HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Bookings Still Available for June--We are Pet and Family Friendly--Walk to Town

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming Cottage With 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 3 Outside Decks, Screened in Porch

Book now!! Big Blue is a charming refurbished vintage cottage on the Hill. There are three large bedrooms, 2 queens and 1 set of twins, all with lovely wooden floors. The upstairs bathroom has a whirlpool tub/shower and tile floors. The brand new bathroom on the first floor has a step-in tiled shower and tile floors. The large living room/dining room has the original walnut paneling, with antique oak dining table and chairs, a fireplace and comfy wicker and rattan couch and chairs. There is a screened in porch through the sliding glass doors in the dining room where you can sit and have your morning coffee and listen to the birds. The kitchen is huge with lots of counter space for cooking or projects. There is a flat screen tv, dvd, and internet access. Outside are 3 different decks, all attached with different seating options. The huge back yard has mature trees and plants and is so peaceful. Big Blue comfortably fits 6 people with plenty of space to do your own thing. There is a washer, dryer, and high chair. Small dogs up to 10 pounds are allowed and there is a $50 pet fee for the first dog; $25 for the second The limit is 2.

Big Blue is just 5 blocks from downtown Saugatuck; an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Plenty of parking on site (but don't park under the walnut tree--those can dent your car or head).

More Details

Owner
Chris Peterson
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
14 March, 2017

About Chris Peterson

Ernie and I retired to Saugatuck from Nebraska 10 years ago and have loved every minute. There is so much to do and enjoy. We drive through town and say "I can't believe we live here". Restaurants, shopping, boating, hiking, sight-seeing, plays, art.....it goes on and on.

Chris Peterson purchased this house in 2013

Why Chris Peterson chose Michigan

If you love the cottage experience, you will love Big Blue. It is a 1930's home that has been updated but still has that cottage feeling. All wood floors, walnut walls, a country style kitchen and screened in porch are part of the quaintness. There are 3 deck areas in the back under the huge pine trees for you to enjoy. Saugatuck is 5 blocks away....a short walk through the old neighborhoods.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Saugatuck in Allegan County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • resort
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The upstairs bathroom has a tub/shower combination and tile floors. The downstairs bathroom has a step-in tiled shower with tile floors.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The upstairs bedroom has a queen bed and sliding doors overlooking the front yard. The 2nd upstairs bedroom has 2 twin beds. Both are large with wooden floors and large windows. The downstairs bedroom has a queen bed, a bar sink and sliding doors to the outside deck.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(8 traveller reviews)

Bookings Still Available for June--We are Pet and Family Friendly--Walk to Town
average rating of 4.375 based on 8 reviews
4

Great place to spend the weekend!

  • 4 of 5

Cute and comfortable place to spend a long weekend. Ample space and all the necessities needed to cook dinner and socialize. Close to town and convenient to all the sights. Saugutack is a keeper.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great old house! Plenty of space in a walkable location.

  • 5 of 5

Big Blue was a great house for our family. We biked Saugatuck, and both Oval and Douglas beaches. We were able to walk from the house to go out to breakfast in town easily. There was plenty of room to lounge inside the house and out.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice size house walking distance from town

  • 4 of 5

Good size 3 bedroom house, sleeps 6 comfortably. Large kitchen and eating area, bbq, internet,and television. Very quiet and still 5 minute walk to downtown, which is a charming area with restaurants and shops, not to speak of scenic view of boats and water. Owners very helpful. Only negatives were lack of central airconditioning (only window airconditioners), slight musty odor probably due to age of home, and undersupplied kitchen.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank your for your observations. As I'm sure you were aware when you rented, we do not have central air. Yes, the house was built in the 1930's but we have never had an issue with an odor, nor has anyone mentioned that. We will check the room deodorizers to make sure they are still working. As to the undersupplied kitchen, we wish you had brought this to our attention. As we stated in our email to you, if you have ANY concerns, let us know immediately and we will do all we can to fix it. We would gladly have supplied what you felt was lacking. We will certainly look through our drawers and see what is missing.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute cottage in a perfect quiet location just a few mins walk from downtown

  • 5 of 5

We've been coming to Saugatuck for years. This year, we had a plus one (our nine month old baby), and had some guests come up for the day to celebrate the Fourth. We had a great time at Big Blue.

The location is great. It's on a quiet street just up the hill from downtown - 5 to 10 min walk to anything you might want to do in downtown Saugatuck.

The house has a lovely wraparound deck in the backyard with plenty of seating, surrounded by a good-sized, well-landscaped lawn. There was also a screen porch which was great for the baby and avoiding bugs at night.

The kitchen is pretty decent size for the cottage.

The stairs up to the second floor (where two of the three bedrooms are located) are a bit steep. If one of your party doesn't move around that well, you might consider locating them in the first floor bedroom, which is very nice in its own right.

Owners are very nice. They both stopped by once over the course of the week and were very communicative and available to address any questions.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your wonderful review. We were pleased to host you. Big Blue is a 1930's cottage and the steps are the original ones. When the upstairs was remodeled, the owners at that time kept them. There is a lovely bedroom on the first floor along with a brand new walk-in tile shower. We loved meeting you and your family and hope we have the opportunity to host you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful weekend getaway at Big Blue

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Big Blue! The house was so perfect for our family of five, including three young kids. And Chris, the owner, was friendly and prompt in her communications. She even let me text her! Loved the close proximity to downtown and the great yard/deck/screened in porch. And the basket of toys for our kids was definitely the icing on the cake!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your review and for choosing Big Blue. We are so glad that your stay was wonderful. Ernie and I want to have it all go "your way", so we always give our phone number to text or call ANY TIME if something is not to your satisfaction. Again thanks for choosing Big Blue. Chris and Ernie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Charming but lacking...

  • 3 of 5

This is a charming property with a great layout. We loved the screened in porch which was perfect for sitting out and enjoying the evenings without worrying about the bugs. This house is in the perfect location, the street is quiet but still very close to town. I give my rating 3 stars because I feel this property could use an overhaul with the cleaning... When we arrived, I had to clean the kitchen cabinets as there was food splattered all down the fronts. There was moldy coffee grounds left in the coffee pot. The bathroom was another area of concern as the shower curtains were old and very dirty. The bathroom sink had toothpaste on the faucet and more mysterious spots on the walls. The washing machine also had dirty rugs and towels left in it. I just wish this property would have been cleaner and better maintained, as I didn't enjoy having to clean the kitchen and bathrooms prior to my family feeling comfortable using them for the week.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that we did not do a better job with the cleaning. I have refunded your cleaning fee times 2. We have also compiled a check list for each time we clean to make sure that we catch everything. We just started managing our property ourselves this summer and we will make sure that we do better. As you can see from our other reviews, we are very conscientious and want your stay to be wonderful.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Saugatuck, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Spring
2 Jan 2017 - 14 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£584
for 2 nights
From
£254
 
 
High Season
15 May 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,684
for 7 nights
£1,684
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,599
for 7 nights
£1,599
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £240
Cleaning & Laundry Fee £76
Pet Fee £40
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Location

Photos

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot