HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

A Remodeled Log Cabin Surrounded By 6000 Acres Of Old Growth Forest

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
People
10
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cabin in Waveland - Sugar Creek Retreat

3 Bdr, 2 Bth, Completely Renovated. Can Walk Into State Park

* Stay 6 nights and get the 7th FREE during any season!!

From this renovated cabin you can walk off the driveway into Shades State park, out back yard in to pine hills Nature Preserve and Turkey Run State Park is only a 10 minute drive. The cabin can sleep 8-10 and has wrap around decks with a 24 x 24 patio for large groups and cookouts. It is located 15 minutes from Rockville, Indiana which is the covered bridge capitol of the country, and is 2.5 hours south of Chicago and only 50 minutes west of Indianapolis. This property also adjoins another larger parcel that has another one of our listings (VRBO #837368). The property's can be rented together or separate. Please contact us directly to rent both.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Owner
Gabe Fauquher
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
23 November, 2016
Call Owner

About Gabe Fauquher

We have spent the past year or so building a small, cozy space for wellness, yoga and recreation in the wilderness of western Indiana. My husband and I purchased the log cabin surrounded by 6000 acres of gorgeous old growth forest, rivers, canyons, and pure silence and serenity. Our vision was to combine my work as a Life Change Consultant and Yoga Instructor with his work as a Naturopathic Doctor specializing in nutrition and wild plants.

Gabe Fauquher purchased this cabin in 2015

Why Gabe Fauquher chose Indiana

This property truly is located against one of the most unique backdrops in Indiana. The location is amazing and has been called the darkest place in Indiana, which makes for wonderful stargazing opportunities. It's perfect for camp outs, retreats, weddings or romance. It has been called the most unusual place in Indiana due to the many cliff formations in Pine Hills Nature Preserve. The cabin itself is very cozy and accommodating and filled with locally sourced furniture. The owner has built the log furniture and the stair rails with cedar logs from the property and all the other furniture has been made by local craftsmen from Rockville, IN. The 24x24 patio is literally 5 feet from The Pine Hills Preserve and deer frequent the property daily. The cabin also has a very comfy loft that looks out through the the vaulted ceiling windows and provides a wonderful place kids games or reading or just watching the sun go down.

What makes this cabin unique

The location of this cabin is remarkable. It is surrounded by protected ground on 3 sides and sits against some of the oldest trees in Indiana. It's uniqueness lies within its stillness.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(25 traveller reviews)

A Remodeled Log Cabin Surrounded By 6000 Acres Of Old Growth Forest
average rating of 4.68 based on 25 reviews
4

Perfect place to wind down!

  • 4 of 5

This was a great spot for the 6 of us to relax after spending our 2 days at the Covered Bridge Festival. The cabin had all that we needed to make a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A really nice secluded getaway!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was great for our getaway. The only real suggestion I have is to put window coverings on the bedroom windows. The showers were somewhat snug to use but Gabe did the best with what room was available. We loved our stay, the location, and the hospitality from the owners!! We have rented several vacation homes and none have been as friendly as these owners! We enjoyed our stay and owners so much, the minute we left and got signal I was making reservations for next year!! Thanks again for everything Gabe!!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Our family outing at the cabin....

  • 2 of 5

Our first impression was that the cabin looked really nice. Once inside, it was obviously dirty. The frig needed wiped down ( filthy), the kitchen counter had mouse feces on it, the kitchen towels needed replaced. The floors of the cabin had dead bugs & cobwebs every where, they looked like they had not been swept at all. The upstairs bedroom bed pillows had no pillow cases on them.

All 7 of us thought the cabin needed a really good cleaning!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are deeply sorry for your inconvenience and unhappiness and have reached out to try to address these issues. The only communication we received personally was about the refund of the damage deposit and to tell us they enjoyed their stay?? We do however take the comments made publicly very seriously as this is our primary business that supports our family. We clean the house thoroughly after every check out addressing each of these items mentioned and the inventory status of the towels, etc. I actually personally moped the front porch before this particular guest. We would like to make a point about the cobwebs. This cabin sits 5 feet from a forest that has been there since the last glacial period and there might possibly be a few cobwebs to contend with to have that kind of experience. We truly do our best to provide excellent service and honestly believe the houses are ready (cobweb free) when we leave. We think the other 19 Five Star ratings can attribute to that effort but are always willing anytime to correct issues of any kind during your stay if something is not up to your standard.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect weekend getaway cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved our weekend at your cabin! We had everything we needed and the accommodations were perfect for our family- 3 couples, 2 1/2 year old grandson and the grand- dogs! The firepit was great and the proximity of the parks was wonderful! Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New albany indiana
5

Our stay

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful cabin lots of room and space . We enjoyed our peaceful stay alot and look forward to renting again. The only complaint they was the shower was small, there were some rounder guys that didn't have much room, but they made do with it and it wouldn't stop them from renting again. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you soon

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

My fiancé, I and our friends absolutely loved our weekend here. The state park was so close and the hiking views were breathtaking, we even ended up taking our engagement pictures there. The home is so unique and awesome! We already cannot wait to plan another trip there.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Indianapolis

Attractions include clements canoe livery less than 3 minutes away that provides tours on the sugar creek river, rockville covered bridge festival which has more covered bridges than anywhere else in the country, shades sp, turkey run sp, pine hills np (the most unusual place in in) and literally hundreds of miles of hiking trails to experience what true nature is supposed to be.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Waveland, Indiana

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£511
for 2 nights
From
£216
£1,380
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £79
Refundable Damage Deposit £79
Tax Rate 10.0%

Check in is at 3 pm and checkout is at 11:00 am. If your payment is processed through homeaway or you booked online, the payment processing center will hold your damage deposit for 7 days even if there is no damage. We don't hold it. (It was the shortest amount of time we could select). The damage protection is supposed to be an option when booking. We thought it would be good if someone was booking for a large group and didn't know everyone who would be coming or wouldn't be able to keep track of everyone. If the site requires you to select it and you don't need it, just let us know and we can remove. The taxes are listed at 10% which includes the Montgomery County Inn keepers tax.If you need propane for the grill and have to replace it send us a message and we'll refund the cost. We've had to add a pet fee recently due to the amount of time its taking to clean the dog hair thoroughly. It's just a flat rate and is not per dog or based on weight so please know your poochies are always welcome!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Waveland, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1836 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • rural ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • Both bathrooms are brand new. The downstairs has a stand up shower and the upstairs has a shower and a soaking tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 1 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Master bed has a Queen bed and attached full bath.Bath has soaking tub. There is also a private balcony that looks over the back yard. The upstairs opens up to a loft area that has a large couch and floor space for a cot. There are two bedrooms downstairs. One is a bunk room with 3 twin beds and 1 full. The other bedroom has a single queen.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
Firewood is provided by our neighbor and is stacked out front of the cabin. We just use the honor system and he charges $20 for a very generous stack of dry wood.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties