HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

The Round House: A Charming Island Original Right ON the Beach, Newly Renovated!

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 750 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom Right ON the Beach

Leave your car and your cares at the marina because Little Gasparilla is accessible only by water taxi! That means our beaches are uncrowded and tourists and traffic are just a mainland memory. If you are looking for a quiet tropical island to relax and unplug, Little Gasparilla is your dream vacation spot. Our "nightlife" consists of giant sea turtles laying their eggs -- our only bar is the sand bar where you can find sand dollars and shells!

This classic island house has been an architecturally unique home on Little Gasparilla Island for over 40 years. The new owners have lovingly redecorated and renovated the interior while keeping the quaint charm of the original "round" design. Everything has been updated, with city water, a new outdoor shower, all new furnishings, new floors, new queen size beds, new French doors, new stainless refrigerator and new window treatments. UPDATE: New high impact windows have recently been added as have new stairs and new interior trim has been added to the interior! The fresh, clean interior, coupled with the with the fabulous views of the Gulf of Mexico and location directly ON the beach, make this a premiere spot for your next beach vacation!

When you sit at the breakfast bar, you can gaze out at the Gulf....when you eat dinner at the dining table, you view the Gulf....the living room opens to the Gulf through brand new French doors. You are literally sitting as close to the beach as you can without being in the water! The views from the deck are like being on the deck of a boat....and the south portion of the porch is a warm respite from chilly winds in the winter months. Open the BRAND NEW WINDOWS and feel the Gulf breezes and let the sound of the waves lull you to sleep. This fabulous beach cottage literally lets you live at the water's edge and have your breakfast while watching the dolphins cavort in the waves!

Your vacation at "The Round House" will combine the best of both worlds....the convenience and comfort of new furnishings, the quaint charm and funky chic of one of the island's most enduring landmarks, and the proximity to the Gulf of Mexico -- literally right outside your front door -- that makes a beach vacation so special!

NEW: Now there are queen beds in BOTH bedrooms, a new firepit in the back yard! (perfect for S'mores!) and brand new windows throughout the entire cottage.

• Satellite TV in living room and one bedroom

• Breakfast bar overlooking the Gulf

• AC in the living/kitchen area and both bedrooms (NOT central air)

• Stackable washer-dryer included

• Wi-fi via a mobile hotspot (pay-as-you-go data plan)

• Access to a dock slip at dock 21 (Peacock Lane)

• Pet friendly

• Outdoor dining on the oceanfront porch

• All linens, including beach towels, included

• Our concierge service will meet you at the dock and help transport luggage and groceries to the house for you but you must make a reservation in advance and call him as you are leaving the marina so he can time his arrival at the dock.

LITTLE GASPARILLA FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS...PLEASE READ!

• You cannot drive your car to the island and the only access is via water taxi; there is no vehicle ferry.

• You must park your car at the marina at the mainland but it will be perfectly safe there; parking is $6 a day.

• The water taxi is $10 per person each way and he will drop you right at our dock

• All homes come with a grill. This home has a charcoal grill so please bring charcoal and lighter fluid with you.

• All homes come with beach chairs and an umbrella.

• You must bring all groceries to the island with you.

• There are no stores of any kind on the island, not even a convenience store.

• There is no need to bring drinking water; the water from the tap is safe and drinkable.

• There are first responders on the island and we have 911 service in case of an emergency.

• Golf carts are not necessary; the island is only 100-200 yards wide in most places and our concierge will meet you upon arrival to bring you to the house. (But they are fun to go exploring!)

• You can fish off the dock or the beach but non-Florida residents will need to purchase a fishing license.

• The beach is dog-friendly but dogs must be under your control and non-aggressive. We do charge a $100 pet fee and request that you keep pets off the beds and furniture. Pets must be housebroken and current on vaccinations.

• If you plan to use the mobile hotspot, keep in mind this is NOT the internet you are used to on the mainland. There is no unlimited data and wi-fi should NOT be used for entertainment. No Netflix, no Skyping, no streaming music, no downloading videos, etc. We also suggest that you NOT use the house wi-fi for your smartphones because that will exhaust your data very quickly. (Many people find the mobile hotspots on their smartphones are better, less expensive alternatives.)

More Details

Property Manager
Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
13 August, 2017

About Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals

We have lived on the island for 30 years and we started renting our own home many years ago when we traveled. Then our neighbors asked us to handle rentals for them also -- and now we offer vacation rentals in a variety of price ranges and locations on the island...from dramatic beachfront homes to cozy interior homes with lots of privacy. Our homes are painstakingly cared for...we want you to feel like you are vacationing in a friend's home rather than a sterile "rental unit". So relax, kick off your flip flops, dig your toes in the sand and enjoy the island lifestyle!

Why Little Gasparilla Vacation Rentals chose Florida South Central Gulf Coast

We stayed in this cottage before it was renovated and fell in love with the location....and when the owners fixed it up, we loved it even more....we love the front porch and the balmy breezes and the fact that you don't have tons of stairs to climb. The fire pit is a wonderful touch the owners have added recently and we love to sit at the breakfast bar and look out at the waves. This is a quirky cottage that still retains lots of its original charm and we love to sit on the front porch and watch everyone walk by on the beach...and watch the dolphins and manatees swim right by!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in the Placida in the Charlotte County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Outdoor Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • THere is also a queen sofabed in the living area for additional guests.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
Notes:
There is a private chef available on the island and also a masseuse. Information on these services will be provided by our Guest Services Manager upon booking. Our concierge is also available for tours of the island and you can rent golf carts on the island from LGI Carts. We also provide information on local boat rentals, kayak rentals, fishing charters and stand up paddle board rentals.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(34 traveller reviews)

82% Complete
14% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
The Round House: A Charming Island Original Right ON the Beach, Newly Renovated!
average rating of 4.7941175 based on 34 reviews
5

Amazing views!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I visited LGI for the first time for our 15 year anniversary. We absolutely loved the island and the Round House was perfect! The views from the deck are incredible and being able to walk right out your door to the beach was the best. We loved watching the sunsets, swimming out to the sandbar, floating in the the calm clear water, exploring the island by golf cart, and the fishing off the dock is great! The house came stocked with everything we needed and was clean and comfortable. We loved it so much that we booked our return visit for spring break before we even traveled back home! We can't wait to return with our kids to share this little slice of paradise with them!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The island is great!

  • 3 of 5

This was our first trip to Little Gasparilla Island. We enjoyed the beach, the water, and the beautiful sunsets. It is a great place to unplug. The round house was nice, except the leg of one of the couches was broken and two of the three air conditioners did not work properly. The air conditioner in the living room made a constant high pitched screeching sound. The air conditioner in the bedroom that had the washer and dryer did not work at all. We did not complain because we were only there for 3 days. If we had stayed longer it would have been a problem. We understand that it is hard to get things fixed on the island, but it's hard to believe that the property managers didn't know about the broken air conditioners before we arrived, since they knew the couch was broken. We plan to return to the island in the future but won't stay at the round house again unless the air conditioning is fixed. In hindsight, the rental rate was high for the condition of accommodations, but the island, itself, is wonderful.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry about the air conditioners....but if you do not tell us that they do not work, we cannot get them repaired! The guests who came in right after you made us aware of the small air conditioner in the bedroom not working, and we sent someone out to replace it the same night they arrived! There was a problem with the power pole that affected the large AC unit and we have had FPL out to repair that....that was an intermittant problem. It is very important to make us aware of problems so we can take care of them....to say nothing about these issues really does not give us or the owners a fair opportunity to correct the problem. The couch leg did take longer to fix because it required about 3 hours to turn the couch over, take it apart and reattach the bottom to the sides...and we waited until the cottage was unoccupied rather than bothering a guest and having the living room torn up while guests were there. We are very sorry that you did not have a perfect experience but we assure you that had you mentioned it to us, we would have had the AC fixed immediately....as we did for the guests the following weekend who DID mention it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had an amazing week at The Round House. We saw dolphins, amazing sunsets and stargazed every night. Amazing little house in a perfect spot.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

A special place to build memories with your family...

  • 4 of 5

We loved the place. Nothing fancy, but homey. The place was well equipped. The best part was that it is located right on the beach, you could not be any closer! It has the best sunsets! It was relaxing and safe!! The only thing is that it would be great if the bathroom was upgraded a bit and you must bring everything you are going to need for the time of your stay, otherwise you have to pay $100 to go back to the mainland. There was seaweed on the sand, but we got used to it, however the beach had white powdery sand. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

❤️❤️❤️

  • 5 of 5

This house was amazing & exceeded my expectations

  • Review Submitted: Jul 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location for relaxation

  • 5 of 5

Our first visit to Little Gasparilla and this home was perfect for us and our dog. Just steps outside the door and you were on the beach and into the water, wonderful. Everything was in working order and the house had anything and everything you needed. We spent time inside and out and what a relaxing time we had. So stress free. The place was very clean and loved the décor. For 2 of us and the dog it was a big enough space with the 2 sofas and we only used one bedroom, shower/tub combo was perfect. There is no dishwasher and no ice maker but there are plenty of ice cube trays and really can you not wash dishes by hand ? If The washer and dryer are small but did the job efficiently. The best part if you want to see dolphins, pelicans, waves breaking the shore right outside your window then book the Round House. We sat out on the deck at night counting stars and collected shells and shark teeth in the early morning. Our dog felt welcome too and loved the beach. The concierge and water taxi were great and easy to coordinate. I would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: May 26, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in the Placida, Florida

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Labor Day
31 Aug 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,011
for 3 nights
From
£305
 
 
Holiday
17 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
5 night minimum stay
£1,946
for 5 nights
From
£370
£1,837
 
 
Holiday 2016
20 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,576
for 4 nights
From
£370
£1,924
 
 
Winter, spring 2018
8 Jan 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,141
for 4 nights
From
£261
£1,663
£5,665
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£880
for 3 nights
From
£261
£1,576
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £97.1
Pet Fee £77.68
Damage Deposit £233.04

Holiday surcharge of $500 may be assessed;30-day cancellation notice required for stays of 1 week; 60-day cancellation for 2 weeks or more. Guests responsible for golf cart rental, mainland parking at the marina and water taxi charges. Pet fee of $100/pet may be assessed depending on size/breed.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals