HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Gorgeous and Huge - Easy access to Beach and Hollywood!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Charles Bukowski's Childhood Home, Gorgeously Renovated in Mid-City Los Angeles

Welcome to Charles Bukowski's House! Built in 1925 and impeccably renovated in 2015, elegantly appointed spaces with restored original features invite guests to unwind while visiting Los Angeles. Lived in by poet and literary giant Charles Bukowski during his childhood (1930-1947), this house is mentioned in several of the author’s poems and novels from this time, and featured in documentaries on his life.

This three bedroom, two-bathroom single-family home in the Mid-City neighborhood offers a spacious open floor plan with a large living and dining room. Lead yourself into the chef’s kitchen, restored lovingly with the original era in mind and truly perfect for entertaining your guests. Steal some quiet time in the 400 sq. ft. master suite featuring a King bed and a truly luxurious bathroom with double vanity, shoulder depth soaking tub, and separate glass-walled shower. Take advantage of the amazing weather in the secluded, shaded outdoor seating area while enjoying spirits. Centrally located within 20 minutes of almost everything the city has to offer, the Bukowski House is your home away from home in Los Angeles.

Details

1700 sq. ft. single-family home

3 Bedrooms:

-400 sq. ft. Master Suite (King bed)

-Hank's Room (Queen bed)

-Parent's Room (2 Twin beds)

2 Bathrooms:

-Master bath with double vanity, huge soaking tub, and glass walled shower

-Original bathroom with shower/tub combo, era-specific subway and hexagonal tiles

2 car automatic garage + additional driveway parking

Central AC/Heat

55" Smart TV with Cable

Formal dining room with seating for 6

Breakfast nook with seating for 4

Spacious kitchen with soapstone counters, pro-series stove with 36” range and 6 burners, full-sized dishwasher, and vintage faucets, hardware, and knobs

Full-sized washer and dryer

Kohler polished nickel Artifact Series bathroom hardware

Original hardwood floors, sconces, doors, bathtub, baseboards, and window and door casings

Shaded outdoor seating area

Smart Home: NEST, Surveillance Cameras, WiFi

Located in Mid-City within 15-20 min of LAX, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, West Hollywood, Venice, Downtown, Hollywood, Koreatown, Century City, Culver City, Silver Lake, The Grove, Sony, Fox, Paramount

Walking distance from major metro lines

More Details

Property Manager
Heath Chamblee
Member since: 2013
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Mid City in Los Angeles

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , shoulder-deep soaking tub, glass-walled shower
    Original Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Subway tile
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Suite - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
19% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous and Huge - Easy access to Beach and Hollywood!
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews
5

07/24

  • 5 of 5

The location of the house was very convenient. Heath responded in a timely manner whenever I contacted him. We will book this property again whenever we return to LA!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely large comfortable house

  • 5 of 5

Great house, loads of space, has everything you need. Really enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice House

  • 5 of 5

I am giving the property and the manager 5 stars. The manager Heath is extremely responsive and accommodating. We rented the house for a family party weekend and it suited our purposes well. The house itself is very nice, comfy beds with good linens, very clean, good size, nicely decorated and overall worked well for our group of 5 adults. Kitchen is well stocked, modern appliances, everything in good working order. Master is enormous, plenty of closet space, very large bathroom. Water heater seemed to accommodate all of us taking showers at the same general time, so no issues there (don't you hate running out of hot water?!) A few more wash cloths in the bathrooms might be nice, but really nothing to complain about. Location is central to most things you would want to do in Los Angeles, although being aware of the surrounding neighborhoods is a good idea. The neighborhood where the home is situated is okay...not great, not bad...seems to be a neighborhood in transition. All in all, a good stay that suited our purposes.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5

I went to California to celebrate my birthday with a group of friends. Total in the house was 6 and there was more than enough space. The location was good for majority of everything, being about 30 minutes away (depending on traffic) and the house was pretty well stocked with toiletries for everyone as well. If I ever come back to LA, definitely will try to hit up this location again!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to hang out

  • 4 of 5

Great stay! Ethan was very accommodating with our schedule. Location is centrally located, making it easy to get to the beach or downtown. Very clean and beds were comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place for the most part

  • 4 of 5

Great place with lots of space, great kitchen, and beautiful bathrooms. My only complaint was that the kitchen has very basic amenities. There were no tongs or bbq utensils, oven mitts or potholders, and no trash bags were left for us. The first day we arrived it was a little warm and the AC was not available, but the other days were cool so it didn't matter as much. I assume the place does have AC, but there wasn't listed as an option on the google nest system. This only bothered me because the place was advertised with AC. My advice: Don't lock out the AC to save $10 day on your electric bill when someone is paying $350 a night...

  • Review Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Todd, Thanks for your stay. My apologies about the kitchen supplies. It seems previous guests ruined and threw away those supplies (without letting me know). I would have supplied them while you were at the house if you had let me know. I have since bought kitchen tongs, bbq utensils, oven mitts, and potholder. The thermostat was not locked, it sounds like you may have had an issue using the Nest thermostat. I'm always available to help guests in instances like that, but you didn't call or write to ask for help. I always ask guests to get in touch if they are having any issues, and I try to take care of it immediately. Thanks again for your stay, Michael
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Mid City, Los Angeles area

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
19 Aug 2017 - 19 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£980
for 3 nights
From
£288
From
£288
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
20 Aug 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£911
for 3 nights
From
£265
From
£265
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
25 Aug 2017 - 26 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£980
for 3 nights
From
£288
From
£288
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
27 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£911
for 3 nights
From
£265
From
£265
Fri,Sat
 
 
Nightly Rate
30 Oct 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,177
for 3 nights
From
£353
From
£353
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
21 Nov 2017 - 25 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,530
for 4 nights
From
£353
 
 
Holidays
22 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,177
for 3 nights
From
£353
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£980
for 3 nights
From
£288
From
£332
Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £116.52

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals