HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Hawaiian Monarch -Studio with Canal View/Partial Ocean View/Wifi

People2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 245 sq. ft.
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 1 - 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Large Studio,1 bathroom, Sleeps 2

This studio is located on the 20th floor of the Hawaiian Monarch Hotel. It offers beautiful canal views of Ala Wai. The hotel is located in the center of Waikiki, beach and Ala Moana shopping center. Hawaiian Monarch hotel is a 24hr secured building with its own little night life, famous restaurants, convenience store, rental services, spa, community that you will have access to.

Studio unit sleeps 2 adults max.

Queen-sized bed.

Full bathroom.

Recently upgraded Flat TV with Cable, Fast internet and WiFi is included in the studio.

All bed linens, bath, beach, and kitchen towels, soap & shampoo provided. Extra amenities include antiseptic hand soap, paper goods, and extra trash bags.

Other info:

Parking is operated by private company. Pay attendant direct $25/daily rate

Coin Operated Washer and Dryer in the building

Pool/Hot Tub/BBQ on 6th Floor

Fitness Center-brand new amenity (Lower Lobby) note: will be available August 2015

Convenience store (Upper Lobby

Casual Eateries/ Sports Bar/Hair Salon /Rent a Car (Upper/Lower Lobby)

visit http://www.hawaiianmonarchhotels.com/ for more info.

CHECK IN TIME: 4 PM

CHECK OUT TIME: 1 pm

More Details

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday studio in Waikiki in Honolulu

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 20
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 245 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Lift
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , with clean towels, body wash, shampoo
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , clean sheets, blanket
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • golf
  • sailing
  • swimming

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

46% Complete
30% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
Hawaiian Monarch -Studio with Canal View/Partial Ocean View/Wifi
average rating of 4.0 based on 13 reviews
4

Christmas 2017

  • 4 of 5

We rented this room over Christmas and it worked well for us. The location was great; about 5 minutes to the grocery store, 10-15 minute walk to the beach. Walmart was 20 minutes which is where we bought groceries the first day until we found the supermarket. Lots of eating places close by.

The room is dated and tired but worked well for us. It has a full size fridge, coffee pot and a microwave with great views of the canal. This room is the size of a medium size hotel room.

We brought plates, cups, cutlery and a pancake flipper (for the BBQ) and did not eat out once during our stay. (we had yogurt, sandwiches and used the BBQ-very basic items)

The pool area was nice but we did not go into the pool. 2 very large BBQ grills with lots of seating were available to us.

There is a breakfast place on the main floor to get coffee as well as a convenience store if you need something. There is a pub on the bottom floor. and also a tour desk. We did not use any of these.

We also rented a car from Shams at Turo so if you are doing a stay on a budget, we highly recommend him. We paid $34 for the day and Shams delivered the car to us. Drop off was across the street. We also booked a airport shuttle with Hawaii23 back to the airport-it was $23.

The room did not have a safe so we had to carry money and passports constantly but was not a big issue.

The only issue that we encountered was the neighbors fighting 4 times in the middle of the night. Not sure if they were permanent tenants or renters. We went to the security desk to complain and they dealt with it immediately. The loud air conditioner was a benefit in this instance as it muffled the sound a bit.

The owner communicated quickly and we would definitely stay again here as it worked well for our budget trip to escape the cold.

  • Review Submitted: 04-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Amazing place! Recommend!

  • 5 of 5

I and my friend loved this place from the first minute there.

- Everything was nice and clean, plenty of utensils and appliances.

- The view was incredible! Despite that, we saw pictures we didn't expect the reality to be as great as they were, but it was even better! Waking up every morning and watching sunrise was a huge bonus to overall amazing stay.

- Very close to the beach and cafe, and other fan places, and even Walmart (if you need to).

Thank you for making our stay even better!

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Brisbane, Queensland Australia
1

Very disappointing!

  • 1 of 5

We arrived to find the apartment very dirty and looking like it had not been cleaned from previous guests. Then after a long flight we just wanted a hot shower, only to find the shower head was broken. We sent off an email to the property Manager but heard no reply, so left in disgust and stayed elsewhere. Unfortunately, the photos shown are not quite correct! However, with a large family group of us travelling and staying at different places, this was our only bad experience through vrbo. The view of the canal was about the only thing that looked the same as the photos.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am very sorry but I think this must be a mistake. The check in time is at 4 pm, the cleaning lady didn't make it to your room yet and I guess you must arrived early. That's why you said the room looks not even clean. I hope you let me know as soon as you check in, I am very available all the time. But you only let me know after your scheduled check out date, I actually refunded everything to you because you said you never stay in the room. I am sorry but also disappointed because you left me a bad review after I kindly refunded your money. But please understand that the room was clean, it just because you check in early. My cleaning lady actually went to your room after your schedule checked out date and told me that the room was not even touched. That's why I was confused.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1
4

Condo Hawaiian Monarch with Canal View

  • 4 of 5

Hotel was old and I read prior to stay it was. The condo was clean with fresh linen and newer bath towels. Nice to have full refrigerator, m/w and coffee maker. The set up to check in was not great. There was only one room key and the key didn't work in the elevator or room. Pierce (Security Guard) went above his job and helped us out by calling to get information for our stay since he didn't have record of it. Vicky gave him ok to reactivate our key. We enjoyed our stay in Honolulu and visiting Hawaii. Beautiful. We spent our days outdoors and enjoyed the bar under the hotel. Great pizza and chicken wings! I would stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
4

Great place

  • 4 of 5

A nice place, well located. A GREAT view on the canal and the ocean.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
2

It would have been nice to know the pool was closed.

  • 2 of 5

No pool. Under repair :(

  • Review Submitted: 25-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Property Manager

Vicky Hung
Member since: 2014
Speaks English, Mandarin
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 February, 2018

About Vicky Hung

I and my husband were both born and raised in Taipei, Taiwan but met each other in Honolulu, Hawaii. We have two boys and love Hawaii as our home.

Vicky Hung purchased this studio in 2014

Why Vicky Hung chose Waikiki

Location, location, location. Waikiki is the most famous in the world for wonderful ocean and beach. You could spend a week here without a car and not be bored. We spent the most of time in creating a home-like experience for all guests.

Location

Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Honolulu international airport

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £53.43
Damage Deposit £53.43

Damage deposit will be returned after approved inspection. Funds will go back to the payment method used.
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable