HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Silver Bear Escape #291

Bedrooms 3
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights


About the property

Silver Bear Escape #291

Our three bedroom, three bathroom, two story, 1600 square foot condo is located at the base of the slopes at Canyon Lodge. The lifts are approximately 300 yards from the property and an easy walk even for young children. We are a short shuttle ride to The Mammoth Village, and many popular restaurants and bars, but find ourselves not wishing to leave our home where we can cook in the large kitchen and play a board game with family and friends in front of the fire.

Lunch at the house between runs is always a possibility! The afternoon views of the White Mountain range are a treat when enjoying a ski cocktail or hot chocolate. Our property has been entirely upgraded and has an open-aired layout.

You can also lounge around in the living room, where you'll find a 58" flatscreen Samsung television, two La-Z-Boy leather recliners, and a comfy sofa with a chaise.

The master bedroom has a queen bed with a large flat screen TV and DVD player. The closet space is ample and the bathroom boasts double sinks. The second bedroom is located just off the family room area and has a queen bed with a twin day bed. There is a large flat screen TV in this room as well. This second, full-size bathroom with double sinks is accessible from both the bedroom and family room. The third bedroom is upstairs and has a twin over full bunk bed, twin trundle, 42" flatscreen TV, DVD and its own full bath.

The kitchen has a sit-down bar for four to watch and chat with the cook, and an adjoining dining area that seats eight with the table leaf extended. There is a 42" LCD TV, and Blu-ray disc player. There is a library of DVDs to watch and several board games to enjoy an Xbox 360 with 5 games plus an iPod Docking station with blue tooth. Off the living area is our deck with a propane gas BBQ.

The property is very spacious, and furnished/equipped to feel like a home.

***The fireplace has been very temperamental, and we apologize in advance if it does not work for you. There seems to be an air intake issue that is exacerbated by the cold, and after many service calls to no avail, we are in the process of replacing the fireplace unit completely. We appreciate your understanding while we get this updated

Mammoth Business Tax Certificate: 6208

More Details

Property Manager
Owner/Property Manager Nomadness Rentals
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, Spanish, Russian, Italian, Bulgarian, Serbian, Croatian, Chinese
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
17 December, 2017


One hour drive to Yosemite National Park. Short drive or shuttle during the summer and then a short hike to Devil's Postpile and Rainbow Falls. Visit the ghost town of Bodie and get immersed into the Old West. And for the most adventurous - ski the slopes, climb the rocks and hike the picks of the beautiful Eastern Sierra.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Mammoth Lakes in Mono County

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets not allowed ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 3 bathrooms
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), Bunk Beds (1)
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundrette - serviced


4/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
0% Complete
50% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Silver Bear Escape #291
average rating of 4.0 based on 2 reviews

Awesome location

  • 5 of 5

This condo was great. Wonderful for families. 3 bedrooms each with an on suite bathroom. Clean and spacious. Covered parking was a plus because of the snow.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jacquelyn, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our property. Please remember to take advantage of our 5% return renter's discount on any condo of your choosing when you book with us again. Have a great day! :) Cheers, The Nomadness Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego

Good base camp location. OK Unit.

  • 3 of 5

Our 7 person group (including 3 toddlers) came up to Mammoth for a couple of days to do some snowboarding. Like the title says, the location is great and its a short walk uphill to Canyon Lodge. The place certainly has enough room for a 6-8 people. The stocked kitchen worked out fine as our group was able to cook a meal for 2 families with kids. There is a closet full of board games and DVDs at the entrance which was nice. The gear locker in the garage was a convenient option. There is a big TV in the living area and TV's in at least 2 of the 3 rooms. Overall, the place works if you need a base camp for 4-6 adults on a ski/snowboard trip.

Although it was a good location, we had some issues. The biggest complaint was that the unit didn't seem completely clean and the floors/carpet seemed really dirty. For a unit that has a "no shoes" policy, we didn't expect to see all the bottom of all our socks to be completely black just walking around the living areas for 1/2 an evening. I've got the same policy in my house too and I know I can walk around my house without issue. It was a little disconcerting to see our toddlers roll around on the carpet and come up with grey hands. The other issue was that although there is ample square footage in the unit, there seems to be too much furniture in the living room area. Either the furniture is just too big or there are about 5 too many chairs, tables, stools, etc. sitting around with lots of corners for little toddlers to bang into. Not something I normally think about, but if you have 1-3 year old kids running around and falling it matters. Overall, the living areas are crowded. The last complaint was that the two downstairs master beds were just uncomfortable. Our bed had some foam- egg-crate material on top of the box that just didn't do my back any favors.

If I were coming back with a group of 4-6 adults, this place would work. However, I would need a cleaner and more spacious unit if I were to come up with a group that had 2 or more kids.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Feb-2017
  • Date of Stay: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Michael! First, thank you for taking the time out to leave a review for our Silver Bear property. We would like to extend our apologies regarding the dirty floors, for future reference, you are more than welcome to call the office at any given time & we will go ahead & send housekeeping to take care of any complaints you have. We do our best to represent the amount of furniture in the unit through the pictures we upload on our sites, however if you do need a more spacious unit in the future, please reach out to the representatives on duty & they will be more than happy to provide you with the square footage. We will definitely bring the status of the bed to the attention of the homeowner & take the necessary steps to ensure all future guests are comfortable. Once again thank you so much for your feedback, we hope you have a great day! Cheers, The Nomadness Team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question


  • Contractual booking deposit: 100.00% rent

You might like these similar holiday rentals