Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Don't Just Rent a Condo, Rent an Oceanfront Villa!

Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Space 1,440 sq ft
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 4 - 10 nights


About the property

Villa, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

One of the best locations in sunny Poipu Beach Kauai, Honu Kai Villas Resort is just steps away from the Poipu shoreline and a little over 50 yards to world-famous body surfing Brennecke’s Beach and Poipu Beach Park. The plantation style architecture at this small island oasis by the sea is surrounded by swaying palms, tropical flowers, fruit trees, orchids, and mature plumeria trees accented by well manicured lawns.

Each of the four villas in the exclusive resort enjoys an amazing vantage point for watching the dances of the Spinner Dolphins and Humpback Whales or the trek of Giant Green Sea Turtles on the ocean.

Your private villa is a paradisaic sanctuary. Vaulted ceilings, exposed beams, impeccable accoutrements and meticulous details all work together to incorporate the divine artistry of the natural surroundings into the intimate interior decor. Balconies and private verandas offer quiet escapes for enjoying the masterful expanse beyond.

Honu Kai Villas — also featuring a courtyard swimming pool and spa — is adjacent to Brennecke's Beach, known far and wide for body surfing. With constantly pleasant temperatures that experience miniscule changes season to season, Kauai is a year round destination. Nearby snorkeling, golf, tennis, horseback riding, fine dining and elite boutiques give Honu Kai a charm and romance like no other. We can arrange for multiple party bookings within the four villa complex.


Property Highlights

VILLA 3: Foyer with Slate Floor • Living Room with Ocean Views & Sliding Glass Doors Opening to Oceanside Lanai • Dining Room with Slate Floor • Ocean Views • New Kitchen with Slate Floor, Granite Counter tops with bar eating for 4, Ocean Views, Built-in Smooth Top Stove, Built-in Oven, Built-in Microwave & Refrigerator • Master Suite with Oceanside Balcony, Water Closet & Deep Soaking Shower/Tub • 2 Bedroom • 2.5 Baths • Laundry Area • Oceanside Lanai with Slate Floor • Monier Tile Roof • Casement Windows with Solar Green Glass • Custom Molding • Solid Interior Doors • Furnished, Sleeper sofa in living room

OTHER AMENITIES: Private Swimming Pool & Spa as well as local Management Company that can arrange for any activity on the Island before you even step off the plane!

All Pictures were taken without telephoto lens.

Always ask, can I hear the waves crashing or it's not ocean side!

Keywords: Villa

More Details

Stacey Aucella
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 August, 2018

About Stacey Aucella

Owner of Menchie's Frozen Yogurt in Berkeley California. Our primary home is in Lake Tahoe California. We love the outdoors and are avid skiers and cyclists. Feel free to ask any questions about Kauai, we are only to happy to share!

Stacey Aucella purchased this villa in 2003

Why Stacey Aucella chose Poipu

Location Location Location. Walk to beach, dining and shopping. The perfect no schlep vacation property. You park steps from the front door, 2:28 walk to beach and you are right on the water. Small 4 villa complex with pool and Jacuzzi. Our reviews say it all!

What makes this villa unique

Midst the Sheraton, Marriott and Hyatt the kids can be on their own leaving you to a leisurely breakfast or cocktails on the lanai. You will eat every meal outdoors enjoying the up-close ocean view. Light the tiki torches at night and enjoy your own private Tonga room.

Guestbook comments from the owner


Sharon and I want to thank you so much for letting us stay in your beautiful villa and giving us the family discount. We are so glad Kim told us about it when she heard we were going to Kauai. It was such a comfortable place to stay and the location was perfect. We were the only ones there for most of our stay. I loved sitting on the patio outside the master bedroom looking out at the ocean. The sunsets were spectacular. I'm not one to lay around and relax when on vacation. We did a lot of scuba diving. Seasport divers were great. The best snorkeling spot I've ever been to was by the Beach House. Massive amounts of fish with excellent visibility. Helicopter ride which was awesome. The Na Pali coast is just spectacular as is Waimea Canyon. We drove up to the lookout at Waimea Canyon. We made two trips to Princeville where we went zip lining, horseback riding, hiking, snorkeling at Tunnels beach and swimming at Hanalei. Hanalei beach was the best beach we went to for swimming because the waves were not too strong and there were no rocks to contend with. The boogyboarding beach was amazing. Great waves. We went tubing in the irrigation ditches and tunnels at the plantation. We visited Glass beach (very little glass there though) and Spouting Horn. And we also squeezed in jumping off Kipu Falls. Even Sharon jumped. The pizza at Bick Oven Pizza in Kalaheo was one of the best we've ever had!!

Thank you again. We definitely want to go back. It was the best vacation we've ever had. Kauai has become our favorite Hawaiian island.
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 4


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Poipu in Kauai County

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1440 sq ft
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • If you want a late check out, you can request one for an additional fee.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Water View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Master Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , Easily converted into a king for couples!
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Cot , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , King size sleeper sofa in livingroom
    Other - 1 Child Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Crib and futon available upon request
  • King size beds (1) Master, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2 Twin beds in second bedroom that can be converted into one large size bed, Baby Cribs (1) Crib is available, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Sleeper sofa in living room
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Foyer with Slate Floor, Living Room with Ocean Views & Sliding Glass Doors Opening to Oceanside Lanai, Dining Room with Slate Floor, Ocean Views, Kitchen with Slate Floor, Tile Countertops with Seating for 4, Built-in Smooth Top Stove, Built-in Oven, Built-in Microwave & Refrigerator, Master Suite with Oceanside Balcony, Water Closet & Deep Soaking Shower/Tub, 2 Bedroom, 2, 5 Baths, Laundry Area, Oceanside Lanai with Slate Floor, Monier Tile Roof, Casement Windows with Solar Green Glass, Custom Molding, Solid Interior Doors, Central Vacuum System, Furnished, New Sofa sleeper in livingroom, Wireless internet, and local Property Manager.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(30 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
13% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Don't Just Rent a Condo, Rent an Oceanfront Villa!
average rating of 4.8 based on 34 reviews

Great Oceanfront Location

  • 4 of 5

Our family enjoyed our stay. The highlight is the short walking access to Brennecke and Poipu beaches and oceanfront views from the upstairs balcony and downstairs patio area. The host was very helpful and welcoming. The property is spacious and airy. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and appreciated the use of the beach towels, beach chairs, and their large laundry machine. A few items need to be adjusted (master bath toilet lever, patio screen, patio umbrella) as is typical in any house, so these did not interfere with our wonderful vacation. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: 28-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Barbara, Thank you so much for your review. All 3 items you mentioned have been taken care of! We are so glad your family had a wonderful vacation. Mahalo, Stacey
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, good view.

  • 4 of 5

A few things to keep in mind - Quite a bit of traffic on the adjacent road on the weekend, and you're up with the sun if light affects your sleep. Didn't see any smoke detectors. Not big enough issues that we wouldn't consider renting again.

  • Review Submitted: 15-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location!!!

  • 4 of 5

We loved staying in this condo! Overall it was great! Several of the screens don't work or are broken, the guest shower doesn't drain well and the master toilet was difficult to flush! But the location.....unbeatable! We loved being so close to the beach! And the SUNSETS.....beautiful!! We would totally stay here again!! Thanks so much!!!

  • Review Submitted: 23-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There can be drawbacks to staying on the ocean, the salt air can damage screens ... since you called these few items to our attention, they are being taken care of. So happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you visit again! Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The villa at Honu Kai was perfect for the four of us

  • 5 of 5

Located across the street from the ocean or fulfilled my wife’s request to be able to hear the surf as she falls asleep and wakes up. A short walk to Brennecke and Poipu Beach made it easy for our strolls to the beach to sun and snorkle. Brenneckes restaurant was a short walk and good food and drinks. Back to the Honu Kai villa, newer kitchen and appliances, both bedrooms had king size beds as two of us are over 6’ tall. Nice living area and patio overlooking the ocean plus the covered deck off the master suite was well used for morning coffee and pre-sunset cocktails before the walk down to join people watching the sunsets. It was great to have a washer and dryer too. The local management was very responsive and helpful as was Stacey on our pre-arrival information and recommendations of activities and places to eat. Great experience for the four of us who are well traveled.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon City, OR

Beautiful Condo

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful stay in a very nice condo. There are many restaurants near and it is in a beautiful area.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful property in a great location!

  • 5 of 5

Our winter trip to Kauai was enhanced by the awesome accommodations we had in Honu Kai Villa #3. The view of the ocean was beautiful and we loved being able to hear the crashing waves. The property was well stocked with everything we needed. It was so nice to have beach towels available there so that we didn't need to bring them. The furnishings were very comfortable. The location is within walking distance of Brenneke's Beach Grill, which was a highlight, and the beach where Sea Turtles sleep and a Monk Seal played in the waves in front of us. Our week here was really great!

  • Review Submitted: 05-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.03 Miles
Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Nearest Golf
1.3 Miles
Poipu Bay Golf Club
Nearest Restaurant
0.02 Miles
Casa Di Amici
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Brennecke, Baby Beach & Poipu Beach


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Poipu, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Nightly Rate
16 Nov 2018 - 25 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
Nightly Rate
21 Dec 2018 - 1 Jan 2019
10 night minimum stay
for 10 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
Winter Holiday Rate
20 Dec 2019 - 5 Jan 2020
10 night minimum stay
for 10 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £22 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £231.75

If using an international credit card there will be an extra 2% credit card fee added to your rental charge.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals