HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

AUGUST/SEPTEMBER SPECIAL!! - SPECIAL RATES -Pet Friendly-2 Bed/2 Bath Sleeps 6

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,358 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cozy Mountain Chalet with Great Mountain View

NO ADDITIONAL CLEANING FEES

Bearadise is a cozy, yet modern, "pet friendly" chalet nestled among the trees with gorgeous mountain views. Nicely appointed with a whimsical bear theme, this chalet features a floor to ceiling stack-stone fireplace with wood burning insert, a 47" flat screen TV in the living room, high-speed WIFI throughout the chalet for all your internet needs or for “streaming,” washer and dryer, two king beds (one up and one on the main floor) & a queen size sleeper sofa in the loft; two full baths, a game room upstairs equipped with a foosball table, and X-Box 360 connected to a 32" flat screen for the kids. The kitchen is updated with solid surface counter tops, is fully equipped for meal preparation and includes a CD player/radio. The large wrap-around deck has a gas grill and lots of seating for taking in the views. A wood burning fire pit built into the stack-stone wall on the deck is great for the cool nights or just for making s’mores. Short walk to the pool around the corner or drive to one of the other 2 pools.


Owner
Dave Cottrill
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
25 June, 2017

About Dave Cottrill

We've been traveling and staying in the Gatlinburg area for over 35 years after living in South Carolina. We've found the visits to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park and the surrounding attractions enjoyable and relaxing.

Dave Cottrill purchased this chalet in 2015

Why Dave Cottrill chose Tennessee

The terrific views, the resort like community, and family friendly floor plan with a large wrap-around deck that's great for entertaining or relaxing.

What makes this chalet unique

Great views of Greenbrier mountain from the kitchen when having your favorite breakfast beverage, the Loft Observation Room or from the deck sitting in the hot tub.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Good Morning Dave -



We had such a great visit and stay and your home this past week. Everything was what we were looking for in a vacation home for us to enjoy the time away from our everyday lives. It was clean and spacious and well maintained. I really liked the fact that there were multiple things to do for the little ones while we were there. My oldest son loved the fact that he could play the XBOX while we were inside for the day.



The drive in to town and all the shops were as close as you said they were. It is a lovely place to visit with so many things to see and experience while we were there. We did a hiking trail and horseback riding which was extremely fun for the ones that could go. We really enjoyed the view of the mountains from the deck also. There is nothing like waking up every morning and experiencing the mountain views.



I did write a review on the VRBO website to share our experience and to say how much of a great time we all had this past week.



Thank you for your timely response to our questions we had during our stay. It was very helpful. We all had an amazing time the past few days and thank you for the opportunity to stay at Bearadise.



MJ
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 2

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Gatlinburg in Sevier County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1358 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , 2nd floor bathroom adjoins the bedroom
    Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Adjoins the first floor bedroom and has access to great room
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Loft area features 1 queen sofa sleeper and a flat screen TV
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Features an adjoining bathroom, flat screen TV
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Features an adjoining bathroom and flat screen TV
  • Main floor bedroom features 1 king bed and adjoining bathroom. 2nd floor bedroom features 1 king bed and adjoining bathroom. Both bedrooms have flat screen TVs. The loft area features a queen sleeper sofa, flat screen TV with an Xbox 360 system and adjoins a sun room with great mountain views.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • festivals
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
Notes:
An easy 20 minute drive off I-40 via Rt 321. Fully paved roads up to the Chalet. A quick 15 minute drive into Downtown Gatlinburg. Note: **Service Fee: is a fee charged by and COLLECTED BY VRBO/HOMEAWAY This fee DOES NOT go to the owner of this property. This property HAS NO ADDITIONAL FEES COLLECTED BY THE OWNER. Check in is 3pm Check out is 10am

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(43 traveller reviews)

74% Complete
16% Complete
6% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
AUGUST/SEPTEMBER SPECIAL!! - SPECIAL RATES -Pet Friendly-2 Bed/2 Bath Sleeps 6
average rating of 4.627907 based on 45 reviews
3

Good Family Mountain Time

  • 3 of 5

Our family has been coming to the mountains for over 15 years and as we arrived at Bearadise on the evening of Tuesday, May 30, the outside of the chalet was very well lit and we were given specific directions by our GPS (when entering the address of the cabin) and drove right to it. Dave was very nice to work with when booking the chalet and answering questions that we had along our stay. There are some issues with the chalet. The gas grill does not work and needs to be replaced. I am not sure what the previous guest meant by the grill "works well", but it is beyond use and was very disappointing to our family since we had depended on using the grill for many of our meals. The burners and grill grates were covered with rust and it was so dirty and filthy we could not begin to put food on it. The front burner on the stove does not work but that was not a big deal. The tv in the downstairs bedroom still isn't working and I contacted Dave and he was quick to respond. He stated that "the guests that left the home yesterday morning, for some unknown reason, pulled the power cord for the mini-cable box back up through the hole into the bedroom above". But there was a post from a guest on May 11th saying the TV was working then either, so I not sure how long that's really been a problem. There were several spiders so I would suggest that the exterminator be called to take care of that problem. Although there were these issues our family still enjoyed our time together. We loved the deck with it's amazing views while we had our morning coffee. The majority of our meals were served and eaten on the deck. The deck furniture is very comfortable and the hot tub was fantastic!! Our son enjoyed the XBox 360 and having a game room to himself! The best part was that we were able to bring our 2 dogs, Charlie and Jasper! Thank you for sharing your home with our family as we were able to make new mountain memories.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable time at our home. The things you mention are being attended to for repairs. The gas grill does work, but does have to be lighted with a "fire stick." And the recent wet weather does make any grill get some rust on the grates and burners during non-use.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Richmond KY
5

What a wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

Although this was only a three night stay, the owners made sure that EVERYTHING was perfect! Within hours we felt right at home (and so did Maggie, our Cairn "terror".). The furniture is very comfortable, as is the master bedroom. The kitchen has it all, very well equipped and neat as a pin. Even the bathrooms were perfect, including hospitality soaps, etc. And, you'll enjoy the bear theme, finding all of the bear treasures around the house.

The views off the deck are nothing short of postcard perfect.... and watching the sunset from the hot tub just makes it all better, along with an outdoor fireplace, with two lounges right by the fire.... and yes, the BBQ is large and works well. No need to go into Gatlinburg for entertainment, the quiet surroundings are much more fun to enjoy.

Odds and ends, like... where to buy groceries etc.... couldn't be easier, Dave even provided directions to the local Food Town (prices are EXCELLENT by the way).

He also privided VERY easy to understand instructions for cable (provide), wifi (works great) as well as other items .

All I can say is that we're already checking the calendar to see when we can return!

  • Review Submitted: May 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our home, Bearadise (hence the bear theme). We try really hard to provide what we would want and expect in a short term rental home. We like to make our guests feel comfortable and happy during their stays. To me, that's what it's all about. We hope to see you again soon!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Escape to bearadise.

  • 3 of 5

The cabin was good. It had a few issues. Left front burner on stove doesn't work, tv in downstairs bedroom didn't work, two jets in hot tub didn't work, and it needed a good dusting. It was peaceful , well equipped and convenient.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

great getaway in the Smokies!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay in the Bearadise cabin. The cabin had everything we needed for a quiet getaway with our new pups (they loved the mountains!). The area experienced very high winds (80 mph gusts) and we did lose power for a couple of days. The owners very graciously refunded that time without being asked to do so. We recommend this cabin to anyone wanting to de-stress and relax in the mountains.

  • Review Submitted: May 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad that you enjoyed your stay even without power for a few days (they actually got it back on just after you left).
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, well equipped, beautiful views

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is in good shape, well equipped, up a winding road. Absolutely beautiful, our host was helpful when we had an issue figuring out how to operate the electric door lock. We love the area and if you are looking for a quiet place that is out of the way, but close enough to go to town then this is it.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

One of the prettiest views in the whole area! LOVED the outdoor spaces.

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Bearadise. The outdoor spaces were perfection and we spent a lot of time on the decks, in the hot tub and enjoying the views. The inside was comfortable and had everything we needed. It could use a little updating in decor but we lacked for nothing while we were there. Clean and cozy and they allowed our two small dogs to stay. We couldn't have been more pleased with the cottage, the community and the comfort of our stay. We could not get the gas grill to start but it may have been out of propane at the end of the season. It did not diminish our stay though.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 6, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Bearadise. We're not sure what your recommendations would be for updating a "bear" theme décor, but would appreciate your comments. Again, we're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Knoxville, TN
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Bent Creek Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
16 Miles
I-40
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg

The Great Smoky Mountains National Park is the most visited park in the national system. Look out onto MT. LeConte from the wrap-around deck or while sitting at the kitchen table with your morning beverage.

Gatlinburg - Folks come from all over the world for vacations, outdoor adventures, family fun and memory making. Gatlinburg is one of America's great mountain resort destinations, dozens of local-to-national restaurants, and attractions galore – all nestled in the foothills and surrounded on three sides by the natural beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains. Gatlinburg prides itself on its walkability amidst mountain heritage and the arts, crafts and shops that reflect that tradition. Anchored at the corner of East Parkway and Glades Road at Traffic Light #3A, you'll find the beginning of the Great Smoky Arts & Crafts Community. Home to over 100 shops featuring craftspeople and artists along an 8-mile loop, it's the largest gathering of independent artisans in North America. You'll discover one-of-a-kind crafts, treasures and artwork, and you can watch the artisans at work.

Golf - Just down the mountain at the entrance of the Village of Cobbly Nob. Bent Creek Golf course, designed by three-time Masters and British Open Championship Winner Gary Player, is a par 72 course that has been popular since the sunny day it opened back in 1972. The front nine hugs the valley floor while the back nine offers a challenging mountain course. A beautiful sparkling mountain stream meanders throughout the entire course making for a breathtaking contrast between water and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Southern Living Travel Guide rated Bent Creek Golf Resort one of the "Top Fifty Golf Courses in the South." This course is all at once challenging and relaxing.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Gatlinburg, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Summer 1
31 May 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£281
for 2 nights
From
£118
From
£127
Fri,Sat
£888
 
 
4th of July 2017
30 Jun 2017 - 5 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£308
for 2 nights
From
£131
 
 
Summer 2
6 Jul 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£281
for 2 nights
From
£118
From
£131
Fri,Sat
£897
 
 
Labor Day Wknd
1 Sep 2017 - 4 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£290
for 2 nights
From
£122
 
 
Early Fall
5 Sep 2017 - 21 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£264
for 2 nights
From
£109
£744
 
 
Fall
22 Sep 2017 - 13 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£308
for 2 nights
From
£131
£958
 
 
Early Winter
14 Nov 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£246
for 2 nights
From
£100
From
£122
Fri,Sat
£744
 
 
Holidays
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
2 night minimum stay
£308
for 2 nights
From
£131
 
 
Winter 2018
3 Jan 2018 - 13 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£264
for 2 nights
From
£109
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£264
for 2 nights
From
£109
From
£127
Fri,Sat
£844
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £45.61
Pet Fee £38.65 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.94%

- NO ADDITIONAL FEES COLLECTED BY THE OWNER
- Rates are subject to change until a reservation is confirmed.
- VRBO's "Service Fee" is NOT collected by the homeowner and cannot be deleted
-Our minimum age for reserving is 21 years old.
-A Security Deposit (charged against a credit card) or Damage Protection Plan is required at the time of reservation. Please call for details.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals