HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Cabin at Lake Harold in Lakes Of The North Association

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
chalet
People
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday chalet in Elmira

You will love this spotless bi-level cabin it is across the street from Harold Lake you can have shared access to the water and all of the amenities of beautiful Lakes Of The North.Invest in romance and family .Enjoy a large elevated deck in front that looks to the lake with a big gas grill , table and chairs,opening into the comfortable living room with tv/dvd/vcr adjacent to the lovely oak dinning set and kitchen to the side.Bedrooms and bath are in the lower level with two queen size beds and two bunk beds accommodating two couples and four children.A bon fire/cowboy grill area in the back yard.The paved cul-de-sac streets in this recreational association are fairly quiet;no highway noise and invite bicycling, the no engine lake invites fishing,row boating canoeing,kayaking,swiming .etc .You may be interested in all of the amenities of the association so google lakes of the north mi web sight and learn about all of the things to do here:airstrip,clubhouse with pool tv wifi,18 hole golf course,riding stables,boat renting fishing,,beach swimming,restaurant,tavern,pizza ,snowmobiling,sking .Seven miles from Mancelona a big town and fifteen miles from Gaylord a big city. Fireworks over our lake on the 4 th july were remarkable !!! Very few mosquitoes this year,free bon-fire wood,free bikes to use,free row boat to use, see my list of free-bees at the bottom of this page.No hidden fees; what you pay up front is what you pay bottom line. Please :if you want to stay here just book it now and make the payment VRBO handles the money ,Travelers who pay through HomeAway Payments [the default system] have their payment 100% guaranteed for up to $10,000 against internet fraud. I cant rip you off and if the days you want are open in the calendar then they are open for you.The price will be figured by the web-sight and you will see it all itemized before you pay.All who actually book will get my special attention but I have trouble responding to all inquiries especial if the info they want is on the ad.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
29 November, 2016

About The Owner

You can call me at my cellphone 1-231-497-0120 if no answer just call again in half hr. there is no answering machine set up on this phone.

What makes this chalet unique

FREE-BEES to my cabin renters other places may charge extra for these kind of things but not me = In-out times are usually not critical and I will be happy to comply with your requests if I can. Our own row boat at the water,life preservers,Bikes,campfire wood,two 25 gal bags of garbage disposal,LP gas in the grill,towels and linens provided,small amt of kitchen supplies,coffee,and any food that is there you may use it,starter amounts of paper products,washer and dryer to use but you are not required to do any laundry. No cleaning charge and no hidden charges. My free-bees are favors not entitlements and you dont pay for free-bees. If you will divide cost go with the amount you paid VRBO but subtract the $200. deposit because you should get that back it is not a cost. There is no highway noise here because the cabin is back in a residential cul-de-sac paved street lake property neighborhood. There are amenities here that are provided by L/N and there may be a fee from them if you choose to use any , the swimming pool is very popular. It would be aprox. $5. per person with a price break for family’s.

Don M

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

Cabin at Lake Harold in Lakes Of The North Association
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
5

Great Cabin, Will Be Back

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a three day weekend at this property. It was exactly what the ad described. The deck off the front of the house was awesome and turned out to be a great place to relax. The weather was off and on rain so we ended up not having a bonfire but there was plenty of wood provided. The owner replied quickly with any questions that I emailed to him. His answers were always very helpful. He even let us check in earlier in the day and check out late on Monday since no one else was going to be there. The beds were comfortable and the furniture was up to date. We love this area and are making plans to come back soon. Thanks Don.

Tom Bowler

  • Review Submitted: Oct 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
West Bloomfield,MI
2

Good property, deceitful owner

  • 2 of 5

I am giving this property two stars, read below to see why.

The house is fine, althought the sleeping accomodations are a bit cramped. The bedrooms are in the basement, with main room and kitchen on the elevated 1st floor. The basement does have windows, so you get the fresh air. The main room opens to a large deck with a table and a gas grill. There's a small fire pit in the back of the house. The plastic chairs on the deck and near the pit felt very flimsy, so we had to be cautious not to get too comfortable & break them.

The property listing advertises communal amenities such as the pool, beach, etc. Be warned that you are required to pay something like $8 per person daily to use them. It was not made clear in the listing. In the written instructions left in the cabin, the owner suggests you just use them wihtout paying unless someone confronts you.

We weren't planning on using them anyway, as we were making daily trips.

This would have been a good vacation, but it was spoiled by a very sneaky behavior by the owner.

After we checked out, we recevied an email in which he asked us to leave him a 5 star review. He was very persuasive and we obliged.

The day after the review was posted, he hit us with a $20 charge for an allegedly broken screen door roller. He never mentioned this roller in his emails.

I don't believe we broke anything. But if he had a common courtesy to tell me, "hey you've broken a roller, I am charging $20 to replace it" I would just assume he was telling the truth. He was very efficient in communicating his need for a good review, yet very sneaky in adding this charge to our bill.

Just after I learned of that charge, there was a review posted by another user (Tyler G) who complained about the same hidden charge for an alleged damage. The review was submitted before we booked our stay, but not posted by HomeAway until much later. I wish I saw it before we booked this property. In over 10 years of making several rentals every year, we've never yet encountered a single problem. Yet here's this guy who has 25% of his customers hit with a damage charge, if you add this review. This simply does not look good.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay! The cabin is very nice inside and out, lots of space and not to mention the lake right in front! Lots of free-bees offered and the cabin has ansolutely everything we needed during our stay. Owner Don was very helpfull and provided all the information needed before the arrival! We enjoyed our long weekend in a quiet and friendly neighborhood and looking forward to renting the house again!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review !! I am glad you had a good time. You are certainly welcome to return one day!! I have talked to other resort owners who dont even advertise any more they book the same people every year, familiarity is important every one wants to know what they are getting into. THANKS AGAIN ! Don M
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Cute place.

  • 3 of 5

Really enjoyed the upper level and deck.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great times at Lakes of the North!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was a great place for our family. It sleeps 8, which means our large family was comfortable. The owner, Don Martin, was gracious and offered many extras, such as plenty of dry fire wood for the back yard fire pit, tools for roasting marshmallows, a row boat and bikes (all of which were used), a gas grill on the large deck, and even several staples in the kitchen (coffee, flour, sugar, condiments, etc.). In addition, he supplied a guest application that allowed us, for a small fee, to use the clubhouse pool on the property. The kids loved the lazy river, large pool, and the slide! We were also able to use the beach on Harold Lake, which had some great "toys" for the kids as well. He emailed before our stay and inquired about our plans so that he could offer some more options of good outings in the area. He had even let a neighbor, a friend of his, know we were coming. She checked on us and helped us find grocery stores and the pool -- she even allowed our teenagers to use one of her kayaks.

When we first arrived, the kids noticed that there was no air conditioning. However, the cabin is on a wooded lot and very shaded. In addition, the bedrooms are all on the lower level, so we really had no complaints about the temperature! In general, we had a thoroughly wonderful time in a lovely, clean cabin on a beautiful lot with access to the lake, pool, and tons of other amenities. We would love to return with our family and would readily recommend this property to others. Great times at Lakes of the North!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I love you people; I know there were some difficulties but you went above and beyond any expectation for a guest in the way you dealt with it by replacing the light and the hand soap bottle on your own for me rather than hiding and denying those small problems.Good luck to you ! You were 5 star guests as well ! !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

A little bit of a let down

  • 2 of 5

The cottage was decent. No cell service whatsoever. No good access to the lake. After we left, the owner accused us of breaking property that was already damaged and charged money that we can't get back. Not worth your time or money to come here

  • Review Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: His post is a obvious reprisal for my having withheld $ 15. to cover cost of a broken lawnchair. His review before the charge was - quot “Hey everything went great and we all had a blast. Thanks for letting us use your cabin. The boat and bikes were fun too. The only thing we left behind were some bottles and cans by the side door because it was raining when we left and we didn't want to get the cardboard soaked from the rain. Other than that I think everything went really smooth .- Unquote. The load of empties speaks better for them than they do for their self. His comments deviate from VRBO terms and conditions and from content guidelines. 1.Absolutely no cell phone is untrue,false,misleading,defamatory. I now provide a cellphone at the cabin for use by guests who have inadequate contracts. My cabin phone gets 2-3 bars every where in the house. 2.no good access to the lake. My ad has absolutely no misrepresentation as to the lake being across the street. 3.not worth your money. In this saying he deviates from VRBO review guidelines in that he addresses the reader directly which is not a focus on the travelers experience. I hate to make such a issue but these people force me to defend myself so the wrong thinking wont develop a following.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

YOUR RENTAL AGREEMENT

INDEMNITY AGREEMENT

Agreement made upon payment of the rental fees between the renter referred to as indemnitor, and the owner of real estate described in VRBO 731653, here referred to as indemnitee.In consideration of the sum of one Dollars ($1.00), and other good and valuable consideration, receipt of which is acknowledged and transpired upon payment of the booking fee the parties agree as follows:

LIABILITY, LOSS, OR DAMAGE

Indemnitor undertakes to indemnify indemnitee from any and all liability, loss, or damage that indemnitor may suffer as a result of entry on to the real estate mentioned above. Indemnitee shall be fully indemnified and held harmless in any and all claims,demands, costs, or judgments against indemnitee arising from renter entering upon the vacation rental property described in VRBO 731653.

Indemnity under this agreement shall be in force at all times while the indemnator is on the rental property VRBO 731653 and shall continue in full force until Michigan statue renders it moot.

Indemnitor agrees to notify indemnitee in writing, within 60 days of the loss, by registered or certified mail, at indemnitee’s address as stated by the VRBO websight, of any claim made against indemnitee on the obligations indemnified against.

VRBO in witness whereof, the parties have executed this agreement at fulfillment of the VRBO 731653 rental booking through the secured web sight ; however this is a contract of its own right

page one of one

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Elmira, Northern Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£236
for 2 nights
From
£118
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £159
Tax Rate 6.0%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. No pets. Use of association amenities may require a fee to the vendor. Good AT&T cellphone is provided.Free air TV only so bring/rent DVD. Household supplies are furnished to a minimum and existence nor replenishment of such is not a responsibility of the owner.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Elmira, USA

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , very well ventilated with big window fan.
  • ventilated very well.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , Small closets and drawers for each person.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Small closets and drawers for each person.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Bunk Bed , Small closets and drawers for each person.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Invest in romance and family.I welcome short stays ;get out of town; get some excitement build your relationships.I am sure you will find it is not necessary to blow a lot of money to have a good time come here for a couple nights,roast some hot dogs,cuddle up.- - - - - - - - - - - - - I am well aware of the fact that a group of eight adults ? can chip-in and rent a cabin like this for little more than gas money,come up here and have a big drunken bash.Please spare me this, take your inebriation centered party's elsewhere.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties