HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Mandolin Wind - Private retreat with hot tub and partial ocean view

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4)

About a 10 minute walk to the beach! A single level house situated on a quarter acre lot with great privacy. The kitchen has been recently remodeled and is equipped for serious cooking. Comfortably furnished home with new Hot Springs hot tub and loungers on the large deck offering views of the ocean and Bodega Head.

Mandolin Wind is ideally laid out for two couples or a small family. Generous master suite has a king-sized bed, private bath and 36" TV. The guest bedroom has queen-sized bed, 36" TV and adjacent bath. Top quality linens, hair dryers, washer/dryer, ironing board/iron are all provided.

The kitchen includes a great gas stove for the cook, slab granite counter tops and new stainless steel appliances, including a wine refrigerator. Next to the well-equipped kitchen is the dining area, which comfortably seats six. You will also find a wonderful selection of cook books and elegant artwork throughout the house.

The large living room features a gas fireplace, high ceilings, 50" TV and Blu-Ray DVD player with internet connection. There are many windows and sliding door leading to the deck with hot tub and lots of space for relaxing. There is a Weber gas BBQ and table for outdoor dining.

Mandolin Wind has a high speed internet connection via Comcast cable to accommodate people who want to get away but have to stay connected. There is a wireless router to allow use of all your internet devices.

You can enjoy a round of world-class golf, then have dinner in the Club House overlooking the ocean. There are sliding glass doors out to the spa from the master bedroom and also the living area. Later on, watch the sunset from the private hot tub, while enjoying a glass of local Sonoma County wine; you will live out on the deck!

Bodega Bay is a quiet, secluded, peaceful sanctuary, yet only 55 miles from the sophisticated City of San Francisco. Hiking and bike trails abound to explore the rugged coastline. Enjoy a walk around Bodega Head or take the Pinnacle Gulch trail, which leads directly down to the beach. There are many local activities in Bodega Bay, Bodega, Sonoma, Petaluma and Sebastopol, such as the Fisherman's Festival and wineries in all directions.

We are so fortunate to have many excellent restaurants within a 5-10 minute drive, including Blue Water Bistro, our own clubhouse restaurant, Lucas Wharf and The Tides, and we can now boast of a Michelin one-star restaurant, Terrapin Creek. We are happy to share all of these wonderful local features with our guests

License - 1690

More Details

Owner
Robert & Diana Reger
Member since: 2004
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
17 October, 2017

About Robert & Diana Reger

My husband and I love Bodega Bay. It is very peaceful and quiet and yet it is not far from San Francisco. The ocean is beautiful as well as the shoreline and beaches. The weather is variable but it's a great place to hang out if the weather is good or bad. There are some excellent seafood restaurants in the town of Bodega Bay and it is really enjoyable to get a table by the window and watch the boats going in and out of the harbour.

Robert & Diana Reger purchased this house in 2015

Why Robert & Diana Reger chose North Coast California

Mandolin Wind is located on a large 1/4 acre lot with a very private setting. The house is light filled and very comfortable. The large deck offers views of the ocean, Bodega Head and surrounding hills. There is lots of wildlife nearby including quail, deer, coyotes, rabbits and many kinds of hawks.

What makes this house unique

- Private setting on large lot

- Panoramic views

- Beautiful remodeled kitchen

- New Hot Springs SX model hot tub

Location

Nearest Airport
55 Miles
San Francisco
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Lucas Wharf
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Bodega Harbour
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Lucas Wharf
Nearest Beach
0.4 Miles
Doran Beach
Car: necessary

Small fishing village; quaint; beautiful coast line

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Bodega Bay in the Sonoma County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • near the sea ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Guest bath has stall shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom with king size bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Guest bedroom has queen size bed.
  • Master bedroom has a king size bed, 36" TV and en suite bathroom. Guest bedroom has a queen size bed and 36" TV.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

84% Complete
12% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Mandolin Wind - Private retreat with hot tub and partial ocean view
average rating of 4.818182 based on 33 reviews
5

The house had it all!

  • 5 of 5

This house was more than we ever expected. Well stocked kitchen, beautiful deck, great hot tub, and plenty of backyard friends - deer, rabbits, quail, and barn owls. Comfortable bed, spacious living room with large flat screen TV. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Albuquerque, NM
5

Very nice home in a great neighborhood

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our recent stay at Mandolin Wind. The house has everything you could possibly need and then some. We enjoyed the location and the easy commute to hot spots. We had a fantastic week!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely, peaceful getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time in this lovely house, which is detail- oriented from the lovely pots of flowers around the front door to the colorful sea-themed artwork. We used the great wrap-around deck virtually all day. We had our morning coffee on the patio set outside the master bedroom, in the supplied white toweling robes.. We took a dip in the hot tub, and cooked dinner on the BBQ. It was just perfect in the evening enjoying our glass of local wine while watching the sun going down.

The location is very private and peaceful, yet very close to restaurants and shops. The inside of the house was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. The king size bed in the Master Bedroom seemed brand new and was extremely comfortable.

Though I did not have the need to speak to the owners during my stay as everything was just perfect and there was no need to contact them, my dealings with them to book and confirm my reservation was wonderful. They seem like very friendly and professional people who obviously take pride in their business. Already planning our next trip!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

wonderful homy feeling.

  • 4 of 5

Glad to have stayed the few nights we did. Very well maintained and equipped.

We did miss the view of the water and the noise from the road was louder than what we are normally use to.

thanks for letting us stay there

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted to say that the Bodega Harbour HOA will be topping the trees blocking our view this Fall, which have probably grown about ten times what they normally grow in a year, so we will have our lovely tranquil view back again! Also, hopefully the way, way above average temperatures (from 104 to 115 degrees) will not return, so that the unbelievable traffic will return to normal levels in our lovely little backwater of Bodega Bay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

It was dusty and dirty. We had to buy pepper because it wasn't supplied...

  • 3 of 5

We were surprised that we were right in highway 1.

The car noise was really loud, something we didn't expect because it was advertised as quiet.

The neighbor's dogs are always off leash, so it was stressful with our 14 year old dog who is afraid when rushed.

We were surprised that the property wasn't equipped like the owner's other homes.

When I put through a wash I was surprised to find sheets in the dryer.

We still enjoyed ourselves; but wonder why we paid so much!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were really surprised and shocked to read this negative review from guests who have stayed with us previously, and given prior favorable reviews. We were not contacted at any time during their stay to give us a chance to correct any problems. Indeed, if the guests were so unhappy, we would have preferred to relocate them at our expense than have them dissatisfied. Also, our home is NEVER dusty and dirty, we work closely with the housekeeper and indeed, we arrived at 11:40 am, to supervise the cleaning, just as these guests were pulling out, with a friendly wave to us. We have been really saddened by this interchange. We have over 20 unsolicited reviews of Mandolin Wind from other guests and most of them are 5 stars. It is our goal to offer good value at all of our rentals. It only takes a few minutes of research to see that our prices are among the lowest of all the rental homes located in Bodega Harbour. Please read the other reviews and judge for yourself.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful oceanview home nestled in the hills.

  • 5 of 5

Our first impression was, wow! My wife and I enjoyed every minute of our stay here. One added bonus was the vast array of wildlife. We witnessed on our last evening 7 or 8 barn owls hovering over the meadow behind the home. The meadow was also home to jackrabbits and cottontails, various other avian species, some does and fawns, and we enjoyed soaking in the spa watching them do animal stuff.

We slept in and took naps, which is a rare treat, even the baby slept until 9AM after his morning bottle. The kitchen was well appointed and we cooked some meals at home and tried the various dining options in town. One day we ventured over to Lagunitas and tried out some of their libations. We laughed as we drove off because my wife had really wanted to wine taste, but we had so much fun I guess we forgot to do that.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in the Bodega Bay, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High
1 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£662
for 3 nights
From
£183
From
£204
Fri,Sat
£1,274
 
 
Low
1 Nov 2017 - 20 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£446
for 2 nights
From
£166
From
£191
Fri,Sat
£1,155
 
 
Thanksgiving
21 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
4 night minimum stay
£964
for 4 nights
From
£212
 
 
Low
27 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£446
for 2 nights
From
£166
From
£200
Fri,Sat
£1,155
 
 
Xmas / NY
23 Dec 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£790
for 3 nights
From
£225
£1,537
 
 
Low
2 Jan 2018 - 28 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£446
for 2 nights
From
£166
From
£191
Fri,Sat
£1,155
 
 
Mid
1 Mar 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£650
for 3 nights
From
£178
From
£200
Fri,Sat
£1,240
 
 
High
1 Jun 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
4 night minimum stay
£879
for 4 nights
From
£191
From
£212
Fri,Sat
£1,325
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£688
for 3 nights
From
£191
From
£212
Fri,Sat
£1,325
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £189.55
Pet Fee £56.87
Cleaning Charge £102.36 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals