HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

A 420 Friendly Southern Colorado Vacation Rental.

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Walsenburg - Hippie Train Lodge home

Beautiful Destination Spot In So.Colorado Sleep 4, Large Corner Lot Private Yard

Decorated in a 420 fashion! We offer a place that allows your true hippie soul to relax and partake in ganja if you so desire. A destination spot in SoCo, come enjoy our beautiful country. The house sleeps 4, has a lot of ways to have fun; air hockey table, large flat screen TV for gaming, satellite TV, evening fire pit and large private yard with 2 hammocks, outside dart game and horse shoe pit. Fully equipped kitchen and a washer and dryer. Ask about our smoking kit rental for anyone 21 and over (includes pipe, bong, dabs, papers, etc... and ganja gift). We are pet friendly. This house is located at a train intersection so the train lets off its whistle as it travels thru. You can sit on the front porch and wave at the conductors as they pass by.

Pets are welcome but there is a pet fee of $25.00 and a maxium of 2 animals. There is also a pet addendum that needs to be signed. Please contact me to let me know that you have pets with you. Please be courteous and do not let your pets on any of the furniture.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Kristy McClendon
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
25 September, 2016

Why Kristy McClendon chose Colorado

Loved Walsenburg after the first time we visited. Loved the scenic beauty, the people and the Colorado 4 seasons!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Just what we wanted. House matched our personalities. Great lakes near by for fishing. Plan on coming back in summer.
Mar 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

3.5/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

A 420 Friendly Southern Colorado Vacation Rental.
average rating of 3.5 based on 5 reviews
5

THE Hippie Train Lodge

  • 5 of 5

On the day of arrival there was a snowstorm yet Kristy had home ready first thing in morning for check-in. What a lifesaver! From that moment on the home did not disappoint. If you grew up in the 60's or 70's you will have a blast checking out all the art and relaxing Colorado style. As for the train...I wouldn't want it any other way. The blowing of the whistle is a hoot and if it bothers you at nite just use earplugs...they work! If you're looking for comfy, no frills yet so so cozy look no further this is the real deal. From the penny nails in the posters to the lil mosaic monkey quirky is the perfect description. Don't forget to leave a lil of your artistic self on the bedroom wall. We Will Be Back!

  • Review Submitted: May 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New Mexico
5

Hippie Living in Colorado

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time! What a fun home, enjoyed the decor and loved the train! Beds were comfy and enjoyed the fire pit and horseshoes!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
2

Dirty

  • 2 of 5

This was a nice themed cabin and the train wasn't a bother but when we arrived none of the lights worked and we had to fix it ourselves by messing with the breaker box and the place was filthy dirty dishes dirt on floors and expired food left in the fridge

  • Review Submitted: Mar 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In the rental agreement it is clearly written "If the premises appear dirty or damaged upon Check-in, Guest shall inform Homeowner immediately." I was never contacted by this guest during their 2 night stay about any problems and as this guest had arrived 2 hours before check in time, we were at the home cleaning from the previous guests and I personally walked them thru the home as I was done.. If you as a future guest have any concerns about this review please give me a call I would be glad to talk with you about your concerns and assure you that the dishes are clean, the floors are clean and we do not leave food in the refridgerator. And the breaker box has a lock on it so it could not of been "messed with" by the guests. Unfortunatly I did have to file a insurance claim against this guest for the damages they caused.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
2

The train woke us up even with ear plugs in.

  • 2 of 5

The home is right next to the train and the train comes through at night 2 to 4 times and blows its whistle each time starting at 11pm and ending at 4pm. The owner offered us ear plugs but you could hear the loud roar and feel rhe home shake! The owner also told us that the dryer was not working the day before our arrival. I choose this place so we could wash our dirty hiking clothes. We were able to get a temporary fix on the dryer but it kept stopping and had to cool down. What a pain in trying to get our clothes dried all evening. There were new smoke alarns but they were not installed. My husband read the informatuion and installed the smike alarns. The kitchen is lacking in some basic items. The owner did bring us a hand mixer and muffin pan. I could have also used a cookie sheet. On our first day the cable was out. The owner did stop by the next morning and she called Dish for a service call. We had cable by the second evening. This is a comfortable home with a great back yard but if you are a light skeeper thus home may not be the pkace for you!!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunatly appliances are susceptible to having problems and appliance repairmen can only be as fast as ordering parts and getting them installed. Hopefully most understand this process. A mixer and muffin pan was what was missing, there is cookie sheets in the oven drawer. And lastly... the place is described Hippie TRAIN lodge. Within the decription it is detailed that we are located at a train intersection and the whistle blows on its way thru. Funny thing how some LOVE trains and then there is some that it bothers. Please read details when they are provided by property owners. (also the town of Walsenburg is trying to file with the federal laws to remove the whistles... which I will personally miss if it goes thru, but this guest would be pleased)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Location

Car: necessary

Water Park

Blue Lake

Sand Dunes

Alligator farm

Ludlow Monument and Mining musem

Apishapa

Live music cucharacountrymusicfest

Art in the park spanishpeaksarts

Celtic Music festival celticmusicfest

Wolf sanctuary

Bishops castle

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Walsenburg, Southeast Colorado

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
1 Oct 2016 - 20 Mar 2017
1 night minimum stay
£131
for 1 night
From
£85
£652
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£129
for 1 night
From
£82
£738
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £46
Pet Fee £16
Refundable Damage Deposit £59
Tax Rate 9.9%

Please note: The "damage deposit" fee of $75.00 is refundable after check out (this fee is for any excessive cleaning that would be needed if the guest prefers not to clean up when they leave). Upon check out please make sure all the trash is picked up throughout the house and taken to garbage cans, the dishes washed, dried and put back. If any furniture has been moved to different rooms please place back to original rooms.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Walsenburg, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • ski
  • swimming

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties