HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Mountain Views At Your Doorstep!

People12
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 2,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

5/6 Bedroom , 3 Bathroom, Sleeps 12 in beds

This Beautiful 5 bedroom 3 bathroom home is situated with a lovely view of the Sacramento Mountains. This family home has been decorated with sophistication and charm! The master bedroom is located in its own area of the home and offers a spacious room with a large bathroom and garden tub to relax in and a roomy walk-in closet to store all your belongings. Each of the bedrooms has its own unique style.The living area is very generous in size for entertaining. The kitchen is a sight to see, very open, and comforting. This home is perfect for anyone seeking plenty of room, convenience and privacy.


Property Manager
mike richline
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
8 December, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Alamogordo in Otero County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , master
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , master
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , office
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

40% Complete
33% Complete
13% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
Mountain Views At Your Doorstep!
average rating of 3.9333334 based on 15 reviews
5

Great value and comfortable, large home

  • 5 of 5

We booked this for a family reunion and were very pleased. 5 bedrooms, 3 full baths, plus an office that could be used as a bedroom. It had everything we needed and the air conditioner worked well (very much appreciated since it was over 100 degrees). We used the washing machine and dryer and were happy for the supplies provided. Conveniently located to stores, gas station and tourist attractions. The Space Museum is less than 10 minutes away and was a fun and informative visit for both adults and kids. White Sands and Cloudcroft are short drives. Coming back to a comfortable, cool home after a day of activities was great.

Mike was very responsive, helpful and flexible. Several weeks before our scheduled check-in we asked to change it to a day earlier. Luckily, that day was open and Mike was totally flexible about the change. The only glitch we had was accessing the wifi but that was resolved fairly quickly.

This was a great place for several families to gather --- with plenty of space and a large kitchen for cooking and hanging out together. Highly recommend.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to have you stay with us again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Leaky Business

  • 1 of 5

We had hope to share a few days of family fellowship with our son, daughter-in-law and grandchildren who live in Alamogordo. However, shortly upon our arrival, the rental manager informed us that someone would stop by to look at roof and cut the grass???? Why were these things not taken care of prior to our arrival??? Nevertheless, at time of notification there was no noticeable leaking. However, had we known the roof was damaged it would've been a deal breaker! Later that evening water began to drip from the living room ceiling...by morning the ceiling began to sag as the drip increased to a steady flow. 

When repairman arrived he was unable to fix the problem...another man ( friend of owner) came by a few hours later...he couldn't fix it either. Our family time was constantly disrupted. Besides, we had serious safety concerns fearing the ceiling would fall down. The rental manager was not helpful, in fact, we were promised a refund which we never received! Thankfully, due to proof we provided our credit card company, they resolved dispute with cash back. Furthermore, the caption for rental reads "Mountain Views at Your Doorstep" which further depicts how DECEPTIVE they are! We had NO MOUNTAIN VIEW! UNFORTUNATELY, I cannot attach email history, video, and pictures to this review. I really wish I could post the evidence which supports our complaint...however, to avoid a washed out vacay...BEWARE of watered down customer service, slippery characters, and false advertisement presented by this property owner and rental manager.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This claim is full of errors. We responded to a minor problem as soon as we heard about it. We sent multiple maintenance people out to assess the problem and found it to be very minor. What we initially though might be a problem with a roof leak turned out to be a condensation drain line clogged from the AC unit in the attic. The condensation traveled about 4 feet in the seem between the ceiling plasterboard. The tape got wet and sagged about a half inch . There was a very minor drip that we fixed when the second tech found the problem and blew out the drain line. The whole problem was blown out of proportion to try to use a minor problem to get a free vacation. I and the owner contacted the renter greater than 20 times to let them know of the progress. As for the view of the mountains, the house is in a very nice neighborhood that is less that a mile from the base of the Sacramento mountains. If you look out the front yard to the south east you will see Cathy peak that is an elevation of 10000 ft. To the north east you will see Sierra Blanca that is 12000 ft. This from and elevation of 4400 ft. Please read the other reviews on this property before believing what someone that tried to use a minor situation to there gain says. There may be some gaps in the reviews because we have taken the house off the vacation rental market a few times to offer it up to military families for 6 month TDY stays.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lakeland, Florida
4

Very nice home. We had every thing we needed at the home.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice and roomy. 3 Bathrooms was great. Nice fully furnished home. I would highly recommend to anyone who is in the Alamogordo Area.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice that they offer their home, but does need some maintenance

  • 3 of 5

We stayed 4 nights and were out and about for most of it.

The good:

1) They had a BBQ gas grill that worked great.

2) It has 5 bedrooms (we only used 3) and 3 bathrooms, so it accommodates a large group.

3) The AC seems to work well (but it also seems to be on Wifi and maybe controlled by the city, so we found ourselves hot and didn't realize it was auto adjusting. If you know it, you can be prepared for that.

4) It is in a nice neighborhood and we did have some nice walks in the morning when it was cool.

5) There is a TV in living room and Master Bedroom (no cable, but Netflix, Amazon, Youtube, etc.).

6) Fairly clean for most part.

7) Allows small pets for fee and has fenced back yard for them.

8) Kitchen has good supplies in it.

9) Huge garden tub in master.

The challenges/inconveniences:

1) Fridge on the fritz: We did give feedback to the property manager to share with the owner about the maintenance items that were needed. Biggest issue for us was the refrigerator/freezer were cool but not cold, so we had to throw a lot of food away and had to buy a lot of ice. We didn't know it was broken at first so the ice melted all over the place in the bottom tray and bottom of the freezer. We thought we didn't close the door right. When it melted again, we realized it was the fridge/freezer that was broken. Apparently they had someone out to look at it previously, but it definitely did not work for us. We are hoping for compensation for this cost, but have not heard back yet.

2) Back door would not stay closed unless the dead bolt was on.

3) Some of the window blinds didn't work, etc. (couldn't turn them to open).

4) Closet doors in one bedroom off tracks and broken.

5) Carpeting in master needed shampooing or replacing (I suggest replacing).

6) Opportunities for deep cleaning (kitchen backsplash, office glass doors).

7) Master bedroom night stand lamp didn't work to turn on/off (had to plug/unplug).

If the owner gives this property a little love, and maintenance, then yes, we would recommend it. The fridge stuff happens - even in our own lives - we get it. I don't blame them, but I would appreciate a little compensation for the meats, cheeses, etc. we threw away and all the ice we had to buy.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Not what we hoped it would be

  • 2 of 5

When you choose to rent a house for a week over staying in a hotel, you think about the convenience of a full kitchen, more room to move around in and privacy. In this case, it became an uncomfortable, inconvenient disappointment, for the following reasons:

1. The temperature in the house stayed at an uncomfortable 80 and above degrees because of the swamp cooler that the owner calls air conditioning, did not cool the house at all.

2. The refrigerator is not hooked up to a water supply, so you have to provide your own drinking water and ice (the tap water contains an unacceptable level of calcium, that makes it undrinkable).

3. Although there are 3 TVs in the house, only 2 of them work and you can only access Internet applications like Netflix and YouTube; no cable TV. While watching movies on Netflix, we found they froze halfway through and could not be restarted and watched through to the end.

4. When you pay for a rental, you expect privacy but here we were surprised by a unknown man showing up on the back patio, to eat his lunch and since he could not speak English, we were not sure of what his appearance there was about.

5. The patio door does not stay closed, unless you lock it from the inside because it isn't level and until we oiled it, it sounded like a haunted house door, creaking loudly when you opened and closed it.

6. We were also surprised by the ant problem in the kitchen. Suddenly, ants were crawling up from a crack in the tile floor and covering the countertops, where the stove is. We did find some bug spray in the garage and took care of it, since the ant traps that were placed in the area were no longer working.

7. The master shower leaks and needs to be repaired.

8. Before we rented the house, we asked the owner if we could get an itemized receipt to submit to DTS quickly and were told "shouldn't be a problem" and then waited 5 days after we returned home and had to continually request one and finally received a hand written receipt that was far from acceptable.

9. For the additional price we paid for renting this house, we have to say it was not at all worth the lack of comfort and the inconveniences.

It's really a shame and even though I tried to discuss these issues with the owner, he made unrealistic excuses and made it clear he wasn't interested in improving the situation for future renters.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Apache Junction, AZ
4

Plenty of Room for Everyone!

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at this house. Perfect for four adults and four children, would have even been room for more. We did quite a bit of cooking, and found everything we needed in the kitchen along with plates, cups, silverware, etc. We also enjoyed the outside patio and cooked steaks on the grill. The owner was very quick to respond with all questions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Stacy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. If you ever need a place to stay again let us know. We would love to have you stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
9.7 Miles
WHITE SANDS REGIONAL
Nearest Golf
6.3 Miles
DESERT LAKES GOLF COURSE
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
PEPPERS GRILL
Nearest Ski
64 Miles
SKI APACHE

Centrally located 14 miles from Holloman Air Force Base, 16 miles from Cloudcroft, 8.7 miles to High Rolls, and 48 miles to Ruidoso.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Alamogordo, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Holiday
22 Dec 2017 - 3 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£575
for 3 nights
From
£159
£1,058
£2,901
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£351
for 2 nights
From
£127
£813
£2,821
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £37.36
Refundable Damage Deposit £149.44
Cleaning fee £89.66 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.25%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals