HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma

People11
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 775 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2BD 1 Bath - w/Sunroom

We have a 2 bdrm cabin with a sunroom, and 1 bath, which sleeps 7-9 people. The cabin is walking distance to Lake Texoma, the walk is on a path to the beach, which has been named Rocky Point Estates Beach. It's right across from Grand Pappy's Point. You can walk or drive a dirt bike or a 4 wheeler, down this path. If you are elderly, or handicapped, you may want to drive over to Grand Pappy Point and look at the view, if you do not have a 4 wheeler to ride down to the beach on.

Amenities are refrigerator/freezer, stove/oven, microwave, Central AC/heat, washer/dryer, and a dishwasher.

The Space

There's plenty of room, yet it's a small place and it's what I call very homey and comfortable.

Guest Access

There is a small convenience store and Tackle Shop on Hwy 84 and Grand Pappy's point is about a 1-2 miles away. Eisenhower Dam is near by, and it's 15-20 min from Choctaw Casino. The best catfish place around is Windy's right across the Eisenhower dam.

Interaction with Guests

As much as needed. I'm a text message or phone call away

The Neighborhood

I love the trees and the quiet. The neighbors are great and nice and keep to themselves unless you want to visit. Then, sometimes we all have cookouts together.

Getting Around

No public transit, but sometimes we catch a free ride on a gator or 4 wheeler to the lake :)

Other Things to Note

There's a big fire pit outside for bonfires.

More Details

Owner
Karen Dulaney
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
21 July, 2017

About Karen Dulaney

HI...I was born and raised in Dallas, TX, and at Lake Texoma, from the time that I was about 2 yrs old. The lake was my home away from home, just about every weekend. I water skied, fished, rode horses and motorcycles, my entire young life. I now live in Grand Prairie, and work in Carrollton, TX. I have 2 adult daughters, and 3 grandchildren, and 3 standard poodles.

Karen Dulaney purchased this cabin in 2009

Why Karen Dulaney chose Texas

I love Lake Texoma, and the atmosphere, and will plan on spending many weekends and vacations here, for years to come. I never plan on selling, and hope to have family reunions here.

What makes this cabin unique

It's close to the Lake, and it's comfy enough to enjoy the country and not being too far from the city.

This cabin reminds me of my childhood cabin that I grew up in. My home away from home.

I actually like the fact that it is next to the Army Corp Land, and nothing will be built next to me. Makes it seem more private and more woodsy.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Denison in Grayson County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 775 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 12:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00
  • Max. occupancy: 11
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Double sinks
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Bunk Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Large Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , 1 Child Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , This is a sunroom
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • sailing
  • swimming
Notes:
Choctaw Casino about 15-20 min N on Hwy 75 Eisenhower Birthplace State Historical Park Loy Lake Log Cabin Tour Perrin Air Force Base Historical Museum Grayson County Frontier Village Red River Railroad Museum Compass Rose Brigantine Ship -Day Tours, Denison Sherman Jazz Museum Harber Wildlife Museum

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

55% Complete
11% Complete
22% Complete
0% Complete
11% Complete
Rocky Point Retreat @ Lake Texoma
average rating of 4.0 based on 9 reviews
Plano, Texas
5

Lake Texoma cottage Review of 307 Hill Dr., Denison, Texas 75020

  • 5 of 5

We booked this place at the last minute and had a great 4 day vacation at the lake. The house had everything needed for a weekend get-away for my small kids and family. Our kids loved hiking the trail to the lake and exploring for fossils. I launched my boat at Grandpappy Marina a few miles away and left it in over night at the beach near the house without issue. The cove and that area of the lake is perfect for boat, fishing and hanging out on or near the water for hours. This property had many areas beds to sleep in and accommodate everyone comfortably. We will be return guests in the future and we highly recommend it. Don't expect Trump towers but it's a very nice lake house perfect for enjoying the country / lake setting with friends and family. The host was also very nice and kept in touch for anything / everything needed.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words. I'm happy that you had a great time and you enjoyed the cabin and the areas around the lake. I love it there and I enjoy sharing it with others, just like you. Come back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Ecerything was perfect! It was quiet and close to the lake

  • 5 of 5

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nothing fancy but enjoyed it

  • 3 of 5

Nice place to stay

  • Review Submitted: Jul 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Future guests, please keep in mind, Rocky Point Retreat on Texoma backs up to Army Corp land that goes down to the Lake. In other words, it is small cabin near a wooded area. This guest and his crew left lots of cans and glass in the burn pit, which is very unacceptable behavior.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Does Not return deposits

  • 1 of 5

While the place was comfortable, the owner is not honest. Gave her a pet deposit and was not returned. We caused some damage, but had damage protection. she still requested a damage deposit. Even thought the insurance reimbursed her fully, she refuses to return deposits, will not contact me and resolve. VBRO is just as bad as they will not help resolve this issue.

I will not return because I cannot trust her!

  • Review Submitted: Feb 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: To My future guests, I have quite a few really good reviews, and this is my first experience with having to respond to negative review, when the guest damaged my property. This is also my first experience with having to file on the CSA Insurance and to request the damage deposit to be paid to me. But a few things I found out from Homeaway and CSA. They are there to help Owners and Guests. The first thing I found out is: when there is damage, the damage deposit is not refundable. Unfortunately, the Drabik's son did damage the bunk beds to the point of no repair and total replacement was required. The top bunk and bottom bunk rails were both split, and one slat was completely split in half. The total cost of delivery, removal and setup for the new furniture, plus the cost of the bunk bed was not totally realized or compensated. The VRBO/Homeaway website has all my charges/fees/deposits totally listed, and the fees explained therein. I request my guests to pay pet fees if applicable, I do not charge a pet deposit. The pet fees are not refundable, of which was explained to Ms. Drabik. (I'm not quite sure how she got the idea she paid a pet deposit) I have responded to every exchange with Ms. Drabik. She is angry, because she is not getting her damage deposit refunded of $100.(of which I received a portion of). So, she is attempting to defame my character, which is totally out of line. When the damage was first reported, I requested the damage deposit. Then, I contacted CSA and reported it, and then called Homeaway, and asked specifically about the damage deposit refund. Homeaway informed me that I was entitled to the damage deposit, because there was damage to the furniture. Guests are requested to pay insurance, of a big fee of $59.00 which covers them only up to $1500.00. I didn't get that much, and as I said, but what I did get did not cover the replacement in it's entirety. I suggested she call Homeaway, and find out what the policy is, as she did not believe me. I have to follow their guidelines. It's unfortunate that the damage occurred. But, when damage like this happens, there are things like the insurance, and damage deposits, to protect both parties. Now, I know how to handle this type of issue, and will continue to do my best to provide a great experience to all my guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable and Peaceful place for our family vacation

  • 5 of 5

The cabin was spacious enough for us to be comfortable, yet cozy enough to enjoy each other's company. It was a very clean, organized place to stay. The kitchen was furnished nicely with plates & cups, utensils, bakeware, pots & pans, and big & small appliances. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was furnished well. We enjoyed the quiet location which was peaceful. It was a place to get away from it all which is the way we like it and were hoping for when we chose to book it. The location was close enough to anywhere we needed to go. The owner was very helpful answering any questions we had and was extremely courteous. We can't share our appreciation enough to the owner for sharing her cabin with us. We plan to stay there again in the future. We will highly recommend it to our family and friends. We also highly recommend it to anyone who might be considering staying at the cabin.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for the nice review. We strive to have almost all the comforts of home out in the woods. It is Peaceful and quiet and that's what most vacationer's want. Lake life is so different than city life. Come back anytime !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

THe property was in a very run down neighborhood. But it was clean.

  • 3 of 5

We found the building to be clean and in good shape. However we were expecting to be able to see the lake. The house was located in a very run down neighborhood. It was 3 miles or so to drive to the boat ramp, just to see the water.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I apologize if you thought you would be able to see the lake from my cabin. I'm not quite sure why you thought that. I do mention a path that guests can walk down to the lake. The path is not a sidewalk and is a little rough in a couple of spots. I have modified my description about elderly or handicapped guests may want to drive around to Grand Pappy point to either get in the lake or see the lake to rent a boat or even picnic at the marina. Also, I did say the house was not handicap accessible, but I will put that on my list of things to modify in the future. Speaking to other homes in the neighborhood: it is not zoned so you will see all kinds of houses. There are cabins, manufactured homes and $200k - $300K homes. I can only do my best to care for my place. Thank you for your stay and I hope you enjoyed the peace and serenity others have received.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Denison, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Nightly Rate
21 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£339
for 2 nights
From
£118
From
£118
Fri,Sat,Sun
£754
£1,324
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
1 Sep 2017 - 5 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£372
for 2 nights
From
£134
£754
 
 
Holiday
20 Nov 2017 - 26 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£506
for 3 nights
From
£134
£754
£1,080
 
 
Holiday
21 Dec 2017 - 29 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£506
for 3 nights
From
£134
£754
£1,080
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£323
for 2 nights
From
£110
From
£118
Fri,Sat,Sun
£754
£1,324
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fees £49.9
Additional Guest fee £7.68 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £76.77
Pet Fee £19.19
Property Damage Protection £45.29
Tax Rate 6.0%

Please No glass, cans, or non-burnable items in the bonfire pit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals