HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach!

Bedrooms 2
Separate WC's1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach!

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach! Just 2 Blocks from the Beach With World Famous Surfing and Sunsets and Only 4 Blocks to Newport Avenue With Its Eclectic Shopping, Delicious Dining, Craft Breweries, Bars and Farmer’s Market Each Wednesday.

Outside the Lushly Landscaped Private Courtyard With Market Lights Overhead, Gas Fire Pit With Adirondack Chairs and Large Built-in Stainless Steel Gas Grill Welcome You to the Brighton Beach House!

This Beautiful and Spacious Two Story Home Has Just Become a Vacation Rental. Built New in 2007, It Has 2 Large Bedrooms Upstairs – Each With Its Own Private Bath! One With a Queen Sized Bed and Futon, the Other With a King Sized Bed and Bonus Queen Sized Air Mattress for the Kids. There is a Queen Sized Sleeper Sofa Downstairs Along With a Fully Equipped Kitchen Featuring Granite Countertops, Microwave, Dishwasher, Range and Oven As Well As a Full Sized Refrigerator.

the Living Room Has a Sectional Sleeper Sofa, Leather Chaise Lounge, 48” Internet Capable Lcd Tv and Wi-fi. the House Has an Attached Two Car Garage With Automatic Opener and Full Sized Washer and Dryer.

This Rental Comes Complete With Two Boogie Boards, Two 6’-9” Foamy Surfboards, Four Folding Beach Chairs and Two Beach Cruiser Bicycles With Locks to Make Your Time in Ocean Beach Perfect! Not a Toy You Have to Rent!

Additionally This Location is Close and Has Easy Access to Everything San Diego Has to Offer:

only 5 Minutes to Downtown, the Gaslamp District, Little Italy, Old Town, Sea World and the Harbor for Deep Sea Fishing. Only 10 Minutes to Balboa Park Museums, the San Diego Zoo, Torrey Pines Glider Port and Scripps Institute Aquarium.

You’ll Have Access to the Beach, Beautiful Sunsets, Amazing Shops and Restaurants, the Ob Pier, Dog Beach and Much, Much More!

AS A NOTE, even though most of the properties around the beaches in San Diego have been built without the need for AC - given the couple of warm summers in San Diego, we have recently installed central air conditioning in the Beach House for your added comfort!

Now you'll always be able to "CHILL-LAX" at the Beach House!!

More Details

Jim Fay and Sherry Pound
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 April, 2017

About Jim Fay and Sherry Pound

My wife is from Australia and I'm from Texas but we've both fallen in love with San Diego!

We're available 24 hrs a day to resolve any issues you may have during your stay - enjoy!

Jim Fay and Sherry Pound purchased this house in 2007

Why Jim Fay and Sherry Pound chose San Diego County

Perfectly located in the very eclectic neighborhood of Ocean Beach. A people friendly, dog friendly beach community of San Diego.

What makes this house unique

2 Blocks from the Beach, Great Restaurants, Bars and Night Life - a Nice, New Roomy House With All the Amenities and Lots of Ocean Beach Charm!


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ocean Beach in Point Loma

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • with linens and toiletries.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • 2 bedrooms each with private bath
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(34 traveller reviews)

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach!
average rating of 4.7352943 based on 34 reviews

5-10 minutes to dog beach or restaurants

  • 3 of 5

This is a really spacious rental, a bit run down but serviceable. Very pleasant patio, and a great place for our small dog. Electricity went out for one day while we were there so lights didn't work and we couldn't get in or out of the garage without lifting the door, plus we had to deal with workmen coming for repair. Also, you have to pay $80 for an insurance policy. Maybe this is a new thing on VRBO we just haven't run into before, but we thought it was a ripoff. We were booking at the last minute to attend a funeral so didn't have tons of places to choose from.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Brighton Beach House! Sorry about the thunderstorms that rolled through SAN Diego during your stay and the resulting electrical problem. We were on top of the problem as soon as we got the call and had the repair work done the same day - a weekend day as well so we paid a bit of a premium. Sorry about the inconvenience of having to deal with the electricians. Fortunately they were outside at he panel doing the repair most of the time. Glad we were able to resolve the problem quickly. A damage deposit is a standard on vacation rentals around the world. We do however, offer the option of putting the damage deposit money on hold on your credit card for no extra cost (unless there's damage of course) or purchasing a $79 insurance policy through a 3rd party, which is all you pay even if there's any damage. Our guests do it both ways but most of them opt to purchase the policy. We hope to see you again at the Brighton Beach House soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Perfect house/location for our needs!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect!

Super clean and well equipped!

One daughter and b/f in Pheonix (with a dog), second daughter and I flew from Boston. My son and his fiancé live 10 min form this house. We had dinner at the house every night. I feel that the house was very well equipped.

The living room was very comfortable with ample seating. The bedrooms are very good size, and the mattress (in master/king)...I wanted to take it home!!! So comfy!!

The beach was a short 2 or 3 blocks away. I have to say, the "desert dog" had soooo much fun on the dog beach! Not to mention that the yard of Brighton Beach House is completely fenced in!! A huge plus!!

Lots of great little restaurants and places to walk. Grocery store within 2 miles (not huge, but has most everything needed)

People had mentioned the planes flying over. This really was not a problem for any of us at all. In fact, it was really cool sitting out by the fire pit and looking up and seeing them fly over with the stars in the sky!

The Brighton Beach house was perfect for our family gathering!!

Thank You Jim and Sherry

a side note: for those without a car...Lyft and Ubers are everywhere and cheap! Can have a ride within minutes!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 5 of 5

It was great! We enjoyed our stay. Plenty of room, the patio was awesome with the fire pit, and the kitchen was great to cook with the family. Plenty of toilet paper and supplies and it was very clean. Thank you!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hill City, South Dakota

Wonderful vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This vacation home is so comfortable & spacious and the garage was a very nice addition. The location is perfect for enjoying your visit to Ocean Beach. Thank you Jim & Sherry.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Peaceful oasis

  • 5 of 5

The photos do not do the home justice. We enjoyed the home's amenities and location. The yard with its grill and firepower was a wonderful way to end the day after walking the fee blocks back from the beach. The location. Was great as a jumping off point for our planned sightseeing and relaxing on the beach. Tell hosts were wonderfully unobtrusive yet made sure we had everything we needed. Two adults and a 16 yr old who amazingly did not miss his video games. The 2.5 baths were a godsend too. Yes there is noise from the planes overhead however it becomes background noise. The houses are close together but that is to be expected on this area and the West coast. All in all a great stay in a wonderful home. Thanks Jim and Sherry.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place for a beach getaway!

  • 4 of 5

Stayed for three nights in mid September with 8 adults total. The house was great! It has two bedrooms upstairs. One with a king bed & one with a queen bed & a futon. Both rooms have full size bathrooms. Downstairs is a half bath with a nice kitchen & living room with a pull out sofa bed. The outdoor patio has a BBQ & a gas fire pit that we enjoyed at night. Another plus is there is 2 car garage which worked great for us since finding street parking can be difficult.

House is close to beach & is close to restaurants & shops. We walked almost everywhere. The only time we drove was to get groceries at a nearby store.

I would recommend if you have a group of 8 like I did that you bring an air mattress & linens since we were unable to use the one at the house since it had a hole in it.

The only negative thing is constant planes that fly overhead upon departure starting at roughly 6:30 in the morning. This bothered others in my group more than it did me so I would say it depends on the person.

I would recommend this place & would stay here again if ever came back to ocean beach!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Linberg Field
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Ocean Beach
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ocean Beach, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
25 May 2017 - 10 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Nightly Rate
3 Nov 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

cleaning £93.48
Property Damage Protection £61.54
Tax Rate 11.05%

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed.
100% of rental fee will be refunded if reservation is canceled 30 days in advance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals