HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Norm’s Log Cabin - Fairbank Pt

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cabin
People
5
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cabin in Drummond - Norm’s Log Cabin - Fairbank Pt

A memorable vacation location. Relax in a traditional log cabin on the lake.

Norm’s Log Cabin is located near the end of Fairbank Point. It is 3.3 miles from the ferry dock and 6.1 miles from town. Built in 1992 with large pine logs, the cabin has modern conveniences while keeping a traditional look. Every part of the cabin was recently refinished and updated in keeping with a rustic appeal.

It has 100 ft waterfront with great views of King’s Bay (Sturgeon Bay). The sun sets just a little to the left over the water, creating great evening views. This is a great area for kayaking, canoeing, and boating.

As the pictures show, it has an open kitchen & living room layout with the loft overlooking both areas. There is a natural round rock fireplace in the center of the cabin (firewood provided). The loft has a queen and twin bed. The loft has its own private outside balcony. The main floor bedroom has a queen size bed. The cabin sleeps 5 comfortably. There is one bathroom with sink, toilet, shower, washer, dryer, towels and linens provided. The kitchen has electric stove, refrigerator/freezer, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, cooking utensils and dishes. WiFi Internet is provided (good enough for Youtube or Netflix). There is a 43” Vizio TV and a Blue-ray/DVD. The TV only gets 2 local stations, but has smart/internet connectivity.

There is a large front deck to relax on with a grill, table and chairs. The front yard is good sized for kids to play. Close to the water is a fire pit with log style seating and firewood is provided. Due to being near the end of the point and surrounded by the lake, there are very few mosquitoes or black flies. I intend to have a dock made and in place by rental season, but currently there is no dock.

There is a separate little Log Cabin Sauna about 25ft away from the cabin. Enjoy a traditional Finnish style sauna with wood fired stove. (firewood provided)

No Pets, No Smoking

Peak Season (Mid June thru Mid-Sept) rent by the week only (Saturday 2:30 pm till next Saturday 9:30 am). Off peak season is a 3 night minimum stay.

Notes - Due to pine floors (soft wood) being refinished there will be no pets allowed and I will ask that you take shoes off inside the cabin.

For more information on Drummond Island - GOOGLE - drummond island chamber to find a link with more information.

If you have questions, please send an inquiry. Before I confirm any reservation request I talk with future renters on the phone to confirm a few details. When you are ready to rent, please send your phone number so we can talk.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Jason Kelley
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 October, 2016

About Jason Kelley

I grew up on the other side of the river, but came to Drummond most weekends as dad's family was all here. Drummond just seemed like home, so I have settled here.

Jason Kelley purchased this cabin in 2013

Why Jason Kelley chose USA

Norm's is a beautiful property that is not far from my family.

What makes this cabin unique

Norm's is a truly unique custom built traditional style Log Cabin. I have started renting it out to help cover taxes, insurance, and upkeep expenses. This is technically a "cabin" but is setup as my home. You will not find it like other little resort type cabins (empty). It is setup as a home with full kitchen items and typical home stuff. Most smaller items have been newly purchased in the last year. The large appliances are older, but working fine.

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

Norm’s Log Cabin - Fairbank Pt
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
5

Awesome

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed the cabin

  • Review Submitted: Oct 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exceeded expectations!

  • 5 of 5

Norms log Cabin was a great escape for my family. Jason is a great host and very responsive. It's clear from the start that your needs will be well taken care of, and in return just respect the space. Oh yeah and about the space, its about the coolest log cabin I've ever seen. I don't even want to give some of the details away. I went with my wife and two children. We had a family of deer come and bounce around in the backyard two of the four mornings we were there. If you like the outdoors there is LOTS to do on Drummond Island and the locals are very warm folks.

This property was accurately described (undersold in my book), very clean, fully stocked, great host and I have already told my family about it. I hope to go back! Really nice mini log cabin sauna too, that was icing on the cake. I love having fires and with a nice lakeside fire-pit, a wood burning sauna AND and a real indoor wood fireplace.......... I wanted to retire right there on the spot.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. I am glad you enjoyed Norm’s. I often worry about the fall renter a little more. They are often here for just 3 days and it can be easy for us to have cold weather, wind, or rain for the majority of the time. Glad you chose to get out and enjoyed what the island has to offer in the Fall. Hope you can visit again in the summer when it is warm and the kids can swim, boat, and play.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
amery wi
5

amazing

  • 5 of 5

Norm's cabin was amazing. It was spotless, comfortable and because of Jason felt just like our own home. Looking for a place to truly get away from it all and relax this is it. Pleasantly surprised by all the extras. All the fixings for smores waiting on the table for you to enjoy. Forgot your toothbrush, no problem Jason had pretty much everything you could think of and some you would not just in case you might have forgotten something. Seriously, cookie dough mixes, chili fixings just in case it was that kind of a day. Every appliance you could possible want. So many little extras that made for an absolute perfect vacation get away. Jason's hospitality out of the ball park. Told you places he would suggest, some you may want to avoid, ferry times, everything, nothing left out. He was amazing to deal with. Meets you at Norm's gives you some history, explains how things work and tells you to make yourself to home. The fireplace is nothing short of amazing. Would highly recommend to all.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. Glad you had a good time and enjoyed the extras that Norms offers. Hope to see you again on another vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We were extremely happy with Jason and the property. The cabin and surrounding grounds were beautiful and inviting. The extra personal touches and homey feel made it one of our best family vacations!! Highly recommend the rental!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks. Glad your family had a nice getaway. Wish I could have done something more for your little one, but am sure you guys adapted and enjoyed your time at Norms.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

A truly relaxing getaway. From the hammock to the sauna to the spectacular sunsets it doesn't get much better. A great place to unplug from the world, with or without kids.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Phil. Glad you and the family had a good time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Getaway Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

We had the most wonderful time at Norm's! From the moment we all arrived, we felt relaxed and comfortable! Jason has thought of every detail! The place is even nicer than what you see on the website! We were greeted with pancake mix, syrup and s'mores ingredients and info about the details of things to do and see on the island. The cabin is so well equipped with pots and pans and dishes and food-just amazing! We have rented many places in the past and none have been anything like this log cabin. The view on the deck of the lake is breath taking! The sunsets are awesome! We really enjoyed the ample supply of firewood for beach fires each night. We also loved, loved, loved the sauna each night! It's the real thing. Jason checked on us halfeway thru our visit to make sure all was well. The cleanliness of the entire cabin is just amazing. We want to come back next year and stay longer! Don't hesitate to rent this log cabin because you sure won't be disappointed in the least! Thank you Jason! What a wonderful host you are!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This is starting to feel like a contest for each renter to write a more complementing review than the last one. Thank you. I am glad your family enjoyed Norms and DI.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
6.1 Miles
Northwood Bar
Nearest Ferry
3.3 Miles
Ferry
Nearest Golf
7.2 Miles
DI Public Golf
Nearest Restaurant
5.8 Miles
Esther's Mexican Cuisine
Nearest Beach
3.1 Miles
Township Park - Sand Beach

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Drummond, Upper Peninsula Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£392
for 3 nights
From
£111
From
£136
Thu,Fri,Sat
£766
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £56 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in the Drummond in the North America

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lakefront
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Toilet, walk-in shower, sink/vanity, washer and dryer, water softener. Towels provided. Hair Dryer provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • Handcrafted log frame beds with new mattress, linen,and comforters.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot