Grand Welcome Vacation Rentals
- English, Spanish
3 day trip
For starters, the management company is really hard to get ahold of. I needed to call them due to arriving early and wanted to check about an early check in, there info was no where to be found. I never received an email before my arrival. I received one email months before when I booked and it lead me to an online portal to view address and pictures. What if there was an emergency? I had no one to call or no info.
Second, every dish was dirty. The dishes were put away but clearly had food on them and did not get ran through the dishwasher. I had to do 3 extra loads before we cooked or used anything.
Lastly, the little mites should be handled better. The kitchen was filled with them. We cleaned the kitchen every night to make sure to not increase the problem and they were everywhere. In our clothes, food and all over the floor.
Also, was woken up at 2am with a very drunk man right outside my place yelling at some people and getting very aggressive. Not sure if he had a gun or if there were cops near by but after 2 long scary hours he was finally contained. Once again, I had no phone number for safety to call.
Nice to have the restaurant open. Great spot! This place is great location as well.
We apologize that you have not been able to get in touch with someone from our office or team. We have placed new training and software to make sure that all guests are responded to on a timely manner.
Unfortunately, the drunk man outside was something we cannot control. For any emergency hazards, please call the authorities because our team is not trained to deal with anyone with a gun outside. Again, we sincerely apologize for the lack of communication & hope to provide a better experience for our future guests. Thank you.
Exceeded my expectations
I braced myself after reading online reviews that warned me of construction noise six days a week that made vacationing impossible... but to my surprise it was not a problem and everything was wonderful. Apparently the construction has passed the real noisy stage.
Perfect vacation condo
Wow. right on the water. Lots of fish and dolphins playing in front of condo. Super view, pounding surf. Masks, snorkels, fins,beach chairs, umbrellas, totes for day trips. Completely outfitted kitchen with stove and microwave, plus all necessary dishes, pans, glasses and silverware. Nearby grocery store and close to down town. We had a wonderful time and you can't go wrong staying here!
Water front view
No A/C. We were there for Hurricane Lane. The temp was 89 with 97% humidity, which made it very difficult to sleep. The unit itself was great, the view was perfect, everything you needed was provided, even up to the laundry soap, but if you are a coffee drinker, bring some. There were 2 fans, however one is still broken at the base of the blades.
This is the ultimate location. Right on the water, awesome sunsets and not to close to town. Just what we wanted. Kitchen is nice and the layout works great. The only reason I’m not giving 5 stars is no AC. It made for a really hot trip and it was difficult to sleep. We are being told by locals that because of the volcano it is unusually hot and humid. We almost rented a second room with AC just so we could sleep.
Enjoyed It But Skeptical
Our stay here at Kona Magic Sands was very nice. The location was amazing, just steps from the water and beach. The studio unit was nice, the bed was comfortable, but there were a few things that made us question the price for what we were getting. While there was a two burner stove, there was not an oven. There were two fans, but one was broken, no AC. The wooden louver front door and louver bathroom windows, did not make it feel very secure or sound proof, along with window above the front door with only a screen covering that can easily be removed from the outside. The locking screen door, from the inside, did help but we were slightly worried when we left and took major belongings with us while exploring. The hot water did not last for more than about two minutes in the shower, which wasn't that big of a deal because it was very hot while we were there. They did have basic spices which was helpful for cooking along with a Brita water filter. The big sliding glass doors were very nice to leave open at night with the locking sliding screens. The breeze was definitely enjoyable. The pool was refreshing and very clean. And the site manager was sweet! Overall it was a nice stay and a much needed vacation!