HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

3 beds$120/night. Sleep 6

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Walk to Shakespeare,SUU events, sports. 30 min. skiing, Nat. Parks

Call additional living space.

Central air/heating, fireplace. Play the piano for your musical enjoyment, or view the smart 50" TV/Direct TV service main floor. For the fun at heart- pitch a tent in the private, shady backyard with basketball stand, (trampoline /with signed waiver) BBQ grill and enjoy s'mores in the fire pit or send the kids to the playground around the corner. Their is a playpen available to contain the little ones while taking their naps. Enjoy your less than 2 block walk to Shakespeare Festival or any events at SUU including the Summer Games. Close to restaurants, swimming, and theaters, and within 1/2 -2 hours of incredible recreation areas and National Parks.

A short 30 minute drive will have you to Brian Head Ski Resort, racing down the slopes, mountain biking on many trails, or visiting the backdoor to world renowned Zion National Park. Don't forget to visit Sand Hollow for boating and 4 wheeling, Cedar Breaks, Bryce Canyon National Park. The thrilling and beautiful Kannarahville Falls hike is only 20 minutes away.

We know you'll enjoy our home, as much as our whole family,(30 people of all ages) has enjoyed it through the years.

More Details

Owner
Keith and Gladene Donaldson
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 August, 2017

About Keith and Gladene Donaldson

We are both educators, with roots in the west, who graduated from Utah State and Colorado State. We soon found ourselves with 5 children and time to travel in the summer. It didn't take long for us to discover that this area was one of our favorite places of recreation and rejuvenation. Time has passed, the children are all married and we now have 18 grandchildren, who have also learned to love Cedar City and all the surroundings.

So here we are, excited and able to provide plenty of room for you and your family to discover on your own, just how truly incredible this little corner of the world is! We love providing you the opportunity to appreciate the beautiful surroundings, while enjoying a vacation in Southern Utah. We have fallen in love with this area and we think you will as well.

Keith and Gladene Donaldson purchased this house in 2003

Why Keith and Gladene Donaldson chose Utah

We purchased this home because of its charm and close proximity to SUU, to allow two of our children and their friends to have housing while attending the University.

After they graduated, we rented it out to our son and his family for a few years.They later moved 2 1/2 hours away to Las Vegas, so it was then available to invite our friends and family to stay here. Since they all enjoyed our house so much when visiting the Cedar City area, they planted the idea in our heads to rent this comfortable home to others. The University, Shakespeare festival, Utah Summer Games, skiing in the winter and the National Parks, keep people coming back. We love the idea that we were within 1/2 to 2 hours of some of the most interesting and beautiful places in the world.

What makes this house unique

Our comfortable Cedar City home is 1 1/2 blocks to Southern Utah University campus which offers many sporting and cultural events, including Utah Summer Games and the Shakespeare Festival. Brian Head is a close 30 minutes away for invigorating winter sports and mountain bike trails. Year round golfing is available at the Cedar Ridge Golf course and the many golf courses to the south. Las Vegas is 2 1/2 hours to the south and Salt Lake City is about 3 hours north, and about 6 hours from surfing in So. California. Then there are the tremendous National Parks (from Zion to Bryce to Capitol Reef to Canyonlands)... need we say more?

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Cedar City in Iron County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower)
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Racquetball
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
26% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
5% Complete
3 beds$120/night. Sleep 6
average rating of 4.263158 based on 19 reviews
3

Decent little house in Cedar City

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay - the house was clean and comfortable for our family of five. The yard was very overgrown with tall weeds - if we had tried to use the fire pit, we would have started a brush fire, and my kids were disappointed not to get to have a fire and s'mores in the evening as we had planned. It's an older home and could be very charming with some remodeling (the lighting is particularly terrible in the kitchen and dining area), but it was well-stocked and had everything we needed. My biggest problem was that we didn't receive any info with the address and arrival instructions until midnight the night before we were supposed to arrive. I spent two sleepless nights trying to figure out alternative accommodations if we woke up the morning of our trip with no place to stay. I sent two emails and left the owners a voicemail message the day before our arrival trying to get the info we needed and a reassurance that they were planning on us, but didn't hear from them until hours before we were scheduled to leave home. I've rented many houses through VRBO in the past and never had such a stressful experience with lack of communication. The owner did call me back as we were driving to Cedar City and apologized that they had been off the grid. But if you know you're not going to be able to communicate, why not send the necessary arrival info earlier, which seems like a basic courtesy. I had booked well in advance and paid in full, and I don't like to be left with uncertainty about accommodations when I'm taking three kids on a road trip. I would give the house 4 stars but the experience gets 3 stars for poor communication.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our rental review history speaks well in terms of communication.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect place for kids!

  • 5 of 5

Things never go 100%, but even so, we all loved this place. I have 5 kids and this place is very kid friendly. I love that the bedrooms are down the hall and closed off from the living room. We had our minor inconveniences solved quickly. One thing that would have been nice was to have the fire pit ready. The kids were bummed about this. Maybe next time! We would definitely stay again!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Poor Communication

  • 1 of 5

Extremely unhappy with my stay, the communication was terrible at best

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our rental history speaks for itself...sorry you all didn't read your emails leading up to your visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very happy with this home and the owners

  • 5 of 5

Though we had some difficulties with the HomeAway site itself, we were able to work things out directly with the owner to make our stay a success. They were VERY responsive and helpful and we appreciate them willing to work with us even with the website malfunctions.

As for the home it was very comfortable and accessible. We made use of the full upstairs rental, the trampoline, the basketball hoop, the gas grill and the quiet neighborhood.

We would definitely stay here again. A+ owners.

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Home

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for the weekend so we could hike the Subway in Zions. We came back from the hike pretty late, dirty and tired. None of us had thought to bring shampoo and other miscellaneous self care products. They had those things there, which made for a clean restful night.

Overall we were all comfortable and felt at home which is what you need after a long strenuous hike.

We were up early and out quickly, but we didn't know how long we could sleep for. The checkout time wasn't clearly stated. I'm sure I could have just emailed and asked but didn't think of it until around midnight on Saturday when we got back from our hike.

I would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable house and great location!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying in Cedar City. The house was cute and comfortable and had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. My kids loved the trampoline! It was a perfect location to enjoy visits to Zion, Bryce, and all of the other awesome hiking areas close by. We really enjoyed going to Kolob and Red Cliffs, and they were only about 25 minutes away. It was also nice to be so close to the college. We enjoyed seeing a play and a dance performance. The homeowners were easy to communicate with and I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a place to stay in Cedar City.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 18, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Cedar City Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Chili's, Applebee's
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Cedar City Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Interstate I-15
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Applebee's, Chilis, Costa Vida, many more
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Brian Head
Car: not necessary

This property is surrounded by several National Parks: Zion, Cedar Breaks, Bryce. Sand Hallow, Quail Creek, Three Peaks Recreation Park, Kannaraville Falls, Cold Creek Canyon (Hwy 14) are also nearby. The famous Shakespearean Festival is 1 1/2 blocks away.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Cedar City, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£251
for 2 nights
From
£104
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £38.84
Damage Deposit £155.36

ATTENTION! This property offers three (3) rental options: 1) Upstairs 3 bedroom/1 full bath/sleeps 6 @ $120/night OR Downstairs 2 bedroom, plus Murphy Bed/half bath/sleep 6@$100/night OR Rent the entire property which includes 5 bedrooms, plus downstairs Murphy Bed/ sleeps 12 @ $200/night.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable