HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

BEST of both; mountains & close to Provo. Relax or have adventure. Sleeps 17-32.

People18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Space 3,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

5 bdrm, 3 bath mountain retreat on 2+ acres. Summer bunkhouse: 15 beds

20 minutes up Provo Canyon to Wallsburg area and a 5 bedroom, 3 bath home .on 2+ acres. Sleeps 17 comfortably. Enjoy being above the inversion in Winter near ski and hunting areas. In the Summer take advantage of Deer Creek Reservoir, golfing, tubing and all that Provo Canyon has to offer.

Please call for rates and other information on rental of the 'bunk house' area above the garage. Sleeps an additional 15 ( 3 queens and 9 twins). This area is NOT included in the listed rates.

3,500 square feet in a perfect mix of comfort and rustic! Go for it and hike, bike, hunt, swim and ski or relax and refresh while you soak up amazing views in all directions.

Main level: fully equipped kitchen with table seating for 32+, great room with two story view across valley, laundry, full bath. Electric wall heaters and propane fireplace.

Loft level: master suite with 2nd living area and bathroom. Electric wall heaters.

Walk out basement: 4 bedrooms, full bath, game room. Electric wall heaters and pellet stove on thermostat.

The house is NOT air conditioned.

Bedroom 1, Master in loft - King bed

Sofa that can be slept on.

Bedroom 2 - Queen and 2 twins (bunk) in walk out basement

Bedroom 3 - Queen and 2 twins (bunk) in walk out basement

Bedroom 4 - 4 twins (2 sets of bunks) in walk out basement

Bedroom 5 - 3 twins (2 can be pushed together for a King) in walk out basement

2 pack and plays available

3 bathrooms. One on each level.

Amazing vista from raised deck, gas grill, basketball hoop (bring your own ball --we try to keep a couple on site but they seem to end up lost), ample parking.

2 flat screens (40 " and 42") with basic cable including ESPN/DVD player and limited WiFi internet. 1 GB per day free, (does not accommodate streaming). Additional usage charged at $15/GB used.

More Details

Owner
Liz and Earl Ashurst
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
12 October, 2017

About Liz and Earl Ashurst

I am an lllinois girl who came to love the mountains after meeting my love at BYU (a Utah boy) lo many years ago. It has been his dream to own a piece of a mountain all our married life. We have moved around quite a bit and now reside in Texas. Our 6 children (and 19 grandchildren) are scattered around the country. We have had to rent a facility to all be together. We have worked hard to make this home a place where we can all be together. With the ''bunk house' finished above the garage, we finally have that.

Liz and Earl Ashurst purchased this house in 2015

Why Liz and Earl Ashurst chose Utah

Driving up Provo Canyon one day with my son who lives in Midway, I asked him to turn off at the sign that said Wallsburg. We had driven past it many times and wondered what was there. We were amazed at this wonderful valley so close to so much and yet so off the beaten path. We zeroed in on an amazing A-frame nestled up on the bench. My husband and I decided it would be the perfect gathering spot our family and are anxious to share it with others. With main house that sleeps 17 and (in summer and Fall) the unheated bunkhouse that sleeps 15 as an add on, a group of 32 can be easily accommodated.

What makes this house unique

The location is what hooked us on it. Close to Provo and Orem in one direction, almost across the road from Deer Creek Reservoir and the Provo River; minutes from ski resorts and the Midway/Heber attractions.

We love the views from the 2 story 'A' window, the log staircase in the great room and the huge deck.

Most of all we love hearing our granchildren giggling under the quilts in the bunk beds after a family meal at the amazing tables my husband made!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Wallsburg in Wasatch County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Max. adults: 18
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21 ...
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Trampoline in front of house. Use at your own risk. No open fires outside.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 32 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , This in on the walk out basement level.
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , On the main living level.
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , This is on the loft level. Newly added.
  • One bath on each level of the house.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , All log beds here!!
    Bedroom 3 - 3 Single Bed , two twins can be pushed together for a King (kind of)
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Bunk Bed , One of these is a log bunk, too!
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , We call this our patriotic red, white and blue room.
    Bunkhouse - 3 Large Double Bed , 9 Single Bed , ADDITIONAL CHARGES APPLY FOR BUNKHOUSE RENTAL-CALL FOR RATE.
    Loft (open) - 1 Single Bed , Day bed in loft at top of stairs outside of master bedroom.
  • We didn't go nuts with a bear or moose motif but you are going to love the mix of comfort and rustic we have going here. There are two pack and plays in the back bedroom closet for the babies. THE BUNKHOUSE SLEEPS AN ADDITIONAL 15. CALL FOR RATE INFORMATION AND OTHER BUNKHOUSE DETAILS. NO HEAT IN BUNKHOUSE SO ONLY AVAILABLE IN MODERATE WEATHER.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
This is a very comfortable house to enjoy year round. Go to the reservoir in the summer, enjoy snow sports in the winter or just stay 'home' and relax. It is not a luxury house but well supplied and maintained. The house is NOT air conditioned but if you open up the windows when the sun goes down, it will cool off quickly on a hot day and you will find yourself closing the windows before long. The bunkhouse which sleeps another 15 is available at an additional fee during months when heating is not required. Call for details if you are interested in renting it.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(28 traveller reviews)

57% Complete
32% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
BEST of both; mountains & close to Provo. Relax or have adventure. Sleeps 17-32.
average rating of 4.464286 based on 28 reviews
5

Really enjoyed the property and the owners.

  • 5 of 5

Great property that is stocked much better than the average rental with plenty of dishware, appliances etc.

A beautiful quiet setting in a mountain valley.

The owners were great to work with.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for family togetherness

  • 5 of 5

Loved the mountain breezes in the morning and evening in this picturesque valley. The kitchen was a great place for preparing meals for our crowd. We were delighted that there was table space for all and if some wanted to eat outside that could be done, too. Playing in the water at Deer Creek was only ten minutes away--which made it not so close that vigilance for little ones had to be constant as in a place located right on the water.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Jordan, UT
4

Nice property

  • 4 of 5

Great place for a family get away. Very nice, usable kitchen with great tables for feeding a large group. Very close to deer creek and some canyon areas. I suggest no more than 4 couples as the 5th bedroom is more for sleeping a group full of kids. No airconditioning, it was warm in the afternoon, but cooled down in the evening. I was a little disappointed that using the internet cost extra - we made sure not to use it.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Internet service is a problem in our rural location. There is no good option. Good news: Verizon now has "unlimited" internet service, meaning they don't charge more for high usage. However they slow it down after the first 10 gigabytes each month, so be kind to your fellow renters and keep usage down, please. This is the very best we can do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cousins Galore!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great family reunion. There were seven preschool children who were quite happy in the child friendly home. The children and adults all enjoyed themselves. Food was easily served with plenty of kitchen table space. All the computers were set up in the kitchen for gaming among both adults and teens. We could serve food without having them cleaned up. The kids could go in and out of the house without parents having to supervise closely. One person watching was enough. The fence was very helpful. Children who only see cousins via screens had a great time playing together and riding the Heber Creeper. The bedrooms also worked out great so each family could retreat when the business became too much.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home was clean and beautiful. We'll furnished with games, kitchen serving dishes and a piano.

  • 5 of 5

Property was beautiful. We hiked, played basketball on the carport, and enjoying the beautiful mountains.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Quiet, Peaceful, and scenic. Good Location

  • 4 of 5

Very peaceful, quiet and scenic. Our younger grandkids thought it was the best cabin/home that we have rented, primarily because of all the bunk beds in the basement and they liked playing musical bunk beds at night. Also the toys, trampoline and piano were a lot of fun for them. The older grandkids didn't like the limited wifi. And it cost us extra because of that. My wife liked the kitchen set up, the living room and balcony view.. She didn't like that it didn't have air conditioning. The basement stays cool, but with all the windows in the front of the house, the main floor and upstairs can get warm. Overall we liked it and would go there again.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Internet service is a problem in our rural location. There is no good option. Good news: Verizon now has "unlimited" internet service, meaning they don't charge more for high usage. However they slow it down after the first 10 gigabytes each month, so be kind to your fellow renters and keep usage down, please. This is the very best we can do. The house does get hot. We keep our rates low, but that means a/c is still in our future - not here yet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
64.3 Miles
Salt Lake City International
Nearest Golf
16.1 Miles
Wasatch Mountain Golf Course, 975 West Golf Course
Nearest Train
13.2 Miles
Heber Creeper
Nearest Restaurant
13.1 Miles
Tarahumara, Midway, ut
Nearest Ski
16 Miles
Sundance Ski Area
Nearest Beach
7.2 Miles
Deer Creek Reservoir State Park
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Wallsburg, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Halloween
30 Oct 2017 - 1 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,016
for 3 nights
From
£288
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £411 per night, per additional guest
 
Memorial Day
25 May 2018 - 28 May 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,172
for 4 nights
From
£255
 
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Independence Day
3 Jul 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£917
for 3 nights
From
£255
 
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Pioneer Day
21 Jul 2018 - 24 Jul 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,172
for 4 nights
From
£255
 
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Labor Day
31 Aug 2018 - 3 Sep 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,172
for 4 nights
From
£255
 
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Halloween
30 Oct 2018 - 1 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,016
for 3 nights
From
£288
 
Notes: Rates are based on 3 guests; add £411 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
21 Nov 2018 - 23 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£917
for 3 nights
From
£255
 
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
21 Dec 2018 - 25 Dec 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,172
for 4 nights
From
£255
 
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£580
for 2 nights
From
£214
£1,567
 
Notes: Rates are based on 17 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £190.03
Cleaning Fee £152.02
Tax Rate 8.25%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. $10.00 per night charge for each person above 17 count.
Family groups only. No student groups. Note: Wifi limited to 1GB per rental day. Additional charged at $15/GB.
Contact owner for rates for bunkhouse add on.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals