HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Gorgeous Beachfront Cottage - 60 Feet From The Sand!

11 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
2 nights


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Mexico Beach - Sea Turtle Cottage

20 Seconds From Doorstep To Sandy Feet

Come and stay in our newly renovated 2 bedroom, 1 bath beach cottage that's just steps from the white sands of the Emerald Coast! If you are looking for a great beach experience this summer, look no further. This elegantly-appointed cottage sits just adjacent to the beach offering beach and water views. In addition, there's a two-story observation deck for sunning or sharing a drink while watching one of our amazing Mexico Beach sunsets.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Mark Hoerrner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
21 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Mark Hoerrner

Georgia native with strong Florida roots. I grew up during the summers on these beaches. They are part of who I am and I love sharing them with people.

Why Mark Hoerrner chose North West Florida

Sometimes you get lucky. I was searching for something on the beach that would make a great accommodation and had some room to grow. The cottage is intimate, but it's part of a triplex wherein we are re-doing the other two units. In addition, it had a large back yard that was unused - that's kind of unheard of for beachside property. So we plan to put in a pool, and a nice grassy play and picnic area. It's the perfect merging of relaxation, sun & sand.

What makes this apartment unique

You are literally "at the beach." While this unit doesn't face the beach, it's roughly 50 feet from the front door to the beach entrance. White sand spills out on to the street. You can feel the ocean breeze. Further, there's a two-story observation deck that allows great views of the beach and sunsets as well as the sparkling, emerald-green waters of the Forgotten Coast. Also known as the Emerald Coast. Also known as Mexico and St. Joe Beaches.


based on 11 holidaymaker reviews

Gorgeous Beachfront Cottage - 60 Feet From The Sand!
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 11 reviews

Good value, great location.

  • 5 of 5

Property is very clean, location is perfect. Everything with this property was great. Only regret was not staying longer. Would definatly stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

For the 1st time EVER, my hysband enjoyed the beach!

  • 4 of 5

This cottage is steps from a powdery, white sand beach. It was quiet, despite being Memorial Day weekend; even the beach was quiet and uncrowded. There is plenty to do. Our girls went parasailing, there are jet skis, kyaks, and paddle boards to rent. The kids caught ghost crabs on the beach at night. Our first night, we didnt feel like cooking. We found a local pizza place that was great! Every night we could hear live music when we were outside, but inside there was no noise. We definitely plan on returning!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property was clean and well maintained.

  • 4 of 5

Our needs were met 90%. They allowed our dogs and that was what we were looking for. The furnishings were adequate. Possible draw backs, there is not a table to sit at(it does have a bar with stools) and eat. It doesn't have a dishwasher and there is only one bathroom. It met our needs as we stayed on the beach most of the time. Neighbor's were really nice and it is a very short walk to beach.

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Turtle cottage rental Feb 27-March19 2016

  • 3 of 5

The unit was close to the beach as advertised, beds were comfortable and basic kitchen utensils supplied. Area in general was a quiet community. Although it was advertised as a newly renovated cottage I would have to say its more like a basic efficiency motel unit as there are two other joined units. There are a few things needed to be improved, the back yard was un-usable nothing there but sand and weeds, no picnic table or community area for all three units to share, the broken chairs and table could have been removed. The unit would not be assessable for any seniors with limited mobility, no table or chairs to sit at to eat, granted there are 3 bar stools and a island area, we used the stools as tables, even a TV table would work or a bistro set out side would also work. When we arrived there was no BBQ, we did get one delivered after 3 days, I had to ask for laundry pods, there was to be apparently 2 supplied although it states that laundry soap is supplied if units have a washer and dryer. We had to purchase toilet paper, suppose to have several rolls supplied we had 1 roll, paper towels 2 rolls to be supplied we had half a roll, if you love tea take a kettle. The shower worked but small and there is a shelf over the toilet which you bang your head on when you stand up. We rate this unit as a 3 star.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate that our guests had a good time. However, there are some misconceptions here that need to be cleared up. We do provide toilet paper and paper towels to our guests as a courtesy. As far as things like dish soap and washing detergent, however, these are supplied by the guest. We make that clear, though we do sometimes include soap pods that have been left or donated by other guests. We supply a full kitchen with kitchen implements and cooking vessels. We supply all linens, including separate beach towels. As far as the BBQ, we had one communal BBQ to be shared amongst the three units. We later purchased two more so that each unit would have access to a grill. We would like to note that a BBQ was not a guaranteed part of the listing prior to the arrival of this guest. We try to provide many amenities for our guests and do special things to make the units feel like home, but we are very clear in our listings on what we do and don't supply. If there's a question, please ask in advance rather than getting on site and being upset that the place is not outfitted the way your home might be.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great place to relax

  • 5 of 5

We just thoroughly enjoyed our week at the beach. The cottage was great, clean with everything better than advertised. We could walk out the door and just a few steps to the beach access. Had to go down the road to take the dog on a walk on the beach but that was just fine too. We travel with a dog and the ground floor accommodations with a yard made her stay better. Since we are older, the fact that you didn't have to go up and down steps to get the the house was just right. We loved the beachy colors and look of the entire cottage. The owners were great to work with and so helpful. We hope to go back soon.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable Mexico Beach Vacation Rental

  • 4 of 5

This 2 bedroom rental was just as described. Gaining access to the rental was hassle free. Great being steps away from the beach, in a very quiet location.

Beds were very comfortable, plenty of linens provided. We could easily prepare simple meals in the kitchen.

(if anything could be added to the kitchen I would suggest a toaster, that is the only thing we missed)

Although there are 2 bedrooms in the unit I would not recommend this for more than three people simply because there is no seating for meals other than 3 tall stools at a bar that divides the kitchen from the living room area.

(but if you aren't eating any meals "in" it's not a problem) All in all this was exactly as described and just what we expected it to be. For a place this close to a beach you certainly can't beat the price!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 26, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1


Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Port St. Joe Municipal Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Mango Marley's
Nearest Motorway
Highway 98
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Mexico Beach
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mexico Beach in Florida

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Our quaint bathroom is accessible by either bedroom and features a beautiful glass-door shower.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Front Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Back Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Both of the bedrooms are brightly furnished in a delightful seascape theme. However, if you need to sleep a couple of additional guests, the elegant sleeper sofa folds out into a full-size queen bed. It's a great way to maximize space in this enchanting little beach unit. The sleeper is also great for the back - it doesn't use the old "metal bar in the back" technology, but uses high-strength cables in a cross formation to make sleeping as comfortable as possible.
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible ...
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Despite the small size, this unit is packed with accessories. We make sure your stay is as effortless as possible.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties