HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

All Season Family Friendly Sandy Beach Trail Retreat

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Our Northwoods cottage is conveniently situated on the sandy banks of Lake Gogebic. It offers breathtaking lake views. Near snowmobile and ATV trails, waterfalls & ski hills, you won't be bored here! Fantastic fishing and swimming right outside. Inside boasts a comfortable atmosphere with fireplace in the living area, a wood burning stove in the den and a sauna for your use at the end of a long, adventure filled, fun day!


Owner
Property Manager/Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
7 December, 2017

Location

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Bergland in Ontonagon County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Gorgeous, sturdy, new log furniture with new matresses!
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , New mattresses & new furniture featuring Northwoods decor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , New memory foam mattress
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna
Notes:
This is such a beautiful picturesque location. We have clear, clean lake water with a sandy bottom. Great for swimming and water sports, fishing and snowmobiling in the winter! Many hiking trails, ski hills, waterfalls, national forest parks, etc. nearby. Almost all of the small towns have great little shops to find something unique. There is truly something for everyone in the great Northwoods!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
All Season Family Friendly Sandy Beach Trail Retreat
average rating of 4.111111 based on 9 reviews
Flint TWP, MI
5

We absolutely enjoyed our time here.

  • 5 of 5

The house had plenty of space for the nine of us with two queen beds, two twin beds and two sofa sleepers. The lake was amazing and beautiful. The early risers enjoyed each morning by drinking coffee, sitting by the campfire, looking over the lake, and reading.

It served as a great home-base for our day trips to all of the wonderful hiking in the area. Favorites included the Porcupine Mountains and Bond Falls State Park. We

Also enjoyed the canoe and rented paddle boards for fun on the lake.

The housekeeper and owner were very attentive and responded quickly to questions or concerns.

It was just what we needed!

  • Review Submitted: 01-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the tiime to review your stay at Sandy Beach! We're happy to hear you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome piece of property in a fabulous location...

  • 4 of 5

Five us stayed here for 4 nights over the week of July 4th, 2017. My wife and I, and my 3 young adult daughters. We love the UP (we are from south-central Michigan, and this location was perfect for the many hikes and waterfalls in the area.

The cottage itself was cozy, clean, and plenty big enough for the 5 of us. Though we did not use it much, the satellite TV and Wi-Fi worked great. The closeness of the lake and the view of the lake from inside were both better than we had hoped for-very picturesque. Even my kids found themselves just sitting and peacefully staring out at the lake for long periods of time. The lake was great for swimming, sandy bottom and shallow a long way out. We did a little fishing and did not catch anything, but that was our fault.

The drawbacks were minor to us, but may be important to someone else. For instance, the sauna was not functioning. Also, there was not really an outdoor grill, though I found a tiny Weber charcoal grill in the garage and tried to use that (but it was too small to really cook for 5). We were surprised that the place had not been weed-whacked in a long time; it made the place look uncared for. The weeds were so high that they would get caught in the door when we closed it, and they were terribly high around the fire pit. They had a nice canoe, but only one adult vest, so bring a vest or two if you plan to canoe. As I mentioned, these were minor issues for us, but were promised in the "amenities" when we looked up the property. We did pay top dollar to stay there, so these little details surprised us.

But don't get me wrong, I highly recommend this place to anybody. The location, the accommodations, and the lake were all fantastic. You will not be disappointed!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Tim for staying at our Sandy Beach lake home. We're so happy you had time to just enjoy the views! More life vests are on their way, unfortunately, they seem to have left with previous guests. Your feedback is appreciated and will be addressed. We hope you return and see our 5 star home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

John & Michelle Hassle Dowagiac, Michigan

  • 5 of 5

What a nice getaway! I loved the cozy feeling of the home and we got to ice fish right in front of the place... Great little place down the road for food and drink called the Hoop N' Holler! We went on day trips and found the Bond Falls.. Beautiful.. the kids skied at two different lodges and the owners were awesome! Cant wait to come back! Thanks for a nice place to vacation.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

No snow

  • 5 of 5

unfortunately we were not able to use the property due to poor snow conditions. Owner was kind enough to offer a "rain check " until next season. We look forward to next year, Think snow!

  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Snowmobilers Beware!!!!

  • 2 of 5

First I do want to say that this was a very nice home and was very spacious and had everything you would need when being inside the home.

The renter however is not snowmobiler friendly in my opinion. With the recent warm ups everywhere the conditions were not good for riding and I tried to cancel but was told no to a refund then tried to book on other open dates and was told no sorry we do not do that.

We were forced into coming up or just pissing away our rental fees for the days we booked.

If you book this home buy renters insurance so you can cancel at any notice because this renter will not budge. Lesson learned for us but we have never had someone hold us to the rentals if conditions were bad and even one of our guys rented a sled and the rental place took it back early and gave him a full refund no questions asked knowing how bad the conditions were.

Rent with caution is all I will say to anyone looking to stay here.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our rental cancellation policy is that of VRBO's guidelines and are clearly expressed. We can not have someone cancel 2 days before their trip and expect a full refund. We have guests book several months ahead of time, we block the calendar, it is not a "weather-permitting" booking. That being said, the lake was still rideable and it did snow during your stay. It's unfortunate your rating of our property is low and unfair, solely based on your wanting to cancel.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Oronoco, MN
5

Nice home on Lake Gogebic

  • 5 of 5

We had 3 couples that stayed at the Sandy Beach house for a snowmobile weekend. The living room area was great for sitting around and talking after a long day of riding. The kitchen is a little on the small side, but is very well set up and worked great for us. The caretaker was very helpful during our stay. The house is huge for a 3 bedroom house, and the side of the house without bedrooms gets a little chilly so we only used it for hanging our snowmobile clothes. Our only issue was the 2 twin beds weren't very comfortable. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £74.72
Damage Insurance £44.08
Damage Deposit £373.6

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals