HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Fall is the best time to be at the beach! Quiet location is dog-friendly

People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,113 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 baths, huge shaded lot, on quiet cul de sac on Bon Secour Bay

This newly updated, vintage Gulf Coast cottage on 1.3 acres of shaded property is a great place to relax and recharge, and all that Gulf Shores offers -- sugar white beaches, delicious dining, fishing, golf, kayaking, entertainment, children's activities, and more -- is minutes away. Or, watch your favorite team crush their opponents on the big screen TV while kicking back in one of two comfy recliners.

The 3 bedrooms and 2 baths accommodate 7 guests comfortably, with 2 full beds in one (with tv), a king bed in another (with tv), and 3 twin beds in the third bedroom. The large dining room table seats 8, with a couple of extra chairs just in case. Prepare delicious seafood in the fully equipped kitchen with serve-through bar, range, refrigerator with ice maker, microwave, dishwasher, and all the usual small appliances such as coffee maker and blender. The living room, with two comfortable recliners and sofa, has a large-screen tv over the fireplace mantel. The cabinets and bookshelves have games and books for long, lazy days. Everything is on one level, with no steps other than a low step into the kitchen.

Or go to what we think is the most beautiful beach in the world, the public Gulf beach in the protected Bon Secour Wildlife Refuge, with plenty of parking and a boardwalk to the uncrowded beach. The Wildlife Refuge surrounds the cottage and the other homes on our little lane, giving us the recent experience of standing in the living room and watching, through the floor-to-ceiling windows, an osprey snatch a fish from Shellbanks Bayou on one side of the house while pelicans and cormorants dove for them in Bon Secour Bay on the other.

More Details

Owner
Carolyn Van Laare and John Quenelle
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2017

About Carolyn Van Laare and John Quenelle

On our tenth wedding anniversary, we discovered this beautiful property during one of our frequent stays at Meme's Bay Cottage across the lane. It was truly love at first site. This trip to the Gulf was on the heels of our recent retirement from the University of Alabama at Birmingham where we practiced couples and family therapy for 20+ years. We both enjoy kayaking, hiking, and biking, all of which are available here in the form we now like best -- all on flat surfaces.

Carolyn Van Laare and John Quenelle purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Carolyn Van Laare and John Quenelle chose Alabama Gulf Coast

Growing up in Alabama, we both enjoyed many beach trips with our families over the years. The Gulf Coast has always been our second home, and we have always dreamed of having a place of our own here some day, which turns out to be now. Dreams do sometimes come true. Since we have both lost beloved family members in recent years, this has been a great place to relive many favorite memories, and to honor these memories and feelings. We hear similar comments from guests.

What makes this cottage unique

What attracted us immediately, of course, was the water access and spectacular view of Bon Secour Bay and Mobile Bay beyond, as well as the spacious, park-like beauty of the 1.3 acre setting. What has surprised us is how much we enjoy the the bayou on the back side of the house. It's breathtaking at every time of day and we have seen some truly spectacular wildlife displays.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello my fb family and friends. Were on vacation at Gulf Shores last week and stayed at this great place. Our family went with us including our nephew who needs total care and is dependent on his parents to take care of him.They used a lift to move him from w/c to bed. The beds were high enough for the lift to work, it is the only place we have ever stayed without a problem. The place was beautiful. My daughter has posted pictures on here. I have one of her sleeping on the swing bed. I love the swing, there is a place for going fishing, and it's not too far from the beach. Next time you're going to GULF SHORES and want a place that has this many beds: 1= 2 double beds, 2 = 1 king, 3 = 3 twin beds, 2 full baths. I would be happy to give you the contact to the owner.
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 1

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Pensacola (Gulf Shores has a small airport.)
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Beach Hut
Nearest Ferry
12 Miles
Dauphin Island Ferry
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Several courses, check www.gulfshores.com/golf/
Nearest Motorway
8.5 Miles
Intersection of Ft Morgan Rd and Hwy 59
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Beach Club
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Bon Secour National Wildlife Refuge public beach
Car: necessary

Caroline's Cottage is a traditional Gulf Coast cottage situated on 1.3 shaded acres on a quiet lane on Bon Secour Bay. While the beautiful, sandy Gulf beaches are just a stone's throw away, the diverse ecosystem of Shellbanks Bayou can enchant at any time. Hawks, ospreys, seagulls, and pelicans are on the wing, while white egrets and blue herons wade below. For relaxing and power naps, there is nothing like the screened porch bed swing and three-person classic swing. For more energetic pastimes, there's easy access for kayaking on the bayside. Also, shady, picturesque bike paths are minutes away, as well as a short bike ride down the shady lane, just out the front door. Another activity for nature lovers is walking the hiking trails through the Bon Secour National Refuge which surrounds Council Lane. Or take a breezy, exhilarating ride on the Dauphin Island ferry just for fun.

At the same time, you'll be a 15-minute drive from the center of Gulf Shores and a short trip farther to Orange Beach, with their extensive variety of attractions, activities, and shopping. For more shopping, the Tanger outlet mall is a short drive up Highway 59 to Foley.

And, of course, the Gulf Coast's greatest seafood is served in every way from basketsful of fried shrimp and oysters to white linen, fine dining restaurants.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Gulf Shores in Baldwin County

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1113 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Double Bed , 40" tv with DTV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , tv with DTV
    Bedroom 3 - 3 Single Bed , Great kids' room!
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

61% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
Fall is the best time to be at the beach! Quiet location is dog-friendly
average rating of 4.5238094 based on 22 reviews
5

The house and location are Wonderful.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the house. The family especially liked using the provided fishing poles on the pier.(which was being repaired by a very nice gentleman while we were there )daughter caught a stingray. Luckily we were able to remove it easily. My husband really liked the swing bed. Everything we needed was provided. We were able to see baby sea turtles making their way to the ocean in Fort morgan. Look for fort morgan share the beach on Facebook. They are very informative and helpful. They let us know where we had a chance of seeing the babies. If we make it back down here we will definitely stay in this house.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brazoria, TX
4

Carolines Cottage was lovely. The house was clean and spacious.

  • 4 of 5

The house & kitchen were fully stocked for our needs. The only problem we had - my husband was extremely disappointed the docks were in such ill repair. Hus perfect idea of vacation was fishing in the bay from the dicks that were not functional.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect and refreshing!!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this property in July 2017. Everything was exactly as pictured. We loved the open layout of the home. Three bedrooms and two bathrooms were perfect for a family of four and many more could have been accommodated. We really enjoyed the screened in porch and the swing / bed to stretch out in. It was very nice for relaxing and reading in the evening. The fenced in yard was a blessing to be able to let our dog out the patio door without worrying about his running off. The air conditioners in every room kept us plenty cool on the hottest days. We enjoyed the pier and the beautiful scenery just steps out our door. Although both the dock in the back and the pier in front were in need of some repair, we were able to safely enjoy them anyway. When repairs are completed it will only enhance this property but it did not detract from our stay at all. We loved having the grill. Our daughter caught a significant size red snapper which we grilled for dinner and had one of the best meals we have ever eaten! Caroline's cottage is stocked with all you need for kitchen ware and linens. Washer and Dryer very convenient as were the outside shower outlets to get rid of sand before coming in. Even three fishing poles were provided for our use. Some children's sand and water toys are on the back porch. We would highly recommend this property for your vacation. Perfect mix of close to all of the great local activities and far enough away from the hustle and bustle of tourist attractions. The beach at Fort Morgan, which is closest to the cabin was wonderful. I think this might have been our most relaxing vacation ever. Thank you so much!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Louisville, Kentucky
4

Cute house

  • 4 of 5

Plenty of rooms and beds for our stay. Screened in porch was a nice touch for lazy days. Owner responded to any concerns quickly. But like past reviews the house needs some maintenance. The blinds where broke, a window in the 3 twin bed room has a crack, the front yard was overgrown, and the rugs needed a good cleaning. Not to mention the pier needed repair still. All simple things. Still a nice location near the beach and away from the crowd.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

quiet getaway spot

  • 4 of 5

This is a great place for a quiet getaway or a family reunion. My wife and I shared the cottage with my sister and brother for a few days. The place is clean and has just about everything you need. Martha was very attentive and made sure we had everything we needed. The cottage is on a quiet deadend lane away from the bustle of Gulf Shores but close enough to shops, restaurants, and the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. My sister would move in permanently if she could.

  • Review Submitted: May 8, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
park falls, wi
2

Disappointed

  • 2 of 5

House and grounds are in need of repair. Screened porch has tears in it allowing animals to run around. Seal broken in the large sliding glass door, which has caused it to be cloudy. Vertical blinds missing a blind. Front yard is all weeds. Ceiling fan in bathroom is grouse. Both piers have signs, "Danger" Pier in need of repair. Curtains have stains. The pictures look great. Don't be fooled.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback; we always appreciate hearing from our guests. We are sorry, however, that you were disappointed. When we bought this vintage cottage, we put in new floors and baseboards, painted inside and out, enclosed a patio to make the screened porch, and made other numerous smaller updates and repairs, and the house will always be a work in progress with constant improvements. For instance, we have replaced the refrigerator, stove, washer, and dryer with new, better appliances, and the dishwasher is next. We had a new fence installed with a completely enclosed area for guests who bring their dogs with them. We are currently working on the two storm-damaged piers (thus the signs we posted for our guests' safety) and expect to have the repairs completed soon; however, we have certainly enjoyed them just as they are for wildlife and sunset watching, and our guests have enjoyed fishing from them. Also, we try very hard to keep up with the normal wear and tear that happens with a rental property, such as replacing last week the screen door that has had the screen kicked out with a new door with a solid lower half. Our one-acre yard is filled natural vegetation and lots of oaks where the animals (squirrels) live that delight in tearing our screens and exploring the porch. We are trying to find a humane solution that will keep them out and still allow us to feel the gentle breezes when we sit on the porch or lounge on the swinging bed. For the nature lover it is the perfect spot. We are very close to the Bon Secour National Wildlife Preserve and benefit greatly from the birds, butterflies, and small animals who make this habitat their home. Again, we are sorry you were disappointed, and we hope you find a better match for your next trip.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Gulf Shores, Alabama

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Fall
9 Sep 2017 - 1 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£507
for 3 nights
From
£128
From
£140
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,019
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
2 Dec 2017 - 2 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£482
for 3 nights
From
£120
From
£132
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£961
£1,592
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
3 Mar 2018 - 17 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£532
for 3 nights
From
£136
From
£140
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,052
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Early Summer
18 May 2018 - 22 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
£569
for 3 nights
From
£148
From
£169
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,175
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Peak Summer
23 Jun 2018 - 10 Aug 2018
3 night minimum stay
£631
for 3 nights
From
£169
From
£181
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,307
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
Late Summer
11 Aug 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
3 night minimum stay
£532
for 3 nights
From
£136
From
£148
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,076
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £4 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£619
for 3 nights
From
£165
£1,278
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £190.03
Pet Fee £57.01 + Tax
Cleaning £114.02 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.5%

Refundable $250.00 deposit, returned within 7 days of departure following inspection for weekly rentals. For parties of more than 6 people or stays of two weeks or more, we require payment of a $79 premium for $3,000 PDP (Proper Damage Protection). Minimum rental age 25 years. Dogs allowed with pet fee and pre-approval. Limit two dogs. No cats. The full rental balance is due 60 days prior to scheduled arrival date. If booking an arrival date that is less than 60 days away, entire rent is due at the time of booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable