HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Famous Shipbuilder Home great for the Pumpkin Festival and Fall Foliage !

Bedrooms 4
Property type house


About the property

Sightseeing and fall foliage

4 Bedroom, 3 Bath, family room, parlor, living room, on 1.5 acres; attached ell; bath include claw foot bed; one 1/2 bath, 1 full bath and 1 3/4 bath; antique furniture and lovely porch to sip coffee in the morning and chat; lovely bay windows to curl up w/ a book or draw/paint surrounding oak trees close to town and shops and hiking trails nearby kayak shop and Pemaquid point several restaurants and lobster dinners

Property Manager/Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 August, 2017

About Property Manager/Owner

I am the great great granddaughter of Ebenezer Haggett who owned this property with his children and it is titled, "the Haggett Homestead". Ebenezer was famous as a shipbuilder who built the five masted schooner. Ebenezer had his ship building company in Newcastle which is now the Lincoln Home and built such beautiful ships as "the Elizabeth", "the Josephus", "the State of Maine". The craftsman in the home is mirrored after the ships with wainscoting and maple flooring.

Property Manager/Owner purchased this house in 2001

Why Property Manager/Owner chose Boothbay Harbor Area

The property is part of Maine history - with the wide pumpkin pine flooring, lovely architecture, quaint parlor and ballroom. Glidden Street was captured in DownEast Magazine as "Newcastle's Lovliest Lane". The countryside and beautiful federal homes provide the setting for Jane Austen's "Emma".

What makes this house unique

Close to town and shops, yet quiet and private; lovely sitting rooms for conversation, reading, quilting knitting; Porch setting which overlooks the Damariscotta River-- great for having coffee in the morning. Spacious rooms for friends and family


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Newcastle in Lincoln County

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Parking ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Garden
  • Tennis
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
30% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
Famous Shipbuilder Home great for the Pumpkin Festival and Fall Foliage !
average rating of 4.2 based on 10 reviews

Beautiful place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

Walking distance to great food, shopping, beautiful scenery. Very quite and relaxing! Would go back again and

I'd highly recommend.

Plenty of room for large families.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Las Cruces, New Mexico

Less than we expected

  • 2 of 5

Walked into kitchen and had ants all over the counter. The previous guest or house keeper had left a glass of sugar on the counter with a loosely-fitting plastic wrap. When calling for help were told housekeeper would be there in the morning. The housekeeper did come over and washed things down but the ants came back. She washed floor but did not clean the product off. So we had sticky floors for the rest of our stay. We contacted manager again about that but were ignored. Before you sleep you need to make your own beds and at the end you need to do the laundry for the next guest. You are expected to not only wash towels and bedding (which we understand) but to then wait for laundry to wash then put it in dryer then wait to fold. Seriously...Why do you have a housekeeper? This place is obviously set up for minimal housekeeping expense, that is bails of toilet paper set out in each bathroom and bundles of paper towels laying about in the kitchen. Another negative was the coffee maker that took no less than 45 minutes to brew a pot of coffee...really???!!! How much does a cheap coffee maker cost to replace? Clearly no housekeeper is needed because that duty falls to the renter lest you forfeit your deposit. Poorly managed overall

  • Review Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am shocked to hear there are ants since none of my other tenants have mentioned them. However we called the cleaner who came over at 9 am and scoured the kitchen to discover no ants. At the customers request she came back again and scrubbed the floor and found still no ants. This is a lovely home in the country with all the amenities including staple paper towels. It's a home with charm and antiquity. We are fully booked for the season. Its a great place for those who like the country and want the independence of cooking in their own kitchen and the privacy of a front yard. We take pride in delegating responsibility and managing any concerns in a timely and efficient manner and always esteem the care of the customer as our first priority.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

No problems. Everything went well.

  • 4 of 5

House is in a great location. Can walk to many restaurants and shops. Bathrooms and kitchen could use some updating, however, all was in good working order.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Big, old house on quiet street, easy walking distance to town of Damariscotta.

  • 5 of 5

Four of us had a very nice 2-day stay in this large old house on a quiet side street across from a graveyard. Doesn't have great view of Damariscotta River, actually. But we loved the close proximity to shops in Damariscotta. We bought whole lobsters at a seafood place where they cooked them up, brought them back and used the full kitchen facilities to make a couple of great meals. Very quiet neighborhood, nice walking trail up the river. Beds comfortable. If it were the middle of winter, it might have been a bit cool, but we were very comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A Fun Getaway

  • 4 of 5

A peaceful dwelling

A Great location

Historic home

Hikes and bikes

Dining on seafood day and night

Damariscotta, a lovely site.

We enjoyed our stay!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location but somewhat lacking inside

  • 3 of 5

This house is on a charming road and has a great overall location to be sure (short walk to downtown Damariscotta), yet there is much mustiness and many furnishings that are in need of repair or replacement. The one shower is tremendously small, scarcely over 2' x 2' wide. (The claw foot tub has old world charm but no shower.)

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are renovating the two bathrooms this year and will be replacing some of the furniture
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Car: necessary

Riverarts and round pond ice cream


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Newcastle, Maine

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £70.19
Damage Deposit £233.97

please clean linens prior to departure and leave the key for the next tenant in the family room on the oval table

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now

You might like these similar holiday rentals