HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Penn State Event Rental

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Space sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Spacious family home in a great location. Our home is a duplex on the 'N' Cata bus route to campus & downtown - bordering a Green Hollow Park, minutes to campus, convenient to shopping, restaurants, movie theatre. We rent the 1st floor for football games, graduation and other special events. The basement apartment is student occupied.

Open Floor Plan - kitchen, living room & dining room.

Decks - overlooking Green Hollow Park- off kitchen, dining room.

3 Bedrooms - Sleeps - 8

1 Bedroom - Queen Bed

1 Bedroom - 2 - Full size beds

1 Bedroom - 2 - Twin beds

Large screen TV Living room

TV's - breakfast nook

Nice Size Yard bordering Park - Basketball court, tennis court, baseball field, playgrounds, pavilion w/BBQ & picnic tables

Smoke Free

Event Weekends:

2016 Dates:

April 15 - 17 - Blue & White Game

May 6 - 8 - PSU Spring Commencement - $1500

July - Arts Fest - $1750

Aug 12 -14 - Graduation - $1200

Kent State: September 2-4, 2016 - $900

Temple: September 15-17, 2016 -$1100

Minnesota: September 30-October 2, 2016 -$900

Maryland: October 7-9, 2016 -$1350

Ohio State: October 21-23, 2016 -$1500

Iowa: November 4-6, 2016 -$1000

Michigan: November 25-27, 2016 -$1200

Graduation: December 16-18, 2016 -$1000

Check In - Friday after 3pm

Check out - Sun 10am

Linens provided

Shopping service - grocery & beverage stocking for an additional cost

Payment Terms: through VRBO

Security Deposit - 50% of rental rate

Booking - 1/2 rental rate - due at booking - non refundable

Full Balance due 2 weeks prior to event

More Details

Shanon Makatche
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
25 March, 2017

About Shanon Makatche

Home of 3 PSU alumni and 1 current PSU student

Shanon Makatche purchased this house in 2005

What makes this house unique

Great location - short drive to the stadium -3 1/2miles

Restaurants, shopping & movie theaters - surrounding area

Borders a 15 acre Park


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in State College in Ferguson

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Tennis ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming


Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

Penn State Event Rental
average rating of 4.125 based on 8 reviews

Great Location/Comfortable House

  • 5 of 5

We love going up to Penn State. We have been up there a number of times for swim meets and family hiking trips. We came this w/e for the Iowa/ Penn State game. The location is great! Close to a park in a clean family neighborhood with nearby shopping and not too far from campus. Took walks around the neighborhood and through the park with the kids, before the rest of the house got up. The house was a good size with comfortable beds. They a have a back deck that sits with a view to park. Nice privacy. The owner was very nice and left cold beverages in the refrig. for our arrival. I would definitely recommend and we will try and book again when we come back for family hiking or swim meets. Lots of family friendly things to do in the area.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that our home met your needs and expectations. Thank you so very much for taking the time to send in your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Getaway for a Penn State Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Visited State College for the PSU/Kent State game back in early September. The location of the house was nice in that it was super easy to access campus by either bus or cab but far enough away that parking and noise wasn't a concern. The demographic of the neighborhood itself seems to be geared more towards younger families or older couples than the college-age crowd.

The house was well-maintained with plenty of space for all of us. We lucked out and the weather was nice all weekend (which is often outside of the norm for State College) so we were able to take advantage of some time out on the back deck which overlooks a nearby park.

All of the appliances were in working order and easy to use. On top of that the owner was accommodating, granting us a bit of a later checkout than the norm. Overall I would strongly recommend and will most likely end up repeating as my friends and I try to visit the area 2-3 times a year.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice House & Comfortable Stay but Hidden Issues

  • 3 of 5

First off the house is large and clean. Large backyard and plenty of parking. But we had some complaints that would prevent us from coming back here (we rent two houses/year in/around State College). First when booking, the base fee doesn't include the unreasonably large cleaning/maintenance fee that is shown before you pay. With the numerous other houses we stayed at in town, this is a HUGE ripoff. We arrived late in evening Friday and the keyless lock was broken. The owner would not respond and we were locked out in cold/rain for 1 hour. After numerous attempts we finally got in and the owner responded to us the following day. There was a person staying in the downstairs of the house which was not shared with us until 24hr beforehand. The door is thin and conversations are heard. The bathroom shower was gross needing caulking replaced and new sliding doors.

Look somewhere else to stay, you will likely pay the same price elsewhere for a little better.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am happy you found our home to be large and clean. Clearly the maintenance fee provided the service promised. I am surprised at your objection since as you noted it is clearly included in the listing and additionally we discussed the maintenance fee prior to your booking and you booked anyway only to complain in your review??? I regret that you had difficulty with the digital lock. To be clear the problem with the digital lock was a user issue. At 3pm upon your arrival there was no issue with the lock. You called me at 10:30pm at which time I regret you were unable to reach me. I texted you immediately upon seeing your missed call - 1:10am. We spoke early Saturday morning and discovered the issue; User input. I have had no issues with the lock either prior to your stay or after your stay. I will look into your concerns with the shower and shower door. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. I genuinely appreciate your input as I strive to make every visitor's experience a positive one.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Great PSU House

  • 5 of 5

Awesome location with everything you need for a PSU football weekend! Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! Sooo glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable Cosy,Cute,Cottage

  • 5 of 5

We love staying at the Park Forrest House @ Penn State! It is located in a quiet neighbor hood that resides next to a close e an local park. Safe for bike riding around the Park,while you can sit on the back deck and enjoy coffee while you watch the kids enjoy the Park. It is located close to convenient shopping such as Wegman's, Kohol's and other shops. Conveniently near Penn State Campus,we have attended many campus events such as Football games, Swim Meets, fireworks and the Art Festible. The house has always been clean and the owners have always been very approachable and accommodating.. there are also many parks and other family oriented things to do in this location. We would highly recommend this house and these landlords to all are friends and family who are looking to visit the Penn State area and stay in a relaxing, quaint environment.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Soooo happy you enjoyed your stay in our home! Thank you for your review. Hope you'll be staying with us again!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

PSU weekend 4 stars

  • 3 of 5

This is a 4 out of 5 star place to stay. Highly recommend. Owners couldn't be nicer. Communication and information was fast and accurate. (apologize if it looks like 1 out of 5 stars- Internet issue) I do recommend this place

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Soooo happy you enjoyed our home, hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in State College, Pennsylvania

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Spring Graduation
5 May 2017 - 6 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £80
Maintenance £97 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £604
Tax Rate 8.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now


Nearest Airport
5.3 Miles
University Park Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Nearest Golf
3.7 Miles
Penn State Golf Courses
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles


Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot