HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Columbia Bay Compound, Two Homes Great Groups And Families On The Chain'O'lakes!

Bedrooms 5
Property type house


About the property

5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14

On the Best bay of the best lake, lies this beautiful property. There are two great homes on the same 75x300ft lake front lot. Rent both and have some separation for those large group gatherings, OR, rent one for some nice quiet peaceful time on the lake. Perfect for summer getaways, fishing trips, fall colors and apple picking, ice fishing trips, snowmobile outings and more! The location on Columbia Bay of Fox Lake, allows ease of access to all that the Chain has to offer. The central location enables you to make your rounds to all the lakes on a pontoon cruise, visit the many local restaurants and bars, snowmobile throughout the Chain, while all at the same time the Compound provides you with quiet and peaceful privacy. The Lake House has 2 bedrooms and one bathroom, the Big House has 3 br and 1 ba. Rent both for larger groups, or just rent one for a smaller gathering. In the summer, The Compound comes equipped with a brand new (2015 summer) custom dock perfect for swimming and enjoying the sandy bottom as well as mooring your boat for the stay, a 14ft row boat with oars, a 75 ft steal seawall and flat yard to enjoy, and an adjacent 10ft beach which is perfect for getting those snowbiles out onto the lake!

Details shown will be for both homes. If you are interested in the rental of only one home please go ahead and inquire! I am more than happy to work with my guests.

More Details

Property Manager/Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Antioch in Lake County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • limited accessibility
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • paddle boating
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.3/5 -
(3 traveller reviews)

33% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
33% Complete
Columbia Bay Compound, Two Homes Great Groups And Families On The Chain'O'lakes!
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 3 reviews
Barrington, IL

Quaint and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

I hosted a smallish bachelor party here, and I must say, the experience was fantastic. John was incredibly accommodating and easy to work with, and the homes were comfortable and clean. Though the weather that weekend left something to be desired, and we ended up having to stay inside, we barely noticed and still enjoyed ourselves immensely. I'll be keeping this place in mind for future weekend getaways! Thanks so much for everything!

  • Review Submitted: 17-May-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Beautiful area with a homely house

  • 4 of 5

The location was perfect and the grounds were great. Enjoying a beautiful day on Fox lake can't be beat. We really enjoyed ourselves! Thanks

  • Review Submitted: 02-Sep-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Poor Condition

  • 1 of 5

Houses are run down, dirty, smells, friend almost fell through the deck. Not worth the money. Half of our company left due to property condition. Would not recommend it.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Inesa, I am very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the lake. I only wish you would have contacted me during your stay, as I would have done everything in my power to accommodate you. I contacted you/your fellow guests before checkout and I was told everything went well, and thanked. I think the scathing review is perhaps due in part to a deposit refund issue caused by you or one of your fellow guests and their inability to vomit in the toilet, or even near it. Rather, new mattresses were ruined, and bedrooms left with a disgusting mess for me to clean up since we agreed to waive the cleaning fee after such a last minute booking. To have someone treat my home like this, and leave it in such condition without making the slightest attempt to clean up such a vile mess left me feeling very violated and disrespected, even questioning my presence on VRBO.
Did you find this review helpful?
18 1


Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Port of Blarney, Ferry to Blarney Island
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Nearest Ski
10 Steps out the Door (waterski), Wilmot Mt 10mi


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Antioch, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £24 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £111.39 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £222.78

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals