HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beautiful apartment in Brixham.Free off road parking & WiFi, fully equipped

People4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 416 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps up-to 4, Close to Brixham Harbour, local attractions and beaches.

Grockle nook is a totally private self contained, self catering studio apartment that sleeps up to 4 (2 Adults + 2 Children) with FREE private off road parking directly outside the apartment for your exclusive use. There is also FREE WiFi internet connection. The interior has been fitted & furnished to the highest of standards with only your total comfort in mind & fully equipped with everything that you could possible need. The front entrance is accessed through a small private courtyard. All rooms of the apartment are on the ground level. The apartment sleeps 2 adults on a very comfy king size bed (just what's needed for a super nights sleep) & able to accommodate 2 others on the very large cream leather sofa bed (2 single beds can also be arranged on request). We have a cot & high chair for our smallest guests.This beautiful apartment is situated in a peaceful location & ideally located for the town center and harbor. The local attractions, golfing, hiking, cycling, go carting, the sea & beaches,Berryhead are just minutes away. We supply FREE of charge a welcome pack of milk, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, selection of herbal teas, bread, fresh fruit, biscuits, chocolate, a cream tea for two plus a bottle of red wine.

The apartment has It's own pretty garden/patio area which has a BBQ, patio heater, lighting, table,chairs and parasol Perfect for those warm summer Brixham nights when you want to relax and do Al-fresco dining. The kitchen/dining room overlooks the garden/patio area. This is open plan with solid cherry wood shaker cabinets with lot's of storage space and even two wine racks. Cream slate flooring & contemporary sunken halogen spot's and up lights giving discreet but bright lighting. There are washing/drying facilities available FREE of charge.

More Details

About Us

Sharon Shahid
Grocklenook Holiday Apartment
Grockle Nook, 27 Lindthorpe Way
TQ5 8NY Brixham.
VAT Reg No

Property Manager
Mrs Sharon Shahid
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
5 December, 2017

About Mrs Sharon Shahid

We moved here from Canada, we spent many holidays and even our honeymoon in Brixham. We wanted to share this beautiful part of the world with others.

Mrs Sharon Shahid purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Mrs Sharon Shahid chose Brixham

We opened Grockle Nook in 2009 and have met many people from around the world and made many friends over the years. We find it very rewarding when people come and say how beautiful Brixham is and that the apartment is a great place to stay after a very hectic day of site seeing, hiking,bicycling or just sunning them selfs on one of the beautiful beaches in the area.

What makes this apartment unique

Free off road Parking and WiFi. A super comfortable king size bed.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Diana L

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom

Yearly Tranquil Beauty



Left on Aug 22, 2017 for a stay in Aug 2017

For the second year running we have come to stay for a fortnight and we will be coming back next year too [and probably many years to come] The apartment is spotlessly clean, very comfortable and has everything you need. It really is the perfect haven to return to after a busy day exploring the beautiful Brixham and surrounding areas. The walk around Berryhead is truly beautiful and we even visited twice. The ferry across to Torquay is a must and very cheap. Also a must is to walk down to the Harbour at sunset you get some lovely views there especially at the end of the breakwater. Sharon, Terry & team make you feel so welcome and nothing is too much trouble for them and look forward to seeing you all next year.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Report a problem

Your response:

"Thank you for your wonderful review.We really enjoyed having you stay. My only regret is not being able to see you more due to my broken femur. We all look forward to next July when you return. I'm really happy that you enjoyed Your stay. That is our main objective that you all had a great holiday and were comfortable in the apartment.See you next year. Sharon"
Aug 2017
  • 1 of 6

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Brixham in South Hams District

Property Type:
  • apartment (detached)
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 416 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Luxury
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telescope
  • Thermos Flask
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Modern fully tiled bathroom, with electric shower cubicle with instant hot water. Wash basin & WC. Towel storage rack with plenty of thick Egyptian cotton towels, mirror/over mirror light/complementary toiletries/Hair dryer/shaver point.
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom/Lounge - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Family
  • Open plan lounge/bedroom is light & airy with a very comfortable king size bed. All bed linen supplied at no extra charge. Luxury Egyptian cotton bedding & lots of plump pillows to give you that super nights sleep. Large cream leather sofa bed (2 single beds can be supplied on request) 1 cot (on request). Lots of storage space in 1 double and 1 single wardrobes & 2 small chest of draws.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Tennis ...
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • bay
  • botanical garden
  • caves
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The coast of Devon is ideal for exploring beautiful landscaps by walking & cycling routes. Grockle Nook is at the start of these roots. Maps provided.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

62% Complete
25% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful apartment in Brixham.Free off road parking & WiFi, fully equipped
average rating of 4.5185184 based on 33 reviews
5

A Brilliant holiday

  • 5 of 5

From the moment of our arrival at Grockle Nook to our leaving we had a fantastic time great hosts great apartment all round a fantastic time highly recommended

  • Review Submitted: 08-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Dave and Margaret for a great review. We really enjoyed having you stay and can't wait for your return. It was really good of you to do what you did for us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and the apartment. That's what it's all about to make sure you have a very comfortable and peaceful stay a real home away from home. Looking forward to seeing you both again in the very near future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kidderminster
5

Lovely apartment-brilliant facilities

  • 5 of 5

Spent a week here end Oct-beg Nov. Ideal for a 'lady of a certain age' on her own. Felt quite secure and safe. Lovely apartment, furnished to high standard and pleasant decor and comes complete with all kinds of facilities - everything you could possibly need - even hair dryer and toiletries!. Piles of towels! Lots of hot water and easy-to-adjust heating. Sharon's welcome pack was amazing - wine, fruit, chocolates, bread, biscuits, tea, coffee, sugar.............and even a Devon cream tea when you arrive! Lots of tourist info to plan a visit. DVDs, games etc too for families. For fine summer days there is a little patio with table, chairs, umbrella and even BBQ! Dedicated off-road parking spot which was very useful. Located pretty close to town centre and easy access to other local attractions and tourist locations. Brixham is a very hilly little fishing port but there are flat areas too.

Lots of great places to eat - would recommend the Breakwater Bistro and Rockfish at the harbour - and also the Sloping Deck Restaurant in Dartmouth.

Lovely week - great accommodation and felt very at home, Thank you Sharon.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Disappointing!

  • 3 of 5

Property described as suitable for "AGED OR INFIRM " Access to property is via steep narrow steps or steep slope, both without handrails, this caused great problems as my wife has trouble walking even with the aid of a stick and is awaiting surgery. We spent the entire week struggling to shower in a cubicle with one sliding panel hanging off. Fridge ice box door was broken off and several lights not working. The property is in need of maintenance & a lot of TLC. Mrs Shahid has had a very unfortunate accident and is unable to view the property herself. We do sympathise with her plight and we appreciated the welcome hamper on arrival.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Anthony and Averel, We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the apartment. We didn't know anything about the shower door until you told us about it. We ordered a new shower cubicle right away, it was suppose to be delivered and installed within 2 days,but there was a mix up with the deliver People and was actually delivered the day you departed. It has now been installed. We also ordered a new fridge as soon as you brought the little freezer door to our attention. We have now installed a brand new top of the range fridge. We have also put a new toilet seat in as the last one was damaged by the company that installed the new shower cubicle. The slight slop down to the apartment is scheduled to have a hand rail installed on to the wall with lights so that you can see where your going in the dark. You say that the steps are also very steep, there are no Steps leading to the front door ? We have had elderly people stay in the apartment with mobility issues in the past that have managed fine ,with no complaints about the apartment. Yes the apartment is up a steep hill ,but the whole of Brixham is hilly there is nothing I can do to rectify that. As for the many lights that didn't work, two bulbs went and were replaced as soon as you pointed out that they weren't working. Clearly we can not please all of our guest all of the time ,but we do try to do our very best to make sure our guest are comfortable and rectify any problems that might arise. Please accept my sincere apologies for all the problems that you experienced and be assured that we have now rectified all of these problems.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good. You get what you pay for

  • 4 of 5

The property was a little 'tired but clean. Good amenities though & owners extremely helpful & lovely. Wouldn't like to stay there with children or friends, as pull out bed & tv & main bed in the same room is not ideal. Private driveway not the easiest to get on. But overall a good location.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guests feedback & we take all our guest comments seriously . You say that the apartment is a little " tired ". We have now purchased a new shower, a new fridge/freezer , Hairdryer and have arranged for he Apartment to be completely re-decorated when the season has finished. Hopefully this will bring the apartment back upto standard. As for not wanting to stay in the STUDIO apartment with children or friends, we have had many families stay and say that everything was perfect. The pullout bed has never been used as we supply single beds and cot for our smaller guest. Many of these family's have returned time and time again. Kind regards Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Clean, comfortable

  • 3 of 5

Comfortable & suited our needs.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Very good break.

  • 5 of 5

The location of the property is very convenient for Brixham & surrounding areas. Everything & more was provided by the owners and the welcome pack was an excellent little addition. We thoroughly enjoyed our weeks holiday there. We would not hesitate to recommend the accommodation.

  • Review Submitted: 02-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Alan & Kathy, Thank you for your review. We really enjoyed your visit and makes us very happy that you enjoyed your holiday. It was lovely to have meet you both and hope that you are not suffering too much in the heat wave in Spain. If you want to cool down again you would be very welcomed to come and stay again. Regards Sharon
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
33 Miles
Exeter
Nearest Barpub
800 Metres
The Trawler
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Brixham/Torquay & Brixham/Dartmouth. Plymouth
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Churston golf course
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Paignton
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
M5
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Many
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Breakwater beach
Car: not necessary

Brixham is oozing with charm & character. Steeped in history that goes back several hundred years, it's not hard to absorb the atmosphere of the town. Life in Brixham centres around it's pretty harbour. Take a wander around the harbour side & watch the fishermen unload their daily catch. Situated in a suburb location for exploring the surrounding countryside. You are just 10 min walk to the harbour where you can enjoy a deep sea fishing trip or take a ferry cruise to either Torquay or Dartmouth along the breathtaking coastline. Spend the day shopping at the antique shops or art studios in Dartmouth, where The Royal Naval College is situated (you may just spot a member of the Royal family). Nearby Berry Head, Country Park boasts spectacular views across the bay, with ruins of a Napoleonic fort. Why not take a walk on Dartmoor, stop for a scone & clotted cream lunch at a country pub or spend the day on one of the many sandy beaches or splash away the day at the Water Park.

Other Activities: Go cart racing

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Brixham, South Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£340
for 7 nights
£340
 
 
Christmas/New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£450
for 7 nights
£450
 
 
January 2018
6 Jan 2018 - 23 Mar 2018
7 night minimum stay
£350
for 7 nights
£350
 
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
£400
for 7 nights
£400
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £100

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Manager a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals