HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Kokomo: the Place to Go to Get Away from it All with GULF VIEWS

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type townhome
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Townhome, 2 Bedrooms + Loft, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

At 148 Aruba Drive there's a place called Kokomo. It’s where you wanna go to get away from it all!

Just a few steps to the world's most beautiful white sandy beach and crystal clear blue water. Enjoy watching the sunset over the Gulf of Mexico from the deck or view the pristine beach from every room. Minutes from one of Florida's purest and most natural bays, where fish and scallops are abundant.

The only sound you will hear is the crashing of the waves. You will share this beach with more Loggerhead Turtles, Bald Eagles, and other native wildlife than people. This is eco-tourism at its finest.

Kokomo provides about 1600 square feet of living space. This includes two bedrooms and two baths on the main level. The master bedroom has a king-size bed. The second bedroom has a queen-size. It also offers a large loft (two full-size beds and a full-size sleeper sofa). The family room, dining room, and kitchen are open and spacious. The dining room accommodates eight while four may sit at the bar overlooking the kitchen.

The deck is also perfect for meals or just relaxing and watching sunsets that rival those off the Florida Keys. Ample covered parking for vehicles and space for accommodating a modest boat and trailer (please inquire regarding size restrictions).

There are no ferris wheels, IHOPs, or tacky T-shirt shops. This is old Florida - thankfully, the Forgotten Coast of Florida. However, it is only a short drive to historic Apalachicola and only about an hour to Panama City.

We have books, board games, videos, and toys for all ages. Come get away from it all and enjoy the natural rhythms of our Kokomo!

Keywords: Townhouse

More Details

Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
30 January, 2018

About Melease

We live in Tallahassee, Florida. We have two children. Our oldest is married with children. Our youngest is a eenager. We love the beach. This is a little slice of our heaven.

Why Melease chose Port St. Joe

We fell in love with this area when we visited. It is not congestion like most beaches. Our house is spacious with two bedrooms, two baths as well as the kitchen and dining on one level. It is about 80 steps to the beach and has a large deck. Perfect for a quiet get away!

What makes this townhome unique

Our house is walking distance to The Trading Post, a quaint convenience store that provides those incidental items that you might have forgotten. They also offer donuts made on-site but go early because they will sell out,

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a great month at the Cape. The house was very comfortable and well equipped. We were able to relax and felt really at home. It was our first time to this part of Florida. We found it most interesting - especially Appalachicola. I ate loads of raw oysters and am having withdrawls. Thanks for your assistance in making this a most enjoyable stay.
Mar 2008
  • 1 of 1


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday townhome in Port St. Joe in Gulf County

Property Type:
  • townhome
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • King size beds (1) The master bedroom has a king size bed., Queen size Beds (1) The second bedroom has a queen size bed., Double Beds (2) There are 2 double beds in the loft., Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) There is a love seat in the loft that converts to a double bed.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • churches
  • festivals
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Broadband DSL Internet, Cooking utensils & linens provided, Credit card payments accepted


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

64% Complete
22% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
Kokomo: the Place to Go to Get Away from it All with GULF VIEWS
average rating of 4.451613 based on 32 reviews

Love the distance from the beach

  • 5 of 5

Had a great time with the family. No service at all so we went old school with board games, DVDs and bike riding. Will go back again for sure!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you guys had fun!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, needs maintenance

  • 2 of 5

My review is contained in an email I sent to the property owner. Their response ("Sorry a few things were not up to your expectations") is followed by my original email.

Melease Jackson

Re: Kokomo

Glad you enjoyed the beach. I’m sorry that a few things were not up to your expectations. Thanks for letting me know and for including the pictures. It is helpful because we are not there to know anything is wrong unless someone tells us.

On Oct 8, 2017, at 10:02 AM, wrote:

Good morning,

I am contacting you in regards to our recent stay at Kokomo. We had a pleasant vacation. The location was wonderful, bed super comfy and kitchen was well stocked.

I did have a few concerns with the upkeep of the home and one safety concern that I wanted to share with you. None of these issues required immediate intervention during our stay. I have included photos for your review.

In addition to the key in the lock box, I located an additional house key in an unsecured utility box (outside of the laundry room near the water hose) within a few minutes of our arrival. I placed the key in the lock box upon our departure.

Upon our arrival, there was an overturned trash can in front of the front door, misplaced mats and a table not on a base on the deck.

Roaches were an issue during our stay despite the receipts in the kitchen drawer for roach and ant treatments for July, August and September. There were several dead roaches in the living room and bedroom when we arrived. Each morning, there were additional dead roaches.

The shower head in the master bath has an extensive leak. It appears the hose has been damaged near the coupling.

Other pictures are self explanatory (missing fire extinguisher, box of band aids in the freezer, large pieces of broken glass by the outside trash can, etc.). Again, these issues did not necessitate a call to maintenance during our stay, but I wanted to share my concerns regarding the condition of the property

Thank you,

  • Review Submitted: 09-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place

  • 4 of 5

Very cute need kitchen towels only complaint which isnt much easy beach access warm homey environment

  • Review Submitted: 05-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comment. I will let the housekeeper know we need to add a few more kitchen towels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The inside was extremely clean and close to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

There is not a better option for the price. Plenty of room for the family and the pet. Kitchen appliances and utensils were abundant. Very convenient to the training post.

  • Review Submitted: 15-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay. We love the location and proximity to The Trading Post as well.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Value

  • 5 of 5

This is second time we stayed at this condo, Very comfortable and easy access to the Gulf.

  • Review Submitted: 30-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Beach weekend getaway

  • 3 of 5

The house was great except for a few issues. The ceiling fan and light in the loft did not work. Also the TV in the master bedroom would also not turn on.

  • Review Submitted: 22-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear that you had difficulty with the ceiling fan and tv in the master bedroom. The ceiling fan is new and is operated by a remote control. We have not had any other visitors comment that they had difficulty with either. We were there shortly after your visit and did not experience difficulty turning them on. Maybe it was user error.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0



Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £106.86
Pet Fee £35.62
Damage Insurance £42.03
Damage Deposit £712.4

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar holiday rentals