HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Gorgeous Beachfront Cottage - 60 Feet From The Sand!

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
apartment
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday apartment in Mexico Beach - Sea Turtle Cottage

20 Seconds From Doorstep To Sandy Feet

Come and stay in our newly renovated 2 bedroom, 1 bath beach cottage that's just steps from the white sands of the Emerald Coast! If you are looking for a great beach experience this summer, look no further. This elegantly-appointed cottage sits just adjacent to the beach offering beach and water views. In addition, there's a two-story observation deck for sunning or sharing a drink while watching one of our amazing Mexico Beach sunsets.

Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
Mark Hoerrner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within an hour
Calendar last updated:
2 December, 2016
Call Owner

About Mark Hoerrner

Georgia native with strong Florida roots. I grew up during the summers on these beaches. They are part of who I am and I love sharing them with people.

Why Mark Hoerrner chose North West Florida

Sometimes you get lucky. I was searching for something on the beach that would make a great accommodation and had some room to grow. The cottage is intimate, but it's part of a triplex wherein we are re-doing the other two units. In addition, it had a large back yard that was unused - that's kind of unheard of for beachside property. So we plan to put in a pool, and a nice grassy play and picnic area. It's the perfect merging of relaxation, sun & sand.

What makes this apartment unique

You are literally "at the beach." While this unit doesn't face the beach, it's roughly 50 feet from the front door to the beach entrance. White sand spills out on to the street. You can feel the ocean breeze. Further, there's a two-story observation deck that allows great views of the beach and sunsets as well as the sparkling, emerald-green waters of the Forgotten Coast. Also known as the Emerald Coast. Also known as Mexico and St. Joe Beaches.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

Gorgeous Beachfront Cottage - 60 Feet From The Sand!
average rating of 4.3846154 based on 13 reviews
Knoxville, Tennessee
5

A wonderful way to celebrate our wedding anniversary

  • 5 of 5

Sea Turtle Cottage was exactly as described. We were pleased with the clean, comfortable accommodations provided. Only a few steps to the beach and we were greeted by beautiful sand and water and sunrises and sunsets that will take your breath away. Fresh seafood was purchased from the Shell Shack and cooked on the gas grill provided with our unit. We even brought some home when the owners packaged up in our cooler. Castaways prepared a wonderful breakfast and is within walking distance as are other eating establishments and boutiques. Mexico Beach is a laid back, very relaxing destination and that was exactly what we needed. The locals were very friendly and we look forward to another visit and who knows....maybe a place to retire to. PS: Our pooch enjoyed her visit as well, with a back area for her.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

This will be short but not very sweet. Pros, good beds, cute beach style decor. Cons, no dishwasher, only one very small tv, sofa and chair in living room desperately need a good cleaning, there's almost zero places to put your things especially in the back bedroom as the dresser handles are broken. The biggest disappointment is the units location. It's listed as waterfront, it's NOT . The unit does not face the water nor can you see the water from it. All you can see from the front of the unit is the back side of dunes covered in sea oats. We will not rent this unit again.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest contacted us on their first night in the unit, but did not tell us that anything was damaged. We contacted the guest repeatedly the next day to follow up on their disappointment with the unit, but were ignored. The guest did not disclose that anything was broken, so we could not respond and make repairs. With regard to storage, there a closet, a full dresser, night stands and a set of shelves to use for storage of clothes or toiletries. Most of the guest's complaints are about things that were (and are) presented clearly in the listing, both here on VRBO and on our own web site: - It is repeatedly stated that there is no dishwasher. - It is clearly stated that there is one TV with cable and free high speed internet - It is noted that these are small units - AT NO TIME is the unit advertised as being "Waterfront," and we make it clear that the unit faces the dunes. It is 60 feet from the dunes that lead to the beach, creating nearly instant access to beach and water - It is stated that the view of the water comes only from the observation deck - These are efficiency units, and that is also stated in the description We have not, in any way, tried to misrepresent these units. Most of the time, we receive four and five star reviews that demonstrate our commitment to guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Good value, great location.

  • 5 of 5

Property is very clean, location is perfect. Everything with this property was great. Only regret was not staying longer. Would definatly stay again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

For the 1st time EVER, my hysband enjoyed the beach!

  • 4 of 5

This cottage is steps from a powdery, white sand beach. It was quiet, despite being Memorial Day weekend; even the beach was quiet and uncrowded. There is plenty to do. Our girls went parasailing, there are jet skis, kyaks, and paddle boards to rent. The kids caught ghost crabs on the beach at night. Our first night, we didnt feel like cooking. We found a local pizza place that was great! Every night we could hear live music when we were outside, but inside there was no noise. We definitely plan on returning!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Property was clean and well maintained.

  • 4 of 5

Our needs were met 90%. They allowed our dogs and that was what we were looking for. The furnishings were adequate. Possible draw backs, there is not a table to sit at(it does have a bar with stools) and eat. It doesn't have a dishwasher and there is only one bathroom. It met our needs as we stayed on the beach most of the time. Neighbor's were really nice and it is a very short walk to beach.

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Turtle cottage rental Feb 27-March19 2016

  • 3 of 5

The unit was close to the beach as advertised, beds were comfortable and basic kitchen utensils supplied. Area in general was a quiet community. Although it was advertised as a newly renovated cottage I would have to say its more like a basic efficiency motel unit as there are two other joined units. There are a few things needed to be improved, the back yard was un-usable nothing there but sand and weeds, no picnic table or community area for all three units to share, the broken chairs and table could have been removed. The unit would not be assessable for any seniors with limited mobility, no table or chairs to sit at to eat, granted there are 3 bar stools and a island area, we used the stools as tables, even a TV table would work or a bistro set out side would also work. When we arrived there was no BBQ, we did get one delivered after 3 days, I had to ask for laundry pods, there was to be apparently 2 supplied although it states that laundry soap is supplied if units have a washer and dryer. We had to purchase toilet paper, suppose to have several rolls supplied we had 1 roll, paper towels 2 rolls to be supplied we had half a roll, if you love tea take a kettle. The shower worked but small and there is a shelf over the toilet which you bang your head on when you stand up. We rate this unit as a 3 star.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate that our guests had a good time. However, there are some misconceptions here that need to be cleared up. We do provide toilet paper and paper towels to our guests as a courtesy. As far as things like dish soap and washing detergent, however, these are supplied by the guest. We make that clear, though we do sometimes include soap pods that have been left or donated by other guests. We supply a full kitchen with kitchen implements and cooking vessels. We supply all linens, including separate beach towels. As far as the BBQ, we had one communal BBQ to be shared amongst the three units. We later purchased two more so that each unit would have access to a grill. We would like to note that a BBQ was not a guaranteed part of the listing prior to the arrival of this guest. We try to provide many amenities for our guests and do special things to make the units feel like home, but we are very clear in our listings on what we do and don't supply. If there's a question, please ask in advance rather than getting on site and being upset that the place is not outfitted the way your home might be.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
4 Miles
Port St. Joe Municipal Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
Mango Marley's
Nearest Ferry
Nearest Golf
Nearest Train
Nearest Motorway
Highway 98
Nearest Restaurant
Nearest Ski
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Mexico Beach
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mexico Beach in Florida

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • Our quaint bathroom is accessible by either bedroom and features a beautiful glass-door shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Front Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Back Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Both of the bedrooms are brightly furnished in a delightful seascape theme. However, if you need to sleep a couple of additional guests, the elegant sleeper sofa folds out into a full-size queen bed. It's a great way to maximize space in this enchanting little beach unit. The sleeper is also great for the back - it doesn't use the old "metal bar in the back" technology, but uses high-strength cables in a cross formation to make sleeping as comfortable as possible.
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Despite the small size, this unit is packed with accessories. We make sure your stay is as effortless as possible.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties