HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Dr S Thompson

Member since: 2007
Speaks English

PRIVATE VILLA ON COAST WITH HOT TUB, GAMES ROOMS, SEA VIEWS, SPECTACULAR WALKS

13 Reviews
People20
Bedrooms 10
Bathrooms4
Separate WC's3
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

Photos and Description of this 10 bedroom holiday villa in Isle of Wight - ST. LAWRENCE DENE

SLEEPS 4 TO 16 IDEALLY, BUT CAN SLEEP UP TO 20

FANTASTIC EXCLUSIVE USE GRAND VICTORIAN COASTAL VILLA IN AN AMAZING LOCATION FOR WEEKEND HOUSEPARTIES, CELEBRATIONS & HOLIDAYS. FORGET THE RAIN - LOADS TO ENTERTAIN YOU - AMERICAN POOL, TABLE TENNIS, HUGE DINING ROOM AND LOUNGE, ENORMOUS TV WITH SKY+ MOVIES & SPORTS, WIFI. BIG HOT TUB, BALCONIES, TERRACES, CROQUET LAWN. 10 BEDROOMS; ENTIRELY PRIVATE SUITE FOR GRANDPARENTS OR TEEENAGERS; PERFECT FOR ROMANTIC WEEKENDS OR CELEBRATIONS WITH FAMILY & FRIENDS. MASTER BEDROOM WITH 4 POSTER. BANQUET TABLE AND BARBECUE TABLES SEAT EVERYONE. HUGE MODERN KITCHEN. STUNNING GARDEN WITH EXOTIC PLANTS, SEATS IN SUN & SHADE. MINUTES’ WALK TO SMUGGLER’S COVE & AROUND ISLAND COASTAL PATH. AMAZINGLY SPECIAL HOUSE, PRIVATE, EXCLUSIVE, SECURE, JUST FOR YOUR GROUP OF FAMILY, FRIENDS OR COLLEAGUES. BIG GROUPS, SMALL GROUPS, ALL AGES. SECURITY, HOUSEKEEPING, CATERING, BARBECUES, TRAVEL, ENTERTAINMENT - BESPOKE PACKAGES TO SUIT YOU OR JUST ENJOY THE PRIVACY AND EXCLUSIVITY OF THIS SPECIAL PLACE.

Rates quoted for this listing are a guide only. Please visit www.rentamanor.com or e-mail info@rentamanor.com for tariff, availability and more information on this superb property.

WWW.RENTAMANOR.COM IS LUCKY TO LIST THIS AMAZING PROPERTY!

WWW.RENTAMANOR.COM SPECIALISES IN BIG PROPERTIES (& V SPECIAL SMALL SMALL PROPERTIES) ALL FULLY EXCLUSIVE USE, PRIVATE & SECURE, WITH AMAZING FACILITIES IN SUPERB LOCATIONS .

WWW.RENTAMANOR.COM HAS THE IDEAL PROPERTY TO MAKE EVERY OCCASION SPECIAL.

THE ISLE OF WIGHT IS A JEWEL IN THE SEA OFF MAINLAND ENGLAND, A MECCA OF SPORTS, LEISURE, ADRENALIN RUSH, RELAXATION, ART & CULTURE. VISIT QUEEN VICTORIA'S OSBORNE HOUSE, COWES WEEK INTERNATIONAL SAILING EVENT, BLACKGANG CHINE THEME PARK (BEFORE IT FALLS INTO THE SEA), ALUM BAY THE ONLY CHAIR LIFT WITHOUT SNOW - UP A SHEER CLIFF FACE, GOLF CLUBSWITH SPECTACULAR SEA VIEWS, 600 MILES OF CYCLE AND WALKING TRAILS, SURFING, WINDSURFING, PARAPENTING, DINSOAUR FOSSILS MILLIONS OF YEARS OLD TO FIND & KEEP, ARCHAEOLOGY, ARTS, POETS & PAINTERS, HENDRIX & DICKENS, WATER SPORTS, LAND SPORTS, OLD FASHIONED PUBS, TRADITIONAL ALES, TEAROOMS LOADED WITH SCONES JAM & CLOTTED CREAM, BANDSTANDS WITH FREE SPONTANEIOUS GIGS BY TOP ARTISTS, FINE DINING IN MICHELIN STARRED RESTAURANTS.

STAY IN AMAZING RENTAMANOR.COM PROPERTIES FOR TOP ISLAND FESTIVALS - ISLE OF WIGHT FESTIVAL, BESTIVAL, JAZZ FESTIVAL, ARTS FESTIVAL, EXTREME SPORTS FESTIVAL, CYCLING FESTIVAL, WALKING FESTIVAL, FLOWER FESTIVAL, SCOOTER RALLY, ANTIQUE CAR RALLY, STEAM FESTIVAL, GARLIC FESTIVAL. CARNIVALS JULY & AUGUST. DRAPE YOURSELF OVER, SURF, SPEEDBOAT, WAKEBOARD, WATERSKI, ROCKPOOL, EXPLORE AMAZING BEACHES SURROUNDING THIS INCREDIBLE ISLAND. TAKE HOME A LITTLE ISLAND SOUL WWW.RENTAMANOR.COM FOR AMAZING PROPERTIES, SELF CATERING TO FULLY CATERED, BUTLER, HOUSEKEEPING, SECURITY, DRIVER....

WWW.RENTAMANOR.COM IN ASSOCIATION WITH WWW.FULTONGOLDBERG.COM BRINGS YOU

CORPORATE TRAINING, LUXURY STAYS, ‘SMASH THE ANXIETY BARRIER’ INDIVIDUAL & TEAM COURSES,

BOOT CAMPS, SPA RELAXATION BREAKS, RESIDENTIAL & ON LOCATION

HARNESSING SCIENCE FOR BUSINESS magic@fultongoldberg.com

WWW.RENTAMANOR.COM

TREAT YOUR SELF, FAMILY, FRIENDS

MOTIVATE,REWARD COLLEAGUES, TEAM, STAFF

IMPRESS FRIENDS & CLIENTS

LEAVE CALMER, WISER, NURTURED, ENERGISED

WWW.RENTAMANOR.COM

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Dr S Thompson (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Speaks English

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thanks very much, it really was fantastic, such a beautiful part of the world and we were very lucky with the weather. Great walks, lovely pubs, plus we had loads of fun at the house itself.
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 14

Reviews

4.9
based on 13 holidaymaker reviews

PRIVATE VILLA ON COAST WITH HOT TUB, GAMES ROOMS, SEA VIEWS, SPECTACULAR WALKS
average rating of 4.923077 based on 27 reviews
5

Absolutely perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a fantastic stay on The Isle. The hosts answered all our queries really well and quickly. We went walking, swimming in the sea, sipped pints after a beautiful coastal stroll, hot tubbing, BBQing, playing in the garden and paintballing.

The house is massive and the views out onto the ocean are breathtaking. The kitchen is big enough to cook big meals and there are tables both inside and outside that means you can all eat together even in a large group.

I will definitely be coming back here with friends or family in the future. What a wonderful place.

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic house & area

  • 5 of 5

The house is great, perfect for large groups with fun stuff to do - pool table, hot tub, table tennis. If you're lucky enough to have good weather the views are stunning. Outside the house there's great pubs, nice walks and nearby town Ventnor is worth a visit. We had been to IoW many times but never ventured to the South coast, and we were blown away by how lovely it is! The owner/manager was a pleasure to deal with, very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended!

  • Review Submitted: May 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It has made our day reading this, thank you – we are so delighted that you enjoyed such a great weekend stay at the superb St. Lawrence Dene! Thank you for sharing your most positive experience with others. RentaManor strive to provide the perfect experience for groups looking to get away together to celebrate, relax, and enjoy beautiful properties on the spectacular Isle of Wight. Large stately holiday homes to suit large or small groups for weekends, mid week, long stays, short stays, with fabulous facilities throughout the year. Discounted vehicle ferry travel is also available to RentaManor guests. See you soon! Best wishes from the RentaManor team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

The staff went above and beyond!

  • 5 of 5

Extremely impressed with the manor house, in particular the stunning bedrooms with sea views. But what really stood out for me about my stay is I accidentally left my coat in one of the wardrobes, and after realising when I was back home in the Midlands I called the office straight away, and within the week my coat was returned safely to me via first class, with a required signature delivery, all paid for by the company. They really do put the customers first, and go above and beyond to leave a lasting impression. Thank you again!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted to hear that you were extremely impressed with St. Lawrence Dene, large holiday villa on the Isle of Wight with hot tub, games rooms, 10 bedrooms, sea views and walks through the countryside to nearby beaches and beyond! Thank you for sharing your positive experience of this superb exclusive use group accommodation with others. RentaManor put client experience first and foremost and we are pleased that you received your coat safely in the post. We pride ourselves in providing happy experiences for our guests and we are pleased that we can keep on achieving five star stays. Remember to ask us about our latest deals on Isle of Wight ferries, exclusively for RentaManor guests. Best wishes from the RentaManor team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing House! Highly recommended!

  • 5 of 5

I just got back from St Lawrence Dene where I organised a weekend with a group of 18 for a friends stag party.

The house is stunning and full of character, it's also absolutely huge with plenty of space for us all and some very big rooms. The house has everything you need for families or groups such as the one I was with. The location is very quiet with some incredible views across the sea and a beach is a a short walk away. The hot tub is an added bonus which was very warm and atmospheric.

We organised some activities nearby and also visited Ventnor which has a great pub by the sea, The Spyglass. The surrounding countryside is also beautiful, especially along the coastline.

Rentamanor are extremely helpful and professional going above and beyond what is required.

Can not fault the house at all, would love to return one day. Thank you.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to have achieved a five star experience for you and your party of 18 in this superb big holiday house on the Isle of Wight! We offer self catering as well as fully catered stays for all types of groups, celebrations, events, holidays, corporate training and rewards. Responsible stag groups such as yourselves are always welcome and we hope that your group return to St. Lawrence Dene again for future happy occasions. The Isle of Wight has a massive range of activities and adventure sports and RentaManor are experienced in helping guests to organise their perfect weekend, week or fortnights stay. St. Lawrence Dene makes for the perfect base to explore the beautiful Island. Best wishes from the RentaManor team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Amazing views, amazing time at this property!!

  • 5 of 5

The house is amazing, with so much communal space. It was lovely and warm even without the heating on. The rooms were cosy and there was just so much space! The views are amazing! So nice to wake up to. I would recommend this house to anyone looking for a large rental. The staff were also so so helpful, easy to get hold of and friendly. I would love to come back here again if I return to the Isle of Wight.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed St. Lawrence Dene so much! Thank you for sharing your positive experience with others. We would certainly be most happy for you to return to this superb RentaManor property for future occasions, celebrations or holidays on the Isle of Wight. Stunning views, sea and countryside, swimming pools, hot tubs, bars, games rooms, self catering or fully catered, short stays, long stays, weekends, mid week, RentaManor properties are the perfect exclusive use holiday homes for group accommodation, family, friends, corporate rewards, birthdays, Christmas, New Year, responsible stag and hen dos and all kinds of celebrations and occasions. Best wishes from the RentaManor team
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Beautiful but a little tired ...

  • 4 of 5

Whilst we had an amazing stay at this property there are a few things worth knowing before considering booking. Location is incredible and the house is beautiful and well set out. All our large group had their own space and there are enough shared and private bathrooms/toilets. The kitchen has two enormous fridge freezers, great for groups. The main problem is how tired the house is, the place really hasn't been well maintained and they could do with spending a bit on general maintenance, care and touch ups around the place. Dated decor is fine but locks hanging off, broken kitchen table, things that have an overall impact on the visitors. There are also a few drops to be aware of with young children. Top floor windows, staircase, but none of this was an issue with any of our little ones and we were aware of the hazards, thus prepared.

What we were not prepared for were two things that marred an otherwise lovely stay including not having a dishwasher that worked and a serious issue with the drainage of waste water. As you can imagine for such a large house, we were pleased there was a dishwasher. It just didn't work! So we brought this to their attention within the first few days (and were informed that they already knew this to be a problem) yet it was still not addressed during our stay. What made it more frustrating is that when the new dishwasher was delivered to the rental property (just as we were checking out), we learned that it had been in their storage for some time but had not been a priority to install it. The second and quite major issue was the drainage from the waste water pipes were flooding both sides of the property. This was brought to their attention and the father of the owner we had booked with, was absolutely lovely about it and even visited us. However, as well as being a general health hazard we did have young ones in our group who unknowingly ran through it, much to the distress of everyone else particularly the elderly parties in our group.

I think what compounds the disappointment is lack of client care and value after a stay. We sent a feedback email (twice to give the owner the benefit of the doubt) and did not even receive acknowledgement which the group found incredibly rude. So whilst a beautiful property, the owner (we dealt with) could do with improving customer relations. It has certainly put my family off (and the extended group) from returning to any of their other properties on our future holidays to the IoW.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed an amazing stay at St. Lawrence Dene and that you think it is a beautiful, well set out property in an incredible location. We very much hope you will return to us for future holidays on the Isle of Wight so that we can do our best to turn your four star rated experience into a full five stars next time! We had no idea that a dishwasher would break down during your stay. When you contacted housekeeping on the second day of your stay to report that the dishwasher had broken down, the issue was addressed immediately and a new dishwasher was ordered for the property. The new dishwasher was installed at the property as soon as it was delivered. When a drain became blocked during your stay, causing water from the kitchen sink to build up a little outside, the issue was addressed immediately on contacting us and the drain was unblocked that day. If you had any other issues during your stay they too would have been addressed immediately if you had contacted us. We were sorry to hear that these couple of issues marred your otherwise lovely stay and on receipt of your feedback email we posted you a letter acknowledging your email and the issues raised. Where you live abroad the letter will have taken longer to reach you and was still with the postal service on the date you wrote your review. We are sorry we did not email you to let you know immediately that a written letter would be our response to your feedback email. This is something we will take on board to improve customer relations even more so in the future. Thank you for your comments. Once again we are really glad that you enjoyed an amazing stay in what you describe as a beautiful and well set out house in an incredible location! Best wishes from the RentaManor team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Southampton
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Met Bar
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Southampton
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Ventnor
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Shanklin
Nearest Motorway
12 Miles
Portsmouth/Southampton
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
The Hambrough
Car: not necessary

St. Lawrence is a world renowned micro climate, with subtropical plants and the international Botnaic Gardens where plants from around the world, including Australia and New Zealand, flourish without needing to be greenhoused. Victorians flocked to St. Lawrence for its mild climate and healthy sea air, building grand, high ceilinged properties with wonderful sea and country views, of which St. Lawrence Dene is envied as the best. On the famous coastal path, which wraps around the whole Island, walking, cycling, golfing, fishing, beach life are on your doorstep. Isle of Wight Festival, Bestival, Blackgang Chine theme park, Osborne House, Robin Hill, the island yachting mecca of Cowes. Have best seats for the amazing spectacle of the Round Island Yacht Race from St. Lawrence Dene balconies; return to your fabulous home from the bustle of Cowes Week & Island Festivals.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Ventnor, Isle of Wight

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer Hols
16 Jul 2016 - 3 Sep 2016
7 night minimum stay
£3,975
for 7 nights
£3,975
 
 
Easter Hols
6 Apr 2017 - 25 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£2,495
for 2 nights
From
£1,248
£3,975
 
 
Early Bank Holiday
27 Apr 2017 - 3 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£2,495
for 2 nights
From
£1,248
£3,975
 
 
Bank Holiday Week
25 May 2017 - 6 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£2,495
for 2 nights
From
£1,248
£3,975
 
 
Summer Hols
15 Jul 2017 - 2 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,975
for 7 nights
£3,975
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£1,650
for 2 nights
From
£825
£3,595
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Rates quoted are a guide only. Please visit www.rentamanor.com or e-mail info@rentamanor.com for tariff, availability and more information on this superb property.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Isle of Wight in South East England

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • beach
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Luxury
General:
  • Internet
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Wireless Internet
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 3 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , En-suite to master bedroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Large modern enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Large modern enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Bathroom 5 - Toilet
    Bathroom 6 - Toilet
    Bathroom 7 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 10 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - Master suite, antique 4 poster bed, sitting room, SKY, views
    Bedroom 2 - Master bedroom, super king bed, bathroom en suite, views
    Bedroom 3 - Twin beds, can link with bedroom 2 or share its bathroom
    Bedroom 4 - Antique 4 poster bed, far reaching country & sea views
    Bedroom 5 - Twin beds, shower room, washroom
    Bedroom 6 - Twin beds, wash basin, antique wardrobe
    Bedroom 7 - Twin beds, wash basin, antique wardrobe
    Bedroom 8 - Twin beds, stunning sea views, wash basin
    Bedroom 9 - Double bed, stunning sea views, wash basin
    Bedroom 10 - Double bed, stunning sea views, wash basin
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Steam Shower
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot