HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

5 Days Open in August--Special Rate!! 2 Night Minimum--Walk Downtown!!

People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming Cottage With 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, 3 Outside Decks, Screened in Porch

Book now!! Big Blue is a charming refurbished vintage cottage on the Hill. There are three large bedrooms, 2 queens and 1 set of twins, all with lovely wooden floors. The upstairs bathroom has a whirlpool tub/shower and tile floors. The brand new bathroom on the first floor has a step-in tiled shower and tile floors. The large living room/dining room has the original walnut paneling, with antique oak dining table and chairs, a fireplace and comfy wicker and rattan couch and chairs. There is a screened in porch through the sliding glass doors in the dining room where you can sit and have your morning coffee and listen to the birds. The kitchen is huge with lots of counter space for cooking or projects. There is a flat screen tv, dvd, and internet access. Outside are 3 different decks, all attached with different seating options. The huge back yard has mature trees and plants and is so peaceful. Big Blue comfortably fits 6 people with plenty of space to do your own thing. There is a washer, dryer, and high chair. Small dogs up to 10 pounds are allowed and there is a $50 pet fee for the first dog; $25 for the second The limit is 2.

Big Blue is just 5 blocks from downtown Saugatuck; an easy walk to shopping and restaurants. Plenty of parking on site (but don't park under the walnut tree--those can dent your car or head).

More Details

Owner
Chris Peterson
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
5 August, 2017

About Chris Peterson

Ernie and I retired to Saugatuck from Nebraska 10 years ago and have loved every minute. There is so much to do and enjoy. We drive through town and say "I can't believe we live here". Restaurants, shopping, boating, hiking, sight-seeing, plays, art.....it goes on and on.

Chris Peterson purchased this house in 2013

Why Chris Peterson chose Michigan

If you love the cottage experience, you will love Big Blue. It is a 1930's home that has been updated but still has that cottage feeling. All wood floors, walnut walls, a country style kitchen and screened in porch are part of the quaintness. There are 3 deck areas in the back under the huge pine trees for you to enjoy. Saugatuck is 5 blocks away....a short walk through the old neighborhoods.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Saugatuck in Allegan County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • resort
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • The upstairs bathroom has a tub/shower combination and tile floors. The downstairs bathroom has a step-in tiled shower with tile floors.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The upstairs bedroom has a queen bed and sliding doors overlooking the front yard. The 2nd upstairs bedroom has 2 twin beds. Both are large with wooden floors and large windows. The downstairs bedroom has a queen bed, a bar sink and sliding doors to the outside deck.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

54% Complete
36% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5 Days Open in August--Special Rate!! 2 Night Minimum--Walk Downtown!!
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
Royal Oak, MI
5

Great vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This home is perfectly located for a Saugatuck vacation. The home is well cared for and the owners are easy to work with. We had everything we needed. The screened porch was our favorite spot. The window A.C. units cooled the house nicely. The beds were comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice, older home in a snall vacation community.

  • 4 of 5

Our entire family enjoyed the stay at Big Blue. The home has a lot of unique character, and the owner is very responsive.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely girls weekend in this cute house. Clean, comfortable and well located. Would definitely visit again.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 19, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place to spend the weekend!

  • 4 of 5

Cute and comfortable place to spend a long weekend. Ample space and all the necessities needed to cook dinner and socialize. Close to town and convenient to all the sights. Saugutack is a keeper.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great old house! Plenty of space in a walkable location.

  • 5 of 5

Big Blue was a great house for our family. We biked Saugatuck, and both Oval and Douglas beaches. We were able to walk from the house to go out to breakfast in town easily. There was plenty of room to lounge inside the house and out.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice size house walking distance from town

  • 4 of 5

Good size 3 bedroom house, sleeps 6 comfortably. Large kitchen and eating area, bbq, internet,and television. Very quiet and still 5 minute walk to downtown, which is a charming area with restaurants and shops, not to speak of scenic view of boats and water. Owners very helpful. Only negatives were lack of central airconditioning (only window airconditioners), slight musty odor probably due to age of home, and undersupplied kitchen.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank your for your observations. As I'm sure you were aware when you rented, we do not have central air. Yes, the house was built in the 1930's but we have never had an issue with an odor, nor has anyone mentioned that. We will check the room deodorizers to make sure they are still working. As to the undersupplied kitchen, we wish you had brought this to our attention. As we stated in our email to you, if you have ANY concerns, let us know immediately and we will do all we can to fix it. We would gladly have supplied what you felt was lacking. We will certainly look through our drawers and see what is missing.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Saugatuck, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
High Season
16 Jun 2017 - 18 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,636
for 7 nights
£1,636
 
 
Late Summer
19 Aug 2017 - 23 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£485
for 2 nights
From
£206
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£1,636
for 7 nights
£1,636
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £73.68
Pet Fee £38.78
Damage Deposit £232.68

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable