HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

A Colorful Bungalow For A Los Angeles Adventure, Close To The Beaches & Freeway

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,400 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom 2 Bath Home With Outside Shower & A Rear Yard Bordered By Fruit Trees

We are unique in that the location is convenient to virtually every LA destination, yet you will enjoy quiet peace and privacy once you enter from the gate or front door. This is a true original California bungalow in every respect, with avocado, lemon, olive, apricot, apple and lime trees, berry bushes, and a mediterranean landscape full of herbs and all kinds of fragrances. You can walk to the mall and dozens of other retail and dining destinations, but when you're at our place you'll feel like you're in your own oasis. You and your guests will enjoy the best of linens, furnishings, and amenities, with all the benefits of a nice hotel and a fully equipped home. If you need anything during your stay, our staff is a phone call away to assist you.

Martha Newman
Member since: 2011
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 March, 2017

About Martha Newman

The husband is an architect. The wife is an artist. What could go wrong? To the original classic bungalow we have added a second bathroom with a jacuzzi , an outside shower, and a deck for the french doors we installed in the main living room.

Martha Newman purchased this bungalow in 1995

Why Martha Newman chose Redondo Beach

We came from San Francisco in 1988 and moved around until we happened on the South Bay. One week later we moved there. The beach community is the right home for us. Hard to believe we are in a metropolis with the quiet small town vibe here. Friendly neighbors, friendly restaurants and bars, and a 16 mile concrete band, the Strand, that borders the beaches and marinas all the way to Venice beach - great for bicycling or leisurely walking.

What makes this bungalow unique

Our community was designed with small curving streets that heightens the neighborhood feeling. You will have complete privacy while being really close to everything that is LA. Redondo Beach is a model city, with near perfect year round weather, comparatively little traffic, and countless eateries and other venues for fun seekers. Once your skin is sun kissed and your belly is full, it's just a few easy minutes back to our Sweet Haven to watch your favorite TV show in our jacuzzi, then have a glass of wine by the fire. Each bedroom and both living rooms have their own TV's, so you and your guests can choose their own shows. There is almost as much outside living space as indoors, with various spots to enjoy the fruit trees, song birds, and organic gardens.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday bungalow in North Redondo in Redondo Beach

Property Type:
  • bungalow
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 8
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 3 - Outdoor Shower
  • Front bathroom has shower/tub w/ wall mural, skylight Rear bathroom has Shower/ jacuzzi tub w/ private garden view Outside Shower has privacy and flowers
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • master Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Green Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Rear Bedroom - 1 Double Bed
  • -Master Bedroom w/ King-size mattress & wifi cable HD TV -Green bedroom w/ Queen-size mattress & wifi cable HD TV -Rear bedroom w/ Full-size mattress & wifi cable HD TV -Front Room w/ new queen sized lazyboy sofabed with air pump mattress and memory foam top, super comfortable, & wifi cable HD TV
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming


4.2/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

A Colorful Bungalow For A Los Angeles Adventure, Close To The Beaches & Freeway
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews

Great house for a furnished short term rental!!

  • 5 of 5

We needed a furnished, short term rental while we finalized the purchase of our house in the South Bay when we relocated from Phoenix, AZ. Martha and Kevin's house was a PERFECT fit! The kids loved the outdoor space and the accommodations fit our needs to a T. Martha and Kevin were very helpful along the way and have taken care of anything we have needed. This is the only house we have ever rented (and we have rented quite a few!) that has EVERYTHING you could possibly need. From small kitchen appliances/cookware items to any soaps or cleaning supplies needed for the stay, this place has it all! We appreciate everything Martha and Kevin have done for us! Although we hope to not need another rental in the South Bay anytime soon, if we ever did, we would certainly rent this one again in a heartbeat!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Do not stay here.

  • 1 of 5

While the location and the property is good, we did not have a pleasant experience. The housekeeper was still there when we arrived past our check in time, did not have the house in a clean shape when she left (we had to clean kitchen and floors), and when I informed the owner she essentially called me a liar and questioned my character. We finished our trip, she offered to send something in return for our not so great start. I graciously declined, decided not to write a review and then received an email stating that an insurance claim was submitted for missing items which is completely false. Avoid the headache.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I declined to rate this renter as I do not believe in releasing negativity into the world if I can possibly avoid it. She did have a late check in because my housekeeper of 26 years had a medical emergency and did not get the house ready on time. I offered her compensation for that glitch, apologized profusely, and wished her well. When she checked out we realized she had hosted a paint party for small children, ruined with paint stains around 20 of our nice new white towels, and broke several china dinner plates. Since the insurance policy purchased by renters covered such things we made a claim, that's what it's for, why wouldn't I? I never accused her of anything. My housekeeper had already cleaned the floor when she got there, the garden had just been watered, and her children tracked mud in again after it was clean. It was very inappropriate for this renter to blame housekeeping for her own children's mess. I guess I will focus on her opening, that it's a good house and a good location. And please read the other reviews on this and my four other properties, we try above all to provide a perfect as possible setting for our renters to enjoy their events. I regret this renter's perception, who knows what she is dealing with to act this way. I guess I should go back and give her the rating she deserves so other owners won't be subjected to this but I just can't do it, that's not who I am. Live and Learn!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Eleven of my family members from oversees including 3 very energetic kids stayed in this house. The

  • 5 of 5

I highly recommend this house to my family and friends.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Reno nv

Excellent beach area stay

  • 5 of 5

This house provided an excellent stay just 2 miles from the beach in a nice quiet neighborhood. Everything was comfortable and there were plenty of dishes and utensils in the kitchen. Vey comfortable outdoor space for enjoying the mild weather. A great spot - we will use it again!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Reno Nv usa

Esperrance the beach with out the hassle of LA

  • 5 of 5

Redondo Beach is the perfect location to visit souther California. Reasonably close to all the major attractions, Redondo has its own attractions with out all the pain of LA. Fine dinning and of course the local beaches, where you can actually find a parking place, and the beaches are pretty clean compared to Santa Monica and Long Beach. Martha's Redondo house is the perfect location for enjoying the South Bay. The property is located in a quite nieghborhood in north Redondo about 2 miles from Hermosa & Manhatten Beach. The house is fully furnished with a full kitchen, comfy King and queen size beds. Two full size baths and outside shower. This Redondo Beach property has everything one needs for the perfect beach get a way.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 5, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
6.5 Miles
Los Angeles (LAX)
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Boagie's Sports Bar
Nearest Ferry
15.2 Miles
San Pedro to Catalina
Nearest Golf
2.1 Miles
Alhondra 18 hole/ 9 hole par 3 public Golf Course
Nearest Train
1.3 Miles
Metro Green Line Station to airport and downtown
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
405 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Brazilian Bistro
Nearest Ski
113 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
3.5 Miles
Hermosa Beach
Car: necessary

We are within 4.4 miles of 4 unique beaches with swimming, surfing, stand-up paddle boards, whale watching, volleyball and bicycling along the edge of the sand for 16 miles on a rented bike. Ongoing sea-side festivals, international restaurant fare, and lively bars cater to every taste. We are less than a mile from the freeway and 6 miles to the airport.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday bungalow in North Redondo, Los Angeles area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £48

By paying you are consenting to the Rental Agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties