HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Latest offer: June 7th - 14th 2018 only £245.00 (whole apartment)

Bedrooms 3
Space 807 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom, sleeps 5

THIS 1st FLOOR APARTMENT COMPRISES OF: 1 double, 1 twin, 1 single bedrooms. Sleeps a max. of 5 persons.

The lounge area has a flat screen TV with Spanish freeview incorporating some English speaking channels. There is a DVD/CD player with a selection of DVDs, CDs plus board games and books. We take our Chromecast to plug into the TV, we then cast Netflix.

There is a very comfy 'L' shaped settee to stretch out on.

FREE WiFi (password 5557grannet)

In the open plan living area there is a dining room table with 4 chairs, if you wish to eat inside.

Outside, the terrace has table and chairs, so you can enjoy your meals under the awning or just sit out in the sun. There is also a further tiled terrace area on the ground floor for your private use and loungers are provided.

The bathroom comes complete with shower over bath and bidet.

In the kitchen there is a cooker, halogen hob, fridge/freezer, microwave, and washing machine.

We have installed a new air conditioning unit (2017), this is in the main living area, €1 = 1.5 hours of use. All the bedrooms have fans to cool them on the hottest days.

The new (2016) large communal infinity pool and grassed sunbathing area is just 2 minute walk away and benefits from a life guard in the summer. The pool area also has free WiFi.

The apartment is a 15 minute walk from the beach or just a 2 minute drive.

Restaurants and bars are within easy walking distance, all are open throughout the year.

There is a supermarket only 5 minutes walk selling food and drink, suntan lotion and newspapers etc.

The local road train circles the resort on an hourly basis, children love this and it lets you explore the resort hopping on and off where you please.

There are excellent bus links to local towns and cities such as Alicante and Elche.

Water parks and theme parks are easily accessible all within 40 minutes by car or you can take one the many all inclusive coach trips from Gran Alacant.

Plus lots of golf courses, a must for a player of any level, all courses hire clubs so you don't need to take your own.

Only a 15 minute drive away there is an exiting go cart race track and towards Elche a safari Park! For the more adventurous you can go paragliding off the cliffs of Gran Alacant, see their Web site for more details.

A weekly outdoor market is held every Thursday near to the new sports centre.

The centre itself has a heated indoor pool and the usual sports facilities.

And then there's the beach...the Costa Blanca, white sands accessible via wooden boardwalks right to the beach bars, hire shops for water sports, loungers and much more...

There is loads to do and see, check out the web and search Gran Alacant.

All in all a great holiday destination whether you just want to relax by the infinity pool or have an activity holiday.


Matthew and Jo

More Details

Matthew and Jo Kearns
Member since: 2007
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Stayed at this apartment for a few days and was really impressed.

The presentation and facilities were first class with everything you need for a break away. Pool area close by which looked very inviting.

Well positioned for local shops and bars/restaurants. Only 10 minutes easy drive from the airport. Would definitely use this apartment again as a base. Value for money 5*.
May 2018
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Santa Pola in Baix Vinalopó

Property Type:
  • apartment (terraced)
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 807 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • town
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Safe
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bidet , and basin.
  • Bathroom towels are provided. (Sorry no beach towels)
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • All bedrooms come complete with wardrobes, bedside cabinets, lamps and cooling fans. Bed linen is provided.
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Terrace
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 4 garden chairs
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • marina
  • naturist beach
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • paragliding
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
For safety and comfort of all our guests, please, no smoking inside the property.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(37 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
18% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Latest offer: June 7th - 14th 2018 only £245.00 (whole apartment)
average rating of 4.3783784 based on 38 reviews

Great apartment clean and tidy and everything you need

  • 5 of 5

Great holiday first time in gran alicante and would definately go back. Apartment was great with everything you need apart from hubby missed sky !!! weather was great and phyllis was great picking us up and organising anything you needed. Great base for jumping on bus to alicante or benidorm or catch the local train to get u around. Or even better hire a bike which i will definately be doing next time. Thanks again

  • Review Submitted: 18-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your 5 stars, this booking was last minute, Jo and I were very pleased to be able to accommodate this lovely family. Got to say, Phyllis is a star!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Basic and compact with everything you need.

  • 3 of 5

The property was in a quiet location (apart from dogs barking) in quiet Gran Alicant. We were there during a heatwave in june and although the property has AC it only works in the main living area where it is really needed in bedrooms! Phyllis was lovely and available to help at the drop of a hat, however a bit of general information about the area in a booklet would be really beneficial on arrival such as where the shops are bus stops etc. Beware that this property is nowhere near Alicante it took 45 minutes on the bus. Taxis are very few and far between so we really just stayed around Gran Alicant which was nice for a quiet family holiday. The pool was fabulous and we went every day with our 3 children. If you want a reasonably priced home away from home this is perfect but if you want to see the area you really need a car. The beach is quite a walk away (around 30 mins)which is quite misleading as the first picture you see is the beach! The walk back up the hill is only for the VERY fit!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, there are one or two things that might be slightly misleading to future guests. For instance the beach is a 10 - 15 mins walk, certainly not 30 mins (2 mins in a car). We agree that the property is situated in quiet location, but that's one of the many advantages. Our key holder, Phyllis, will gladly be your taxi. We will think about a "welcome booklet", however, we have always thought guests like to explore themselves. In 2017 we installed a brand new A/C unit in the living room, there are fans in the bedrooms. Matthew and Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely apartment

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in this apartment many times. Some stays as a couple and others with our family. Phyllis the key holder is very helpful. We always use her for airport transfers. The apartment is always clean. Well equipped kitchen. Good air-conditioning. This cost a euro but that is fair enough as Matthews prices are reasonable. There's a TV with a few English channels. Plus lots of dvds. A new washing machine is a bonus. Good size fridge freezer. Well furnished. We love the central location. The pool is literally a minutes walk away. It's been recently made into an infinity pool and is lovely. The shop is a five minute walk. Has all that you need. The bus stop is about 15 mins leisurely walk. There's a really good bus service to beach, Alicante or Santa Pola. Also the nearby Gran Alicante shopping plaza is nice. Your surrounded by nice restaurants and pubs. There's a children's play area 15 mins away. Phyliss will be happy to give you directions. We tend to go September or June and always find it quiet. Highly recommend what we refer to as our "place in the sun" 😊?

  • Review Submitted: 11-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review and 5 stars. You are welcome back any time to "your place in the sun"... Matthew and Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very good stay...

  • 5 of 5

the stay was very pleasant.

we have been welcomed by Phyllis has the airport (late arrival).

a big thank you to her for her kindness.

housing is very clean. we had everything available. nice balcony to have breakfast and meals.

communal pool just behind the house, opened up a 23h.magnifique illumination at the stroke of 19.45.

a remake.

thank you still phillys and Matthew

see you soon

  • Review Submitted: 29-Oct-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your 5 stars, we agree with you, Phyllis (our key holder) is a great asset. We are really pleased you enjoyed yourselves, please come back soon... Matthew and Jo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Impossible to sleep without air con

  • 1 of 5

It stated in the description that the apartment was air conditioned.

When we arrived we were surprised to find no air conditioning in any of the bedrooms (the obvious place where they are needed most, in order to sleep in the heat!) The only air con unit was in the lounge, and that didn't work despite pumping loads of euros into it! As there is no wifi in the place it wasn't easy to get hold of anyone to sort it out. The local person who looks after the place had gone away to Ireland. We tried to remedy it ourselves by changing the batteries in the remote control. We even asked a neighbour if there was something obvious we were missing, in case it was user error, but to no avail. The heat was unbearable both day and night, and the lack of sleep was draining. The only respite we found was to walk to the nearby pool and take advantage iof whatever shade we could get there. But obviously no wifi there, so in order to send an email to alert the actual owners we had to keep trekking the 20 minute walk in relentless heat to get to get to somewhere where we could use the wifi. Once the email was sent, we had to keep walking to and fro just to check if they had replied. This wasn't how we wanted to spend our holiday!

Eventually someone came out to look at it. When they left it still wasn't working effectively as it wouldn't go cold, just slightly cooler than before.

So 6 days without any air con at all, and the rest of the holiday with one ineffective old unit (making hardly any difference) just in the lounge.

In addition to this, there was an overpowering stench which came from a drain or some kind of outlet in the garden path. It was impossible to sit out because of it. We threw buckets of water and cleaning fluids down there but it made no difference. We ran the hose on it,. We even bought some outdoor candles to try and mask the smell, but all to no avail. This stench was reported at the same time as the air con, but nothing happened to resolve it.

I feel very strongly that the apartment should have been thoroughly checked out before we arrived. It's not up to us to spend our precious holiday walking around in the heat trying to resolve problems. Our stay there was miserable because of the lack of air con, the disgusting smell outside, and all our time and energy was focused on resolving these issues instead of enjoying a relaxing holiday.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that your experience was not good, however we must point out to anyone reading this review that the air con was fixed the next day we were informed. Had Ann taken our home number (displayed on the web site) she would not have had to wait the claimed 6 days. Please read the review below left by guests that went out 3 days later. We will consider additional air con, but of course that would mean increased rents. We do not advertise the property as having WiFi. The nearest bar with free WiFi is a 5 minute walk. As for the heat...it's Spain, it's hot! Without persistent rain the drains can get smelly, unfortunately. From time to time we will incur problems at our property but we will do all we can to make our guests comfortable. Since this review was placed we have now installed a new awning for the terrace (2016), we have also installed WiFi. The air con has been fully overhauled and we have now set up a maintenance schedule.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 3
United Kingdom

Great little base

  • 4 of 5

We stayed in July 2016 for 4 nights. 2 adults & 2 small kids.

The apartment itself is basic but has absolutely everything you'd need for a holiday.

The kitchen is well equipped with equipment and also has a decent amount of staples in the kitchen cupboards (salt / coffee / tea / oil etc).

The air con unit (1euro for 2 hours) is a godsend and there are also 3 fans to use in the rooms.

The TV has Spanish TV & music channels but there must be about 100 DVD's in the apartment (large variety of family kids, adults films) which was great to keep my 4 year old occupied in the heat of the day to keep him out of the sun & us at night when kids were in bed.

Board Games, inflatables & parasols are also in the apartment for our use.

There are a few things that I don't think the listing sells as positive points enough.. these are -

The pool is fabulous and literally just around the corner from the apartment. It's residents only and you need a key fob to enter, so this means it wasn't overcrowded. During July/August there is a lifeguard on duty. It was well kept & plenty of shaded areas to hide from the sun. (Note - loungers are available for 1.5euros, and no inflatables are allowed in the pool (only pool noodles or a baby floating seat in the baby pool) and you cannot bring food into the swimming area - only liquids)

Phyllis, the keyholder, is great. She picked us up and dropped us off at the airport and gave us all the local info we'd need and pointed them out as she drove us to the apartment (where the pool & weekly market were, shortcuts for walking places, nearest bar, bank, bus and train stops, supermarkets, best restaurants and so on) and even drove us to the supermarket on our arrival as she knew it would close shortly and wanted us to be able to get some water and essentials. Big thanks to her. She's an asset to the apartment.

This really is a great location - set in the middle of the urbanisation & so close to pool and only a short walk to the (reasonably priced) supermarket & also close to the main strip. Also, its so so handy for the airport but still has a proper holiday feel.

Thank-you - we'd definitely consider coming back. Definitely a good option for families & couples/singles looking for a quiet relaxing break & great for a short break where you want to spend the least amount travelling and the most amount of time chilling and relaxing in the sun.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow..., thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, the pool is brand new so it's great to get some feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and will welcome you back with open arms should you wish to book again. Matthew and Jo.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
10 Kilometres
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
Car: recommended

The property is in Monty y Mar within easy walking distance of Unide supermarket. Gran Alacant has many shops, bars and restaurants. The superb Carribassi beach is 2 minutes by car or a 10 minute walk, well worth a visit. It is close to the renowned salt lakes and bird sanctuary of Alicante. The city centre of Alicante is 20min in the car or you can catch one of the frequent local buses. Nearby there are golf courses as well as water parks in Torrevieja and Benidorm for family fun. You can also board the train from Alicante to Benidorm then onto Denia. There is a large communal pool with separate children's play pool. There is a life guard in the summer holidays.

Golf: There are 6 or so golf courses within easy driving distance (nearest 10 mins).


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Santa Pola, Alicante Province and Costa Blanca

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Mid season
1 May 2018 - 27 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Half term
28 May 2018 - 3 Jun 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Early summer
4 Jun 2018 - 20 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Summer season
21 Jul 2018 - 9 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Late summer
10 Sep 2018 - 30 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Low season
1 Oct 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning and laundry fee £45

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals