HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach!

People8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach!

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach! Just 2 Blocks from the Beach With World Famous Surfing and Sunsets and Only 4 Blocks to Newport Avenue With Its Eclectic Shopping, Delicious Dining, Craft Breweries, Bars and Farmer’s Market Each Wednesday.

Outside the Lushly Landscaped Private Courtyard With Market Lights Overhead, Gas Fire Pit With Adirondack Chairs and Large Built-in Stainless Steel Gas Grill Welcome You to the Brighton Beach House!

This Beautiful and Spacious Two Story Home Has Just Become a Vacation Rental. Built New in 2007, It Has 2 Large Bedrooms Upstairs – Each With Its Own Private Bath! One With a Queen Sized Bed and Futon, the Other With a King Sized Bed and Bonus Queen Sized Air Mattress for the Kids. There is a Queen Sized Sleeper Sofa Downstairs Along With a Fully Equipped Kitchen Featuring Granite Countertops, Microwave, Dishwasher, Range and Oven As Well As a Full Sized Refrigerator.

the Living Room Has a Sectional Sleeper Sofa, Leather Chaise Lounge, 48” Internet Capable Lcd Tv and Wi-fi. the House Has an Attached Two Car Garage With Automatic Opener and Full Sized Washer and Dryer.

This Rental Comes Complete With Two Boogie Boards, Two 6’-9” Foamy Surfboards, Four Folding Beach Chairs and Two Beach Cruiser Bicycles With Locks to Make Your Time in Ocean Beach Perfect! Not a Toy You Have to Rent!

Additionally This Location is Close and Has Easy Access to Everything San Diego Has to Offer:

only 5 Minutes to Downtown, the Gaslamp District, Little Italy, Old Town, Sea World and the Harbor for Deep Sea Fishing. Only 10 Minutes to Balboa Park Museums, the San Diego Zoo, Torrey Pines Glider Port and Scripps Institute Aquarium.

You’ll Have Access to the Beach, Beautiful Sunsets, Amazing Shops and Restaurants, the Ob Pier, Dog Beach and Much, Much More!

AS A NOTE, even though most of the properties around the beaches in San Diego have been built without the need for AC - given the couple of warm summers in San Diego, we have recently installed central air conditioning in the Beach House for your added comfort!

Now you'll always be able to "CHILL-LAX" at the Beach House!!

More Details

Owner
Jim Fay and Sherry Pound
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
19 May, 2017

About Jim Fay and Sherry Pound

My wife is from Australia and I'm from Texas but we've both fallen in love with San Diego!

We're available 24 hrs a day to resolve any issues you may have during your stay - enjoy!

Jim Fay and Sherry Pound purchased this house in 2007

Why Jim Fay and Sherry Pound chose San Diego County

Perfectly located in the very eclectic neighborhood of Ocean Beach. A people friendly, dog friendly beach community of San Diego.

What makes this house unique

2 Blocks from the Beach, Great Restaurants, Bars and Night Life - a Nice, New Roomy House With All the Amenities and Lots of Ocean Beach Charm!

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ocean Beach in Point Loma

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • with linens and toiletries.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • 2 bedrooms each with private bath
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • hiking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(37 traveller reviews)

Welcome to Paradise in Ocean Beach!
average rating of 4.675676 based on 37 reviews
2

Decent property marred by airport noise, worn mattress and missing amenities

  • 2 of 5

We chose this property because it was dog friendly and near the Ocean Beach dog beach (which we enjoyed). Unfortunately Ocean Beach is located under the flight path of San Diego's busy airport and from 6 AM to midnight your ability to enjoy the nice patio or just relax and watch TV is interrupted every few minutes. The king mattress needed replacement, and the house wasn't sufficiently equipped with some of the basics, such as paper napkins and Kleenex. The area homeless, although essentially harmless, favor this beach area. We left a day early, unwilling to suffer another noisy and uncomfortable night. Next time I visit San Diego I will choose an area other than Ocean Beach, and hopefully the owners will address the shortcomings noted for future renters that do not mind the noise and grunge of Ocean Beach.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A++ experience

  • 5 of 5

Loved the house and the surrounding neighborhood. Everything we needed was provided and we were close to many family and cultural activity centers and the beach was just 3 short blocks away!Very quite at night so we slept great in the comfy beds provided! The owner was always available for questions and was very pleasant and accommodating. Over all a great vacation experience for our family, we will definitely making a return visit!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flagstaff, AZ
5

Excellent location, pleasant spot

  • 5 of 5

The mattress is too soft or worn out in the master bedroom, everything else was just right .

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

5-10 minutes to dog beach or restaurants

  • 3 of 5

This is a really spacious rental, a bit run down but serviceable. Very pleasant patio, and a great place for our small dog. Electricity went out for one day while we were there so lights didn't work and we couldn't get in or out of the garage without lifting the door, plus we had to deal with workmen coming for repair. Also, you have to pay $80 for an insurance policy. Maybe this is a new thing on VRBO we just haven't run into before, but we thought it was a ripoff. We were booking at the last minute to attend a funeral so didn't have tons of places to choose from.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Very glad you enjoyed your stay at the Brighton Beach House! Sorry about the thunderstorms that rolled through SAN Diego during your stay and the resulting electrical problem. We were on top of the problem as soon as we got the call and had the repair work done the same day - a weekend day as well so we paid a bit of a premium. Sorry about the inconvenience of having to deal with the electricians. Fortunately they were outside at he panel doing the repair most of the time. Glad we were able to resolve the problem quickly. A damage deposit is a standard on vacation rentals around the world. We do however, offer the option of putting the damage deposit money on hold on your credit card for no extra cost (unless there's damage of course) or purchasing a $79 insurance policy through a 3rd party, which is all you pay even if there's any damage. Our guests do it both ways but most of them opt to purchase the policy. We hope to see you again at the Brighton Beach House soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect house/location for our needs!!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect!

Super clean and well equipped!

One daughter and b/f in Pheonix (with a dog), second daughter and I flew from Boston. My son and his fiancé live 10 min form this house. We had dinner at the house every night. I feel that the house was very well equipped.

The living room was very comfortable with ample seating. The bedrooms are very good size, and the mattress (in master/king)...I wanted to take it home!!! So comfy!!

The beach was a short 2 or 3 blocks away. I have to say, the "desert dog" had soooo much fun on the dog beach! Not to mention that the yard of Brighton Beach House is completely fenced in!! A huge plus!!

Lots of great little restaurants and places to walk. Grocery store within 2 miles (not huge, but has most everything needed)

People had mentioned the planes flying over. This really was not a problem for any of us at all. In fact, it was really cool sitting out by the fire pit and looking up and seeing them fly over with the stars in the sky!

The Brighton Beach house was perfect for our family gathering!!

Thank You Jim and Sherry

a side note: for those without a car...Lyft and Ubers are everywhere and cheap! Can have a ride within minutes!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Awesome!

  • 5 of 5

It was great! We enjoyed our stay. Plenty of room, the patio was awesome with the fire pit, and the kitchen was great to cook with the family. Plenty of toilet paper and supplies and it was very clean. Thank you!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 2, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Linberg Field
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Lucy's
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Ocean Beach
Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ocean Beach, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Summer
25 May 2017 - 10 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,120
for 3 nights
From
£322
£2,300
 
 
Nightly Rate
3 Nov 2017 - 3 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£888
for 3 nights
From
£245
£1,785
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£888
for 3 nights
From
£245
£1,785
 

Additional pricing information

cleaning £92.76
Property Damage Protection £61.07
Tax Rate 11.05%

Rates are subject to change until booking is confirmed.
100% of rental fee will be refunded if reservation is canceled 30 days in advance.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals