HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Peaceful oasis with spacious yard and beach access (176)

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
Popular Features
  • Internet
  • Washing Machine
  • non smoking only
  • Fireplace
  • Barbecue

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 8

Escape the city to savor this peaceful oasis. Wake up in a sunny master bedroom with its own egress to a waterfront deck and bask in sunrise views over Holmes Harbor. Watch the eagles play in the tree tops and fish in this island estuary. Spend your day playing in the spacious yard and beach combing the tidelands while capturing precious family memories. This unique and well placed home charms visitors with scenery and function. Bring family or friends and utilize the separate and private downstairs (outdoor entrance only) complete with bathroom and partial kitchen with accommodations for two. Nearby activities include public beaches, parks, golf, and shopping within walking distance. 7 night minimum in July/August


Property Manager
Tara Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
24 March, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Freeland in Island County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Floor Area:
  • 1512 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • 3 Queen beds, 2 Twin beds, 1 Sofa Bed bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(56 traveller reviews)

Peaceful oasis with spacious yard and beach access (176)
average rating of 4.339286 based on 56 reviews
5

Great Ladies Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was more than helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

What a great stay! Views were beautiful, kitchen was well stocked (though bring your own knives if you're a knife snob like me), beds were great. Very quiet neighborhood, felt very safe, easy access to house. Thank you! House was layout was open and great for the 5 of us.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: Tara Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! We're so glad that the home met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Christmas season rental

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had 6 adults and 3 small children. The space was very good for us... nicely appointed and well stocked for meals at home. We could have used more lamps upstairs and down and more out door lighting as we arrived at check-in which is dark in winter and the back stairs could be better lit. We found several good day trips and restaurants near by. Overall a very good rental experience. Thank you!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Nice to hear you had a great time. We have many restaurants, sight seeing day trips and views all that are great on Whidbey Island. Thanks for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The location is spectacular. The management staff was attentive and timely - and bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was fabulous -- and it was!!! This is a perfect place if you're more interested in location and comfort than you are in being pampered in elegance; it's not that. It's a well-loved property (in spirit of the children's book "The Velveteen Rabbit"). The kitchen isn't very organized, the furniture is not showroom quality, and in places, the floor seems to lean. The downstairs might be good for kids but is not comfortable for adults due to low doorways and a crossbeam that could knock you out if you hit it squarely. And somewhat unpredictably, the drummer immediately next door could launch into drum practice, which absolutely can kill the mood if you're trying to enjoy the deck. But ... the place is in a drop-dead location on the water, and the views from inside and outside the rental are to die for. And that was at Christmastime! We had a fantastic time and bet you will, as well, as long as you're aware of what to expect. Enjoy!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: Tara Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hidden Valley Lake, CA
3

Our water front stay

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was somewhat dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Our stay does deserve a short explanation, as some of the review questions are derogatory in nature. First let me say the management was very professional and extremely helpful. They were perfectly willing to help, I felt, no matter what the situation. However,with that said, something's were out of their control during our stay, like the BBQ. I will address these issues. First house keeping- apparently they do not have a detailed list to follow in making sure all normal, necessary item are available to quests. Such as toilet paper and paper towels. For a cottage that sleeps eight to ten people, one extra roll of TP is not acceptable. For quests to have to run out and buy paper towels because there was not but a half roll on the dispenser was extremely inconvenient. To add to the inconvience there were only two small kitchen towels. There were light bulbs out in the hall way and bathroom. Although the house was clean, it was necessary to sweep with normal traffic. They don't even make brooms anymore like the one that was left for quests. Homeowners- the house is in need of some immediate attention. The BBQ was broken, the drawer under the stove fell to the floor everytime we opened it and the kitchen sink would clog anytime water was run. The bedding for the hide a bed was locked away and even though management was very quick to unlock and make it accessible to us, it was old thin,stinky quilts and definitely not adequate for the cool rainy nights during our stay. As I mentioned- management gets a 5 star with what they have to work with. Nancy Leese

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Tara Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback. Our apologies go out for any inconveniences that you incurred! Our check in packet does notify guests that we supply a starter supply of T.P. and Paper towels. Our standard is to leave 2 extra rolls of t.p. in each bathroom in addition to the one on the roll. We also leave a full roll of paper towels. Due to the inconvenience of the BBQ and the hide a bed linens, we did give a discount to this guest. We were not aware of the BBQ until their stay and have immediately ordered a new one. We will check into the linens and the oven drawer right away also and address the other issues with maintenance. Again our apologies for any inconvenience! It is very important to us that each guest has a wonderful stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Damascus, Oregon
4

Cute cuddly cottage...

  • 4 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The view is outstanding and the house easy to find. We had a very nice time.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: Tara Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: thanks for your review
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Montana
1

Book anywhere but here

  • 1 of 5

This place is a mess. Starting with when you open the door and a wave of musty dank air fills your lungs. It's hard to air out because most of the windows do not open. The furniture is not "antiques" it is old and flimsy. The "clear" rail on the deck is a nice shade of green and the chairs have nails sticking out of them. The downstairs area is a hazardous walk. Looks like they had lights on the stairs but they are broke and then the stones that lead you to this creepy place down below are loose. This downstairs was filthy, cobwebs in every corner, and there were pills on the window ledges and floor!! The shower is great if you are five feet tall or less, if not the shower is not for you. Overall my guess is this was grandma and grandpas place and the owners don't want to sell and so they put this trash up for rent till they can retire and remodel. There is one nice thing about this place...the view is great. Oh ya and they leave out the neighbor plays the drums. When we called the property manager she said the place had recently rented and so the stink in the house doesn't take long to accumulate and as for the filthy condition...hmmm no explanation. Oh and DIY fixes on the home are laughable, who paints over a light switch? And lastly, the drop off to the water is about four feet and so any elderly people are out of luck to get to the water. Meyers family should be ashamed of yourselves for renting this place.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Notes

  • **ATTENTION: ** We often will allow 2 night reservations in July/Aug if we are w/in 2 weeks. Please call our office to book a 2 night reservation. 360-331-0129 *****
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties