HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Gorgeous Home With Old World Charm, Courtyard & FREE WiFi

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

SVR-00249 Step into Savannah's rich past at this Antebellum-style, vacation rental that has deep historic ties to the early colonization of the city's vibrant West Forsyth Park neighborhood. The Huntingdon House will delight its visitors with its spacious floorplan and real-world decor accompanied by modern touches and sophisticated charm. This two-story, private residence provides ideal accommodation for new families, couples groups or a few friends who are reuniting from around the country.

Located on the Western border of Forsyth Park, the multi-level floorplan of this rental offers a first-floor bedroom and living space with the upgraded kitchen located upstairs on the second floor in between the second and third bedrooms. Snowbirds will love the natural sunlight that enters this home and will revel as they enjoy morning coffee or evening wine on the romantic upper balcony or in the private courtyard. The property even has a small, detached, light-filled building with air conditioning and heat, suitable for yoga, meditation and art.

Guests at the Huntingdon House will be within close walking distance to the city's most exciting and well-attended Savannah events including; The Savannah Jazz Festival, Picnic in the Park, Rock N Roll Marathon Finish Line, Forsyth Park Farmers Market, Savannah College of Art and Design Fashion Shows and Alumni Concerts and more!

Amenities include FREE high-speed WIFI, extended cable with CNBC; ESPN; ESPN2, CNN, FOX; premium linens, towels, washcloth, soap, shampoo and conditioner, (This line is here for your protection only since people copy and paste our descriptions and create false advertisements for vacation rentals. If this home is offered to you via payment by cash, check or wire transfer it`s a scam; we only accept Credit Cards. Our correct phone number is Nine one two, seven one three, seven two seven eight) body lotion, paper-products; hair dryer, iron, ironing board, coffee, tea, creamer, sugar, pots and pans, electric kettle, silverware and dishes. We also offer for an additional fee: BBQ grill, baby crib, mattress with extra linens ... inquire for details. The Huntingdon House is Located at 307 W. Huntingdon Street Savannah GA 31401.

This home is a 3 BR/2 BA with 2 King Size Beds and 1 Queen Size Bed. If you need additional sleeping space/bedding, an airbed with linens can be requested for an additional charge. All requests need to be made in writing.

We advertise our homes on many sites. Some of them only display the minimum rate, others only the maximum rate. Unfortunately, none, but our own website, displays the rates correctly for specific dates.

Renting homes from Savannah Dream Vacations is fast and easy. We take all major credit cards and require a deposit to confirm the booking which is applied towards the remaining balance. Thirty days prior to your arrival our booking software will charge the balance automatically. We also sell Traveler's Insurance for those emergency cancellations.

Upon making a reservation with us, you will receive email confirmations instantly and be able to go directly to the property with no need to check in at our office as all of our homes have electronic locks. No fumbling around with old fashioned lockboxes that get stuck or keys where there never seem to be enough. Everyone has their code so you can come and go as you please.

SVR-00249

More Details

Property Manager
Manderly & Marcia
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, German, Spanish
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
17 November, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Historic District - South in Savannah

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • city centre
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • 2 King beds, 1 Queen bed
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Golf
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

53% Complete
15% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
7% Complete
Gorgeous Home With Old World Charm, Courtyard & FREE WiFi
average rating of 4.076923 based on 13 reviews
3

Interesting Place

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was clean.

I was more than happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Huntsingdon is not too far off beaten path and had no metered parking, which is good. The kitchen is upstairs and the tv-living area with on master is downstairs. Bathrooms are cramped with old tubs and shower curtains that are way too long. This needs review and fixing.

  • Review Submitted: 01-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Nancy Glad you enjoyed the location and free parking. The kitchen is upstairs and the living area is downstairs, one of the wonderfull quirks of an old home. We did install new shower curtains and refinsihed the bathtub, so all is splendid for your return visit.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Savannah wedding weekend

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was very happy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

The house was in a very good location. Everything was very clean. Unfortunately the upstairs bathroom tub drained very slowly and the bathroom was extremely small. Also the airconditioning worked very well downstairs but the unit upstairs did not. You were only able to set it as low as 72 degrees

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Mary Kay, glad you enjoyed the home and did find everything clean and satisfactory. The home was built in 1890 , so the bathrooms are a bit smaller than what we are used today, but most people still find it plenty big. The Thermostats in that home are locked at 72 degrees, so no damage can be caused to the AC units. Most people find that plenty cool, our appologies if it was still not cold enough for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jefferson, GA
5

Fun in Savannah

  • 5 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was very happy with the location.

I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

We had a great stay in the home. It retains the old southern appeal while having all the modern needs. The location had easy street parking and was close to all the fun!

  • Review Submitted: 17-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi JP, thank you for staying with us and we hope you`ll be back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Tallahassee, FL
1

NO HOT WATER, THE GAS BILL WASN'T PAID

  • 1 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was adequately helpful.

The vacation rental was spotless.

I was happy with the location.

I was very dissatisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I do not recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

THE GAS WAS CUT OFF BECAUSE THE BILL HAD NOT BEEN PAID IN MONTHS. In the rental companies defense, they did offer to move us to another rental but, the whole point of renting a house was so we could unpack and get comfy. Between expensive tours and dinner reservations that had to be booked in advance, it was practically impossible to pack up 6 women and the kitchen to move. For our inconvenience, we were refunded a small portion of the rental cost. Heating water so our 70+ year old mother could bathe was more than a 7% annoyance. I could be more forgiving if something had broken, those things happen but, to just not pay the bills? I wish I could give zero stars.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Savannah Dream Vacation Rentals
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you were unwilling to move. The other home was much larger with 3+ bathrooms and only a few blocks from the home you rented and we would have moved everything for you of course. The gas company actually made a mistake as the Owner lives in Dubai had paid the bill by check unaware the company changed their policy without notifying him. We apologize for the inconvenience, but we really tried our best to resolve it by giving you an upgrade.Good news is the owner put the account on automatic draft now, so it will never happen again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Girls Road Trip

  • 3 of 5

Rating Details:

The property manager was very helpful.

The vacation rental was very clean.

I was somewhat unhappy with the location.

I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

Reviewer Comments:

Overall it was satisfactory. The only real issue were the bathrooms, in particular the upstairs bath with the tiny sink. Suggest you install a grab bar in both tubs for safety.

  • Review Submitted: 20-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you found most of the homes well, Carol. Thank you for your feedback. We have given your suggestions to the owner. We hope you will stay with us again; we will give you a discount if you do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Austin, TX
5

Quick Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5

Having decided at the last minute that I wanted away for my birthday, I knew it would be slim pickings in terms of availability. This property was the only one that could accommodate my dates and I am so glad it did. The pictures of the home do not do justice to what a lovely and well maintained property this is. It has all the character you would expect of a home from this era. The original hardwood floors gave the home a very warm and inviting feel to it. The decor is a nice mix of modern and antique plus any place that can uses a skateboard as wall art is quality in my book. Of the three bedrooms all of which were equally nice and inviting we slept in two of them (behave) and the beds were memory foam and very comfortable.

Both bathrooms were nearly identical with awesome bear claw soaking tubs though the upstairs tub was starting to chip and lose some porcelain. More of an aesthetic thing than a discomfort. The upstairs deck was also nice and comfortable but the real gem for me was the downstairs courtyard. Very well maintained and ornamented, a nice chill place to enjoy some coffee tea while relaxing.

The property was very clean upon arrival and had everything you could need for a nice stay. We were also surprised at how quiet the neighborhood stayed considering you are downtown. Also you have some many options for dining, sightseeing and shopping within walking distance. Parking was also never an issue which again being in an urban area is a nice convenience.

One word of advice though. If you are six foot or taller beware when first going up the stairs that if you don't pay attention you will hit your head. Yeah I was that genius :) Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and I would most definitely visit this property again. I tend to be nit-picky and critical at times but this place gave me absolutely nothing to fuss about. Thank you for the last minute availability and thank you for the very rapid response to the few emails I sent with regards to some questions I had.

  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees
Available
Unavailable