HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Rustic and Secluded Getaway

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Space 3,315 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Looking for that special place for a great getaway at Fall Creek Falls?

Looking for that special place for a great getaway at “Fall Creek Falls State Park"? Look no farther! Wilderness Lane has everything you're looking for and great reviews. Come to Wilderness Lane to make fantastic memories. Book your stay here; you won't be disappointed.

Whether you're looking for a romantic honeymoon, family vacation, or getaway for two couples, Wilderness Lane is sure to please with its two master suites, each with a king-size beds and private full bathroom.

Wilderness Lane is a beautiful custom log home/chalet that is situated on the Cumberland Plateau in a rustic styled, gated community (GrandView Village) with many amenities including opry barn, stalls, horses, ponds, Opry Barn (for weekend get-togethers) along with four distinct seasons and plenty of fresh mountain air.

The views from the upper and lower decks are amazing and being at the end of the street gives you all the privacy you could want. Our neighborhood is not one of the kinds where they clear-cut the side of hill and plant as many homes as they can fit in a small area. It is a neighborhood of log cabins, which have a fair amount of property with them. This helps you to feel secluded. From our decks, you can't see any cabins and you can clearly hear the wild birds and animals with a pleasant backdrop at the base of the hill.

The interior of the cabin is professionally and tastefully decorated and is very inviting. The warm and cozy furniture feels like you are at home. The first floor master bedroom and the upstairs master bedroom have a king beds. The first floor bedroom has TV and DVD. The living room has a gas fireplace, 65” Smart LED TV, comfortable recliners, love seat and couch. The fully equipped kitchen is adjacent to the living room.

After a fun-filled day, whether hiking in the Fall Creek Falls State Park or shopping in the close by Chattanooga, Nashville or Knoxville, just relax on the covered wrap-around deck. Enjoy beautiful mountain views. Or just pass the time away on the sit in front of the cabin -- you won't be staring at another cabin, just trees and winter views of Wilderness Lane.

Come relax in the Adirondack sliders and loungers, wicker chairs and hammock on the back decks.

The cabin has full broadband Internet access and DirecTV TV service.

We welcome last minute rentals.

The log home features the following:

- Four (4) plus three (3) Acre wooded lot, with plenty of wildlife to enjoy deer, bobcats, wild turkey, squirrel, foxes etc.

- Bluff View of 22,000 acres of hunt able “Fall Creek Falls State Park"

- Beautiful two (2)-story solid rustic "D" log construction

- 3,315 sq. ft. living space with 270 degrees wrap around covered decks

- Hand scraped oak floors throughout the entire log cabin

- Master bedroom on first floor with king size bed and closet

- Master bathroom with garden spa tub, double walk-in shower with private toilet

- French doors that open to sitting area with outdoor fireplace

- Great-Room has open ceilings, floor to ceiling fireplace, plenty of couch space including lazy boys and a 65 inch LG LED Smart TV and Blu-Ray player

- Full high-speed Wi-Fi and DirecTV service

- Double French doors that open to back deck overlooking the “Fall Creek Falls State Park"

- Privacy at it’s best; the property is completely surrounded to the left, back and right by the State Park

- Adirondack double gliders and lounge chairs

- Dining area & kitchen feature hickory custom cabinets, granite counter tops, walk around center isle with service sink, farm sink, commercial grade 6-burner gas cook-top, side by side refrigerator, double oven/ microwave (convection oven), built in cabinet, garbage disposal and large pantry

- Entry features ceramic floors, lighted built-in display area and staircase to 2nd story

- Mudroom

- Hallway with 2nd full size bath & tub/shower

- 2nd staircase to bonus room / office / bedroom loft

- The 2nd story over entry features 2nd master bedroom with king size bed and third full bath and plenty of storage space

- The open area that overlooks the great room and has an office area with full size pullout sofa

- The door by the office opens to 2nd story deck that overlooks the “Fall Creek Falls State Park"

- The second story deck has “beer garden” style benches with table

- Over the garage is a large bonus room that is fully finished. It has one (1) queen and two (2) full size beds, desk, dresser, TV and DVD player.

- All rooms have ceiling fans including the decks.

- There is a huge family fire pit with grill/rotisserie and plenty of sitting area with lights

- New charcoal heavy duty barbecue grill at fire pit area

Suitability: Children welcome; Non-smoking only; Pets not allowed; Suitable for elderly; Wheelchair inaccessible

Please see our other cabin here in GrandView Village:

https://www.vrbo.com/920020?unitId=1467961

See also:

https://www.facebook.com/Grandview-Village-Resort-189135111276874/

More Details

Owner
Dr Pascal Zeller
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, German
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 August, 2017

About Dr Pascal Zeller

The owner is originally from Bavaria, Germany and moved in 1993 to the US. He lived in Florida all these years but it never felt like home. In 2006 he found Fall Creek Falls State Park and GrandView Village and fell in love with the area and people. It reminds him a little of Bavaria. In 2013 purchased this cabin with the surrounding property and enjoys now every day the beauty and privacy.

Dr Pascal Zeller purchased this cabin in 2013

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin near Spencer near Van Buren County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3315 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Garden spa tub, double walk-in shower with private toilet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , 2nd floor master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , First floor hallway
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Master bedroom on first floor with king size bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2nd master bedroom with king size bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Double Bed , Bonus room with one (1) queen and two (2) full size beds
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , Second floor open area with full size pullout sofa
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • swimming
Notes:
Washing Machine & Clothes Dryer are not available

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

79% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Rustic and Secluded Getaway
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 24 reviews
5

Great Time with my Family

  • 5 of 5

This is our second stay at The Wilderness Cabin. We all had a great time being together. We had everything we needed. Enjoyed our time there.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Secluded & Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

This was a fairly large cabin with 3 bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms. We had plenty of space and never felt cramped together. Great interior and unique decor. Kitchen was well-stocked with equipment and utensils for daily use. Bring K-Cups for the Keurig. That's a nice touch to wake up for a quick coffee in the morning, especially with different people who might not like the same flavors. There's an office area upstairs with two pieces of work out equipment and an electronic dart board. Nice 8 seat dining table with two chairs and two long benches. Two king bedrooms and a large room upstairs with a queen and two full beds. The queen bed was very hard so maybe add extra bedding to it before sleeping on it. For families with young children there are two gates. One gate is located at the bottom of the stairs by the front door. The other gate is at the top of the stairs in the third largest bedroom with 3 beds.

It rained several days but we were able to make the best of it watching movies, playing darts, and family board games at the large kitchen table. There were several deer and turkey that we saw each day. It finally stopped raining so we played bocce ball in the grass and made a fire to roast s'mores. There is a playground and pool area but we did not get to use them due to weather. We went hiking for the day at Fall Creek Falls too. It's a must do! Only a 15-20 minute drive from the cabin.

We really liked that it was off and away from any main road and you can't see anyone else at all. No cabins are in sight from this cabin. It's in a private area with other cabins, kind of like a gated community. There is a manual gate on the cabin's property at the start of the driveway.

Several light bulbs were out throughout the house. No working lights above the sink made it a bit difficult washing dishes after it got dark. The gas stove was nice but the low flame takes a long time to boil larger pots and one burner was completely off so maybe just use smaller batches. We couldn't get the outside fireplace to light. At least two of the rooms smelled very strongly of moth balls, not ideal with very young children. It was difficult to fall asleep with the smell. We left the room doors open as often as possible but it still didn't help.

The owner checked to see that we made it in safely and was very quick with responses to questions.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The cabin is around 3,300 sq ft over two stories plus a large wrap around porch. We check all lights on a regular basis and replace bulbs as needed. The burner knobs should be left at 9:00 o'clock after igniting to have maximum flame. The exterminator after spraying for insects etc. placed moth balls outside to keep bugs away. With living in the woods it is hard to keep all insects out. The moth ball smell diminished almost completely since they are outside the cabin.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beauty and seclusion.

  • 5 of 5

If you want beauty and seclusion, this is your place. Close to Fall Creek Falls. Bring food & staples because no restaurants or grocery stores nearby. Cabin is roomy and beautiful. Be aware that internet is spotty but to be expected in rural area.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

In oneword --- Brilliant!!!

  • 5 of 5

Four generations of my family looked for a place to meet. My son's family from Chicago, my father from South Carolina, and Greg and I from North Carolina. We could not have selected a better home. The home is so beautiful, warm and comfortable. Six adults and two children you would think you would not have privacy but you will. Two master suites, spacious kitchen, and the property provides the privacy you seek and the togetherness you desire. We cooked each day, roasted marshmallows in the fire pit, and swam in a beautiful pool at the clubhouse!! The golf course on the property is still being built and not operational at this time. Great location next to the Fall Creek Falls offers much to do. I would recommend printing out the directions, cell phone and GPS may not work for some carriers. I highly recommend Wilderness cabin. We will never forget our time together. When I returned home I found a rock lamp at Home Goods.. you will need to book the house to know what this means :) Enjoy your stay as much as we did.. Thank you so much Dr Zeller for opening up your home to us. Regards Donna & Greg

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Donna & Greg, I am happy that you had a memorable time with your families. Looking forward to have you back. Thank you! Sincerely, Dr Pascal Zeller
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing

  • 4 of 5

The area was beautiful and the house was spacious and perfect for our needs. The only downsides, but not deal breakers- the upstairs pull out couch was not useable and a few piles of wood dust from some ants. The owner was quick to respond and check in on us. Would definitely recommend this to others and rent again!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at Wilderness Lane cabin and for your feedback! The ants is something that can't be completely prevented when living in the woods. The room was fogged and extra cleaning applied. The sleeper sofa is fully functional. There is an additional foam mattress in the upstair master bedroom closet that can be placed on top for more comfort. Furthermore there are a mattress cover, sheets, comforter and pillows.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Germantown, TN
4

Beautiful Cabin and Property

  • 4 of 5

This was our first time staying at this property, and we truly loved it. The cabin is beautifully decorated, very spacious, and the property it sits on is absolutely gorgeous. There were only a couple of issues that we encountered. The biggest concern that I had was that there were 2 security cameras set up INSIDE the cabin--1 in the dining room and 1 in the living room. The one in the living room constantly clicked as if it was trying to move around while we were there. I understand the need for security, but these cameras inside the cabin felt very intrusive. Of course, there was no way to determine if they were actually filming us. Like I said, I do understand the need for security, but this was a little much. We also found out from the owner that the washer and dryer were not meant for guest use after we called him because we could not turn them on. We were certainly surprised that they were turned off. We thought there was something wrong with them because there was no sign indicating they were not for our use. The gas cook top also did not work properly. We tried boiling a pot of water for corn on the cob, and because the flame remained so low, it never did reach a full, rolling boil. At least one other eye did not even light. Finally, the house sleeps 10. There were plenty of towels, but there were only 3 washcloths. To make do, we used the larger hand towels. We certainly could have called for more washcloths, but we chose just to use the hand towels. All in all, though, the cabin was really very nice. I would certainly recommend it to our friends, and I would stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As stated in the listing the washer and dryer are not included as they got damaged before by renters and we had a hell of a time getting the cabin ready for our next guests. The insight security cameras are turned off during rental as we value the privacy of our guests. There are plenty of wash clothes in all bathrooms. Thanks for bringing up the burner issue. We weren't aware since it wasn't reported previously.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
109 Miles
Nashville International Airport
Nearest Golf
4.5 Miles
Onsite or at Fall Creek Falls Resort State Park
Car: recommended

ZIPStream Fall Creek Falls is located at Fall Creek Falls State Park in Central Tennessee

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin near Spencer, Tennessee

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer 2017
6 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£665
for 2 nights
From
£235
From
£263
Fri,Sat
 
 
Labor Day 2017
1 Sep 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£982
for 3 nights
From
£263
 
 
Fall 2017
6 Sep 2017 - 22 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£629
for 2 nights
From
£217
From
£244
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
23 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£982
for 3 nights
From
£263
 
 
Winter
27 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£629
for 2 nights
From
£217
From
£244
Fri,Sat
 
 
Christmas/New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 4 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
£982
for 3 nights
From
£263
 
 
Winter 2018
5 Jan 2018 - 22 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£647
for 2 nights
From
£226
From
£244
Fri,Sat
 
 
Spring 2018
23 Mar 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£647
for 2 nights
From
£226
From
£244
Fri,Sat
 
 
Easter 2018
30 Mar 2018 - 2 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£982
for 3 nights
From
£263
 
 
Spring 2018
3 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£647
for 2 nights
From
£226
From
£244
Fri,Sat
 
 
Memorial Day 2018
25 May 2018 - 29 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£982
for 3 nights
From
£263
 
 
Summer 2018
30 May 2018 - 1 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
£683
for 2 nights
From
£244
From
£263
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£928
for 3 nights
From
£244
From
£263
Fri,Sat
£1,734
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £100.81
Damage Insurance £76.77
Damage Deposit £387.75

- 16.75% Tax on Lodging fees

- RENTERS MUST SIGN/RETURN RENTERS AGREEMENT BEFORE ARRIVAL (MINIMUM AGE 25 YEARS!)

- CHECK IN 3:00 p.m. local CHECK OUT 10:00 a.m. local time.

- NO SMOKING

- NO PETS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals