HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Close-in Spacious Midcentury Modern

Bedrooms 1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, 3 Sleeps

Spacious, private living space in the lower-level of a mid-century modern ranch. Includes kitchenette with sink, refrigerator, coffee/tea options, toaster, microwave. No indoor stovetop. Outdoor propane grill. Danish-modern queen size bed with tempurpedic mattress. Living room, private bath with walk-in shower. Large outdoor patio space and shared access to large (and rare for portland) in-ground swimming pool.

Guest has access to the entire, separate downstairs living space. One dedicated and separate pool-level entrance and one shared driveway entrance available. Enjoy shared access to the pool between the hours of 7am - 10pm. Private, outside patio with grill and dining table. Off-street parking available. Washer/dryer in utility room.

Close-in se location near division restaurant scene (pok pok, ava gene's, xico, bollywood theater, etc). Espresso, shopping, restaurants all within walking distance. Historic residential neighborhood with multiple city parks close-by.

Situated on a bicycle-friendly avenue close to several neighborhood greenways and major public transportation arteries. Pedestrian-friendly neighborhood.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 July, 2016


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Creston - Kenilworth in Oregon

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Walk-in shower. Includes towels, shower gel, first aid kit.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Open floor plan. Main bed is set off to side of living space in a nook.
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool


4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

Close-in Spacious Midcentury Modern
average rating of 4.0 based on 5 reviews

The home away from home

  • 5 of 5

Since this was our first time in Oregon/Portland, we had a lot of exploring and site-seeing on our "To Do" list.

So after our busy days, it always felt so nice to be back "home" and to be able to rest and recover for the next day.

Love to come back!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Acceptable but disappointed.

  • 3 of 5

From the pictures advertising it was not apparent that this was a basement. The room was clean and the location fit our needs. There wasn't a TV in the place. I would not stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tom, I apologize if you feel our posting did not reflect what you were expecting in a vacation rental. We do not have a TV and we do not list that as an amenity. We do not watch TV ourselves so we sometimes forget how important that is for some people. Our home is built into a south-facing slope. The accommodation that we offer is on the 1st floor of the home which can be considered a "daylight" or "walkout" basement since it is the ground-level of the property on the sunny side of the house. This floor has always been a living space from its original design in the 1950s. I'm sorry it did not work for your tastes and I hope that you find something more in alignment with your style and needs on your next visit to Portland.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

The place was adequate

  • 2 of 5

The actual place is a walk out basement. It is very big - it is the entire basement and it is all open with the bed in one corner. It is not very cozy. You can hear the upstairs occupants very well. The window gives the the backyard with a pool. The yard needs maintenance.

The owner was friendly.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank You for your feedback. We do characterize the accommodation as "spacious" (even in the title of the listing) and it does have an open floor plan. I suppose that "cozy" is left to interpretation. While it is spacious, we receive many compliments from our guests on the comfort of the bed (premium tempurpedic), furniture, radiant-heat floor, diverse lighting options and how the structure of the daylight basement affords both south-facing sunlight and solid sound insulation from the city. While the house is shared with upstairs occupants (my family of 3, no pets), we observe traditional quiet hours to respect the sanctuary of our guests. We will definitely explore options to dampen the sound that is experienced during waking hours. We have permanent/manicured landscaping in the front of the house. The vegetable garden in our backyard beyond the pool area is at the end of our growing season and looks like it, but has served a distinct purpose of providing organic food for our family and during the growing season we encourage our guests to share in the abundance. More functional than ornamental, but we will consider creating a buffer if we get more feedback that the sight of a veggie garden is unappealing to our guests. As evident in our photos of the backyard, the usable area (patios, expansive pool deck) are all accessible and despite the occasional buildup of fallen leaves (it is Autumn, currently) requires little maintenance. We love meeting our guests and always invite communication to enhance our guests' comfort during their stay, whether it be additional linens, climate adjustment, special needs or just to say "hi".
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beautiful and private

  • 5 of 5

I had a wonderful stay at this property. Easy and secure access, huge space, comfy bed, great kitchen area with everything you need. It was clean and well maintained. The owner was available and responsive. Listing is accurate and it's an easy drive to get anywhere in Portland. Close to a bus route too. Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA

Quiet and roomy

  • 5 of 5

This was the roomiest apartment I ever stayed in. Loved it. Everything is just like the description says it would be. The kitchen is tiny but offered all we needed. It is not meant for big cooking though - no stove, no dishwasher - but since we only needed breakfast it was perfect for us. Great view of the backyard and very quiet, very relaxing.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Creston - Kenilworth, Portland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £27 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £44 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Absolutely no tobacco smoking on premises. Sorry, no pets allowed. Please inform hosts in advance of your stay if you would like to host a gathering in the space.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot