own treehouse. This home is located 2 miles from Lee University, 33 miles from Chattanooga, and 20 miles from the Hiwassee and Ocoee Rivers. This home has 2000 square feet of comfortable living space in a quiet neighborhood among the oak trees near downtown Cleveland. Located minutes from I-75 and numerous dining and shopping locations, some which are open 24/7 (City Cafe Diner). If you eat to much at the Diner, you could work it off walking there and back ☺️

FYI- To see the discount for a week book at least 7 consecutive days to see discount for a month book at least 29 consecutive days.

More Details

Owner
Owner /Property manager
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
24 April, 2018

About Owner /Property manager

My husband and I live in Michigan and purchased Hickory House to be able to see our son his wife and our grandchildren

more often and not from a hotel room..., we crossed fingers and hoped the house would pay for itself . And we have to thank our guests and say it is working !

We will be moving to Cleveland in a few years for our retirement. We are looking forward to it and already love cleveland the weather the wonderful rivers lakes and parks and the people are very friendly.

We already have so many guests that are returning to Hickory house to visit their families friends and places that we may leave it as a homeaway for some years to come.

Owner /Property manager purchased this house in 2015

Why Owner /Property manager chose Cleveland

It's so comfortable at Hickory House a little different kind of retro but it feels like Home already.. The trees are beautiful, the deck is great for a fire or coffee in the morning, the den is big roomy and a great place for family time.. The library is great for quiet time reading and to get away for a little while, it’s beautiful in the morning with a cup of tea...., the light is perfect.

Close to any shopping, restaurants , Lee University, Chattanooga , the Cherokee National forest and the Ocoee and Hiawassee rivers. Lots to do !

What makes this house unique

Lots of room , fits two or three couples easily.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cleveland in Bradley County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 1st floor bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , 2nd floor bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom and bathroom on 2nd floor
    bedroom 2 next to master bedroom - 1 Double Bed , On 2nd floor
    1st floor Bedroom 4 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Cozy library with a very comfortable futon
    bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed , On 1st floor
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(23 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
34% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Spacious home in Cleveland Tennessee, just minutes to Lee University.
average rating of 4.5652175 based on 23 reviews
4

Home in Cleveland

  • 4 of 5

Hickory House is an older property that needs a little care when you stay, but this negative is far outweighed by the pluses. It was clean and well stocked with necessities, had a great location (close to restaurants, shopping, and Perry Stone's OCI conference center). The appliances were fairly new and the house provided a great place for our church group to sit, talk, and relax together.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: David, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and saw the wonderful qualities of Hickory house. We are slowly but surely updating, all new windows last year. We had to groom the trees this year any overhanging the drive and the house and we had to "sadly " take down two huge oaks. We will putting in a new heating and cooling unit and insulation next month. Our guests that already have returned for a second and third visit have already commented on the changes and love Hickory house even more , as do my husband and I. Come back any time David, it's guests like you that enable us to offer Hickory house for guests to visit family and friends enjoy weddings and tend to church business. ✨ Alan and Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

It was perfect for our needs.

  • 5 of 5

There were 6 of us and we enjoyed our stay very much. Just a few suggestions or repairs needed. It did not change our attitude, but just our observations,

1. One outlet in the kitchen is actually pulling away from the plaster.

2 Toilet seat on the second floor was broken before we got there. Needs replacement.

3. Lower shower not working properly. If you add cold water it puts out just COLD.

4. Mattress in the 1st floor bedroom is in bad shape. They thought it might need slats accross the frame as the box spring seemed to sag. Something wrong anyway.

5. The upstairs tub is very slick and my husband fell. He is ok, but we put a towel in

the tub so people would not slip. Maybe a mat or some stick ons.

6. I am a lite sleeper and the clock in the upstairs bath sounds like a metronome (click click click). Nothing wrong, just my observations.

Other than that, we were very close to the wedding and plenty of shopping in the area. We used the grill to cookout hamburgers and brats. It was very cold, so we had to run the heaters to stay warm. I'm sure lack of insulation is a problem. I hope we left the place in good shape, I tried to follow after the guests to make sure they picked up. It would have been nice with a second TV, but nice to have wifi access for the younger girls. I would definitely recommend your home to anyway visiting that area. Thanks again. Mike and Cathy Daydif

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for letting us know ! We haven’t been at Hickory house since October and sometimes the cleaning crew can miss things like this. We can easily correct most of these . And we do appreciate your input. We do ask guests to let us know as soon as they arrive or as soon as they find something amiss, the guests before you did not tell us these things were broken or there was a problem, I assure you they would have been fixed before you arrived. We sent our handyman over and addressed and all are resolved. I always tell our guests to immediately let us know if anything is wrong. We will get someone over to correct anything you are uncomfortable with. All kinds of things get broken and the cleaning crew doesn’t always catch it. It’s a big house. We want you to be happy with your stay and we don’t mind a text to have us send someone over to fix something, we appreciate it. Thanks again , joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Pleasant

  • 4 of 5

First the bad news: the stairs are steep (I can't imagine code letting them by today), and the mattress in the downstairs bedroom is laughably bad. That said, the neighborhood is very quiet, the master bedroom is wonderful, matched at the other end of the house upstairs by a nice room for gathering, and we found all we needed in the kitchen. Loved being able to look out at the lights of Cleveland at night.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is older and the stairs take some care going up and down. The bed has been given a work over by our handyman and is in good shape. So sorry for your discomfort. I wish you would have let us correct this for you while you were staying at the house. We don’t want any guest to have to worry about an uncomfortable stay. The house is big and the cleaning crew doesn’t always catch everything. Joanne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

close to everything I need to do in Cleveland, TN

  • 5 of 5

Second time staying in Hickory House, looking forward to spending next Christmas. So close to everything I need to do in Cleveland, TN

  • Review Submitted: 28-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
4

Retro Charm

  • 4 of 5

Hickory House was good to us. You can immerse yourself in a slice of the past and appreciate the unique design of this abode. Having a bedroom and bath on the first floor was perfect for my elderly father. The upstairs patio over the garage was a lovely place to sit and take in the surrounding oaks. A fire pit was available, however, we were not able to make use of it in our limited time there. The neighborhood is nice for a walk around. Joanne was very accomodating and responsive.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nice house in a quiet neighborhood, still close to everything.

  • 5 of 5

Plenty of room with 4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, dining room, and living room. We appreciated the cable and wifi.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Chattanooga Metropolitan airport
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The City Cafe

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £46.63
Damage Deposit £143.48

Rates are based on 8 people, $10.00 per additional guest per stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable