HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Picturesque Riverfront Cabin

22 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cabin in Marion - Riverbend Cabin

Peaceful Cabin On the Clam River

All the comforts of home, yet immersed in nature. The river wraps around the property on two sides and the third side is state land. It is usually very quiet and relaxing. There is one cabin across the river that is used very occasionally.

The kitchen features full size stove/oven and side by side refrigerator.

The master bedroom has a King sized bed and two chairs for relaxing by the fire in the wood stove or over by the patio door with the view of the river just a few feet away.

The second bedroom has a full sized bed. The large, sunny living room has two newer pullout couches. There is also a love seat and a chair

There is no internet or television.

There are 2 picnic tables near the river. There is also a glider and chairs to sit by the campfire. There is a large yard in the back for running around and hanging out.

There are miles and miles of ORV trails just down the road. The Clam River is excellent for tubing, kayaking and canoeing. There are kayaks available for your use. It is very walkable for fishing. It is sandy and shallow right in front of the cabin, but has a couple deeper pockets on the opposite side. There is a bridge just down the road that the kids drift down to on tubes, then can easily walk back and do it again and again.

The yard is clear in areas but wooded between the cabin and the road and also on the east side, which is the state land. We have made some foot trails through that woods, going along the river and back through the woods to the driveway. There is gas & charcoal grills available for your use.

The nearest grocery store, restaurants and bar are in Marion, about 10-15 minutes away. There is also a store/gas station in Leota which is about 10 minutes to the east. They have a few groceries and good pizza & icecream.

If you would like to explore northern Michigan, there are several beautiful towns not too far away with beaches, golf, winetrails, etc. Cadillac is about 35 minutes away, Traverse City is 75 minutes or so.

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 October, 2016

About Owner/Manager

We have 5 children and enjoy the outdoors. We don't use the cabin as much as we would like, due to our busy schedule and thought it would be nice to let others have the experience we enjoy so much! The setting is very calm and relaxing. There is no wifi and cell signal is spotty, so we enjoy lots of quality time together playing games, reading, swimming, kayaking and making smores.

Owner/Manager purchased this cabin in 2010

Why Owner/Manager chose Michigan

We knew the moment we drove up that this was the perfect setting for us. We love how the river wraps right around the property and there is state land on the other side.

What makes this cabin unique

Privacy, peaceful natural beauty


based on 22 holidaymaker reviews

Picturesque Riverfront Cabin
average rating of 4.409091 based on 22 reviews

Perfect setting to unplug and catch your breath!

  • 5 of 5

This location can't be beat! We spent a week here and had a wonderful time. Loved the fire pit and the easy access to the water. Kayaks on the property made for easy river adventures. There was a lot of fishing with not much catching... but that didn't stop us from trying!

The cabin itself has everything you need, comfy beds and sofas, large accommodating kitchen with big fridge, nice stove and plenty of dishes and whatnot. We cook a lot and so the large gas range and prep table were perfect!

Nighttime was so peaceful and quiet with only the sounds of the crackling fire and flowing water. Had a fun time looking at stars and watching the moon rise. So nice to actually see stars without all the city lights!

The owner, Tracy, was very responsive and friendly. I was a bit concerned about the septic issue after a previous review but she explained the situation and let me know I could reach out if there were any problems, to which there were none.

We have already started making plans to return!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very relaxing. Truly loved our stay

  • 5 of 5

We had everything we needed and more. Great place to unwind and take a break from life. Very quiet and peaceful.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house and property looks very nice from the outside.

  • 2 of 5

We stayed in the cabin during Labor Day weekend for a bachelor party get away. The week before getting to the property I was contacted by the owner and was informed that they were having issues with the septic and was told to conserve on water use. When we showed up to the house we could smell the septic and saw a wet spot in the lawn where water was coming out from the septic. The bathroom has major issues with rotted wood and a very soft spot on the floor. The property and the supplied wood and kayaks were a great addition to our stay. Other than the issues with the septic and the bathroom floor the cabin was a very nice place to stay. If planning a canoe/kayak trip check with the locals or owner to see if the water is high enough. It was very low and had a lot of spots that we had to carry the kayaks to make it down river. Overall it was a nice place but the septic issue really made for a bad stay with the constant smell of septic and only being able to use the toilet and not showering. Hopefully they can take care of the few issues and the house would be a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I sincerely apologize for the septic problems during your stay. We had it pumped recently but it must have refilled very quickly. I really would have appreciated a call or text or email letting me know it was worse. I certainly would have handled it immediately, had I known it was smelling and you were not showering at all. In the future I will try to have more communication during the guest's stay to make sure I know about any issues and handle them as soon as possible.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A great getaway

  • 5 of 5

We were only there for a couple of nights but it was such a wonderful spot to stay. You have everything you need and being right on the river is the best! We found frogs, crayfish, minnows etc. and roasted marshmallows and hot dogs. Highly recommend!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Awesome! So glad you made some great family memories!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect venue for our Girls weekend getaway

  • 5 of 5

This property was recommended by friends that had booked a previous stay ... and it did not disappoint. We could not have built a more perfect venue/atmosphere for our 1st annual silly-girl's weekend. Out total of 4 wacky women had more than enough room/space to move about and sleep comfortably. Since food, drink, games and basic tomfoolery was the primary agenda for our trip, the cabin hosted the perfect setting. Secluded enough to not disturb the neighbors with our cackling. Plenty of kitchen space and adequate tools to whip-up our meals. Cocktail hours were spent by the lazy clam river and evenings around the campfire pit. A huge shout-out to the owners for the ample supply of firewood. We were glad we brought our own lawn chairs as we planted them in the shallow part of the river and a spent a good portion of one day sunning and cocktailing in the water. We did venture into town once, had lunch at the local watering spot and purchased some supplies. Otherwise we were content staying on the premise enjoying the peaceful setting this site provides. Tracy, the owner, was very communicative from the initial booking process and met us on arrival day. She made herself available for any questions/concerns we had. Collectively, the four of us can confidently rate our experience as 5 stars and will consider coming back.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very relaxing place with beautiful scenery

  • 5 of 5

We arrived at the cottage on a Friday and the place was very clean, there was almost everything needed to prepare and cook our meals, the furniture was very comfy and we loved the fact that there was firewood and kayaks for us to use, it made the trip care free. Grocery store within a 10 minute drive so that was convenient.

Property was kept in great shape, would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation away from the city.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Joel! I'm so glad you guys had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
70 Miles
Cherry Capital Airport-Traverse City
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Horseshoe Bar
Nearest Restaurant
13 Miles
Duane's Family Restaurant
Nearest Ski
42 Miles
Caberfae Peaks
Nearest Beach
25 Miles
Lake City-Lake Missaukee
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Marion, Northern Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £82
Tax Rate 6.0%

Please pay online by credit card. An email will be sent with payment request at the time of confirmation.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Marion, USA

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
  • Books ...
  • Games
  • Toys ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties