HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Relax Amidst Nature On Clear Creek

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

This Cabin Has Something for Everyone!

Clear Creek Cabin is located in the scenic Driftless Area of Northeast Iowa.

As you walk out the doors of the secluded cabin you will find a spring-fed one and a half acre pond. Complete with trout, bass and your own white sand beach. Hike 100 yards and you will find 3.2 miles of the Clear Creek trout stream. If you enjoy hiking or hunting, the cabin is adjacent to 800 acres of public hunting land.

For cyclists, The Mississippi River Trail is nearby. More fishing is also located in the Upper Iowa and Mississippi Rivers. And there are many area golf courses and snowmobile trails. Scenic beauty abounds!

And that is just the outdoors.

Clear Creek Cabin boasts 2,700 sq ft of cozy hardwood excellence. The rustic good looks of the original cabin that was built in 1873 (with another log frame addition in 1885 and a modern addition in 2000) is combined with all the modern amenities you would want.

Start your relaxing stay with a full, restful night of sleep in one of the 5 bedrooms. Choose from a king pillow top, queen, full or one of four twin XL beds. Also a fold out sofa/sleeper in the living room. There is even a crib for your infant.

A modern heat and air conditioning system will keep you at the right temperature as you wake up. Next you may find a hot shower or a soak in the tub is in order. Choose from one of the three full baths; one with a shower, one with a shower/tub and another with a shower/tub. Don't forget to drop your bath towel in the towel warmer so it is ready when you get out!

The smell of a hot cup of coffee or tea (or maybe even a "lumberjack" breakfast) are easily in the realm of possibilities for the full kitchen. It has all of the large and small appliances you will need during your stay. There is a full set or dishes and utensils and even a charcoal grill on the flagstone patio outside the back door.

Enjoy your meals on the porch overlooking the pond or in the large dining room. With seating for 10 in the dining room, there is sure to be ample space for all.

Relax and recline in the living room on the large "L" shaped couch. This room has a 50 inch TV, DVD and VHS players, and a console with connection to all your favorites on Netflix or YouTube. You may also enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi for your mobile devices. Or you could follow the kids upstairs to play train conductor on one of several train sets, chef in the play kitchen or play house with them in the 3 foot tall doll house.

This property has something for everyone. Now, go explore!

More Details

Owner
Ryan Herman
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 June, 2017

About Ryan Herman

My wife and I married in 2002 and now have three children. We purchased this cabin in 2015. We have found that the cabin has been a wonderful place for us to slow the pace of life down and reconnect with each other.

Ryan Herman purchased this cabin in 2015

Why Ryan Herman chose Iowa

Clear Creek Cabin adjoins our family farm. We enjoy all the cabin has to offer as much as we can, but our work and children's activities don't allow us to be there as much as we would like to stay. This is great for you! We decided to share the relaxing cabin with its rustic good looks and the natural splendor of the area with you .

What makes this cabin unique

We think you will fall in love with the authentic hand built log cabin with its stone walk and porch overlooking the pond just as we have fallen in love with it. It is hard to explain the feeling you get by being in this place. But, whether you are looking to relax, have fun or enjoy nature you will find it here.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in New Albin in Allamakee County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Mudroom Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Cabin Upstairs Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Cabin Upstairs Bedroom Overlooking Pond - 1 Large Double Bed
    Livingroom - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
    Upstairs Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , Plus an over sized cot
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

73% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
15% Complete
Relax Amidst Nature On Clear Creek
average rating of 4.2105265 based on 19 reviews
5

Secluded oasis

  • 5 of 5

Very nice location to enjoy peaceful, natural setting. Swimming beach for kids, small kayak available to rent, and nice spots to hike. Cabin was roomy and accommodating. Great service, we appreciate the opportunity to come stay at this secluded cabin!

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful and peaceful location and an amazingly cool cabin!

  • 5 of 5

We utilized the cabin for a single day retreat for around 16 people and it was perfect. Absolutely perfect...even though it wasn't a particularly beautiful time of the year and it was raining, it was so peaceful and relaxing. The team universally was thrilled about the location and the amenities. The cabin is very unique and spacious... The owners were extremely easy to work with, friendly, and accommodating . To top it off, right up the valley a little further is an awesome, awesome pottery shop that is a "must visit" if you are at the cabin...all in all I would HIGHLY recommend.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing get away, beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

We stayed for a weekend with two other families, and seven small children between all of us. The cabin was very clean and well kept, beds were comfortable and bedrooms are private with plenty of space. The kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. It was helpful to have several bathrooms. We loved exploring the property, even in the winter with plenty of snow that happen to be there at the time. We found the history of the cabin to be really interesting. With young kids, we really appreciated the space they had to play and all the clean toys and the games the cabin was stocked with. I would love to return another time to check it out in another season!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Rustic Cabin on a beautiful property

  • 3 of 5

The property that this cabin is on it gorgeous. This part of Iowa is a part I hadn't seen before and I can say this trip definitely made me want to return. The cabin is very remote. The last few miles are all rough gravel road, so once you're there, don't plan on running out for groceries or anything. We did alot of hiking around the surrounding hills and creekbeds, and thoroughly enjoyed the peaceful setting that the firepit and yard provided.

Our group was there during the period of time where the pond was drained. Other reviews complained about this, but it was made clear to us in advance, so I really didn't mind that aspect.

The inside of the house was less attractive than the outside. Upon our arrival we found a variety of bugs around the house despite the fact that we could not get an earlier check-in because it was supposedly "being cleaned". I found that most of the dishes provided were in need of a re-wash before using. Despite sunshine the entire weekend we were there, the sump pump was very loud and kicked on and off continously while we were there.

5 stars for the yard and outdoor space, probably 2 stars for the inside.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for visiting with me and clarifying that we did indeed honor the early check-in that you requested. I am sorry about the bugs. Our area does get Asian Beetles in the fall during farmers soybean harvest. I am working with the cleaner to time the cleaning to account for this as well as personally doing the final walk-through and attend to finer details just prior to check-in. I am inspecting and repairing the logs for any cracks that these insects may be getting in at. We do remind all of our guests to please check their dishes as they pull them out of the dishwasher, before putting them back in the cupboards. I will be making routine checks of the stacked dishes, pots and pans this year on my final walk-through prior to guest arrival. I am sorry for the sump pump running. We sure hope to not get record rains in the coming years as we did in the fall of 2016! I was surprised by your review as I had not heard of these issues from you at the time of or after your stay. I am more than happy to rectify any issues guests have and I am always trying to improve the property.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2
5

Loved the stay at the cabin.

  • 5 of 5

We had three families staying over Thanksgiving. It was a blast. Everything was as explained. The cabin house was clean and ready to go for us. We cooked up a Thanksgiving feast and enjoyed getting the families around the large dining room table. We also had lots of fun exploring along the trails including the trail to the top of the bluff and the trail along the trout stream. Beautiful scenery. We recommend this place to others. Hope to return someday and do some trout fishing.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Absolutely perfect

  • 5 of 5

This home is spacious, well furnished, very unique, and very comfortable. Definitely better than advertised. The best part is that it's secluded and super quiet. You can't help but relax here. Being that our visit was in the fall at the onset of the beauty of fall foliage that North Eastern Iowa is known for was just a bonus, but a big bonus at that. Check out the hiking trails around the property and explore for hours. Can't wait to visit again and take advantage of the pond that the owners are in the process of improving. Again, nothing short of perfect.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in New Albin, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer Peak & Fall Colors
12 May 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£468
for 2 nights
From
£234
£1,585
£6,039
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest
 
Fall Off Peak
1 Nov 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£403
for 2 nights
From
£201
£1,244
£4,821
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£403
for 2 nights
From
£201
£1,244
£4,821
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £191.71
Pet Fee £38.65 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

We ask for a minimum rental of 3 nights for holiday weekends.
The posted nightly rate does not include the 5% sales tax rate.
You will be asked to sign the rental agreement, send an image of your valid drivers license and pay in full when booking your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals