HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

East Tennessee Castle

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Property type castle

Overview


Details
Property
castle
People
6
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday castle in Knoxville - Williamswood Castle

3 Bedroom, 2.5 Bath Castle On Riverfront Close To Downtown Knoxville!

The space

A stay at williamswood castle is an epic adventure into medieval scotland - modeled after a scottish hunting lodge, our guests - the lords and ladies of the estate - will enjoy such amenities as a multi-level balcony overlooking the tennessee river, a massive bedroom complete with the sistine chapel painted on the ceiling, several fireplaces, a bookshelf that moves out of the way to reveal a staircase, forty-two leaded stained glass windows, and more than 4,500 square feet of magic.

Have a pint of ale in the black dog pub, or take a walk through the more than three hundred acres of forests of ijams nature center that surround the property.

Features include the following:

-500 feet of riverfront;

-two massive decks, one of which is multi-level;

-ponds, gardens, and forests;

-surrounded by 300 acres of ijams nature center;

-fully fenced-in;

-your very own pub;

-three bedrooms (one of which has an antique sleigh bed that cannot accommodate anyone over six feet tall!);

-two secret passages;

-hand-carved wood details abound;

-smartphone-compatible speaker system throughout the house;

-four gas fireplaces;

-dozens of pieces of antique furniture;

-the most unique and amazing house in knoxville.

Williamswood castle is an unforgettable adventure for the whole family!

Guest access

The entire premises, with the exception of the chapel that is disconnected from the castle and the garage. The roof-porch off the second floor of the master bedroom is under construction - you may go out there, but you will have to pardon our dust!

Interaction with guests

Generally you will receive a tour of the castle, as well as instruction on how to operate the castle. You will have my personal cell phone number just in case you need me for anything.

The neighborhood

Williamswood castle is quite secluded in the forest, as it is a property surrounded by ijams nature center. With 300 acres of beautiful forests, ijams has trails, a ropes course, a mountain biking path, and programming for children.

Williamswood is located directly across from island home airport, where visitors can land and store their private planes.

Getting around

You will need to either take a taxi or drive to and from willliamswood castle.

Other things to note

Check-in is from 3:00 pm until 9:00 pm. Check-out is no later than 11:00 am.

This venue is also used for weddings and other events. Please wait for confirmation from us once you book. Thank you!

Please enjoy the estate, but there are a few rules that you must strictly adhere to.

1. No smoking in the castle.

2. No weddings, professional photo shoots, or large parties. If you want to schedule a wedding or other large party, we will be happy to accommodate you if you contact us without making a booking.

3. If you have guests over, absolutely no parking outside of the gate. The neighbors will tow your's and your guests' cars without warning.

4. No more than 10 visitors beyond those registered to stay per night. If you want to bring more people over, please let us know in advance and we may be able to accommodate you.

5. Williamswood is full of antiques and art. If any of your guests steal, deface, or otherwise damage any part of the property, you will be held personally responsible.

6. No entering the garage. That is our staging area.

7. Absolutely no pets allowed.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Julia Roy
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
14 November, 2016

About Julia Roy

Williamswood was built in 1991 by my Grandmother, Julia Tucker.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

East Tennessee Castle
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 6 reviews
5

DWilliams

  • 5 of 5

I attended a birthday party for a dear friend and this place is over the top! I searched the place from top to bottom and only found more treasure. I will party there again!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alcoa, TN
5

An amazing Castle!

  • 5 of 5

My Wife, Sabrina Howe-Coopman, and I, Bill Coopman, teamed up with Wayne Howe and Paul Wray to rent the Williamswood Castle for our Daughter's, Melanie Howe, 30th Birthday Party. We had over 30 guests, a catered dinner by Jorge Navarro, formerly Owner of Meksiko in Farragut. It was an incredible facility, a wonderful evening, comfortable sleeping arrangements for 6 of us, and the Owners couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating! If you have a Special Event, or want to treat your family and friends to a super cool party, contact the folks at Williams wood Castle!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sabrina and her husband Bill left the castle immaculate. We can quite honestly say it is the nicest any guest has ever left the house. We would gladly have this wonderful couple and their guests back at Williamswood!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Knoxville
5

Awesome place~

  • 5 of 5

We went there tonight for a friend's birthday party and had a great time.. the place is amazing! This place would be great for a "Who Done It" mystery night.. so much to see and experience.. we will definitely be back again!!!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you- we have hosted many "murder mystery" parties in the past. We even have an acquaintance who writes murder mysteries and can customize them to your party theme! :)
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

great overall experience but very dirty

  • 4 of 5

We found this place at homeaway and wanted the experience. It was a great experience and the location was great. It had a good atmosphere and I loved how close it was to the nature center. It was not at the level of cleanliness we are used to with previous stays at other places. There were dirty dishes that had been put away with food still on them, and used dried up food on the floor in the main dining hall. (I took pictures) Also, there were cobwebs and dust everywhere including over the windows on the inside right next to the bed and the upstairs bedroom actually had full webs on the bed. I had to clean by the sleigh bed and the upstairs bedroom before anyone would sleep in the beds. I also spent over an hour cleaning the deck off the master bedroom with my girls so that we could use it. The tables were black from dirt and not being cleaning in apparently a long time. Any of the outdoor gazebos were very run down and very dirty so we didn't get to use any of them. Which is a shame being this place had a lot of potential if someone would take the time to clean it properly and update the outside a bit. The deck had wonderful views and once we cleaned some, the experience it self was great. The house is really cute and has a lot of neat things in it, and we spent one day over at the nature center which has a nice paved path right near it so we could walk to the center instead of driving. The nature center has an amazing ropes course that we loved and would certainly go there again. Not sure if i would spend them amount of money it was to stay there again for how dirty things were. For that much money, it should have been in great shape on our arrival.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate feedback from our guests as we certainly want to address any issues there may be with our VRBO property. Unfortunately we had a substitute house cleaner before check-in for this guests arrival. We were unaware that the cleaners were not thorough prior to this review. Had we known, we would have remedied the situation immediately. We already had maintenance scheduled for our deck just days after this guests stay. It has since been refurbished and painted (as well as the gazebo) that overlooks the river. We are happy that the overall experience of the previous guest was positive, appreciating the uniqueness of the castle and its prime location, being next door to Ijams Nature Center and in close proximity to the University of Tennessee and downtown. We are so glad to be able to share our family home with others and want everyone at Williamswood Castle to have a magical stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Hurricane, WV
4

Barnett Christmas Vacation 2015

  • 4 of 5

If you are looking for a "castle" then you will find it here. Our four girls are grown but every Christmas we always do a "surprise" trip. I will admit they were quite shocked when we were two minutes from downtown Knoxville and we pull up to a "castle". We planned our own costuming and invited several quest to a wonderful "Renaissance Weekend" full of fun and "authenic medieval fixin's" (all prepared by myself and friends) If you are looking for a great place to take your family or a venue large enough to throw a great dinner party then Willamswood Castle is the place! A must for "adventure seekers"!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Family fun @ Williamwood Castle

  • 5 of 5

Our family was fortunate enough rent this absolute treasure for Halloween weekend. We have young grandchildren so it was more of kings ,queens , princes and princesses instead of being "spookie" . The memmories we forged there are priceless. Every inch of the place exceeded expectations .

  • Review Submitted: Nov 2, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
9 1

Location

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Island Home (Private)
Car: recommended

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday castle in Knoxville, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£544
for 1 night
From
£481
From
£612
Fri,Sat
£3,431
£11,434
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £63
Tax Rate 10.0%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday castle in Knoxville, USA

Property Type:
  • castle
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Pub bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Master bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Kitchen bathroom - Toilet
  • Two and a half bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Scotish bedroom - 1 Double Bed
    Hidden bookcase bedroom - 1 Double Bed
  • 3 bedrooms
Entertainment:
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Lanai / Gazebo
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • mountain biking

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot