HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

40 Acre Private Retreat With All Of The Amenities Of Home!

Bedrooms 2
Space 400 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Mountains Views All Around And Perfect For Small Of Large Groups!

To try and describe our vacation rental in one word or sentence is impossible! The Big Bend area of West Texas is one of the most beautiful places on Earth. It is a hidden gem that most people don't know a thing about and we like it that way! Do you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city living? Do want to see more stars then you ever thought existed? Do you want to research and experience some of the most incredible history Texas has to offer? Do you want to explore the incredible Rio Grande river? The list goes on and on!

Our rental is perfectly situated 3 miles from the full service Terlingua Ranch on the tar portion of Ranch road and has access to the pool, shower houses, laundry mat and the Bad Rabbit Cafe. We're also only 25 miles from Terlingua ghost town and Study Butte. Big Bend National Park is a 40 minute drive and is some of the most beautiful country on earth! If the unexplained interests you, then the lights of Marfa are little more than an hour away!

We do have two models available to rent together or separately depending on availability. The models are on the same property and use the same access.

Another Dahl Ranch Rental: vrbo 765495

More Details

Mike Dahl
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 April, 2018

About Mike Dahl

Originally from Minnesota we used to snowbird and come to Terlingua in the winter. We moved here full time last year and love it! Welcome to the most beautiful place on earth!

Mike Dahl purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Mike Dahl chose Alpine

Perfectly situated on 40 acres, 3 miles to the Terlingua Ranch. Two park models available to rent together or separately and able to accommodate up to 9 people. Both models have electricity, running water, AC, full kitchens and baths and have spectacular views 360 degrees! The best part is this is a private retreat with no neighbors anywhere close! Come and enjoy everything Big Bend has to offer!

What makes this cabin unique

Everything about this area screams "explore me!" We have the best of both worlds in our own little paradise!

Guestbook comments from the owner

This was one of the most amazing trips our family has been on. The cabin was fully stocked and was very comfortable for all 5 of us. The kids had a great time exploring the property and playing in the sun. The beautiful views of the mountains and the stunning sun sets and sun rises. WOW... We went to Big Bend exploring on the 1st day, then we went up Christmas mountain the 2nd day then we went exploring Ghost Town/Study Butte and Terlingua. There is so much to do and see we can not wait to come back again next year. Thank you Dahls you were wonderful and we LOVED your property. See you again soon!!!
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Alpine in Brewster County

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Bathroom has a sink, vanity, toilet and full size shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • 2 Bedroom with queen beds, sleeps 4.
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Barbecue ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
We believe once you come and stay that you will be a return customer for life! Enjoy!!


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
40 Acre Private Retreat With All Of The Amenities Of Home!
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 10 reviews
College Station,TX USA

Very Peaceful With Beautiful Views!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Dahl Ranch over Spring Break. We rented both properties and found each one ready for occupancy, spacious and very clean. The owners were extremely responsive to emails throughout the week as we needed additional drinking water and trash pick up during our stay. The views were beautiful and the kids enjoyed hiking all around the property. The drive to the park was very scenic and did not take long at all. We loved our peaceful home away from home this past Spring Break and would definitely stay again in the future!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Apr-2016
  • Date of Stay: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Awesome view and awesome host

  • 5 of 5

Mike and Carol were simply awesome. We arrived to find out they had some issues with a previous renter not being gone. Mike and Carol went above and beyond to ensure we were taken care of and enjoyed our visit. There property offers amazing views and wildlife is everywhere. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing hospitality and had everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

My family had an amazing time here and would love to stay again. They keep the exterior light to a minimum giving you an amazing view of the stars at night. The caretaker took amazing care of us they even had toys for my toddler to play with. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Amazing location and mountain views!

  • 5 of 5

Surrounded by wonderful mountains - nice clean place with nice amenities. Was wonderful to leave the crowds behind in the Big Bend park(we visited during Spring break) and come to a very private and gorgeous place every evening. Star gazing was awesome. Highly recommended place to stay if visiting Big Bend!

  • Review Submitted: 24-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Cozy, remote, off the grid.

  • 3 of 5

Cozy mobile home was clean, well-stocked and as described. However, all water is non-potable, which was a surprise . Two gallons of fresh water were provided, and we filled water bottles when we left Big Bend each day, so we managed it. We had no cell service at the trailer at all. That was fine except when we wanted to get in touch with property manager. Had to call en route to the park. She was very helpful and did everything she could to accommodate us.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


  • 2 of 5

The porch going into the cabin are steep and high with no rails and nothing to hang on to. The porch lights don't work, so it was pitch dark in the middle of the desert. My 83 year old mom almost fell several times. I had to hold on to her to help her in and out of the cabin. She mostly crawled up and down the stairs to go in and out. The yard is junky with broken fence pieces, piles of 2x4's laying everywhere and trash laying all over the place. Televisions do not work. Even the one that plays a built in DVD didn't work so you cannot watch anything! BBQ pit has no propane and is leaning with wheels missing. We brought food to BBQ and had to use the oven since the bbq pit didn't work and was very dirty. The place was clean and beds comfortable and stars were very pretty to look at in the night. Sad to say, we will not stay there again. Owner seemed nice. Disappointed that we paid so much for so little. I left the place clean and no damages, but still was charged the deposit and I want the owner to refund it asap. We have photos showing everything was in good shape when we departed. I even washed all dishes, cleaned stove, cleaned shower and took out all trash.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. The harsh desert conditions down there are definitely not for everyone. We always encourage our guests to let us know immediately during their stay if there is something that doesn't work so that we may have the management team correct it ASAP. To our knowledge both TV's work just fine for watching movies only as we do not offer TV service of any kind. Had we been made aware that this was a handicap situation we would have definitely told you that our place is not very handicap friendly. The 8ft long staircase and landing with 4 small steps have never had a complaint in the past. Also considering that there isn't a fence anywhere on the property, it's news to me that there are broken fence pieces on our property but will definitely have the management address your concerns. Thank you for making us aware that the TWO large exterior flood lights weren't working, we will have management double check and replace the bulbs if necessary. Also, your security deposit has already been returned but sometimes the credit card company takes 5-7 days to credit your card. Good luck moving forward and again we apologize that you didn't enjoy your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2


Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Nearest Barpub
25 Miles
Terlingua Ghost town
Nearest Golf
37 Miles
Lajitas Golf Resort & Spa
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Bad Rabbit Cafe
Car: necessary

There is a shooting range out by Terlingua Ranch and there is NO shooting is permitted at the rental location of Dahl Ranch.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £25 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £178.58
Cleaning Fee £17.86 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.0%

Our cancellation policy is if you cancel before 30 days of your stay, then we will refund 100% minus a $50 cancellation fee. If you cancel within 30 days of your stay then a refund will depend on us being able to re-rent that time.

A deposit of 50% is required to hold your reservations. The remaining balance will be due 30 days before your stay. Short notice rentals are negotiable on payment terms, call for info.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals