HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Renovated Cottage Nestled Between Lake Ontario And Sodus Bay

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Space 1,100 sq. ft.
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights


About the property

4 Bedroom, 1.5 Bathroom Cozy Cottage With Backyard Bay View On Baseball Field!

Newly renovated 1920's cottage. The entire lower level was completed gutted, insulated, dry-walled. We did all the work ourselves, and really wanted to set the place up in a way so we would enjoy living there some day. We focused on comforts of the family, since we have children and grandchildren of our own. It has a very open floor plan, with light colors, and beach decor, so it really has the feel of a vacation get-away. There are four bedrooms upstairs. Although we did not gut the upper floor, it has been freshly painted and decorated, and all beds, linens, etc. are brand new. Keep in mind that this is a 1920's cottage, so it is not framed like a "real house" upstairs. Consequently, the bedroom doors are just plywood-- as are most in cottages of this era-- and they shut with a latch or hook and eye. EVERY bedroom has a new air conditioner.

Bedroom 1: 2 twin beds

Bedroom 2: 1 full bed

Bedroom 3: 1 full bed

Bedroom 4 : 1 full, 1 twin bed.

Bedroom 3 and 4 actually have a window between them, as bedroom 3 used to be the front of the house, until the porch was added, above which is bedroom 4. This is a perfect set set-up if you want to keep an eye on the kids in the adjacent room. You also have to walk through the bathroom to get to the 4th bedroom. There is a 3 piece bathroom upstairs, which includes a shower (no tub) toilet, and sink with vanity.


The main level has a fully-equipped BRAND NEW kitchen includes a breakfast bar area, and everything you could possibly need to prepare family meals, including a coffee-maker, microwave, flatware, cooking utensils, pots/pans, electric chopper, toaster, serving bowls, etc. There is also an expandable dining table in the open adjacent area. The living area has plenty of seating, is bright and open, and has a new 32" Smart TV (if you ever watch it!), so you can access your Netflix account, or just enjoy the cable service. The cottage also has wifi of course! There is a washer and dryer in the back hallway that you are welcome to use, and an adjoining powder room.

There is a large picnic table outside, along with a gas grill. There is also fire pit out back, where you can just sit and relax, or roast a few marshmallows.


There is room for 2 cars to park in front of house, with additional public parking steps away adjacent to ball field. We do not allow recreational vehicles, boats or trailers on the property, but arrangements can be made with local marinas. There is also a public boat launch down the street, and docks for rent--practically in the back yard.

More Details

Susan Camp
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
2 June, 2017

About Susan Camp

I have lived in the area since 1984, but my fiance has been here his whole life. He has been coming to Sodus Point since he was a child. I also grew up near water--next to a river in the midwest--so being near the water has always been "in my blood".

Susan Camp purchased this cottage in 2015

Why Susan Camp chose Sodus Bay

We wanted to find a place that we could make our own. This place definitely needed some TLC when we bought it, so it was the perfect opportunity to reconfigure, and re-work the space to suit the needs of our family, or our visitors!

What makes this cottage unique

This location was just perfect for us, so we knew we had to have it! We can walk with our grandchildren anywhere, since everything is 1-2 blocks away. Plus, we have the advantage of having an actual baseball field (which is very rarely used) as our backyard. They have squirt gun fights, water balloon wars, and yes, they also play baseball. It has the added benefit of seeing the water, but no worry of any of the little ones falling in it.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage on Sodus Point on Sodus

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 28
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Water View ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed
  • Portable crib available upon request
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(7 traveller reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
Renovated Cottage Nestled Between Lake Ontario And Sodus Bay
average rating of 4.428571 based on 7 reviews


  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay very much - the house is adorable and very convenient to the beach and to town. The owners were very responsive and the house is very clean. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing and Fun

  • 5 of 5

My husband, daughter, and myself had a great time spending a week in this cottage. It was cute, clean and had a great backyard. The proximity to everything is very walkable, but removed enough so you don't hear all of the restaurants live bands at night. I would definitely rent this place again in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for giving us a great review, and also for taking such great care of our cottage. We look forward to having you back again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Best weekend in a long time

  • 4 of 5

Spur of the moment , my sister and I rented this house on a Thursday and arrived Friday. The owner was very professional on the phone as far as the contract and directions to the house . We went late Oct. so it did get cold during the night. BUT! Not in the house. The heating system worked great! It's lovely. So cute and beachy feeling. Very, very clean with no odors. There were no lingering musty smells. Location is great. Near the water, out your door, just walk down the block. Easy to walk to bars and eateries, just walk out your back door. Big bonus for me, wifi, washer and dryer, no dirty clothes to bring home, and tv. I dont watch TV but I like to know who is winning the football games. Especially when the Bills are playing in London.

The only thing I can recommend to the owners is an update on some of the kitchen utensils. The can opener didnt work. and need to get a better cork screw. Along with some more wine glasses and drinking glasses in general. There were plenty of coffee and tea mugs. And low on bowls, both serving and cereal or soup bowls. Might consider a blender for mixed drinks and smoothies.

With that said, don't let me steer you wrong! The house is really nice. So go and enjoy it.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 31, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you let us know about the can opener so we can replace it immediately. Also, I will make sure that I bring more wine glasses, and the other items you mentioned that future guests will enjoy. Thanks for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback! I hope to see you again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Three sisters and I, plus some other family members, just wrapped up a two-week vacation in Sodus Point. We loved the cottage and found it fine for our purposes. It was exactly as described on this website, so read the description carefully and you will know precisely what you are getting. The owners have just fixed up the cottage, and it has been decorated in a cute, beachy style. We have been going to Sodus Point all our lives but had never stayed right there on Wickham Blvd. It turned out to be a great location -- a short block to the lake, an easy walk east to the little beach on the bay side, and a quick walk across the baseball park to the stores on Greig Street. The backyard adjoins the baseball park, and there is plenty of room to set up a volleyball net. Many evenings we grilled out back, sitting in a lovely breeze. We had a slight issue with the downstairs air conditioner, but not enough to call the owners; they probably would have responded as they seemed eager to make sure everything was perfect. Only one upstairs bedroom has its own a/c, but there is a hard-working unit in the upstairs hall that was pretty effective. The upstairs has the feel of a Sodus Point cottage in earlier days, which we personally love, whereas the downstairs is completely modern. The steps from the first floor to the second are about what you would expect in a 1920s cottage, or maybe a little better, so you might want to take that into account if you have mobility issues. (One member of our party uses a cane, and she still managed.) The cottage is clean, and the linen service was A-1. We definitely will consider this cottage for our next trip.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Corpus Christi, Texas

Could Work for the Right People

  • 2 of 5

Very simply, the location is amazing, the house is cute, and there are things that need addressing, but if you’re a middle age couple or group with no children, this would probably work out fine for you.

Pros: Location is awesome! Close to bars and nightlife, as well as the beach. You can hear the live music from the back yard. The house has four rooms and easily sleeps 9. The kitchen is great – large and updated. There is a washer and dryer available for use.

Cons: There is no guardrail on the upper flight of stairs (our two year old fell down the stairs because of this). I would use caution with children and the elderly. The doors to the rooms are not real doors and do not open and close properly. There is no bathtub, only a standing shower. There is no A/C in three of the four rooms, nor are there ceiling fans. The A/C unit downstairs is not set up properly and the circuit flips constantly because it isn’t set to drain properly. Expectations from the owner are not clearly outlined. The owner expects you to leave the house mopped and deep cleaned, so plan a cleaning day at the end of your stay or hire a service to come and take care of that for you. We lost our deposit due to a floor that needed mopping and a cracked dollar store sand bucket.

I planned to address the issues with the owner, who really seemed to be agreeable and open at the time of booking. We had spoken on the phone and emailed back and forth. But no sooner did our plane land than I was greeted with a horribly scathing email – it was a shock and a disappointment. She was angry that the house wasn’t spotless and her email was an awful way to end our family vacation. I hope she corrects the issues and just rolls a cleaning fee (from a professional service, so she can remover herself emotionally from what is a business) into the price of the rental.

I would recommend this to adults in the forty to sixty year age group, with no children.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is a far cry from the positive comments left in our guest book. I realize that I risked a negative review after withholding the deposit. As they say, sometimes money changes everything. Oddly enough, the reasons why the deposit was withheld were mostly left out of the review. There was damage to furniture--chair cushions and our couch are permanently stained with popsicle juice, dirt, and mustard, and our table was gouged. Contrary to the comment made, we DO use a professional cleaning service. I did tell the guest that it took over twice as long to clean our home as it usually does, which more than doubled the cost. I request the same cleaner each visit, and she has worked for the company for years. She said that she has never seen a home get so accumulated in just one week. There were popsicle sticks and juice everywhere in the home—all over walls, tables, chair legs, under beds, etc. The lawn maintenance person bent his blade on some kitchen utensils thrown in the grass, and also landscaping rocks that were moved from the flower bed. I paid to replace the blade. He found a dishtowel in the dirt outside, and our shovel in the baseball field. As described on our listing, this is a 1920’s cottage that was completely gutted and insulated downstairs, whereas the upstairs was not. Since it was not re-framed, the bedroom doors are the original plywood type, which is typical of a cottage of that era. We have never has an issue with my grandchildren on the upper stairway (3 steps), but they are never left unattended. In consideration of different parenting styles, we will find a way to block off that area more effectively. The total BTUs of the 3 air conditioners is above what is recommended for this home. The only caveat is that doors should be kept open to allow for circulation. Ceiling fans could not be installed since the bedrooms all have a slanted ceiling. The lower level air conditioner is the type does not require a drain—it evaporates in the air unless heavily used on the dehumidifier mode. No one has mentioned a problem. We spoke to the current renters immediately upon receiving this review, and they said they have not had a problem with it either. I have never withheld a penny of any other renter’s deposit. This is not about how our home was left; it is about the lack of care and respect for our property throughout the entire week. As my fiancé said, our cottage was treated like a clubhouse, not like a home.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0

4TH of July

  • 5 of 5

Myself and a group of friends have just returned from what would be the most ideal setting for a long weekend or week of fun in the sun on Sodus Point. The house was clean, the neighbors were great and the location was IDEAL. Steps from the beach, restaurants, bars and water. We will 1000% be coming back to this house time and time again. Thank you again Susan for making this an amazing experience.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Steps away from Lake Ontario Beach and Sodus Bay beach which includes a large picnic area/shelter, public beach and concession building. Your backyard is a baseball field, so if you have younger children, no need to worry--they have plenty of room to run! Our grand kids absolutely love it! There is a fire pit set up in the back yard, with a view of Sodus Bay. You are steps away from fine dining and amazing martinis at the Bay Street Hotel, along with our local family-owned favorite "Coop Deck" right across the field. There are also other restaurants and pubs along the street, and live entertainment on weekends. Don't forget to stop for ice cream, and give the kids a chance to enjoy one of the playgrounds in town. ALL WITHIN 1-2 BLOCKS. Lake Ontario sunsets are some the most beautiful that you will ever see. There are also nearby wineries and a local distillery. If you enjoy boating, you are steps away from dockage and there are boat rentals available at the local marinas.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage on Sodus Point, Lake Ontario

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Summer 2017
26 May 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £231.91
Cleaning Fee £77.3

Rates are subject to change until reservations are confirmed. 7th night always FREE! Possible exceptions to minimum stay based upon availability.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now