HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Mt Lemmon Altitude House

Bedrooms 4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Summerhaven - Mt Lemmon Altitude House

Spacious Home, 4 Bathrooms, 5 Fireplaces, Effortlessly Sleeps 10.

***Not suitable for Gem Show visitors. The house is located on a mountain and is a 2.5 hour roundtrip drive from closest venue.***

The Mt. Lemmon Altitude House is the perfect destination for your getaway, staycation, gathering, or retreat. Clean and expansive, this home has fresh rustic chic decor accented by nature and bicycles! Effortlessly sleeps and pampers 10 in the heart of Summerhaven.

There are three levels in this home. The very top level has two bedrooms; each with a California King bed, full private bathroom and fireplace. At the perch of the top level is a Queen sized bed and set of twin-sized bunkbeds. On the Lower Level of the house, is a bedroom with a Queen sized bed, full bathroom with tub, futon, living/dining room, kitchenette and flat screen TV.

The main dining room and kitchen are equally welcoming and spacious. We have a variety of appliances for all conveniences. Please note, dining options (and dining hours) are limited on the mountain. You may want to consider bringing groceries with you for the duration of your stay.

There's a large balcony for entertaining friends, watching parades, or enjoying nature. Gather beautiful views of trees and the people in the tiny village of Summerhaven. Step outside and find the Cookie Cabin and the General Store less than a minute away...by foot.

The main living room is super cozy and has a user friendly gas fireplace. The room is surrounded by an oversized sectional...perfect for lounging on or reading a book. Or for watching TV, a movie, or sports on the ginormous screened wall via projector.

This is a beautiful home. Three levels indicates there are quite a few stairs. There are stairs to get into the house. And stairs inside of the house. Every step is worth it!

We will rebuild! And we did. The house was built after the huge fire on Mt. Lemmon.

Are we tucked back into the trees? Nope.

There are little trees around us. (Grow little trees, grow!)

That being said, you can take a 2 minute walk and find yourself in the thick of very tall trees. And when you're sitting on our awesome balcony, you can see plenty of trees...just across the street!

LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION. This place truly has it all.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2016


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

Mt Lemmon Altitude House
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews

Great experience

  • 5 of 5

My family and I decided to take a mini-vacation from our home to bring the family together, and we could not have chosen a better place. This cabin was incredibly welcoming, high-end, and spacious. The location was perfect, easy to locate, and space was not and issue for parking or sleep. We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tucson, AZ USA

Beautiful warm and welcoming cabin!

  • 5 of 5

The Altitude House was perfect for our family get together. Beautiful and well appointed with plenty of room for everyone. The linens were luxurious, beds were comfortable. Kitchen a pleasure to cook in. The stairs were a challenge the first day, but we all got used to them and felt like we got good exercise! Having two small children we were a little disappointed that the washer and dryer were listed, but locked. We would have packed more clothes. But it wasn't a big deal. Barbara, the housekeeper even came by to see if we needed towels or TP. I thought that was so thoughtful. This cabin has everything you could ever want. We had an amazing time!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Ann, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Mt. Lemmon Altitude House. I'm sorry for the confusion over the washer and dryer. I had removed it as an option several months ago, due to a few guests being less than respectful with the large appliances. We would love to provide that as an option, but we had to make a tough choice because the cleaning staff heavily relies on those appliances to be in top notch working order so they can provide crisp clean sheets, fresh duvet covers and fluffy towels for everyone. Please let me know where in the house profile it is still listed. I checked again and I couldn't find it. I thought I had thoroughly removed it months ago. Thank you for your help! Again, thank you so much for bringing your family to the Mt. Lemmon Altitude House and letting us be a part of your adventure! All the best to you and yours! Kindly, Sarah.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A beautiful, well-apponted home on Mt. Lemmon

  • 5 of 5

This was a wonderful place for our family to hang our between hiking around Mt. Lemmon. We were visiting family in Tucson and decided to drive up for a one-night stay in this great home right in the middle of the little town of Summerhaven; it would make a perfect stay-cation for any Tucson natives, especially in the hot summer. Very comfortable beds, huge and beautiful kitchen and dining room, a great large-screen home theater - we also hung out on the front balcony, where the view and smell of pine trees was wonderful. The home was beautifully decorated and very well appointed - right down to the basket of extra blankets next to the fireplace for chilly nights. It suited us perfectly and I would highly recommend it. (For just one night we were able to get most provisions from the General Store, the cookie place - with giant cookies, and pizza - and the Sawmill Restaurant. If you stay longer you will want to bring groceries and enjoy the excellent kitchen or outdoor grills.) Loved the golden aspens and the little creek as you walk through town - this would be a very welcome place any time of year.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 4 of 5

Perfect location. Kitchen faucet very lose. Can't run two showers at the same time and it takes a very long time for toilets to fill up, probably due to altitude. It had everything we needed thou. Beautiful house.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Laura, Thank you for your review. I appreciate you letting us know there are a couple minor maintenance needs. We can't fix anything unless we know about it. So, thank you for taking the time to tell me. We have submitted a maintenance request and hope to have these issues addressed soon. We take pride in being the only resort-like option on the mountain, and we make great efforts to pamper our guests with high standards and luxurious extras not found elsewhere on Mt. Lemmon. We are glad you had a great time and enjoyed (most aspects of) the house. Kindly, Sarah.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the beautiful Altitude House.

  • 5 of 5

The house is very nice, well kept up, and perfectly located. We had a few minor issues and someone came immediately to help us. The large kitchen was especially helpful because we had several people at once cooking. I would highly recommend renting this property.

Marvis Shelby

Tucson, Az.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The Altitude House is a beautiful place and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • 5 of 5

The Altitude House is a fabulous place and is very well maintained. It is quite large with all the amenities you will need for a great getaway to Mt. Lemmon. The location is very convenient to Summerhaven with the General Store and the Sawmill Restaurant within easy walking distance. Watching the Olympics on the huge projection TV was amazing! Sarah was great to work with and I would highly recommend the Altitude House to anyone!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
2 in walking distance (Cookie Cabin/Sawmill)
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Ski Valley
Car: necessary

General Store with homemade fudge is across the street. Two of three restaurants in very short walking distance.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Summerhaven, Arizona

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
22 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
New Years
30 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £79
Cleaning £139 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £79
Tax Rate 6.05%

The $100 refundable damage deposit is required for trash processing. The guest is required to process their own trash and take it down the mountain with them. There isn't trash/recycling services on the mountain. In order to process your trash for you, we will hire someone on your behalf and pay them the $100 deposit.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Summerhaven, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
  • 3 Full Bathrooms with Bathtubs 1 Powder Room
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , California King, private bathroom, fireplace
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , California King. Private bathroom. Fireplace
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Queen sized Murphy bed. Full bathroom w/tub beside room.
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , On open perch: Twin bunkbeds/Queen bed. No private doors.
  • 2 California King Beds 2 Queen Beds 1 Set of Twin Bunkbeds
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • festivals
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • Snowboarding
Trash...there isn't any garbage service on the mountain. Please take it down the mountain with you. Check-in is at 3pm Check-out is at 12pm (noon)

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot