HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

LUXURY ECO LODGE NEAR DARLINGTON

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

TWO BEDROOM ECO LODGE ONLY 3 MILES FROM YARM & DARLINGTON

Luxury Eco Lodge set in a very accessible country location with easy access to A1m and A66 near to the villages of Middleton St George.and Sadberge

Ideal for those visiting the North East or returning to the North East to visit relatives.

The luxury eco lodge is set in private area of a none working farm with spectacular uninterupted country views and having large outside deck as well as access to the pond and play area.


Owner
Ms Alison Hargreaves
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 April, 2018

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday lodge in Darlington in Sadberge

Property Type:
  • lodge (detached)
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Farm Holidays
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower)
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • BATHROOM ONE WITH SUNKEN CORNER BATH BATHROOM TWO WITH MULTI SHOWER CUBICLE
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • bedroom 1 with family bathroom bedroom 2 with ensuite shower room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Child's Swing
  • Terrace
  • Gated Community
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
TRY OUR SHORT BREAKS

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(35 traveller reviews)

91% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
LUXURY ECO LODGE NEAR DARLINGTON
average rating of 4.857143 based on 35 reviews
5

Excellent place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Property is very well equipped, especially in the kitchen, we brought everything we needed from sharp knives to bottle openers and didn't need to open the box, everything was there.

Very clean, warm and well laid out lodge.

Thank you Walter

  • Review Submitted: 02-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were pleased we could help the Moore family out when there house move was delayed. Thank you for the comments that you found everything that you needed. We hope that the rest of your stays are just as good until your new house is ready. Happy to help Alison and walter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

stunning !

  • 4 of 5

We had a fab time, the dogs Bonnie & Clyde had an amazing stay... it was good they had freedom to roam ... shame about the wet fields however it didn't stop them from having fun! The lodge was perfect very clean and well equipped with top of the range appliances especially the sunken bath and power shower! We would definitely stay again.I think it would be stunning with some sunshine.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Like the rest of the North East and maybe most of the British Isles we too are sick of the weather and our last few guests have experienced some atrocious weather from heavy snow to torrential rain. The countryside seems to be permanently waterlogged and ponds full to overflowing. It is a good job that the dogs enjoyed themselves and we always have a hose pipe to wash the thick off them. We too would like to welcome you back when the weather improves, all we can do is to keep the lodge warm and comfortable, Thanks for your visit Alison and walter
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect stay...

  • 5 of 5

The lodge is stunning and the land around it is beautiful. Walter was a total gentleman guided us around the lodge then left us to just chill. I’ve been to cottages/lodges in the past where they interrupt your stay multiple times which to me means there is a lack of trust, this lodge isn’t anything like that we weren’t disturbed once and were told we could go along and ask the owners anything we wanted. The kitchen has all you need and more! We had a dinner party on the Friday night and cooked up a storm in the kitchen ha! Will almost certainly be back very soon! Thank you so much.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

A well equipped, clean, comfortable property in a peaceful setting.

  • 5 of 5

Ideal location for us as we were visiting friends in the area. Good food at the pub just down the road and Morrisons supermarket 5 minutes drive away. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 05-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Hot and cold

  • 2 of 5

The good points first:

We got a refund

The coffee machine was great

The views were lovely

Well equipped lodge

But the hosts were clearly experiencing issues with the boiler which were not advertised or communicated before we got there. This was clearly an issue because there was a handout in the property for a boiler reset, and a bowl under the boiler to catch leaks. We had a severely cold night and no hot water for showing / bathing the next day. We needed to re-ignite the pilot light on the boiler three times during our stay.

The owners say they are getting it repaired. If only they had let us know the boiler was in poor working order before we stayed there, or even better if they had repaired if before we arrived.

But grateful for the refund,

  • Review Submitted: 21-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately there are two firsts with this review. !> It is the first bad review we have every received 2> The first time we have had new guests and not been at home to sort out any problems. After having their reservation cancelled as they did not pay the deposit on time we blocked out that weekend as we had decided to visit our daughter in Chipenham and would be away all weekend.. We were pressurised into accepting the booking after being contacted by Mrs Saddington who was desperate to stay that weekend. I personnally delayed our departure to meet and greet and explained to them that were we were having problems with the Central Heating boiler pilot light going out in the high winds and that the previous day the gas engineer had been out but could not sort out the problem (when he left everything was working fine). Due to the situation with the boiler and on the Gas engineers advice we had ordered a new boiler to be fitted on the 27th of February 2018 the earliest date the Gas engineers could attend. Mr Saddington informed me that they also had a combi boiler and they had the same problem and he would sort it out. The instructions as to how to relight the boiler were in the folder along with lodge details. We are extremely sorry for the problems and with hindsight should not have accepted their booking as we would not be at home. In respect of the bowl under the combi boiler, anyone who has one will know that there are always minute leaks of condensate which if left to pool on the floor could cause problems. As noted the boiler has been replaced and the system is working fine. Alison and Walter.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Fantastic relaxing break

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I along with our 3 dogs have just enjoyed a lovely 5 night stay over New Year and have returned home extremely relaxed and ready to face 2018. The lodge is very well equipped for all your needs and it is in a great location with beautiful views. The dogs loved the enclosed paddock to run around in and were made very welcome. Walter and Alison are lovely friendly hosts and made us feel very welcome. Thank you for having us, we will definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Many thanks for such a nice review. We endeavour to do our best for all of our guests and hope that they all go away with the thought of returning. Thanks Walter and Alison
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Durham Tees Valley
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Sadberge
Nearest Ferry
25 Miles
Tees Port
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Streesshole Public Course
Nearest Train
4 Miles
Darlingtobn
Nearest Motorway
6 Miles
A1M
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sadberge
Nearest Beach
25 Miles
Saltburn by the Sea
Car: necessary

25 mles from Historic Hartlepool quay 20 Miles from Historic Durham City 35 miles to The Metro Centre Europes largrest shopping Centre 25 miles to Beamish Open Air Museum.10 miles from National Railway Museum at Shildon5 miles from Darlington Head os Steam Railway Museum 3 miles from Dolphin Centre Swiming Pool.Easy access to the Yorkshire Dales, Tees, Wear and Tyne Valleys.50 miles from the Roman Wall 50 Miles from Whitby and North Yorks Moors Steam RailwayAnd for those felling adventurous only 140 mile from Edinburgh.Many other attractions from the Lead Mining Museum at Killhope in the Wear valley to The Wenslydale Chese Factory at Hawes in the Beautiful Yorkshire dales'

For those interested in motor sports we are only six miles from the Croft racing circuit.

The lodge is only 25 miles from Redcar where the world Kite surfing championship is held and 26 miles fromthe beach at Saltburn by the Sea where there is a surfing school and some fine waves.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10
Damage Deposit £50

Rental times from 4,00pm Arrival through to 10.00 a.m. departure.Late departures OR EARLY ARRIVALS can be organised to suit FLIGHTS, FERRIES OR TRAIN TIMES

WHY NOT TRY OUR SPRING AND ATUM SHORT BREAKS AND WEEKEND OFFERS
TELEPHONE 01325-332936 FOR DETAILS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals