HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Gamer's Retreat At The Guild Hall In Historic Downtown Savannah

People14
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
14
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday apartment in Old West Broad Neighborhood - Sherwood Forest - Guild Hall

3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath Apartment On The Campus Of The Guild Hall

Sherwood Forest is a luxury apartment located on the campus of The Guild Hall in the southwest corner of Savannah's Historic District. It is mere blocks from Forsyth Park and walking distance to pretty much anywhere you want to go downtown.

What do we mean by high ceilings? How does 18 feet grab ya? And oh god, the crown molding. It's just so ... I don't know .. Historic! Oh, and hardwood floors *all day*, y'all. Again, very much an Historic Savannah thing. (See how we used 'an' before the word 'historic'? That's how you know we're educated, or maybe from ye olden times. Hard to tell which.)

Did we mention the spaciousness? We are talking about maximally commodious, especially for something in Historic Downtown. The open-floor plan kitchen has plenty of counter space for prep and cabinets for storage, a bar with seating for four, and the attached dining room has seating for four more. Each of the three bedrooms has its own theme - Legend of Zelda, Hunger Games, and The Walking Dead - complete with thematically appropriate decor to enhance your vacation experience. This place is an archery lover's paradise! The Legend of Zelda bedroom has two twin beds and one full bed, the Hunger Games bedroom has one twin bed bed and a loft with a full bed, and the Walking Dead bedroom has two queen beds. The living room has a queen-size sleeper sofa, a non-sleeper sofa, and a twin daybed.

There are two large full bathrooms on the top floor and the bottom floor has a half bath. The living room has plenty of seating and a flat-screen smart television with Roku (so, you get access to your Hulu, Netflix, Pandora, etc.). There is a dishwasher in the kitchen and a washer & dryer in the top floor hallway closet. So, basically, we've got you covered from an amenities standpoint.

The apartment door has a wifi-enabled combination lock, and we send you the combination two weeks before you check in. So, you can show up any time you like without the need to get keys from us (or hoping we send them to you in the mail in sufficient time) and you can check out without having to drop them off. Plus, everyone in your party can have the 'key' as long as you decide to share the combination with them. Ain't technology grand?!?

And we haven't even gotten to the coolest part about Sherwood Forest. It's located at The Guild Hall! What is The Guild Hall, you ask? It's a place where creative people - coders, makers, designers, gamers, performers, and storytellers - can get together, have fun, learn new skills, or just relax. Sort of like a clubhouse for creative people. Check out our website at the guild hall dot com (or search for us on bugle, because it's fun to pronounce it like that...like gewgle). We like to think of it as Nerdvana, but not everyone is into the whole 'nerd' label. And, hey, that's cool.

No, but seriously, there is no place like this anywhere else. The Arena is where people can play video and computer games, board games, table-top RPGs, and CCGs like Magic the Gathering, Pokemon, and My Little Pony. A true guest favorite is our gamer pub, The Chromatic Dragon, and GUESS WHAT? It is right downstairs from Sherwood Forest. In fact, the back door of the pub is beside the outer door to enter the apartment. Talk about convenient!

When you stay as a guest in Sherwood Forest, you get free memberships for up to six people for the duration of your visit. Each free membership comes with access to all four buildings and hours of free gaming time. And, if needed, you can purchase additional memberships for the rest of your party at a discounted price. Because we love you.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Anna Ivey
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2016

About Anna Ivey

We are The Guild Hall, a place where creative people - coders, makers, designers, gamers, performers, and storytellers - can get together, have fun, learn new skills or just relax. Sort of like a clubhouse for creative people.

Why Anna Ivey chose Savannah

Sherwood Forest gives you the best of Historic Downtown Savannah *and* access to The Guild Hall. There is no place like this anywhere else.

What makes this apartment unique

When you stay as a guest in Sherwood Forest, you get free memberships for up to six people for the duration of your visit. Each free membership comes with access to gaming in the Arena and hours of free gaming time. And, if needed, you can purchase additional memberships for the rest of your party at a discounted price. Because we love you.

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

Gamer's Retreat At The Guild Hall In Historic Downtown Savannah
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
5

Spacious and Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5

There was plenty of room for our group. It was creatively decorated and also close enough to everything we were visiting in Savannah. We were comfortable and really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Spacious and quaint

  • 5 of 5

This spacious property is perfect for large groups of people. The kitchen and common area are big enough to hang out in, and the bedrooms have plenty of room with comfy beds. It's walking distance to Forsyth Park, but it is on the edge of the nice historic district, so you do have to drive to get to the main areas of downtown.

  • Review Submitted: May 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Don't get your hopes up

  • 2 of 5

A/C didn't work upstairs.

Location is just far enough away to not be convenient to walk to anything downtown.

Mold was growing in the coffee pot.

Don't get your hopes up, might be nice for a larger group that doesn't plan on spending much time in the apartment.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi, Richard! I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. I'm surprised to hear that the AC upstairs wasn't working, both because you didn't contact us about it while you were here and because no other guests have had the same problem. We leave several contact numbers so that you can let us know when stuff like this happens and we can make it right. I apologize that the coffee pot was not in good condition - my guess is that no other guests had used it in a while but maybe a little moisture had been left inside from the last wash? I have asked the housekeeper to be sure to keep an eye on that, so thanks for letting us know. One of the comments we receive most in our overwhelmingly positive reviews is how close we are to everything downtown and how convenient that is, so it's interesting that you thought it was too far to walk to anything. We aren't much more than a mile from any spot downtown. I guess it's all a matter of perspective and how much physical activity you're used to.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great times at a great house

  • 5 of 5

Anna, my friends and I overwhelmingly enjoyed our stay. Great location, perfect amenities, and awesome that it's above that really fun bar. I'll definitely look to rent again next year. Thanks, Greg

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing place to stay, gamers or not!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time vacationing at Sherwood Forest. This apartment is HUGE and was a steal for what we paid. There was plenty of space for our group to spread out and feel comfortable, but also lots of living room space that we could hang out in together. And it's right above a gamer pub, The Chromatic Dragon!! Holy crap!! We ate there almost every night and they had karaoke going on when we got there. We couldn't even hear it when we got back to the apartment, though, which was great. You also get passes to The Guild Hall, which is like a gaming clubhouse. They have lots of video games and board games which we spent a lot of time with. It's walkable to downtown, too. The apartment was super clean and we really appreciated all the nerdy references sprinkled around. We're big gamers, so this was like paradise for us, but it would be super comfortable and convenient for the average vacationer in Savannah, too! A++ would stay again!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Old West Broad Neighborhood, Coastal Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Late Fall
7 Nov 2016 - 28 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£1,227
for 2 nights
From
£534
£3,364
£13,519
 
 
New Year's Eve
29 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,672
for 2 nights
From
£757
 
 
Winter
2 Jan 2017 - 13 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,227
for 2 nights
From
£534
£3,364
£13,519
 
 
St Patrick's Day
14 Mar 2017 - 19 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£2,429
for 3 nights
From
£757
 
 
Spring-Summer
20 Mar 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,360
for 2 nights
From
£601
£3,721
£16,192
 
 
Early Fall
4 Sep 2017 - 2 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,360
for 2 nights
From
£601
£3,721
£16,192
 
 
Rock and Roll Marathon
3 Nov 2017 - 5 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£1,850
for 2 nights
From
£846
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£1,360
for 2 nights
From
£601
£3,721
£16,192
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning fee £158
Tax Rate 13.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Old West Broad Neighborhood in Coastal Georgia

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • 2nd Floor - Toilet
    3rd Floor Hall - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    3rd Floor En Suite - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Legend of Zelda Room - 1 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
    Hunger Games Room - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Full bed in loft, not recommended for young children!
    Walking Dead Room - 2 Large Double Bed
    Living Area - 1 Single Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
Entertainment:
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot