HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Perfect View of Beautiful Rocky Mountain

Bedrooms 7
Separate WC's1
Property type house



About the property

Perfect View of Beautiful Rocky Mountain

This is 7 bed rooms and 7 bathrooms house in Calgary, Alberta, on the northwest side of the city which is one hour drive to Banff. 5 minutes drive to shopping complex and two minutes to grocery shopping. This house is located in a beautiful acreage in Blueridge Estate.

Lower level a walk-out and is fully developed with a large recreation room and two extra bedrooms with two bedrooms. This is ideal for a family vacation. Easy access to the City and Lynx Ridge Golf Course is steps away.

Nandasiri Gunaratne
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, sinhalese
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
11 January, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

This house was a great one for the quick weekend getaway that we had with a large group of friends. Great location for us as we wanted something quiet, but that was close to the city. Very spacious and open and there was plenty of room for everyone. It was clean and the owner was awesome. Was prompt to return questions, very friendly and was so thoughtful to leave us with a case of bottled water and some treats!

Would recommend this house for large groups looking for a nice quiet place away from the noise and hustle and bustle of the city! Will definitely be back there next time we are all in town!
Nov 2015
  • 1 of 1


2.7/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

Perfect View of Beautiful Rocky Mountain
average rating of 2.7142856 based on 8 reviews

Good property for large group

  • 4 of 5

We had 13 people and a baby and the size of the house made it comfortable for us all. Nice big yard and quiet country setting.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada

My 4th VRBO experience for a Family Reunion!

  • 1 of 5

What a grand house with lots of room and space for a Family Gathering! However, being that it was on my recommendation to my step mom that VRBO was a terrific place to rent from, and that this would be my 4th VRBO stay, I was truly dissappointed to have family from different spots in Canada to stay here. As we drove up the driveway, almost all the driveway lights were broken, there were empty bottles strewn all over the yard and the yard was littered with leaves and branches, suggesting that no one had been there in a while to do basic yard clean up.

Walking into the house we saw a similar scene: although it was tidy, the cleaning was not up to even a basic standard. Even our VRBO Jamaican rental last year was miles ahead in the area of cleanliness! My husband and I began cleaning the kitchen. There was wine spills all over cabinets, the ceiling and floor. Broken Glass, food crumbs and even mouse poison pellets scattered about on the floor. The counter tops, tables and side tables all had a layer of dust still on. Even some of the dishes we went to use still had dried food on them. The coffee maker was a disaster and I had to make coffee camp style: in a pot and hope that everyone could stand having floating grinds.

It was not a cheap rental and I am sure that at one point in time this house was truly grand. It certainly has the space for a wonderful large gathering. It also affords a beautiful view of the Rocky Mountains, and gives one the sense they are out in the wilderness, even though they are still right in Calgary. Being right in Calgary has its advantages as you are close to all manner of amenities and only an hour away from Banff.

The last point - is that there was something in the air inside the house as every single one of us began to have breathing issues in the house. We would go outside to breathe in fresh air and within 15 minutes we would stop coughing. Go back in the house and something would start to irritate our lungs again.

This is a VRBO rental home in Canada, and I am ashamed that my entire family had this as their first experience with VRBO. I can truly say they are not convinced of VRBO as a viable option over mainstream hotels.

My suggestion to improve this location would be to change your cleaning staff, and go through your kitchen to ensure everything is in proper working order. I live in Alberta and know that this is completely doable and would improve the reviews you get.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: very disappointing. People demand some discounts and when they don't get those discounts this is how they get the revenge. Nothing to Say. "Come and See"
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Fantastic property but very disappointing

  • 1 of 5

Firstly Canada is a great place for a holiday, winter or summer - Calgary is an ideal choice for seeing a smart metropolitan city and the Rockies - within 30 mins of heading west you start to experience one of Canada's wonderful National Parks

Mr Gunaratne's house to the west of Calgary is a great location near the main road to Calgary city and off to the Rockies (also close to good shops and restaurants)

The photographs and description of the house looked ideal for our needs and we looked forward to the holiday after booking early in 2016


On arrival it was immediately clear that this house was not prepared or maintained to a standard needed for holiday rentals

The whole house (whilst being very grand and large) was not clean (more on this later) and had personal effects , clothes and food throughout the house

For example the master bedroom with large en suite and walk in dressing room was full of personal effects and clothing - in fact it looked like the owners had just left for the day and would be returning soon - we had to move everything aside to find room for our clothes in the dressing room

The kitchen was not clean - the floor needed sweeping, the oven looked like it had never been cleaned - the fridges and store cupboards were 25% full of the owners food , the BBQ was not clean

Two of the toilets were not working properly - they had loose handles and would not flush (I tightened them both and got them working)

The bed linen was old and mis matched , the pillows were old and stained (we bought new ones)

Frankly the experience initially spoilt our holiday - I could continue with many faults

The property had a comprehensive renters manual which seemed to focus on different ways you could lose your deposit (example - leave items in the wrong rooms on departure)

This is a great pity as the house is a perfect property and in a great location - let down in a major way by lack of cleaning and maintenance

If you are thinking of renting this property I would recommend looking at the latest reviews first and then making a decision

Mr Gunaratne was a good communicator and we looked forward to our stay , fortunately the beauty of Canada partly compensated for the disappointing rental property - I have many photographs of the uncleanliness but cannot see how to post them here

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: very disappointing. Didn't come on the day suppose to come. Very absent minded person. How could someone coming from a different country forget the dates. Talk very nicely on one day. Next day he is totally weird. Looks like something bothering him. ( only my personal opinion) I don't know how to judge people when they come. Have to learn a lot. Could be a clean freak. Same cleaners are working every time. Everyone's cleaning expectation is different.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Caution - bait and switch

  • 1 of 5

Caution .

Our experience ( when booking in early 2016 ) did not work out at all. The owner hid the fact that this was a room rental only - not the whole house as per VRBO requirements. We finally had to go through Visa to get our money back . VRBO really did nothing to help us - and we were left to fend for ourselves , jump through many hoops before our cash was returned . To the owner : this is a B&B situation without the breakfast which is NOT a '' Whole Home Rental " as per the VRBO rules. Now we see you have changed to a summer time whole home rental - all I can say is anyone wanting this property , use extreme caution. I hope our review gets on his listing .

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is very pathetic to here this kind of response from a businessman. Originally said 2 people are coming and book the house. Then just 2 days before arrival said 6 people are coming. Then I said the rates are different. So he cancelled in the last minute. Shouldn't have given any refund for these kind of people. Very cunning and trying to use people. DO not let cheaters like this in your home. IF any one need facts please contact me. DO NOT let theses cheaters use you.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0

Family Reunion at 75738

  • 4 of 5

The house is very large and private and suited our family reunion purposes perfectly. We had a great stay!

  • Review Submitted: May 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Functional home with great view in great location

  • 4 of 5

Owner was very nice and extremely responsive to any questions/issues. The house itself served its purpose well due to its size, (we had a big family christmas there) but is in a very apparent state of disrepair. As an example, the main kitchen sink did not drain properly, (literally took hours to drain) so we had to use the other, single, sink. When we asked about this sink not draining the owner said that the dishwasher needed to be turned on but no matter what we tried with the dishwasher and/or garburator it would not drain. Also, one of the kitchen chairs was falling apart and was being held together with Scotch tape. The two ovens in the kitchen are tiny - our Christmas turkey just barely fit in the lower one and only when we used a very small pan and jammed the bird in. Also, the kitchen fridge was at least half full of the owners food leaving us with a minimal amount of space for a Christmas holiday. The house in general was tidy but not clean, (i.e.: kitchen floors sticky, dust on furniture, stains on walls). Lastly, we have rented many properties through vrbo in the past and they have always still felt like a hotel but with this one it was very apparent that we were staying in somebody else's home because of all the personal items throughout the house, (i.e.: family pictures and other personal items).

  • Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0


Nearest Airport
25 Kilometres
Calgary International Airport
Nearest Barpub
4 Kilometres
Crowfoot Centre - several bars
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Lynx Ridge Golf Course
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Tuscany Station
Nearest Motorway
200 Metres
Tussel Wood Dr.
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Lynx Ridge Golf Course
Nearest Ski
10 Kilometres
Calgary Olympic Park

Closer Calgary Olympic Park

One hour Drive to Banff National Park and Resort

Kananaskis Resort ( G7 Summit held once) 45 minutes

Elbow Falls 30 minutes

Drumheller Dinosaur Museum - 1 hour


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Northwest Calgary, Alberta

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 10 guests; add £33 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £312
cleanning fee £125 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Northwest Calgary, Alberta

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 7000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Golf Course View
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
  • rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out
  • village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 7 - Toilet
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 15
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Master Bedroom - Living area of over 1200 SF
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , attached bathroom
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , attached bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , attached bathroom
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Double Bed , separate bathroom with 4 piece - not attached
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Double Bed , separate bathroom not attached
    Bedroom 7 - 1 Double Bed , Bathroom shared with one adjoin room - have private access
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • tennis

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties