HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Relax Amidst Nature On Clear Creek

13 Reviews
Bedrooms 5
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday cabin in New Albin - Clear Creek Cabin

This Cabin Has Something for Everyone!

Clear Creek Cabin is located in the scenic Driftless Area of Northeast Iowa.

As you walk out the doors of the secluded cabin you will find a spring-fed one and a half acre pond. Complete with trout, bass and your own white sand beach. Hike 100 yards and you will find 3.2 miles of the Clear Creek trout stream. If you enjoy hiking or hunting, the cabin is adjacent to 800 acres of public hunting land.

For cyclists, The Mississippi River Trail is nearby. More fishing is also located in the Upper Iowa and Mississippi Rivers. And there are many area golf courses and snowmobile trails. Scenic beauty abounds!

And that is just the outdoors.

Clear Creek Cabin boasts 2,700 sq ft of cozy hardwood excellence. The rustic good looks of the original cabin that was built in 1873 (with another log frame addition in 1885 and a modern addition in 2000) is combined with all the modern amenities you would want.

Start your relaxing stay with a full, restful night of sleep in one of the 5 bedrooms. Choose from a king pillow top, queen, full or one of four twin XL beds. Also a fold out sofa/sleeper in the living room. There is even a crib for your infant.

A modern heat and air conditioning system will keep you at the right temperature as you wake up. Next you may find a hot shower or a soak in the tub is in order. Choose from one of the three full baths; one with a shower, one with a shower/tub and another with a shower/tub. Don't forget to drop your bath towel in the towel warmer so it is ready when you get out!

The smell of a hot cup of coffee or tea (or maybe even a "lumberjack" breakfast) are easily in the realm of possibilities for the full kitchen. It has all of the large and small appliances you will need during your stay. There is a full set or dishes and utensils and even a charcoal grill on the flagstone patio outside the back door.

Enjoy your meals on the porch overlooking the pond or in the large dining room. With seating for 10 in the dining room, there is sure to be ample space for all.

Relax and recline in the living room on the large "L" shaped couch. This room has a 50 inch TV, DVD and VHS players, and a console with connection to all your favorites on Netflix or YouTube. You may also enjoy complimentary Wi-Fi for your mobile devices. Or you could follow the kids upstairs to play train conductor on one of several train sets, chef in the play kitchen or play house with them in the 3 foot tall doll house.

This property has something for everyone. Now, go explore!

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Ryan Herman
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
12 October, 2016

About Ryan Herman

My wife and I married in 2002 and now have three children. We purchased this cabin in 2015. We have found that the cabin has been a wonderful place for us to slow the pace of life down and reconnect with each other.

Ryan Herman purchased this cabin in 2015

Why Ryan Herman chose Iowa

Clear Creek Cabin adjoins our family farm. We enjoy all the cabin has to offer as much as we can, but our work and children's activities don't allow us to be there as much as we would like to stay. This is great for you! We decided to share the relaxing cabin with its rustic good looks and the natural splendor of the area with you .

What makes this cabin unique

We think you will fall in love with the authentic hand built log cabin with its stone walk and porch overlooking the pond just as we have fallen in love with it. It is hard to explain the feeling you get by being in this place. But, whether you are looking to relax, have fun or enjoy nature you will find it here.


based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

Relax Amidst Nature On Clear Creek
average rating of 4.0 based on 13 reviews

Beautiful, Off the Grid

  • 5 of 5

The property was exactly as described and pictured. While there, they continued to receive record rains and the owner popped in to make sure everything was OK.

The house was very clean, really interesting history, and away from everything. If you are planning on using your cellular phone, this isn't the place for you. This is a place to get away from it all, and relax, trout fishing, nice wilderness walks, or just sit outside and enjoy nature. It is far enough off the path to be secluded but close enough you can visit wineries, shopping, or just sight seeing in 30 - 40 minutes. Destinations North or South and I'm sure West, we just didn't make it West.

We cooked every dinner(supper) for 5 nights, and spent each night sitting on the porch visiting. If you're into Bald Eagles, there are several in the area. Not uncommon for us to see 4 at a time.

Our annual Brother's trip falls around the same time of year, early - mid September. This property and surrounding area would be even more beautiful now with the fall colors.

When our Brothers trip comes back up to this area, we will absolutely consider Clear Creek Cabin. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Clear Creek Cabin to friends and relatives.

Thanks for the wonderful experience.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The cabin was a delight.

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was a delight. Northeastern Iowa is a delight, and this cabin fit right in! There was a lot of room...it got me thinking about having a family vacation, and/or a week with my friends! The area had recently been hit by a series of flooding events, and the pond was not functional, but, that did not decrease our enjoyment. My husband, in particular, loved that we were right on the Clear Creek trout stream. He had lots of fun getting up before me, and going fishing, then coming home late morning to a hot breakfast. In fact, he is wondering how he will be able to handle home without being able to go out and fish every morning. I guess we will need to return!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clear Creek Cabin Unpleasant Experience

  • 1 of 5

We had a horrible experience at the cabin recently. We were too excited for the relaxing weekend however when we got there we were totally disappointed. The place was very dirty, with crickets on the floor throughout the whole house, in the kitchen dishes, in the tub, even in the fridge, disgusting. The kids were afraid to sleep in the cabin the whole time. There was a loud noise coming from the basement, which was very disturbing and interpreted everyone's sleep, especially the kids. They failed to tell us that there was no lake, which we expected, since qe looked for a cabin on the lake. They notified us a few hours before we arrived. We were supposed to have had 2 cords of wood waiting for us but there was only one enough fo burn for a couple of hours. They charged us for wood that wasn't even there. The really need to look up how much a cord of wood is, because it should be enough to burn for days, not one fire for a few hours. Luckily, there was a neighbor who was willing to sell us some wood, which was nice of him, however, ridiculous that we were charged by the owner. And, when we asked about the noise and the wood we were supposed to have, they just ignored our email and told us to seek wood from the neighbor. Well, if you expect us to buy wood from the neighbor you shouldn't also be charging us. What a horrible experience and service. I would not recommend anyone to go here. This is total miss advertisement of the whole property, and totally unfair practices to the consumer. We were very disappointing and upset, and didn't even get to enjoy much of the weekend due to such dirty, noisy, lake-less place.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry that you did not have a good experience at Clear Creek Cabin! We have had record flooding in the area over the past couple of weeks and the yard and pond needed to be worked on because of this. We have been working like crazy at the cabin with the multiple floods we have had beyond working our regular jobs (which have had additional work because of the floods also). We DID tell you that the pond would be drawn down as soon as we knew it needed to be and of the record rainfall and you responded "No Problem". We would have given you a 100% refund due to the circumstances but you replied again with "NO PROBLEM". We did not expect it either until all the rain came. We told you as soon as we knew which was two days before you arrived, not two hours like you stated above. We are sorry the person we communicated with in your party did not communicate this to you, BUT that miscommunication in your party is not our fault. The older part of the cabin was built in the 1860's so crickets do find their way into the house. With all the rain, they are also trying to find a dry place. It is not like having a brand new home as far as things being sealed up. I walked through a couple of hours prior to check-in and there were NO crickets. We do get a couple per day that find their way into the mudroom when it is this wet outside.There is NO way there were crickets in the fridge or dishes unless you left the doors open to those appliances! We are sorry that you had a problem with the crickets. We were providing the wood as a favor for you because you had asked. We normally do not provide wood for our renters. We sawed, split and Hauled 100% OAK campfire wood for you. I'm sorry I misspoke between a cord or bundle (did you really think you were getting 2 truckloads of campfire wood for $20??) We gave you the amount we burn in 2 nights. We didn't know you wanted a "bonfire" rather than a campfire. You ASKED for other options to purchase more wood. You also rudely tried to burn one of the support posts for under the walking bridge. So disrespectful of property. You also did not follow check out rules by leaving 6 lights on, a patio door wide open, broken glass unbagged in the trash cans and other things, BUT we did NOT charge you for the damage.You had stated that you would leave the payment at the cabin and did not follow through on your agreement or contact us to discuss it. Thanks!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Des moines iowa

Dissapoint, deceiving pictures

  • 1 of 5

My family and I were super excited to go to this cabin and we honestly could not wait to leave. We arrived Friday night tired because we did have a nice 4 hour drive, we went inside the cabin and there were cricket all over the bathroom the kitchen floor. We settled in and decied to make some tea so and when we opened the cabin there was a white plastic bowl and there was a huge cricket in there which was disgusting. The cabin also smelled like a dog or cat has been in there and urinated every where. Also we were suppose to have wood for the fire pit outside, we got a few branchs and then the next day we had to get wood from the neigbor that was up the hill from us and we got charged for the branches he left us calling that "wood" for the fire pit. All in all I dont recommend this cabin to anyone dont waist your money on this cabin go some where else.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For all potential guests, please note that the one star is the same guest reviewing multiple times.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

The property was disappointing. It looked much better in the pictures. When I arrived with my friends and family there were bugs in the cabin every where and it has such a bad smell. There is suppose to be a nice view of pond and beach with sand for kids to play we were told last minute that this area was muddy and could not be used. There was a loud noise in the cabin asked what it was because hard to sleep and never got an answer from owner. None of the family could take showers because everything was so dirty and the towels provided were so old. We couldn't use the dishes either because they were all in bad shape and bugs were all over them. We were also told that we would be left wood for a fee. When we arrived there was not enough wood for even one fire we had to purchase wood from the neighbors. The fee of $20 was deducted from the damage fee for the wood! I would not recommend this cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: For all potential guests, please note that the one stars are the same guest reviewing multiple times. You can see full response in previous comments. The noise in the basement was sump pumps running because of the all the heavy rain and flooding we have had recently. We had slept there and did not feel they were an issue. We let you know of the rain and the pond being drained as soon as we did which was two days before your stay. We are sorry that you felt that way! If God would help turn off the faucet for a while, they would not run :) The towels and dishes were all purchased in the last 6 months. It is very interesting that you were unable to use the towels, but still stole some of them. Sorry you felt they were old and could not use them, I will check into them.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clear Creek Cabin

  • 5 of 5

The Clear Creek Cabin is a rustic, private home in a somewhat secluded farming area in beautiful northeast Iowa. Ryan is an attentive host. The home was clean, well stocked and the furnishings were very comfortable. The air conditioning was appreciated and worked well. We appreciated this spacious home and enjoyed the pond as well! We also enjoyed a trip to Lacrosse and Winona. I would definitely recommend the property!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in New Albin, Iowa

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Winter Special
2 Jan 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £26 per night, per additional guest
Spring Off Peak
1 Apr 2017 - 11 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £26 per night, per additional guest
Summer Peak & Fall Colors
12 May 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £26 per night, per additional guest
Fall Off Peak
1 Nov 2017 - 1 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £26 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £26 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £203
Pet Fee £20 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

We ask for a minimum rental of 3 nights for holiday weekends.
The posted nightly rate does not include the 5% sales tax rate.
You will be asked to sign the rental agreement, send an image of your valid drivers license and pay in full when booking your stay.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in New Albin, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • rural
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Upstairs Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Mudroom Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Master Bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Cabin Upstairs Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Cabin Upstairs Bedroom Overlooking Pond - 1 Large Double Bed
    Livingroom - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    Upstairs Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
    Upstairs Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed , Plus an over sized cot
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • marina
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • hunting small game
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties