HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lakefront Vacation Rental

People7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7

West Winds Cottage is located on beautiful Lake Champlain.

- Newly renovated bathroom.

- Kitchen with large dining room.

- Reading nook.

- Large living room with sleeper sofas.

- 2 Bedrooms with queen beds.

- 90 foot of waterfront.

- Boat lift, 4000 lb.

"Point au Fer is a peninsula in Lake Champlain 4 miles south of the Village of Rouses Point, NY; it forms the northeast coast of King's Bay, Town of Champlain. Rouses Point is located at the northeast corner of NYS, the Canadian border to the north and the Korean Veteran's Memorial Bridge to Vermont to the east."

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Point au Fer is close to Montreal, Quebec Canada - Plattsburgh, NY - Burlington, VT - Lake Placid, NY.

More Details

Owner
Pamela Gadway
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
15 September, 2017

Location

Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Plattsburgh International Airport
Car: necessary

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Champlain in Clinton County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , newly remodeled bathroom
  • Newly remodeled bathroom includes bath towels, wash cloths, hair dryer, hand soap, body wash and paper products for bath. Bath towels cannot be used as beach towels.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Cable TV
  • 1 bedroom with queen size bed, cable tv (sleeps 2) 1 bedroom with queen size bed (sleeps 2) Pack 'N Play available, if needed
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
The owners added a 4,000 lb capacity boat lift for guests that bring boats.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Lakefront Vacation Rental
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
5

Great lake view

  • 5 of 5

Owner was timely and communicated very well. The kitchen lacked for nothing - there was an abundance of cookware, drinkware, etc. The lake views are fantastic.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at West Winds while vacationing in the North Country! We are so happy that you enjoyed your views of beautiful Lake Champlain! We agree that the lakeside room has fantastic views of the lake and mountains for our guests to enjoy! Glad that you found the kitchen had everything you needed. We want our guests to enjoy the simplicity of the lake experience but still have everything they need right at the cottage! It was nice that you were able to visit and we welcome you back again!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect family vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

We just finished our vacation at west winds and everything was great! The house was exactly as described and everything we needed in the house was supplied. We traveled with 3 little kids and Pam helped supply items in the house, and for our outings, that made it easy to travel and helped ease our packing burden. Pam was friendly, available, and a great resource for day trips, local events, food/ shopping locations, and anything else we needed. We made great use out of the kayaks and paddle board, fished daily off the docks, and relaxed on the quiet bay. The house has ample area for kids to run around and the road has minimal traffic. We had a memorable vacation and look forward to our stay here again next year!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that your family had a great experience staying with us at West Winds! We definitely try to keep the cottage supplied with everything that our guests need and appreciate your kind words!! We agree that the surrounding area is an ideal place for biking and walking as the loop around the Point is quiet with minimal traffic. The dock at the cottage is great for fishing and we were glad that you were able to go swimming and kayaking every day.....hope you made some great memories! We would love to have you stay with us next year!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had a great time at your house. I will let all my friends know that it is a place to stay, when they are in the area. The house was extremely clean, kitchen was amazingly equipped and the towels and sheets smelled beautifully. It's a great place for water sports as well as relaxing vacation by the lake.

Thank you once again for letting us stay at your house.

Regards Paulina

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at our cottage! It is nice to hear that you had a relaxing vacation and enjoyed all the water activities on the lake! It was great meeting your family and many thanks for sharing your experiences and recommending West Winds! We welcome you back again!'
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great spot, great host.

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 rented west winds cottage for 2 weeks and were very happy with our stay. The house is well-maintained, spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, full of drawers and hooks, and equipped with lots of pans, dishes and other cooking gadgets. (No dishwasher, though.) You will look at the lake all days everyday through the beautiful front room's windows. The garage has kayaks and a paddle board, some loaner fishing rods and there was also a gas grill, a fire pit and a bug-screened gazebo that helped us make the most of the location: on a protected bay. The water out front doesn't get the waves of the main lake, so safer for kids in kayaks and often mirror-like in the early morning. The bay is also fairly weedy--not enough to prevent swimming and boating, but very inviting to fish! My son caught a 14 inch bass from shore and many other fish during our stay. The west-facing dock is a great place for watching sunsets, and playing afternoon cards. The point itself is quiet and vacation-y, and we spent many evenings biking around the 3 mile loop. There are several kid-friendly outings within an hour or 1.5 hour drive of the property; Ausable Chasm (easy hiking, short rapid rafting and more challenging ropes course), Point Au Roche state park (easy hiking), Quebec's Parc safari and waterpark, Isle La Motte and Champlain Islands (beautiful 10-20 mile biking loops, need your own bikes) and Burlington. The rolling farmland of both upstate NY and Vermont are lovely but city folk be forewarned: the surrounding towns are VERY low on restaurant options, and the nearest grocery a 15-20 minute drive, so stock up on groceries in a bigger town before you arrive. All in all, a great summer getaway.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very pleased that your family enjoyed your vacation at West Winds! It really is a great spot for kayaking and swimming and we were so glad that your family enjoyed all the water activities! Very nice that your son caught a large bass while fishing right off the docks! We were glad that the weather was good and you were able to enjoy the simple pleasures at the cottage and take in some of the closeby points of interest as well! Thank you for all the kind words and we hope everyone made some great memories while staying at the cottage! It was a pleasure meeting your lovely family and we welcome you back at West Winds again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing, complete with everything!

  • 5 of 5

We are so lucky to have found this rental. It was perfect! Adorable, complete with everything you need to not leave for a solid week! My kids asked the first day when we were coming back. We used kayaks and swam almost everyday! Sunsets were incredible, gazebo was lovely for dinners. We felt so comfortable all week. Visited Lake Placid and Burlington VT to see some other sites. Pam was so awesome wIt's her communication and I would tell you they don't make good people like her any more. The only constructive feedback I can offer is it was bright in the one bedroom where the kids slept. We solved by hanging a blanket over the blind. Otherwise just simply perfect. We will be back!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you and your family had a great time staying at West Winds! It is wonderful that you had such good weather and got to enjoy beautiful Lake Champlain. The location of the cottage on King's Bay definitely makes it ideal for kayaking and paddle boarding! We appreciate your great suggestion and plan on installing room-darkening shades in the bedrooms soon! Thank you for your kind words and we would love to have your lovely family stay at West Winds again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful relaxing cottage

  • 5 of 5

Look no more for a better place on Lake Champlain. This one is perfect! We were quite relaxed the whole time. The walking is great in the area. We did not use the kayaks as it was pretty windy when we were there. The sunsets were so beautiful. Inside, you will find everything you could possibly need. I was pleasantly surprised. Furnishings are impeccable and geared to lakeside living. Owner is very responsive and we had no problems. A topnotch place!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happy that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at our cottage! It was so nice that you were able to share good times with your friends and enjoy the beautiful views of the lake and sunsets! We are pleased that you felt so comfortable and at home staying at West Winds and we welcome you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Champlain, Adirondacks

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Off season
2 Sep 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£148
£889
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£1,111
for 7 nights
£1,111
 

Additional pricing information

May, September and October rates: $1,200 weekly or $200 per night (three night minimum)
June, July and August rates: $1.500 weekly during peak season. If you stay under 7 days during peak season, you will still be charged $1,500.00.
Rental Agreement required

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable