Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, Union Station, Bike Share, Hipster 93 Walk Score!

Bedrooms 3
Separate WCs1
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

2 Level, 3bdr 1.5 baths,Sleeps 7, lg fenced yard, Capital Hill/ Atlas District

Beautiful 1700 sq/ft, two story, Victorian Row House with exposed brick wall, 2 Queen size pillow top beds, two twin beds, and fold away bed. Beautiful full bath with jets located upstairs and a half bath located downstairs. Large dining table to accommodate eight persons. This home has beautiful granite counter tops, bamboo flooring, stainless steel appliances and and fully equipped kitchen. Unlike a lot of DC homes, this home has a large fenced back yard with outdoor dining or on a chilly night you can sit in front of the Fireplace to enjoy television and free Internet. You will be directly around the corner to many restaurants, coffee shops, pubs, and lounges; Same block as Capital bike share and for all you grocery needs, you are within 5 blocks to Giant and Walmart as well as Family Dollar is conveniently located right around the corner, for any last minute items you may want or need. Major Bus line on each corner with stops to Gallery Place, and White House, China Town, Lafayette Square, and Convention or you can walk to Union Station metro /Amtrak within 6 blocks. Ten minutes to National Baseball Stadium, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Barrack Row, and Eastern Market .The Monument, National Air & Space Museum and many more tourist attractions with blocks from this property, So it is the PERFECT location. Bring your family and friends to this beautiful property for less than half the cost of a hotel for two!

michelle collins
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 June, 2018

About michelle collins

I have been living in the Washington DC area for over 20 years, I am a single mom and raised my daughter in this home thus I have taken pride in keeping this property meticulous. I stay in this property on occasion as well as my family. I have wonderful neighbors who I have known for years. I am a healthcare provider and thus lead a very busy life but I am open to answer any questions you may have and assist in making your stay in the Washington DC area a wonderful and memorable one.

michelle collins purchased this house in 1997

Why michelle collins chose Eastern Market

This home is very special to me and I enjoy the nuances this location offers. As I have also lived in 2 Boroughs of NYC and this neighborhood is reminiscent of cultural Brooklyn with beautiful brick stone homes with a family atmosphere yet many shops, cultural stops and things to do right at your fingertips.

What makes this house unique

Conveniently located that you don't need a car to eat, shop, catch a movie, sight see, enjoy a picnic in the park or take your children to play.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Eastern Market in Northeast Washington

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • jacuzzi jets for a relaxing bubble bath in 2nd floor bathroom.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    hide away bed - 1 Single Bed , hideaway bed single person 175 lbs or less for comfort
  • bedrooms are comfortable to sleep with brand new pillow top mattresses and big fluffy pillows. black out curtains to assure a comfy sleep, Rooms are not cluttered and have ample storage with large mirrored closets.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • limited accessibility ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • tennis
start up paper products only


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Restaurants, Bars, Shopping, Union Station, Bike Share, Hipster 93 Walk Score!
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 12 reviews

Comfortable house, great location

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything we were looking for. Nice kitchen, good layout. The beds and pillows were particularly good. Within a three block walk, there were restaurants galore, with quite a bit of ethnic variety, great menus and easy prices. Michelle was available and very friendly and enjoyable to talk to. We do recommend this place!

  • Review Submitted: 31-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: My pleasure to have you stay at my property; you are welcome back anytime!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

No Pride of Ownership

  • 2 of 5

Here are the positive aspects of this property:

1. Big

2. 1and 1/2 baths

3. Decent location

4. Nice and well-equipped kitchen

Here are the negatives:

1. Front door only has a handle lock but no dead bolt. This is lax security for DC (I have been to this city over 30 times in my life).

2. Owner requires you to take a $59 liability policy or leave a huge damage deposit.

3. Owner requires you to empty your own trash and strip your own sheets even though you pay a cleaning fee.

4. Several fixtures had burned out light bulbs.

5. House rules are written like guests are there to damage the property.

6. Many items like bedroom door knobs, dining table legs and arms on chairs are quite loose even thought they could be easily tightened.

7. Stairs are very steep and were troublesome for my older but still robust mother (she's 84). While I don't think that the stairs can be changed, it would have been useful to know how long and steep they are.

8. Shower requires a 30 inch step over which was also troublesome for my 84 year old mother. Again, this cannot be changed but knowing about it ahead of time would be useful.

9. Thermostat under lock box and heat only set to 66F - cold for my older mother. If you are going to lock the thermostat, put it at 69F or let tenants adjust the thermostat. I have never stayed in a property with a locked thermostat. My mother wore her coat inside.

10. Back yard unkempt and not fun my my two boys to play in because of sticks, spotty grass and a brick patio that is falling apart.

I have stayed in over 20 owner owned rental properties all over the United States, Canada and Europe and this is my first bad review. I don't require perfection just pride of ownership. I am hoping the owner will use my lists as a way to improve the experience for her guests. If she gave me a tool box and six hours, I could remedy many of this issues I listed. As is, I would not stay here again.

I take no joy in giving this review but believe that renters like me use information like this to maximize our vacation value.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Decent location. Terrible parking.

  • 2 of 5

No access the the thermostat, several items was broken such as the ice maker, lights, dishwasher, etc. We had to clean the entire house, do dishes, etc. to get our deposit back. Seems strange to do this to a family on vacation. Overall, I felt this could have been a good place to stay but ultimately we were disappointed. The owner was timely and helpful. She responded quickly to every question.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Marty, I must say I am quite surprised by your review so much that I went back and read all emails between you and I. You wrote to me on Sunday 2/25 at 4:59am: "Me and my family are enjoying Washington and you have made it so easy. I wish we didnt have to leave Monday. We are already discussing our next visit here and that we will be staying here again". I did not find ONE email that expressed any disappointment in your stay nor did you contact me about any of the things that you mentioned in the house that you thought were not working properly. In terms of cleaning the house; most guest that stay in vacation rentals assume some responsibility towards tidying it up before they check out. The responsibilities for my property are spelled out prior to you making a reservation and once you book a reservation you have agreed to the terms of the property. Good luck with future vacation rentals.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, comfortable beds and excellent host

  • 5 of 5

Great communication of host and responded to every question, issue promptly. Convenient to many DC attractions. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Place to Stay

  • 5 of 5

The Atlas Victoria is located right where we needed her. A lovely clean and quiet house. It retains much of is early 1900's charm while being modernly comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Average at Best

  • 3 of 5

The Good: close to a new Whole Foods, close to H Street streetcar (easy to Union Station),

The Bad: really spartan (sleeps "7" but has 3 towels), no supplies (had to buy paper towel, kleenex, dish towels, etc), heat works upstairs - had to use space heaters for downstairs, not super clean on arrival. Just average at best.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


Nearest Airport
5.7 Miles
Ronald Reagan National Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.08 Miles
Pursuit Wine Bar, The Atlas Room, Star &Shamrock
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
H street COuntry club
Nearest Train
0.08 Miles
union station metro/amtrak
Nearest Restaurant
cusbah, H st Pizza, Bens Chili Bowl, Smith Commons
Nearest Beach
20 Miles
Breezy Point/calvert county md
Car: not necessary

H street Trolley


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £72.11
Additional Guest Fee £11.39 per person per night
Damage Insurance £44.79

CHECK-IN time is after 4 pm P.M. EST and CHECK-OUT time is 11 am A.M. EST.Vacate by 11 am to allow cleaners time to prepare house for the next guests; Leave Parking Pass on Kitchen counter. Failing to leave the unit by 11 am will result in a $100 late departure fee charged against your deposit.
1.Please notify the agent or owner immediately upon discovering broken items in the house. Failure to do so may incur some liability to the guest.
3.PETS are not permitted in this unit under any conditions. Pets found in the unit is grounds for immediate eviction and charges for deep cleaning of the unit to remove any pet dander.
4.DAMAGE/RESERVATION DEPOSIT: A damage/reservation deposit of $400 is required. The deposit is NOT applied toward rent; however, it is fully refundable within (7) days of departure, provided the following provisions are met:
a.No damage is done to unit or its contents, beyond normal wear and tear.
b.All debris, rubbish and discards are placed in trash can located outside of property and soiled dishes are washed and returned to correct kitchen cabinet.
c.Parking passes are left in the unit for the next guests Entire Security Deposit wit
5.Loud and unruly behavior that disturbs other people in surrounding homes is unacceptable. Guest acknowledges and agrees as follows: a violation of District of Columbia Noise Ordnance is grounds for immediate removal without refund if District of Columbia noise levels are exceeded as a result of Guest's activity on the Property.. If the police are called you may be asked to vacate the house immediately for such behavior.
7.Fees deducted from Security Deposit if not performed:
•Above normal cleaning : (unit is left with trash, dirty dishes or more than normal amounts of dirt in showers and floors,). $25-150 depending on bill charged by cleaning company. Damaged furniture:(Beyond normal wear)Cost of Repair/replace. Lost Remotes tv,fireplace, etc$35

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals