HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

2017 months now available. Consider booking for summer while dates are now open

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Breathtaking views of Lake Huron along with all the comforts of home!

Full view of Lake Huron with a large beach front area. The new year is approaching and we all start thinking about summer, warm weather and where to spend a vacation. Please consider our home.We have a breathtaking view from both of the over sized decks, plus the picture window inside views are out of this world. Enjoy the spectacular sunrise in the morning with a cup of coffee sitting near the fire from the gas fireplace. The peace and solitude is sooo relaxing! The water landscape is spectacular with the sky and water ever changing. It's a great place to let yourself unwind and relax with family and friends. You will find that our home is very comfortable, having everything you need from towels, bedding, pots and pans, dishes, coffee pot and hairdryer. The main house has 3 bedrooms to sleep 6 comfortably; 1 master with a king temperpedic bed, 1 with a queen, and 1 children's room with bunk-beds. There is a separate bunkhouse that will easily sleep 4 additional people comfortably but is only for sleeping. There is no bathroom or separate rooms. The entire house is a ranch with wheel chair access (only one small step) inside and out, including ramps to both decks. One of the bathrooms has a walk-in shower also. Again, the views are perfect, even from our comfortable rocker/swivel recliners in the living/family room. Granite kitchen has a full size island with an inset stove overlooking the family/living room. Large screen TV, Wi-Fi, Dish TV, it's all here. If it gets too hot, there are ceiling fans and air conditioning. If it gets too chilly at night there is the gas fireplace. Also included are a washer & dryer, and an outdoor BBQ grill you can use for grilling. It is an easy drive to Lexington, Port Sanilac, & Harbor Beach for shopping and eateries. You are also close to Deckerville or Sandusky Hospital if needed. So bring your toothbrush and water toys for an unforgettable and relaxing time. Oh yes, you should bring water shoes as well for summer.


Owner
Mike Simmons and Marsha
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
60%
Calendar last updated:
27 June, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Deckerville in Sanilac County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Waterfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveller reviews)

2017 months now available. Consider booking for summer while dates are now open
average rating of 4.625 based on 16 reviews
5

Lake Huron Heaven

  • 5 of 5

This house is right on Lake Huron with exquiset views of the lake. The home was spotless and all possible comforts were met. The owner went out of his way to make us feel wanted and comfortable. There is absolutely no other needs. Beds were very comfortable, house was spotless, kitchen was amazing. This is one vacation spot that should never be overlooked.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Lacking in Space and Hospitality

  • 1 of 5

We often rent VRBO houses but this is the first time we have left early. It was disappointing - the 3rd bedroom in the house (with the bunk bed) is very small. The bunk bed takes up at least 60% of the room. The bathroom near the bedrooms also is very, very small - so small that the toliet paper is under the sink. The bunkhouse is a garage with beds in it which smells and is musty and isn't great if you have allergies. It also was difficult making contact with the owners. As we got within two weeks of the start of the rental, I realized we didn't know what time we could arrive at the house which we needed to know to do some other planning. It took several emails to get an answer. At that point, we were about a week from arriving yet we weren't also given details about how to gain entry to the house. That took another phone call on our part. We were told to call the caretaker when we got close to the house. We have never had to meet a caretaker before -- usually we are given a code to a lock or told were the key is hidden. We arrived and the caretaker took us inside the house. Before even giving us a tour or letting us look around, he immediately told as that checkout was at 10 am and he would be over at 9:30 am to see us checkout. I told him we had never had checkout so early (usually it is 11 am or 12 noon) nor had we ever had someone arrive 30 minutes before checkout to make sure we vacated on time. Frankly, the thought of having a stranger standing there as I rustled my teenage kids out the door was not appealing to me! We also did not feel "welcomed" at all. Bath towels weren't hung in the bathrooms for us (we had to seek them out in a closet ourselves), there wasn't a welcoming note, or (as we have found in other houses) a binder containing menus and info on locale events, fresh flowers, a bottle of wine or the makings for s'mores for the kids. One of my teens said she felt like we were legally "breaking and entering". We ended up leaving a night early because most of us were not sleeping well. The two big beds are very firm, my son is too long for the bunk beds and slept on the couch, and the bunkhouse garage is very musty, smelly and spooky. The owner emailed to ask why we left early and I emailed him back our concerns but never heard from him. Not surprised by that. Overall, other than the view, beach and nice kitchen, it was disappointing.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Julia, we are very sorry that our home did not meet your expectations. It is extremely important that our customers are happy & comfortable. Your description regarding our property was rather unusual since every other (without exception) review was extremely positive. Our overal ratings are right at 4.9. Having said that, we do appreciate you staying at our place as well as doing a review. Enjoy the rest of your summer. Warm Regards, Mike & Marsha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milford, MI
5

Don't Pass This One Up

  • 5 of 5

This is certainly one of the nicest homes that you could ask for. The view is absolutely fantastic. It's so relaxing to sit on the deck in the morning with a cup of coffee, and watch the sun come up, and also view a few freighters passing by. In the afternoon it is so relaxing to just sit in the shade and take a "power nap" while listening to the soothing sounds of the waves splashing up on shore. The home itself is beautiful. The east side of the home has a wall of windows, offering a great view of Lake Huron, with beautiful views out of the other windows as well. Everything in the house is new, and in great condition. This home is spotlessly clean; the appliances are new and in great working order. There are also a few beautiful antiques scattered throughout the house. The wifi works great, and the large flat screen television has a huge selection of channels to choose from. The mattresses are new and very, very comfortable. The bunkhouse is roomy, and a great place for extra sleeping quarters. The property itself is very quiet and secluded. The owners, Mike and Marsha, and the Property Manager Pat are the nicest people you could hope to meet; very helpful, courteous and responsive. By the way, as a side trip, you have to walk across the "singing bridge" in nearby Croswell, MI. It is an amazing experience. This property is highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bob, thanks for the kind words. We appreciated how well you guys took care of our home. You & your wife are wonderful people and we hope to see you back soon. Thanks Again, Mike & Marsha
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

Wonderful property, great time and helpful owners.

  • 4 of 5

My children and grandchildren had a wonderful time at the property. We had plenty of room, access to the lake, and quick and helpful access to owners and property manager for questions. The property was as advertised with lovely deck leading down to the beach with extraordinary sunrise views. Good beach for families- not too deep, fairly warm with sandy/rocky beach- good fossil hunting for kids. The bunkhouse was okay for older children or adults. Access to internet and cable TV was excellent and large generous kitchen for family meal preparation. We loved it! Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Anne, Thank you for picking our home for your family vacation. We would love to have you back again, any time. Mike & Marsha
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Madison heights, mi
5

Great place to stay!!!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from our stay here and miss it already!!! The house was beautiful and the pictures on here do not do it justice!! Everything was clean and organized and kid proofed so our crazies wouldn't break anything! We loved having enough room for all our family to be there together! The backyard space is amazing! The beach access is great but the actual beach could be cleared of some of the larger rocks and sticks that wash up. Water shoes are a must as it is Lake Huron! We would love to stay here again! Thank you for sharing your home with us!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Shannon & Family, Thanks for choosing our home as your vacation time with the family. We were very happy with the care you gave our home. We hope to have your family back with us next year. We would keep our rate the same as what you had this year, so you might want to consider booking early so you can pretty much pick any date. We have just started booking for 2017. Thanks, Mike & Marsha
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Excellent, Excellent and more Excellent!

  • 4 of 5

We will return, everything was in great order and clean! Pat, the cottage keeper met us and took great care in making sure we knew our way around!

The decks were very good to read a book or see the stars and the freighters go by. Cottage filled with extra sheets and towels.

Golf, restaurants and staples store close by. Beach daily, family dinners most days with a fires and smores nightly. Very quiet solitude! We drove the

Lake Huron circle tour for a day trip, all the way to Port Crescent seeing all of the lighthouses and having lunch.. Good location to travel from.

Mike and Marsha, you have a very nice place and I appreciate your follow up call when we got back and in working with us prior to our stay.

Not kidding about water shoes needed for rocks. I was so glad they mentioned it. We have always been fans of the sunset side of the state, but the sunrise side is most definitely underrated. Hope to visit again soon!

Gina, Tom and Family 2016

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Gina, Thanks for your kind words on your review. We would love to have you back next year. We have some great dates open for 2017. Hope to see you and your family soon. Mike & Marsha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Deckerville, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate

Changeover Day: Saturday
3 night minimum stay
£977
for 3 nights
From
£305
£1,750
£6,207
 
Notes: Rates are based on 8 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £115.95
Property Damage Protection £61.07

House has complete wheel chair access, including ramps to both decks. Main shower is also accessible for wheel chair or walker. Very close to 18 hole golf course and many activities, but feels like your on your own private island.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals