HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Converted farmhouse 'Arzella' with pool and garden.MTA accredited

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 2,690 sq. ft.
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms,2 bathrooms (1 en-suite) ,sleeps 6-7

Beautifully converted 150-year-old farmhouse with the aim of maintaining the rustic style, which is so typical for Gozo farmhouses, but combining this with modern comfort. It comprises a total area of 350 m2 with a sitting room, large dining/living room with dining table and sofa, partly open kitchen and toilet/washing room at the ground floor.

The kitchen has all amenities and the wash room contains a washing machine. Wide doors give easy access to a spacious garden with a 30-m2 pool, pool shower, barbecue, gazebo and garden furniture, overlooking the fields.

A classical stairs with skylight leads to the second floor with 3 spacious bedrooms and 2 luxury bathrooms, of which one is en-suite. Two bedrooms have double beds, one has two singles. Two of the bedrooms have balconies, offering nice views over the fields/part of town. All furniture is first class pine. The house is well furnishing with a combination of classical pine and rattan. AC is available for the master bedroom ( at a small extra charge) , capable of cooling other (bed)rooms to a degree.Ceiling & Standing fans are installed as is a free Wireless network ( code protected)

We are licensed by the Maltese Tourist Authority (MTA).

More Details

Owner
Frans Spijker
Member since: 2003
Speaks English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Italian, Dutch, Norwegian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
24 May, 2017

About Frans Spijker

Hi , I am Dutch by nationality and married since 1982 to a Maltese lady. My profession has made us live for the last 25 + years in 8 different countries around the world and we recently decided to settle down in Portugal .

Frans Spijker purchased this farmhouse in 2003

Why Frans Spijker chose Malta

Considering our strong family ties with Malta we always wanted to purchase some property on the sister island of Gozo. Why Gozo ? because it is much quieter and more intimate than Malta, also greener throughout the year with lovely beaches close by.

What makes this farmhouse unique

We purchased this property at the time and had it converted because we loved the location being on the outskirts of Xaghra ,with green areas behind,the possibility to have a nice garden, quietness but nevertheless still with all amenities of Xaghra within walking distance (10-15 mins)

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday farmhouse in Xaghra in Malta

Property Type:
  • farmhouse (semi-detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2690 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • village
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Sunbed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master Bathroom (ensuite) - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Guest Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Main living toilet/washroom - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Master bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Child Bed
    Guest bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Guest bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • 2 doubles, 1 family bedroom, 1 cot and one foldable bed for a teenager. Ceiling fans in each of the rooms.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Terrace
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Patio
  • Terrace
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Maid services are provided once a week. Attractive car rental can be arranged via housemanagement representative The garden is lighted and has a comfortable Gazebo where 4-6 people can dine. Wireless internet included in the price, with full plot coverage.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

Converted farmhouse 'Arzella' with pool and garden.MTA accredited
average rating of 4.851852 based on 27 reviews
5

Gorgeous stone built house with pool and garden a short walk from the village square.

  • 5 of 5

We really loved staying here, and even my 22month old grand daughter jumped up and down with delight when we opened the door! It was perfect for us, with two bathrooms, and a very well equipped kitchen, TV with DVD's including one for her, and comfortable loungers by the poolside. Only problem was the gas oven, which we could not work. Also the instructions were very faded... . Otherwise delightful, with a pretty garden and little pergola, to sit and have drinks, and a larger table and chairs just outside the French doors, for dining. We would happily have paid for some charcoal as we could not find any at all on the island, and would have liked to have a BBQ. The house is only a ten minute walk from the village square where they are some nice restaurants to eat or have a coffee or drink. We would love to come again!

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Jane,many thanks for taking the trouble to provide us with feedback and of course pleased that you enjoyed your stay. As regards the oven we had some problems with one of the knobs ,but presume this was fixed. It is a bit complicated,which is why we put up some instructions...but then indeed it should be readible....so we take action straight away....Strange you didn't manage to find charcoal... Not sure if you asked Frank of the management company,but we will now request him to ensure for the warm months there is always a bag of charcoal under the BBQ upon guest arrival ...Thanks again,hope to see you back and then for any problem contact our house management...afterall it is one of the services we pay them for...! Regards, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Excellent farmhouse in Xaghra, Gozo

  • 4 of 5

Arzella Farmhouse was exactly as described in the further particulars. The patio and pool area were lovely and the gazebo was perfect for lunch in the shade. The bedrooms, particularly the one overlooking the pool, were very comfortable. Everything was clean and well-maintained.

While it is situated on a fairly narrow street (parking was not a problem) in the town (12 minute walk to main square), it was very quiet and peaceful and, particularly in the evenings, it felt like one was in the middle of the country. This might be different in high season as both the properties on either side are holiday-lets but they were vacant while we were there. On our first morning there we were woken by much drilling and pouring of cement from a house being renovated next-door-but-one. Fortunately, they finished by 10.00am and did not return.

Xagra is a very pleasant medium-size town. The main square is pretty with bars, cafes and restaurants but there are hardly any shops in the town - which was not a problem because Victoria with loads of shops and supermarkets in only a 10 minute drive away. We chose it because of its proximity to Ramla Beach, the best beach on Gozo; it is about a 10 minute drive away.

Gozo is so much more peaceful and tranquil than Malta and Arzella was a perfect base for our four night stay there.

My only criticism is not with Arzella Farmhouse, but with HomeAway's website. After paying my deposit, I received several emails threatening to cancel my booking if I did not pay. I eventually had to contact the owner in Gozo who was very helpful and sorted the problem. When it was time to pay the balance the website would not accept my payment. I had to contact HomeAway and sort it over the phone.

Nevertheless, I would strongly recommend Arzella to anyone wanting a holiday in Gozo.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for writing a review and very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at "Arzella" and the town of Xaghra ! Unfortunate that a simple booking process turned out so complicated in the end. Trust the Homeaway staff will capitalize on the learning points !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, New York
5

Beautiful Farmhouse

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed for 3 nights at the Arzella property - what a wonderful experience. The property had all the amenities advertised and was in a great central location to visit other sites around Gozo. Xaghra was beautiful - it was an easy walk from the house to the town square, which was filled with cafes and restaurants. Don't miss the Ta'Mena Estate/Vineyards if you stay in Xaghra! Frans was very helpful throughout the whole booking process and the realty company (we worked with Frank) was great too. I would definitely recommend this property to friends and family traveling to Gozo.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your review and obviously very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the services provided by our House management. Very thoughtful that you mentioned Ta'Mena ! We always try to visit it during our stays at Gozo. They produce first class wine (under the watchful eye of Joseph) .....and in summer serve good and honest food ... Hope to see you stay again in "Arzella" at some point in the future ! Regards, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Very Nice and well kept...

We enjoy our holiday hope we can been there next year....

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the trouble to review your stay at "Arzella" and hope to welcome you again in the future ! Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Relaxing Space!

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Arzella Farmhouse in July of this year. We stayed in Malta for a week beforehand and found the tranquility of Gozo very relaxing. The people and the environment were just lovely! We are a family of five, including two teens and a 9yr old. We were there probably around the hottest time of they year so we did have trouble keeping cool at night but we coped (just!) with the air con in the main bedroom and our youngest came through to sleep with us on the camp bed in the same room. The teens put up with the fans in the other rooms. What really makes this property special is it's space and symapthetic conversion, it is a beautiful space and once you shut the front door behind you, it was so lovely to be able to chill out, eveyone had enough room to get some space indoors and outdoors, more so than we have at home! The outside space was gorgeous, pool just perfect and we enjoyed eating outside. There was building works going on next door but they didn't seem to be very busy - perhaps too hot? We also seemed to arrive slap bang in the middle of religious festivies which all ended up being part of the fun - there were fireworks every day and every night happening in the villages around us! Coming from Edinburgh we thought we were pretty used to fireworks but this was on a different scale! I should also mention the neighbouring cockerel who delighted in waking us all up early morning, I'm not a great sleeper so I did slightly dread trying to sleep before he started up and then keep asleep once his pal started to crow back to him, but I did take this on board before we booked and I'm sure normal sleepers would find it less tricky. We found getting into the village easy, during the summer they do a history re-enactment in the village square on Wednesdays so that was fun to watch. The cafes were nice although the village square works were still ongoing (since last year?) so that did put a slight damper on sitting there in the evenings. The bus stops were not far and we managed to get round the island easily using the buses. We did the open top bus tour and Ramla bay - both great fun. And you have the caves nearby - worth seeing. We would love to come and stay again if we ever manage to save up for another family abroad holiday, thank you everyone for helping us have a great holiday!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for taking the trouble to provide us with feedback. Much appreciated ! Pleased that you enjoyed your stay , not only the house itself but also the surroundings and services of our Management Company. Hope to see you & family back some time in the future ! Regards, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Ideal place for a vacation

  • 5 of 5

This was our second time at this wonderful house, which is situated in a very peaceful area. The service was once again impeccable; place was found very clean we will definitely come back next year. Thanks Frans

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Mark, Many thanks for your review and hope to see you stay again at " Arzella" at some point in the future ! Regards, Frans
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
40 Kilometres
40
Nearest Barpub
500 Metres
Nearest Ferry
8 Kilometres
Mgarr
Nearest Golf
40 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
200 Metres
Xaghra
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Ramla
Car: recommended

Why not spent your holiday in a converted 150 yr. old farmhouse in the mid of the Mediterranean Sea on the sunny, quiet and picturesque island of Gozo with its more than 3000 yr. of history?

Farmhouse Arzella ('Shell') is a beautifully converted 150-year-old farmhouse with a spacious garden at the border of the picturesque and quiet town of Xaghra (pronounce: shara).

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday farmhouse in Xaghra, Europe

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Medium
1 May 2017 - 31 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£316
for 3 nights
From
£105
£737
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Standard
1 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
£341
for 3 nights
From
£114
£796
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
High
1 Jul 2017 - 31 Jul 2017
3 night minimum stay
£404
for 3 nights
From
£135
£943
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak
1 Aug 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
£442
for 3 nights
From
£147
£1,032
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
Medium
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£316
for 3 nights
From
£105
£737
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £9 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£316
for 3 nights
From
£105
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rates apply for max 4 persons. Additional charge : Euro 11/person/per night up to 7 persons . Lower rates for children
Higher rates may apply for Christmas/New Year and Easter periods.
30 % deposit within 2 weeks of date of booking,remaining latest 1 month before start of rental

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals