Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

2BR Chic Nashville Townhouse – Sleeps 6

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Separate WCs1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, Sleeps 6

Make yourself at home at our newly renovated, professionally decorated 2BR/1.5BA Nashville townhome! Hillsboro Village is within walking distance, so your choices are many when it comes to great local restaurants and shopping. Or catch independent films and live music at the historic Belcourt Theatre - just a 5-minute drive away.

INSIDE THE TOWNHOUSE

Our house comfortably sleeps 6 guests between 2 spacious bedrooms. The large master bedroom (you might want to go ahead and claim this one!) is located at the top of the stairs with hardwood floors and a sumptuous, king-sized four-poster bed.

The stylishly decorated guest room feels warm and cozy with two full beds, plush carpets and lots of space.

Enjoy a relaxing soak in the main bathroom with its jetted tub and shower combo. A dual sink vanity provides lots of space for getting ready. There’s also a convenient half-bath downstairs.

The welcoming living area is open-concept, with hardwood floors and an exposed brick wall. Two accent chairs and a sofa provide comfy seating for your group. This social heart of the home also features a small alcove - use it for extra storage or perch here with a magazine and a glass of wine!

A brick fireplace divides the living area from the open plan dining room with room for 5 at the table. This bright and social space leads to a modern kitchen with stainless steel appliances and granite counter tops. A generous amount of prep space makes it easy to whip up a light lunch or your latest culinary invention.

The kitchen door leads directly onto a back deck overlooking a pretty, tree-filled garden. Enjoy the view and the solitude with a morning cup of freshly brewed coffee. On sunny afternoons, make use of the outdoor grill and tuck into steaks and salad around the four-seater table.

THE LOCATION

Our Belmont/Hillsboro location is within walking distance to excellent shops, and restaurants in Hillsboro Village. For nightly entertainment, book tickets to catch an indie movie, or musical performance, at the historic Belcourt Theatre, just a 5-minute drive away.

In need of a caffeine fix? Take a 4-minute drive and you’ll reach Fido - a former pet shop turned funky coffee outlet. Sip gourmet espresso drinks, delicious hot chocolate and enjoy excellent breakfast options including sweet pancakes and bagels.

And if you’ve got something of a sweet tooth, be sure to swing by Jeni's Splendid Ice Creams. They reputedly serve the best ice cream in Nashville. Definitely worth the 4-minute drive.

Local Permit: Issued 2015 followed by 26370

THE TURNKEY ADVANTAGE

Our property is TurnKey Rental Certified. All photos, amenities, calendar, and rates are 100% accurate. We supply shampoo, soaps, paper products, and hotel-quality towels and linens to all our guests.

And we make it easy to stay with us! Drive straight to your rental and access the rental with a unique lock code that we give only to you. If early check-ins or late checkouts are possible, we will let you know.

When you book, we will send you our mobile app with directions, lock code, and instructions. We’re available 24 hours a day with live help. All Turn Key Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules.

Each reservation includes applicable taxes, a cleaning fee, and a Property Damage Protection insurance policy.

More Details

Property Manager
TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
18 July, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Belmont/Hillsboro in Nashville

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 1 King bed, 2 Full beds
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • zoo
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(36 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
27% Complete
8% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
2BR Chic Nashville Townhouse – Sleeps 6
average rating of 4.361111 based on 36 reviews
5

Not too shabby

  • 5 of 5

A cute little place to stay. A bit pricey but far less expensive than hotels in the downtown area. It was about a fifteen minute uber ride to downtown shops and restaurants. The townhouse was clean. Looks like the owners tried to do quite a bit of home improvement on their own-not the best work but still the place was functional. Overall not a bad spot. Only negative was that the Turnkey property management was impossible to get hold of. I tried calling both phone numbers listed which were out of service and texted the third "text only" number and NEVER heard anything back.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cali, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback. We’re so sorry you were not able to reach us quickly for assistance. We are currently looking into your situation and triple checking the phone numbers that were given. We absolutely understand your frustration and agree that it is unacceptable you were not able to speak with one of our team members right away. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time, and let us know. Thank you again for your feedback and happy you enjoyed your stay. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Neighborhood

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Girls weekend to Nashville. This town house is in a good location. A short uber ride if lower Broadway is the plan. A great neighborhood for a walk and if you are up to it you can certainly walk to 12 South( a must). The house is as it appears on line. Will be in need of a fresh paint job soon. Air conditioning excellent. Master bedroom mattress needs replaced, slopes to center. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Nashville. You won't be disappointed.

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hello Susan, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review and share your experience! We’re so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice but needs some work.

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

No light by front door. Had to use flashlites on phones at night to see lock & to enter code. Too many pillows on beds. Had to throw them on the floor so we had room in the beds. Back deck nice & secluded but needs to be scrapped & repainted. Could use some new living room furniture. Overall our experience was very good.

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: May 2018
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Hello Patricia, Thank you so much for your review and helpful feedback! We’re so happy to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please let us assure you that we will follow-up on the issues you mentioned. Next time you stay with us, remember our 24/7 guest hotline is always available to call with any issues that may come up. We want to make sure you’re as comfortable as you can be during your stay. You were perfect guests, and we look forward to next time! -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Novato, CA
1

Perfect location doesn't make up for lack of rest in awful beds

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was somewhat unhelpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Location is the best thing about this property in 12 South. We spent only 1 sleepless night here with no warm blankets and very uncomfortable mattresses. All of the beds had thin, cheap blankets and this place felt cheap and run down. We slept with socks and jackets on the first night. I did exchange a text with Turkkey and they said they'd bring blankets in the morning. I was there until about 1pm and they didn't show. They later left me a message (maybe about 4pm) about dropping off blankets but we were gone for the day. They then offered to reimburse us if we wanted to purchase blankets. The bigger problem is that the beds felt like they were 20+ years old, lumpy and more like cots than mattresses. I had read some old reviews about the king mattress being old - and then comments that they had replaced it but there's NO way this mattress was newer. After our first night, I called Turnkey to tell them we were very unhappy and could not sleep well on the beds. I asked about the refund policy as we didn't even want to stay another night. The CS rep told me we could get all but our 10% deposit refunded. I spent the entire day making other arrangements. When I called back to confirm that we were leaving and to request the refund, I was informed that there had been a mistake and the person I spoke with had given me incorrect information. What they eventually offered (3 calls later) was $150 refund (this didn't even cover cost of 1 of the 6 nights) or they would come and have someone inspect the mattresses, report to the owner and then a decision would be made. So the suggestion was that we spend our entire time there helping them determine if the mattresses were acceptable and then maybe they would refund us or replace the mattresses. After being lied to 2 times, we left the property. Such a waste of $1,500 but we choose to make the most of our stay elsewhere. We’ve had great rentals in the past with VRBO but this one should be removed until mattresses are rep

  • Review Submitted: 04-May-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Leah, Thank you for taking the time to leave us this feedback, and we’re so sorry to hear your experience with us was not as great as it should have been. While mattress preferences often vary greatly by person, we do apologize for any inconvenience this caused during your stay. Please let us assure you that we value your feedback and your comments have been passed along to the homeowner. Our local Field Operations Team is also following up and will make sure additional blankets are placed in the home as needed. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out anytime to let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Odessa, FL
3

Nashville Bust

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The home was decorated very well but a few problems kept us from really enjoying our stay. There were ants in both bathrooms and the laundry area. The bed in the Master bedroom was extremely uncomfortable! The AC/Heat was very difficult to regulate, freezing downstairs, hot upstairs. The WIFI was not working our second day there and my husband had to do business . I repeatedly asked for information on how to fix it or log on to a different network but the responses I received were inadequate.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Kathleen, Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We would like to sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and can also understand your frustration with the issues you encountered during your stay. Please know that the home has since been serviced by professional pest control. Our local Field Operations Team is also checking on the HVAC and WiFi problems you’ve mentioned and will make sure both of these concerns are resolved. While mattress preferences often vary greatly by person, we do apologize for any inconvenience this caused. Please let us assure you that we value your feedback, and your comment has been passed along to the homeowner. Thanks again for bringing these important issues to light, as it’s feedback like this that really makes a difference in how we move forward in offering the best service we possibly can to our guests and in keeping our properties in perfect shape. If there is anything else we can do for you, please reach out any time on our 24/7 guest hotline and let us know. -The TurnKey VR Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Quite clean felt like home

  • Review Submitted: 25-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: TurnKey Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • All TurnKey Vacation Rentals follow local and state tax rules. City and state taxes will be added to all reservation rates. Each reservation also requires a cleaning fee, and the standard Property Damage Protection policy.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals