HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Rustic log home. Room for the entire family!

Bedrooms 4
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom plus a large loft. Sleeps 12 comfortably. 2 Bathrooms

Located on the fringe of the Newberry National Volcanic Monument sits the Paulina Pines Lodge. Built with entertaining large groups in mind, bring the entire family and create memories to last a lifetime!

Minutes away from the jewel of Central Oregon, the Newberry Calderra, you can explore nature at its finest. Fish Paulina and East lake, hike Paulina peak, view the biggest obsidian flow in the United States or just sit back and relax in the many hot springs that line the waters edge on both Paulina and East lakes. Recreation is unlimited in this beautiful area.

After a big day of adventure return to the Paulina Pines Lodge and BBQ on the 1000+ square foot deck while looking out into a peaceful forest. End the evening enjoying stories and s'mores around the fire pit or soaking in the hot tub.

The lodge sleeps 12 comfortably including 3 private sleeping areas and a large loft that includes 3 beds and plenty of room for additional sleeping bags.

Having the kitchen and dining room separate from the great room allows people to have space to play cards and games at the dining room table while the rest of the crew relaxes on a couch in the great room visiting, enjoying a good book or playing darts.

You might feel like you're remote but don't worry, there is a flat screen with satellite so you wont have to miss the big game!

Plenty of space to park your boats, snowmobiles, quads etc... This is cabin living at its finest with plenty of room for everyone and for the price you won't find a better deal!

More Details

April & Ian
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 February, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in La Pine in Deschutes County

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • One King One Queen 4 Full size
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • Horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • caving
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
33% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Rustic log home. Room for the entire family!
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 33 reviews

Wonderful family getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband , daughter and I spent a long weekend with my sister and her family and our parents. We absolutely enjoyed the cabin. It was very spacious and clean. The owners were easy to get a hold of. They got back to us right away even on a holiday weekend. There were tons of games and toys for kids. This was a plus. It was an relaxed, fun environment. We hope to return again next year.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Little Place in the woods

  • 5 of 5

Perfect rustic setting and rustic cabin in the woods. located close to hours of outdoor enjoyment. The place fit perfectly for what we needed and our hiking group will rent this place again next year!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice log home but with a serious mice issue

  • 3 of 5

We stayed at this log home over a recent weekend and overall we had a good time. My only issue is that this place has a serious mice issue. We left our food out on the counter the first night and discover several bags had been chewed open. We wised up and had to put all our food in the fridge or the oven. They even chewed on my son's headphones. There were mouse droppings all over the house, especially on the counter. I did advise the owners and they were aware of the mice issue, which would have been nice for us to know beforehand with three small kids. They made it sound as if it was just part of "cabin" life, except that this is a log home in a neighborhood, not Grizzly Adams' cabin in the wilderness. I wouldn't accept mice at a Motel 6 for $50/night let alone a vacation rental for $165/night. My advice is to get a real exterminator and try to seal up the places they are entering. On the bright side, there are many beds making it a great place for a multi-family vacation. The kids loved the play area in the loft. We all enjoyed the hot tub but it looked as if it was getting pretty old. In fact, my son discovered while in the tub you could pull the console out revealing the bare wires. I think this could be a great place to stay with a bit more work put in it.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Nathan~ Thanks for the feedback. We are always trying to make improvements to the cabin so we and our guests can have a more enjoyable experience. We are trying to address the mice issues. It's a bit of a struggle to plug all holes in the 40 year old original part of the cabin but we always try to get a few more when we stay out there ourselves. Our hot tub is a bit on the older side but we just can't justify buying a new one until this one completely dies. The front console is meant to come off so you can reach the pipes and drain the tub. I'm not sure why he opened it but it's probably not a good idea to play inside the area where the mechanics of the tub are. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay. I do believe it beats a Motel 6 any day! Thanks again, April and Ian
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Perfect place to enjoy an abundance of activities.

  • 4 of 5

We were looking for a place close to East Lake so we could fish, this was only 20 mins away. Played golf at the beautiful Quail Run golf course one day and hiked the Obsidian Lava Flow the next. Plenty of fun at the cabin too. Really enjoyed the frisbee golf course and bike riding right from the front yard.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great house! Fantastic location!

  • 4 of 5

Great house in a beautiful area. The ample house accommodated our group with ease and comfort. I'm already looking to book again for next year.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice Cabin, But...

  • 3 of 5

When we arrived, nobody was there to greet us. I hadn't received any email verification from the owners regarding how to get into the cabin and neither one answered their phones when we called. We had to resort to talking to one of the neighbors who claimed this wasn't the first time a group of people had shown up and had no idea how to access the cabin. About 15 minutes of panic, we finally received a call back from Ian who told us where the key was. It wasn't until more than halfway through our stay that we finally heard from April, who apparently had no idea we were even staying at the cabin! Very poor communication. The hot tub was broken which was very disappointing - it was one of the reasons why we chose the cabin in the first place. We were promised a $50 credit back for not being able to use the hot tub, but never received it with our refunded deposit. The trip was fun overall, but there were definitely a couple unnecessary bumps along the way that could've been prevented with better communication.

  • Review Submitted: 27-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Natalie~ I'm sorry you were unhappy with our communication. I admit that I did not do my part in giving you access instructions in a timely manner. However, despite what the neighbors may have said, this has never happened before. It was the first time an email did not go out to a traveler in time for their arrival. As far as the hot tub, it is up and running and has been for our dozens of guests we've had staying back to back the entire summer and through the winter as well. I'm sorry it was needing some maintenance during your stay. I did discuss the hot tub issue with you and even offered a 50$ credit, which you insisted was not necessary. You said your family was more likely to use the natural hot springs at the lake instead. I just wanted to respond so our future guests will understand that this is simply a hiccup in an otherwise smooth running system we've had in place for several years now. Thanks so much, April
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
46.2 Miles
Bend/Redmond Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Wickiup Station Sports Pub
Nearest Train
35.5 Miles
Chemult, Oregon Amtrak
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Mt. Bachelor Ski Resort
Car: necessary


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £71.47
Damage Deposit £357.35

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.